Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your County's Best 15

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

pipelaser wrote: »
    Meath

Brendan Murphy

Gary O'Brien Kevin Reilly Shane McAnerney

Ciaran Leinehan Cormac mcGuinness Seamus Kenny

Brian Meade Mark Ward

Graham Reilly Shane O'Rourke Stephen Bray

Cian Ward Joe Sheridan Paddy Gilsenan

(With plenty of Interchanging of forwards, because it seems to be what we do)

Sub. Mr. G. Geraghty

Only one sub :eek:

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Dubhthamlacht

Monaghan

Mark Keogh
    Kieran Duffy Darren Hughes Colin Walsh
    Dessie Mone Vinny Corey Gary McQuaid
    Eoin Lennon Dick Clerkin
    Dermot Malone Paul Finlay Eoin Duffy
    Tommy Freeman Kieran Hughes Conor McManus

Subs:
    Neil McAdam
    Chris McGuiness
    Peter O'Hanlon
    Pete Dooney
    Matthew McKenna
    Bernard O'Brien
    Keith McEneaney
    Paul McGuigan
    David Hughes
    Conor Galligan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Deadly, been looking for a Monaghan selection - tyvm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Only one sub :eek:

:P

He literally picks himself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

keane2097 wrote: »
    Would you replace Blake or just shuffle the pack a bit?

Joyce and Armstrong would surely be in there when they get up to full fitness I'd have thought?

Probably wouldn't have Blake at all to be honest. He's always been very loose at centre back and I don't rate him that much. Johnny Duane from last year's U-21 team is playing there now but it's early days for him yet.

As for Joyce and Armstrong I'm not sure. In the case of Joyce it depends whether Mulholland wants to start him or keep as some sort of super sub. I'd imagine if he's fit and raring to go you'd have to start him. I don't know if Armstrong will be an automatic starter tbh. He's been plagued by injuries and never really hit the heights that his underage performances suggested he would, which is a shame. Fully fit he'll still be a good option though.

bruschi wrote: »
    Wexford - Football
    Masterson
    N. Murphy
    Molloy
    Malone
    Doyle
    D. Murphy
    Flynn
    Waters
    Quinlavin
    Barry
    Bradley
    Roche
    Lyng
    Banville
    Brosnan

some new faces possibly this year are Andrew Shore midfield, Lee Chin, Sean Culleton and Rob Tierney wing back, Conor Carty, Brendan Mulligan corner back, Michael O Reegan forward/midfield.

Was there a guy called Morris or something who would be named as a forward but play as a sweeper? I remember him being pretty good...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,601 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Meath

Brendan Murphy

Gary O'Brien Kevin Reilly Shane McAnerney

Ciaran Leinehan Cormac mcGuinness Seamus Kenny

Brian Meade Mark Ward

Graham Reilly Shane O'Rourke Stephen Bray

(With plenty of Interchanging of forwards, because it seems to be what we do)

Sub. Mr. G. Geraghty
    Not a bad side but personally I'd have SOR in midfield. He was very decent there last season in the championship and I'd hope that he'd be played there once he's back from injury. Also, Murphy's retired so I'd have Gally in there.
    Here's my team for what it's worth.
    David Gallagher
    Gary O'Brien Kevin Reilly Chris O'Connor

Ciaran Lenehan Cormac mcGuinness Shane McAnarney

Shane O'Rourke Brian Meade

Graham Reilly Stephen Bray Seamus Kenny

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Was there a guy called Morris or something who would be named as a forward but play as a sweeper? I remember him being pretty good...

yup, Colm Morris. Lining out at centre forward tomorrow. He is pushing 36 or so I'd say at this stage, but still probably one of the fittest around. Will probably end up starting again this season, but there are a lot of young good players coming through too. Took a bit of time out to make his mind up over retirement this year. I'd say this will be his last year, but a great player for us. Has probably been named in nearly every position on the field bar goalkeeper.

Not a bad side but personally I'd have SOR in midfield. He was very decent there last season in the championship and I'd hope that he'd be played there once he's back from injury. Also, Murphy's retired so I'd have Gally in there.
    Here's my team for what it's worth.
    David Gallagher
    Gary O'Brien Kevin Reilly Chris O'Connor

Ciaran Lenehan Cormac mcGuinness Shane McAnarney

Shane O'Rourke Brian Meade

Graham Reilly Stephen Bray Seamus Kenny

What the hell was I thinking? Take Brian Meade out of that midfield and stick Tom Walsh in. Brian Meade was absolutely abysmal yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭pipelaser

What the hell was I thinking? Take Brian Meade out of that midfield and stick Tom Walsh in. Brian Meade was absolutely abysmal yesterday.

What I wouldn't give for just one midfielder with a bit of Consistency!

