Gardaí criticised over Ian Bailey investigation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭berrypendel

who said ian bailey was a hero. this isnt about him. its about hoe corrupt and incompetent the gardai are. as to his guilt if he is guilty then this makes the gardai even more incompetent
    ..they must be really dopey, i.e they would have had evidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

pirelli wrote: »
    I read in the media that Ian Bailey burnt clothes in his back garden the day after the murder, is this more Garda propaganda.

if you read it in the media, then no doubt its true!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

Rawhead wrote: »
    They tried to take the pension or gratuity off some Guards years ago. The Guards won the case on the basis that it was their money and they had already paid the money.
    It would be no different in a private sector job I believe. If you had paid into a private pension scheme and then got sacked you would still be entitled to anything you saved. You cannot be stripped retrospectively of something you have earned.
    I don't think it would be fair to start that precedent for any employee.
    would agree except thats its tax payers that will end up footing the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

Once again I do not, repeat do not, disagree this whole affair was a mess. I really wish people would read my posts properly.

I just think people are taking too simplistic an approach to it. The Gardai went about the case in the worst way but that does not mean an innocent man has been unfairly tarnished.

Again I don't believe the Gardai would have pursued Bailey as they did if they really didn't think he was guilty.
    people belive all sorts but that dont mean the are true,this case reminds me a lot of the colin stag case in london,latch on to a suspect and try and make the case around him then insteed of looking at the evidince first and see who it would lead to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Imagine if the guards(a guard) themselves were involved in her murder and needed to frame some poor old innocent fast.

Good looking woman living on her own in remote area dishes someones advances,who are after getting fond of her.

Now that would be mad.
    There is a story doing the rounds..............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Show Time wrote: »
    There is a story doing the rounds..............

There always is!

Half the time (at least) its where I think the crap tabloids of this world get their junk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Biggins wrote: »
    There always is!

Half the time (at least) its where I think the crap tabloids of this world get their junk!
    This is from an old man living down that way all his life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Show Time wrote: »
    This is from an old man living down that way all his life.

In fairness, even so.
    What he might theorise based on what little stuff he thinks he might know, doesn't necessarily make those things actual fact.
    More often than not, they just help to muddy the waters of accuracy and what really sadly happened.

Now if he was to come out and say with just as much force (besides spreading just possible gossip and rumour) that what he thinks he knows, was told to Gardi - and they didn't act upon it, his theories might have credence when its shown they hold provable 'water'.
    Till then, what one local man thinks he knows, maybe just on what he's heard and been informed of, maybe because of rumour too by someone else (for example), we have to take such things carefully and stick with any or little real evidence there is.

...Less we all find ourselves be judged in a court just because of what one person down a road thinks he/she knows in their own mind and not much more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A young lad stated in court that Bailey told him he did it. It's such a strange case.

On phone so can't link properly: http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/1216/baileyi.html

Dudess wrote: »
    A young lad stated in court that Bailey told him he did it. It's such a strange case.

On phone so can't link properly: http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/1216/baileyi.html
    Is that the kid the garda offered drugs to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

If any guards are found guilty of breaking the law, then they should not get their pension from that time onwards. They have broken their contract ....... thereby making their employers' part void. As regards getting back the money that they contributed ......... this should be put down as fraud. Investing money in a scheme where you benefit whilst breaking the law. Not rocket science but the powers that be refuse to push this through. The reason? Perhaps the outed guarda may spill beans? Maybe the upper brass are also complicit in illegalities. Just sayin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Is that the kid the garda offered drugs to?

*looks at pic*

http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/1216/reidm.jpg

*looks at berrypendels quote again*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If any Gardai are found guilty, they should face jail time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I think it might have been the way he wore his hair in a murdery style that confused the cops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Spread wrote: »
    If any guards are found guilty of breaking the law, then they should not get their pension from that time onwards. They have broken their contract ....... thereby making their employers' part void. As regards getting back the money that they contributed ......... this should be put down as fraud. Investing money in a scheme where you benefit whilst breaking the law. Not rocket science but the powers that be refuse to push this through. The reason? Perhaps the outed guarda may spill beans? Maybe the upper brass are also complicit in illegalities. Just sayin'.

No, the reason being that it's a stupid idea. Fraud? Are you serious?

A few gardai acted wrongly for reasons we don't know. Maybe personal, professional or political. There doesn't seem to be any half decent people involved in this whole thin. From the dpp and lead gardai to the witnesses and the accused.

Thankfully the majority of the bad practices involved have been changed thanks to the mcbrearty saga and improvements in training and legislation. It remains to be seen whether GSOC will find any criminal liability on the part of the gardai involved although it would appear they have already been convicted in much the same way Bailey was. Having said that, they are probably dead or retired already so I doubt theyll care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Once again I do not, repeat do not, disagree this whole affair was a mess. I really wish people would read my posts properly.

