Do you remember when every house had to have decking out the back

• 02-03-2012 02:42PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

Every hardware store would be full of the stuff.
    Papers were full of lads that would fit it.
    I took off like free heroin, everyone had to have it with fancier hand rails & built in flower boxes.
    Now look at it, the miserable green death trap that it is, only good for the fire I'd say.
    Jaysus we bought into some ****e back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

1st world problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

simpler times really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

What's the difference between a deck and a <insert minority here>?

A deck can support a family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭naoise80

I still have decking out the back.

I clean and treat it once a year and it looks great.

What's your problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm all for it to be honest. Considering the amount of rain we get its nice having an area outside that doesn't turn into a swamp 5 months of the year.

I don't know how much it cost but I am sure the cost of it is miniscule compared to many other boomtime essentials. Like 4 euro coffees and croatian holiday homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Do you remember when every house had to have decking out the back?

No I don't remember that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Went into B&Q the other day, and some c**t in an orange vest asked me if I wanted decking, luckily I got in the first punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭telekon

Do I remember 4 years ago?

Yes. Yes, I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Do you remember when every house had to have a sh1t-bucket in a shed out the back?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I can remember back to when every house had a patio..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Decking is so like totally 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I remember the avocado coloured bathroom suite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Sergeant wrote: »
    I remember the avocado coloured bathroom suite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I remember when people were putting flat screen over the fireplace and on the ceiling too. People are funny creatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

We once made decking out of pallets to piss our neighbours off.

Fun times. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Couldn't the OP come up with something other than a re-cycled Ross O'Carroll Kelly joke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Gophur wrote: »
    Couldn't the OP come up with something other than a re-cycled Ross O'Carroll Kelly joke?

Apparently not.
    We once made decking out of pallets to piss our neighbours off.

Thats actually a really good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

syklops wrote: »

Thats actually a really good idea.

Thank you Syklops. It looked good too and all. Only thing you could build in a city without planning permission. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Deckland Declan?

The McWilliams stereotype?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Do you remember when every house had to have decking out the back

Every house? Are you well? I don't what country you were living in, but it certainly wasn't Ireland. Now there were a few muppets alright, who thought the Island of Ireland had moved into the Mediterranean climatic zone. So they installed decking, forgetting of course about the incessant rain, moss build up, rats and weathering ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I Know a lot of people who put hot tubs on their decking . Don't know how often they are used but I would say a not a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

I got a decking once. Eleven stitches and a broken collarbone. Better now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I don't live south of Dublin in a new-money area so no, I don't remember every house having to have decking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Blikes

...with little solar powered lamps all around it. Ah Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

Do i remember 4 years ago? Hell yah, getting 160 euro per square metre for installing decking, I made a feckin mint. Paslode nailer at 7am Bang! Bang! Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I like to hide corpses under my decking... its getting a bit full under there though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Aside from the fact that decking seems to have been the reserve of a minority, and not the majority, of Irish homeowners, there is some implicit suggestion in the OP's post that there's something wrong with decking -- or what it stands for.

Decking stands for narcissistic consumerism, it seems. It stands for people wanting things they have never been able to afford. It's not so much that laying these planks of wood in your back garden is particularly grand or opulent by European standards, it's that these sorts of forays into consumerism are something that is largely a new frontier for the Irish consumer group.

People like to look back on the celtic tiger period and recollect expensive household furniture and expensive holidays as though it was some sort of mad folly. Not necessarily. In many cases, it was just Irish people catching up with the rest of the world, just as our economy 'caught up' with the rest of the world from about 1986 onwards. (The entire Celtic Tiger period was a long episode in playing catch-up).

Regardless of whether you think such items, or leisure expenses, were necessary (and I would say they often are, for leisure is an important feature of human development and a requirement for a happy, productive society) the point is that this sort of behaviour was not the reserve of the Irish.

If you want to roll your eyes at something, roll them at consumerism in general.

But as far as I can see, the Irish were merely catching up with what is common practice elsewhere in many parts of Europe (and I include Northern Europe) and in the rest of the developed world. And such was, and is, their right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I Know a lot of people who put hot tubs on their decking . Don't know how often they are used but I would say a not a lot

That one always gives me a chuckle. It was classic Celtic Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

My hubbie built our deck, the patio area (from bricks a neighbour of his parents were throwing out) and laid the lawn. It all still looks great and the deck is fantastic to eat brekkie on, on the odd sunny summer morning, or to reduce the mess coming in the back door when it's raining.
    These things were only ill spent on if they aren't used or appreciated, or indeed looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Every house? Are you well? I don't what country you were living in, but it certainly wasn't Ireland. Now there were a few muppets alright, who thought the Island of Ireland had moved into the Mediterranean climatic zone. So they installed decking, forgetting of course about the incessant rain, moss build up, rats and weathering ect.

Sure that's what the patio heater was for. Few lemon scented tikki torches to keep the mozzies at bay, massive 5 burner green ceramic hooded Outback Grill and you're sorted.