Pet Hates - Irishisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭DenMan

I can't stand it when someone says "well" when saying hello. It sounds like they are responding to something else said to them. It doesn't make any sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Amn't, Wtf is that supposed to mean?

And the sharp intake of breath some people do when they're listening to you. It sounds like they've been punched in the stomach, or are having a very small orgasm. Most don't even notice they are doing it.

"Am not." I know it can sound funny, but it's pretty clear what it means, and though it's not strictly correct, there is a certain logic behind it.

You are not = You aren't
    He is not = He isn't
    I am not = I amn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,652 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Amn't, Wtf is that supposed to mean?

And the sharp intake of breath some people do when they're listening to you. It sounds like they've been punched in the stomach, or are having a very small orgasm. Most don't even notice they are doing it.

Not as bad as people saying "atter" (or sometimes "after")

"I'm atter droppin' me toast"

No, you dropped your toast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The Irishism I find amusing is the use of the word "So" instead of a full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

"Am not." I know it can sound funny, but it's pretty clear what it means, and though it's not strictly correct, there is a certain logic behind it.

You are not = You aren't
    He is not = He isn't
    I am not = I amn't

I am not = I'm not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

People in the west doing their bad sean connery impressions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

DenMan wrote: »
    I can't stand it when someone says "well" when saying hello. It sounds like they are responding to something else said to them. It doesn't make any sense.

Right there with you on that one, seems to be people from tyrone who are the biggest culprits for it.

My own one is people from derry say "Yes" as a greeting/saying hello. I didn't ask you a feckin question!!!

I remember when Vodafone bought Eircell and eyebrows were raised about the high revenue a relatively small network generated.

But it became obvious when I started hearin a typical Irish phone call.

In London a typical call would finish off like this "OK mate, that's great, I,ll see you later then, bye".

In Dublin it would finish " aah reet then bud, that's grand so, I'll see yous later then, bye bye, bye, bye bye, bye".

The extra four or five "byes" must be worth a fortune to the networks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Personal peeve of mine is when people want to say something like

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

But instead say it this way;

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

...text messages are the best way to catch out these culprits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

pmcmahon wrote: »
    "yee"-its meant to be "yous or yiz" tut

Ah YOU beat me too it. Everybody from outside the Pale seems to say "Yee" instead of "You", it's like a muck savage impediment or something.

Raekwon wrote: »
    Ah YOU beat me too it. Everybody from outside the Pale seems to say "Yee" instead of "You", it's like a muck savage impediment or something.

Verily square, ye should not mock. They merely rehearse for a performance of Romeo and Juliet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Donegal dictionary:

A..........I
    Aul....... Old
    Aul Boy....Father
    Aul Doll...Mother
    Aye........Yes
    Bother.....Hassle
    Canny......Cannot
    Class.... .Good/Great
    Dinny......Don’t
    Doll......Girl or woman
    Foundered .Extremely cold
    Fray......From
    Gan.......Going
    Gaff......House/flat
    Geesa.....Give me a
    Gissa.....Girl
    Glack........Good luck...........Good bye
    Gon.......Please
    Hanlin....Trouble or Fight or Argument
    Hi........Used at the start and end of every sentence
    Hay.......Have
    Hey?......Phrased as a question meaning what
    Juck......Boy or Man
    Ker............ Car
    Lock......Small amount of something
    Mind......To remember
    Mon.......Come on
    Naw.......No
    Nuance....Unusual
    Pure......very
    Purdies...Potatoes
    Rare......strange or unusual
    Staish....Oh wow or Look
    Thon......That
    Tight.....Cruel
    Wan.......One or 1
    Wan.......Refering to a person. E.g. "Look at that wan there"
    Wee.......Small
    Weins.....Babies or children
    Well......Hello
    Wile......Very or Terrible
    Yes.......Hello
    Yis Sir...Slang, Hello
    Yes Horse........Hello to someone u like
    Yock......... different types of ladies