I just think people are taking too simplistic an approach to it. The Gardai went about the case in the worst way but that does not mean an innocent man has been unfairly tarnished.

Again I don't believe the Gardai would have pursued Bailey as they did if they really didn't think he was guilty.

So you'd believe the same team of Gardai who have been shown to be thundering gobsh1tes?

From a lot of the articles and talk over this, the whole her parents are disappointed and deserve closure is really annoying me. It's almost as if people think Bailey should be extradited to France to stand trial simply to make her parents feel better completely ignoring the fact that by all accounts he's an innocent man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

From a lot of the articles and talk over this, the whole her parents are disappointed and deserve closure is really annoying me. It's almost as if people think Bailey should be extradited to France to stand trial simply to make her parents feel better completely ignoring the fact that by all accounts he's an innocent man.

Standing trial shouldn't worry him to much if all the evidence points to him being innocent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

But as Darko says above, if the Gardai believe they have a murderer within their grasp they will do what they have to, to prove it.

They will do what they have to, to prove it?

It should be they will do what they have to, to uncover proof.

Shur if like you said "they will do what they have to, to prove it", they may as well leave a blood-stained rock by Baileys bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Standing trial shouldn't worry him to much if all the evidence points to him being innocent.

It shouldn't worry anyone but there is a level of proof required before a prosecution can be launched. That level of proof has never been provided to the DPP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Maybe someday Bailey will account for his whereabouts and his actions over the days before Christmas 1996?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Perhaps you should give that a re-think. We're not talking about Sweden or a Nordic country here - but France, where politics and judicial processes merge together in a murky twilight zone.:rolleyes:

It's not so long since France sent its agents into a friendly foreign country - New Zealand - and had them commit an act of terrorism and murder by blowing up a Greenpeace ship there. Greenpeace had merely been objecting to French nuclear tests in the South Pacific - something to which the Government of New Zealand and numerous other countries likewise objected.:)

When the culprits were arrested and put on trial in New Zealand, France pulled out all the stops - including threatening to make it difficult for New Zealand to export to the EU area - to ensure that the killers received slap-on-the-wrist sentences and were quickly repatriated. I'm sure that treatment still grates with New Zealanders who adviocate the rule of law in their country.:rolleyes:

So don't expect Ian Bailey to receive a fair trial in France. It is also clear that Ms. Toscan du Plantier's parents and friends are wealthy and influential and have been able to maintain pressure on the French authorities to keep up their pursuit of Mr. Bailey. They wouldn't have bothered their couilles about the case if the murdered woman had been a poor waitress.:)

As much sympathy as I feel for the parents, I also resent the manner in which, as their statements show, the have only contempt for an important principle in our legal system: that everyone is innocent until proved guilty. It is clear that they have already decided Ian Bailey is guilty and expect Ireland to ride roughshod over his rights and ignore the protection under the law to which he is entitled.:cool:

My own view is that something is being covered up, and the French authorities might find more if they started looking more closely - in their own country. But then they might well stumble across something involving another wealthy and influential person.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

mikom wrote: »

Shur if like you said "they will do what they have to, to prove it", they may as well leave a blood-stained rock by Baileys bed.

For jaysus sake, man, will ye watch what ye'r saying! Don't put ideas in their heads. They know enough dirty tricks as it is.:):):)

If it was me it would worry me a great deal. Why should he, an innocent man by all accounts spend the next few months, maybe even years sitting in a cell in France while a trial occurs. Considering the way the Irish police have acted and the manner in which they built their case whats to stop the French police doing something similar and fabricating evidence. There are many examples of innocent people who spent years in prison simply because the police thought they had their man and devoted all their time to building a case against that specific person.

There have been cases where two people have been found guilty of a crime and after sentencing the judge has been shown that one of the sentenced was unaware of the others action and as such was innocent. Believe it or not but that fact does not mean that the innocent party gets released or even a new trial. Simply being innocent is not legal grounds in some countries for a new trial.

Gophur wrote: »
    Maybe someday Bailey will account for his whereabouts and his actions over the days before Christmas 1996?
    why should he any more than anyone else? is there some evidence he committed a crime?

mikom wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Paul Byrne: “Why did you make that statement, when you say that you knew it wasn’t Ian Bailey?”

Farrell: “Well, I panicked. Initially, I panicked because I had actually been out that night and I was somewhere where my husband didn’t know I was. I just thought the guards know what they’re talking about, there’s no way they’d say it was Ian Bailey if it wasn’t. And I just thought, I’ll do what they’re saying and that’s the end of it for me.”

Byrne: “So, from 1997 to 2003 when the libel trial took place, you knew or you say you knew that you had made a false statement?”

