Creepy People

• 03-03-2012 02:13AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭

Some people can be very, very odd.

I had a customer in my shop today who began complimenting me on my face. He said it was a good face- very nice, and that he has already had a wife but he has room for one more and would really like me to join with him. The guy was about 50, with very broken english, and was completely serious.

At Christmas, I was kneeling on the floor decorating a small Christmas tree in the shop. An old man (70ish, complete with walking stick) came into the shop and approached me. He spoke in a low voice and said, word for word, 'That's what I like to see...a young girl, on her knees in front of me, begging for it.' He was not joking, not even a hint of 'only messing'- just flat out sleeze.

There's another lad who comes into the shop and walks around, picking things up and arguing with himself in the third person. Everything about him screams nutjob, and if you engage him in any way he will linger- touching the counter in a manner that reminds me of that salad fingers cartoon with the rusty spoons, throwing out strange compliments. He once told me I shouldn't be working here, that I should be lying on a beach having men in loin cloths feed me grapes :confused:

I've met many, many strange creepy people (especially since I started working in a shop) but they generally tend to be males of 40 upwards. I'll save some of the really weird ones til later, anyone else have any encounters with people that say or do things to give you the creeps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

I had a customer in my shop today who began complimenting me on my face. He said it was a good face- very nice, and that he has already had a wife but he has room for one more and would really like me to join with him. The guy was about 50, with very broken english, and was completely serious.

At Christmas, I was kneeling on the floor decorating a small Christmas tree in the shop. An old man (70ish, complete with walking stick) came into the shop and approached me. He spoke in a low voice and said, word for word, 'That's what I like to see...a young girl, on her knees in front of me, begging for it.' He was not joking, not even a hint of 'only messing'- just flat out sleeze.

There's another lad who comes into the shop and walks around, picking things up and arguing with himself in the third person. Everything about him screams nutjob, and if you engage him in any way he will linger- touching the counter in a manner that reminds me of that salad fingers cartoon with the rusty spoons, throwing out strange compliments. He once told me I shouldn't be working here, that I should be lying on a beach having men in loin cloths feed me grapes :confused:

I've met many, many strange creepy people (especially since I started working in a shop) but they generally tend to be males of 40 upwards. I'll save some of the really weird ones til later, anyone else have any encounters with people that say or do things to give you the creeps?

Your obviously a ride then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

If they were hot young guys would they be as creepy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

So these "creepy people" are mostly men then. Sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

luckyfrank wrote: »
    Your obviously a ride then ?

Ha, no- just attract strange people sometimes, and these are the most recent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

luckyfrank wrote: »
    You're obviously a ride then ?

"Do you come with the car?" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

You dont know the meaning of the word.

Wait until you start seeing real weirdos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Sauve wrote: »
    If they were hot young guys would they be as creepy?

Yes indeed they would- one of the creepiest from a few years ago was my own age and not bad looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Swingers?

chin_grin wrote: »
    "Do you come with the car?" :rolleyes:

Ohhhh you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Ya haven't seen creeps till you've spent a thursday in fibbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

Started out work as a waitress (the place with the comely maid outfit) many moons ago and we had a few regulars who had their own special way of doing things, there was one guy in particular mid to late forties who would address us all by the shape of our legs. Mine apparently were fine legs for playing football with and at christmas he arrived with gifts, I got a spatula.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ooh Jaysus the guy when you were kneeling - yuck!

I worked in Virgin Megastore when I was 19 and we wore a black t-shirt with just the Virgin logo on it. An auld fella said to me one day "Heheh, I bet you're not... "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Up around St. James's I always see people talking to themselves. I feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Ha, no- just attract strange people sometimes, and these are the most recent!!
    pics or GTFO:D:D:D

yeah their are some weirdos out there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Ramming Hobbins. . .

Maybe not so odd. . .
    on a Friday...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

creepy people or just dirty old man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Wait until you start seeing real weirdos

That sentence just feels unfinished without 'would you like to right now? :D:mad::eek::D' at the end of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Sindri wrote: »
    Up around St. James's I always see people talking to themselves. I feel sorry for them.

And thats just the staff !!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

I've met many, many strange creepy people
    Have you met any specialist in psychiatry yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

They are just retired construction workers whistling at you from their scaffolding/walking stick . Get on with it .
    I once worked with a plumber that told a young apprentice to go up to the attic that he left a tool up there.
    When the young apprentice went up to the attic the plumber followed him and once in the attic he grabbed him by the nuts. He told him thats the only tool Im after.
    This is way more creepy than anything you have encountered but t the time none of us apprentices even thought of complaining , we thought it was building site craic.
    It was only years later I realised that im lucky Im not as pretty as that poor fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

You must be a good-looking girl. Please accept my compliments;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

How about the middle-aged man humming 'strangers in the night, exchanging glances' at you in the supermarket everytime you pass him! Talk about creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

My mother works in a supermarket, she was serving someone at her till one day and the following exchange took place:

Mum: "That'll be 1.69"
    Creep: "I'll give you more than one *wink*"

He left soon after, wearing 2 litres of milk :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Mental.:D Health.:D Issues.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Do you work in a 'Massage Parlour'?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

When you're old and weather beaten, you'll long for days when you were crept upon...

It's a high class problem toots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Dudess wrote: »

I worked in Virgin Megastore when I was 19 and we wore a black t-shirt with just the Virgin logo on it. An auld fella said to me one day "Heheh, I bet you're not... "

..so tell us...was he correct?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I feel your pain...I too am a weirdo magnet. I like to think its because I am a nice person and they sense that I will entertain their manic ravings but actually I could just be a chump who is just a little too uneasy at telling people to go fcuk themselves. As well as the sexual deviants (the tin-pot romeo with the blinding smile who persisted in his attempted romancing, despite my six-month pregnant belly and the presence of my two small children while my husband was in the jacks), I'm a particular favourite with religious zealots (no trip to town is complete without a small following of shorn and berobed chanters; my home is a regular resting point for witnesses in ill-fitting suit jackets), and the genuinely mentally ill (I once walked the entire way around a supermarket with my hand in the vice like grip of a middle-aged woman with Downs Syndrome who'd slipped her carer). Some people are simply more attractive to the misfits of society...think of it as a vocation...