My complaint to RTÉ about coverage of death of Kim Jong II

• 05-03-2012 12:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭

Out of boredom and curiosity I e-mailed RTÉ to complain about their news item about the death of Kim Jong II, they inlcluded the clip from Team America, where he's singing 'I'm so Rooney (lonely).

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your e-mail and apologies for the delay in getting back to you

The report was an extensive obituary of the former North Korean leader Kim Jong Il. It included official Korean propaganda video which claimed that Kim Jong Il had been born on a mountain top in 1942 foretold by a swallow, a double rainbow and a star. It is a fact that a huge portion of our audience would have known Kim Jong Il from the hit film Team America therefore its inclusion made it relevant to the story.

It was not intended in way to cause offence.

Regards,

Michael Good

Managing Editor News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Very interesting OP. Very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

as far as official replies go, that is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

I had a very nice breakfast this morning. I had eggs, toast, orange juice and tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Doesn't say much for their viewership if people couldn't figure out who Kim Jong Il was without reference to Team America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

And out of boredom il ask.... Whats your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dinneenp wrote: »
    Michael Good

Managing Editor News

He should take over The Late Late Show, as he's got more going for him than Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Due to being a pedant, I e-mailed the OP calling him out on his inability to correctly spell the word ronery. Here is the reply :

Dear AeoNGriM,

Herp de derp de deedly derp.

Regards,

The OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Out of boredom and curiosity I e-mailed RTÉ to complain about their news item about the death of Kim Jong II, they inlcluded the clip from Team America, where he's singing 'I'm so Rooney (lonely).

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for your e-mail and apologies for the delay in getting back to you

The report was an extensive obituary of the former North Korean leader Kim Jong Il. It included official Korean propaganda video which claimed that Kim Jong Il had been born on a mountain top in 1942 foretold by a swallow, a double rainbow and a star. It is a fact that a huge portion of our audience would have known Kim Jong Il from the hit film Team America therefore its inclusion made it relevant to the story.

It was not intended in way to cause offence.

Regards,

Michael Good

Managing Editor News

Surely a huge portion of their audience would have known Kim Jong Il from all the newstories that RTE did on North Korea. You'd have to have been living under a rock not to know who the guy is. North Korea has always been a hot topic in the media, considering it's history and the fact that it's considered a rogue state, people should be aware of him. Especially RTEs audience.

It was most certainly a dig at him and nothing more. Even if it was just tongue and cheek. Now i'd like to see RTE do that with some other world leader. Preferably someone who has closer ties to us then N.K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Go on caller, talk to Joe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Reminds me of when Spike Milligan died. The news reader said "The writer who suffered 2 nervous breakdowns in his life, died surrounded by family at his home at the age of 84"

Er, WTF? He also wrote numerous books, cartoons, TV show scripts, and countless other things.

Well done RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How typical of them to put their own lack of originality and journalistic ability down to their viewership. The reports on his death were just plain lazy.. they didn't even attempt to look at the man's life or his legacy in a serious way. I doubt whoever put it together would even be able to land a job at Fox or Sky News.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

You, sir, need a hobby. May I suggest mini-golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭UngratefulWhelp

How typical of them to put their own lack of originality and journalistic ability down to their viewership. The reports on his death were just plain lazy.. they didn't even attempt to look at the man's life or his legacy in a serious way. I doubt whoever put it together would even be able to land a job at Fox or Sky News.

Perhaps you could put together your own report on his lamented passing so we can compare the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Seachmall wrote: »
    Doesn't say much for their viewership if people couldn't figure out who Kim Jong Il was without reference to Team America.

Matt Damon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Perhaps you could put together your own report on his lamented passing so we can compare the two.

Will I get paid handsomely from public coffers if I do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The OP has a point though.....if and when this earth is finally rid of George Dubya, will they show clips of him that expose his idiocy and clips from satires ?

I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A double rainbow...that's just crazy talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Kim Jong Il had been born on a mountain top in 1942 foretold by a swallow, a double rainbow and a star.

Oh, so that's what it meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Kim Jong Il had been born on a mountain top in 1942 foretold by a swallow, a double rainbow and a star.

Sounds mental, but:
    His mother gave birth to him having been impregnated by an all-seeing deity at a time when adultery and sex before marriage would probably have ruined your life. He was such a special child that this all-seeing deity allowed the mother to give birth to him in a stable around farm animals in what we can only imagine were far from sanitary conditions. He eventually died, as all humans do, but came back to life a few days later to have some craic with the lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Matt Damon!

The irony being that Matt Damon is actually quite smart, hes done great interviews about the state of politics in America, the whole saying his own name thing came about as the puppet didnt mould right and looked a bit....downsy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I saw the RTE news report that included the Team America clip. It may not have been the most journalistic of clips to include, but in fairness, it was pretty funny that they did so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

This is a Liveline call if ever I saw one

Joe Duffy could get a lot of mileage from it, there are a few ways he could work it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

krudler wrote: »
    The irony being that Matt Damon is actually quite smart, hes done great interviews about the state of politics in America, the whole saying his own name thing came about as the puppet didnt mould right and looked a bit....downsy

MATT DAMON!!!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Supposedly Damon is on fairly good terms with Matt Stone and Trey Parker, and wants to voice the puppet if they ever decide to use it again.

The idea for just repeating his name also came from a joke he tells about himself, apparently the three of them are good friends.

(Although I'm guessing mentally disabled people only being able to say their own name is a running-joke with them too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I have to agree with the Op on this one. Lazy . His legacy of oppression, death and starvation should have been focussed on instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭ardinn

I'm f**king Matt Damon!

ardinn wrote: »
    I'm f**king Matt Damon!

I hope you bought him dinner first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Team america had the hottest doll sex scene ever!