Farrell: “Well between 1997 and the libel trial I had made, I had signed numerous statements. A lot of them I didn’t even know what was in them, I was just asked to sign statements. I found out afterwards you know that they had been saying Ian Bailey had been harassing me and all sorts of things like that and none of that was true. But the Gardai just kept putting more and more pressure on me. I was just getting in deeper and deeper and it was just like, getting out of control”

Byrne: “Moving along to 2003, the beginning of the libel trial – you received a subpoena to attend, how did you feel about that?”
    Farrell: “For the whole week of that trial I kept saying, you know, that I wasn’t going. There was no way I was going to court. But I had certain Gardai ringing me, sometimes three or four times a day telling me that I had to go to the court. My husband was telling me I wasn’t to go. I was adamant I wasn’t going, I told them. There was no way I was going to court and telling lies. But then I got a phone call the day before I appeared at the libel trial, and a garda told me that if I didn’t go an application would be made to the court to have me arrested. He said “You’ll probably be brought there in handcuffs, which is worse.” So he said I had to meet a different garda that morning and that he’d run through everything with me and that I had nothing to worry about, stick to the story and there was nothing to worry about. So the morning that I did appear at the libel trial, I met a garda just outside Cork city. He told me what I had to say, and stick to it, and there would be no problems. When I got up on the stand I was panicking, and I was thinking ‘Will I tell the judge the truth here?’ and then I looked down to the back of the court and there was, you know, the Gardai standing there watching me with their arms folded and I thought, you know ‘I have no way out of this’, but at the same time I couldn’t remember what I was meant to say. So it was a relief then when that was over.”

Byrne: “Why did you go through with it?”

Farrell: “”Because I was being put under so much pressure from the Gardai.”

Byrne: “What was the breaking point for you when you decided to retract your statements? What made you do that?”
    Farrell: “I got a phone call from a garda, and we were just talking in general and then he said to me that Sophie’s parents were taking a civil action against Ian Bailey for Sophie’s wrongful death. And he said: ‘You know that’s going to end up in court and you’re going to have to go in there again?’ And I said there is no way that I would ever, ever go to court and tell lies for the guards again. And I said, you know, if you keep pushing me now I’m going to go and see Frank Buttimer [Ian Bailey's solicitor]. He said: ‘You know, no one is going to be interested in what you have to say.’ And I said, ‘You know, maybe Ian Bailey will be interested?’ And I said I’m going to tell them the whole truth about what happened. And he said “if you go down that road you will never again have a day’s peace as long as you live.”
    Byrne: “Can we believe Marie Farrell?”
    Farrell: “I know I’m telling you the truth. I did it because I knew it was the right thing to do. I had to come forward and tell the truth. I’ve gone through years of, I don’t know how to say it, harassment? Hardship? And stress. Because of doing the right thing. What I did in 1996, 1997 was stupid. I was naive. I really really thought that the guards could do no wrong.
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/03/07/marie-farrell-why-i-lied-about-ian-bailey-transcript/

MagicSean wrote: »
    There doesn't seem to be any half decent people involved in this whole thin. From the dpp and lead gardai to the witnesses and the accused.

Thankfully the majority of the bad practices involved have been changed thanks to the mcbrearty saga and improvements in training and legislation. It remains to be seen whether GSOC will find any criminal liability on the part of the gardai involved although it would appear they have already been convicted in much the same way Bailey was. Having said that, they are probably dead or retired already so I doubt theyll care.
    What's the DPP done wrong here, exactly? Other than produce a professional appraisal, pointing out the abject weakness of the evidence?

This was going on until 2003, at the earliest, so I don't think the pat "sure it's all different after McBrearty" defense will cut it. If there's evidence of Garda wrongdoing, as it looks like there is, there should be accountability. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

benway wrote: »
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/03/07/marie-farrell-why-i-lied-about-ian-bailey-transcript/

What's the DPP done wrong here, exactly? Other than produce a professional appraisal, pointing out the abject weakness of the evidence?

This was going on until 2003, at the earliest, so I don't think the pat "sure it's all different after McBrearty" defense will cut it. If there's evidence of Garda wrongdoing, as it looks like there is, there should be accountability. End of.

That Farrell interview is interesting. So the pressure was in relation to her going to court? She had already made the false statement? So by saying the garda pressured her she actually means they threatened to seek a bench warrant if she ignored a witness summons.

And as far as I know the Morris Tribunal, which investigated the McBrearty saga, didn't end until 2007, which is 4 years after 2003.

And he said “if you go down that road you will never again have a day’s peace as long as you live.”
    that is how the gardai bully those who are afraid of them in small communities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Gophur wrote: »
    According to two Directors of Public prosecutions he already has, but don't let the facts get in the way of smearing him