Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Defender thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Shop around, look for County spec but as I said it's easy to upgrade, there's s few on here have bought a nice basic 90 as a blank canvas. Post 02 can come with leccy widows and central locking but it's still an option even now I think. There are some limited editions (Tombraider, 90SV) with all the toys but you'll pay a lot extra, they become collectable!

I'll shift this to the Defender thread, have a read back through it for ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Kildafornia

101sean wrote: »
    Shop around, look for County spec but as I said it's easy to upgrade, there's s few on here have bought a nice basic 90 as a blank canvas. Post 02 can come with leccy widows and central locking but it's still an option even now I think. There are some limited editions (Tombraider, 90SV) with all the toys but you'll pay a lot extra, they become collectable!

I'll shift this to the Defender thread, have a read back through it for ideas.

blank canvas van sounds perfect - keep the 7 year itch at bay too! How would you rate the following 2 side by side - service history is the main difference for me, although the tonga green looks cleaner, pics can lie:

Stornaway:
    http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/3534289.htm

Tonga:
    http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/3419392.htm

Both similar base spec, vinyl seats. They are Puma engined (2.4Tdci transit engine) with the latest dashboard (no opening vents but the heater works!) Not a lot to choose but early service history is important, there were some gearbox issues with early Pumas which should have been sorted under warranty. The Belfast one is at a dealer so hopefully has history.

Higher spec machines often have metallic paint and cloth or even half leather, externally a body coloured roof is the give away. Bonatti grey is the nicest colour ;) Every is easy to change around given a few contacts and some squeals from your credit card.

Have you driven a Defender before? Could come as a shock!

Used to drive around my mates farm in a defender in the 90's, great Craic bouncing all over the place! They were basic tractors back then, I'm sure they're not too different now but it sure would be nice to have air con in the winter (likely)! I don't do much driving and actually need a lugger to bring timber around the place, plus would be better than my current rear wheel drive BMW on ice. Change is good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Does anyone know where to get replacement wiper arms and the splined adaptor drums for a series 3? Paddocks keep sending me the parts for a defender which won't fit. If there's anywhere in Ireland it would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Moffett

Well, more than a month on, and still no Land Rover. I went to the bank to increse my options, but the more expensive ones are in the same condition as the cars that are 3k less...I've emailed Crozier 4x4 ( thanks to the link above and an advert on Donedeal ) to ask them if they'll check out the grey car for me and give me an opinion. If it's still there and it gets a clean bill of health I'll buy it. Hopefully Crozier will consent to this and I'll be on the right track. Sure it may be sold. As always, you will be amongst the first to know, thanks for all the help and advice so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Moffett wrote: »
    Well, more than a month on, and still no Land Rover. I went to the bank to increse my options, but the more expensive ones are in the same condition as the cars that are 3k less...I've emailed Crozier 4x4 ( thanks to the link above and an advert on Donedeal ) to ask them if they'll check out the grey car for me and give me an opinion. If it's still there and it gets a clean bill of health I'll buy it. Hopefully Crozier will consent to this and I'll be on the right track. Sure it may be sold. As always, you will be amongst the first to know, thanks for all the help and advice so far.
    You will have to jump in sometime, if its what you want, and if its for less than 3K then just take the chance. Its hard to explain but its not like a new car or tractor its just a landrover and it will always be cool but it takes guts to jump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

O.A.P wrote: »
    You will have to jump in sometime, if its what you want, and if its for less than 3K then just take the chance. Its hard to explain but its not like a new car or tractor its just a landrover and it will always be cool but it takes guts to jump.

I agree. Just invest in a good tool box to go with it & you'll be grand ;)

I still think you're getting a lot more vehicle for €3k with a Defender than you do for any other car. Yes they can be prone to a fair bit of DIY, but a lot of it seem's to be good honest mechanics rather than ar$ing around needing to hook it up to computers/too much electrical fandangalry!

Hopefully it'll be worth the wait & you'll get a nice one though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Moffett

No, I had a budget of 5-6K, and borrowed 3k to increase my options. There was no difference in a 5k and an 8k vechile that I could see, apart that some of them were overdone!...too many lights etc. If I can get this guy to check out the other one for me, I'll jump. I didn't explain the budget very well!

Just found out defenders don't have airbags, never mind an NCAP rating. Might be a deal breaker for me. Such a shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Just found out defenders don't have airbags, never mind an NCAP rating. Might be a deal breaker for me. Such a shame
    Come on man the tiger tank had no air bags, but it was the place to be when the **** hit the fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Ehh, this won't be a deal breaker.....defender buyers are a certain elk that know their quirks etc. in defender world, airbags and NCAPs are for wuzz's:D joke. Don't get offended its our way of defending the old lady. As you probably are aware the defender is being being phased out I think post 2014? re it's not compliance with euro regulations which makes it even more appealing.