'
    Most of that is Ulster Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Verily square, ye should not mock. They merely rehearse for a performance of Romeo and Juliet

Well if Romeo and Juliet was performed in GAA jerseys then I would well believe you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

cocokay wrote: »
    "i do be" instead of i am

They don't mean the same thing. 'I do/does be' is the habitual tense, something that standard English lacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

blame the Modh coinniollach and the direct translation from Irish for that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

a few scoops ... in referring to going for a few drinks wrecks my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

oh yeah forgot the "i'm after"s - "im after forgettin me phone" - dingbat.
    or "d'yeh know that kinda way" - eh no wtf are you on about.
    and also "n anyways" on the end of every sentence or yizzer "how much are yizzer cans o dutch gold n all n anyways" arrrrgh drives me insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

She had a fanny on her like a badly packed kebab

or

Ahh Bee Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

Maybe they are pronouncing it like this

I would've gone
    I could've gone
    I should've gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

maximoose wrote: »
    Culchies pronouncing his like "He's"

Dubs adding O to the end of male names.

DaveO, JackO, DanO,

Dubs adding bleedin before words and inferring danger just to exagerate something.

instead of "it was good" it is "bleedin deadly"

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Maybe they are pronouncing it like this

I would've gone
    I could've gone
    I should've gone

there are definitely people out there who think it's "would OF". I've even heard them say it when breaking down their sentence.

"I............ WOULD............ OF............"

It really makes me cringe!

DaveO, JackO, DanO,

Dubs adding bleedin before words and inferring danger just to exagerate something.

instead of "it was good" it is "bleedin deadly"

Or "Brutal"

And size "it was bleedin massive"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

DaveO, JackO, DanO,

instead of "it was good" it is "bleedin deadly
    "

no it was f/ucking savage

I am not = I'm not

Obviously.
    As I said in my previous post, "I amn't" isn't considered to be strictly correct.

I was pointing out that it's understandable that some people say it as there's a certain logic to it.
    If "You are not" becomes either "You aren't" or "You're not" and "He is not" becomes "He isn't" or "He's not," then it's not such a leap for someone to think "I am not" might become "I amn't" or "I'm not."

I never understand when people don't seem to get where it comes from, regardless of whether they find it annoying or not.

DaveO, JackO, DanO,

This one is bad too, but I have to say I prefer it to the British way of putting "Y" at the end of EVERYTHING! Even when it sounds horrible!

"Yeah, me and Wayney were out............."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

MrStuffins wrote: »
    there are definitely people out there who think it's "would OF". I've even heard them say it when breaking down their sentence.

"I............ WOULD............ OF............"

It really makes me cringe!

threads hating on "Irishisms" make me cringe, I'm glad we have our own sayings/mannerisms, it adds to the flavour of being Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Obviously.
    As I said in my previous post, "I amn't" isn't considered to be strictly correct.

I was pointing out that it's understandable that some people say it as there's a certain logic to it.
    If "You are not" becomes either "You aren't" or "You're not" and "He is not" becomes "He isn't" or "He's not," then it's not such a leap for someone to think "I am not" might become "I amn't" or "I'm not."

I never understand when people don't seem to get where it comes from, regardless of whether they find it annoying or not.

I get the logic of it. It probably sounds weird as it isn't said by a wider population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Thailand is not Thighland. The surname Thompson is pronounced with a silent H...etc etc.

Crosáidí wrote: »
    threads hating on "Irishisms" make me cringe, I'm glad we have our own sayings/mannerisms, it adds to the flavour of being Irish

I'm glad you celebrate, in a lot of these cases, pig-ignorance!

I get the logic of it. It probably sounds weird as it isn't said by a wider population.

I guess I'm just old enough to remember it being very common then, when I was young. :)

I actually remember seeing a teacher in a language school teaching "I amn't" to a low-level class learning English as though it were the standard, and that was only a few years ago! :eek:
    That took me by surprise. It's one thing to use it informally; another to teach it, and not "I'm not" to foreign students who probably wouldn't be living in Ireland.