No air bags (too much re-engineering needed) is why they haven't been sold in the US since the 90s and one of several reasons why it's having to be replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Replaced with plastic unfortunately. I believe the defender rebuild market though will be vibrant for the foreseeable future.

My Series 3 hybrid stopped running in traffic on Saturday. It's a pain to push to the side of the road. The fuel lines are either blocked or the fuel pump is shagged. the filter looked clean. unfortunately I could fix it at the side of the road so had to tow it to a friends house around the corner. Looks like a visit to the garage is in order. As always the thing was going better than normal when it let me down.

What engine is in it? Did it just stop or slowly die? As well as fuel, check the supply to the stop solenoid if it has one.

I've checked the solenoid and it's fine. The fuel filter is dry so the problem is in the line somewhere between the filter and the tank.

Having a bit of a clear out over on the 4xforum of zero posters to keep it tidy and ferret out spammers. I've tagged a couple of names from here to be kept but if you've been signed up there for over 90 days and never posted (puts on Cyberman voice changer!) you will be deleted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Thanks for the heads up Sean. Just realised I haven't logged back in since joining last week, must have a look again.
    I love the way they term Freelanders over there :D (had one/had head gasket go on it, nuff said :rolleyes:)

Reg plates ordered today, carpet due to arrive before Friday so fingers crossed the Series 109 will finally hit the Irish roads this weekend :)

Yourself and OAP are fine as you've posted and I've saved Bearcat from deletion!

Look forward to seeing some pictures of the 109. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Couldn't find anything from a search. Is the spring on the bonnet lid the problem if it doesn't pop up after pulling the release cable? Opens with ease if lifted at the same time as pulling the release cable, takes two to do it tho :rolleyes:

It probably just needs greasing, unlikely to be broken spring.

If it's still a problem, try adjusting the tension on the spring, centre prong should be adjustable as are the rubber buffers in each corner, they may be putting to much tension on the latch for it to undo.

Already tried it, and made it worse. The spring isnt broken but didn't really want to be adjusted. The unlock mechanism is working fine, as in its sliding over to release the pin, just the lid doesn't want to pop up.

The striker assembly inc the spring simply screws into a rivnut in the bonnet, give it a good soaking in releasing oil. The spring presses on a washer which can get jammed on the centre prong leaving the spring compressed and putting no pressure on the deck panel

101sean wrote: »
    which can get jammed on the centre prong leaving the spring compressed and putting no pressure on the deck panel

This must be what happened. I have sprayed it, removed the pin, adjusted up and down etc, but nothing was getting it up on its own. I might get a pin and spring from another and see what happens. Cant think of anything else

I checked on Microcat and the assembly is that simple and hasn't changed. Lets us know if you solve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 clocke08

So i have started the conversion on my 110 defender, i know that the load space needs to be 45% of the wheelbase, which i calculate to be 125.7cm.

I have gone and put in the bulkhead in, and have re measured the distance in the boot, and i am out by a bit, it measures 117cm give or take....

Anyone know how lenient the rules are on these things? will i need to re-do the job correctly or will i get away with it?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Snake_Doctor

Hi Clocke08,
    Not sure if you saw my reply on the other thread, so I have included it here - I would ring Revenue Waterford before you go any further.
    Reply from previous thread:
    I looked into this a good while back, (now this was trying to register a UK 110) and rang the Revenue in Waterford to see what the inspection procedure is to convert a 110 passenger to a crewcab. They basically work out what the length of the Load bed needs to be to qualify, 45% of wheelbase length if memory serves. Then they get a length of string or wire, (cant remember exactly), made up the exact lenght needed, get into the back, close the door, and if they can find any two points in the back between the backdoor and bulkhead that do not meet the criteria, it fails.
    I then asked him if anyone else had tried a Landrover Defender 110, and he informed me that landrover Ireland had tried to do it and couldnt make it work. He also said that as far as they are concerned, a 130 is the only defender to meet the crew cab criteria. (obviously after 2003). I am not sure if there is a seperate "utility" class.

Like I say, this was a while ago for a UK registered 110 so it may be different for an already registered 110. I would do a bit more digging on who exactly does the inspection for the Tax office. It was them that referred me to the Revenue in Waterford as well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭bumpydog

I might be wrong, but I understood that, as of January 2011, the 45% of wheelbase issue had changed and that only crewcabs over 3500kg are eligible for commercial VRT i.e. €200 (up from €50 - May 2011). I am in the process of bringing in a Dodge Ram crewcab and I'm anticipating having to pay the 13.3% OMSP despite the bed being over 45% of the wheelbase.

I'll be more than happy to be corrected!

From a Motor Tax point of view, you just need to complete form RF111A and have it signed by the Gardai if you are using the vehicle solely for the carriage of goods.