Walsh Is looking good. What age is he? Big Lad!

What I wouldn't give for just one midfielder with a bit of Consistency!

Walsh Is looking good. What age is he? Big Lad!
    Not sure what age he is but he's been in or around the first team for the past few seasons. Hopefully once Shane O Rourke returns, both him and Walsh do a job in midfield.
    I always think Mark Ward could be a very good midfielder but almost every time he goes for a ball, he punches it, even when he's under no pressure. Also, his tackling is laughable at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭randd1

Herrity

Paul Murphy / Noel Hickey / Jackie Tyrrell
    Tommy Walsh / Brian Hogan / JJ Delaney

Michael Rice / Michael Fennelly

TJ Reid / Richie Power / Eoin Larkin
    Colin Fennelly / Henry Shefflin / Richie Hogan

Pretty awesome when you look at it. You could also swap Richie Hogan for Aidan Fogarty and switch Shefflin and Larkin around. Still the strongest team in the country, on paper at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Possibly Laois's currently best 15

Culleton

Healy Timmons P O'Leary

Strong Meaney Boyle

Quigley O'Loughlin

Donoher Begley Munnelly

Cahillane Clancy D Conway

Kingston if he returns after exams might displace one of the forwards.

Bumping this, with the leagues finished up and Championship just about to kick off what do people make their countys' best 15s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

Galway

At the present moment, assuming everyone there now is fully fit.

1. Adrian Faherty
    2. Colin Forde
    3. Finian Hanley
    4. Kieran McGrath
    5. Garreth Bradshaw
    6. Johnny Duane
    7. Garry O'Donnell
    8. Joe Bergin
    9. Greg Higgins
    10. Gary Sice
    11. Damien Burke
    12. Padraic Joyce
    13. Sean Armstrong
    14. Paul Conroy
    15. Michael Meehan

Galway

At the present moment, assuming everyone there now is fully fit.

1. Adrian Faherty
    2. Colin Forde
    3. Finian Hanley
    4. Kieran McGrath
    5. Garreth Bradshaw
    6. Johnny Duane
    7. Garry O'Donnell
    8. Joe Bergin
    9. Greg Higgins
    10. Gary Sice
    11. Damien Burke
    12. Padraic Joyce
    13. Sean Armstrong
    14. Paul Conroy
    15. Michael Meehan

Is Higgins one of the lads from that U21 team? No place when fit for Fintan Ó Curraoin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Limerick

Football
    1. Brian Scanlon
    2. Stephen Lavin
    3. Stephen Lucey
    4. John Riordan
    5. Paudie Browne
    6. Johnny McCarthy
    7. Pa Ranahan
    8. Jim Donovan
    9. John Galvin
    10. Eoghan O'Connor
    11. Stephen Kelly
    12. Seanie Buckley
    13. Ger Collins
    14. Seamus O'Carroll
    15. Ian Ryan

Plenty of switching would be done in that defence, depending on who we are playing. McCarthy would pick up the opposition's best forward. Lucey could play at 6 but I'm not sure he has the legs for it anymore. Without Galvin, I'd have Tom Lee in midfield, another good ball-winner. We have decent players like Cooke and Sheahan available too.

Hurling
    1. Nicky Quaid
    2. Seamus Hickey
    3. Tom Condon
    4. David Moloney
    5. Tom Ryan
    6. Donal O'Grady
    7. Gavin O'Mahoney
    8. Paul Browne
    9. James Ryan
    10. Shane Dowling
    11. David Breen
    12. Declan Hannon
    13. Graham Mulcahy
    14. Kevin Downes
    15. Sean Tobin

Main worry is over the backline. Who to have at full-back? Where to play Hickey (even though he's injured now anyway)? That forward line looks good, but the replacements wouldn't be as potent- Tommy Quaid, Mikey Ryan, Carmody, Moran are all decent players but not great (Moran is the exception, on his day, he's unplayable but he doesn't have enough of those days).

Did Graham O'Connell make any impression on the panel? I know he was training with them for a while at least.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Kilkenny post league (assuming the various injuries clear up):

Herity
    Murphy
    Delaney
    Tyrell
    Walsh
    Hogan
    Doyle
    Rice
    Fennelly
    TJ Reid
    Power
    Hogan
    Fennelly
    Larkin
    Shefflin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

Is Higgins one of the lads from that U21 team? No place when fit for Fintan Ó Curraoin?

No he is a bit older than that. He plays midfield for Corofin and has been one of their most consistent performers. He can win a bit of ball and although limited seems to understand his limitations.

O' Curraoin if he got a decent run in the league would quite likely be named there. He'll have to dislodge one of the other two on current form. A poor performance in midfield Sunday might change that of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Did Graham O'Connell make any impression on the panel? I know he was training with them for a while at least.

Not as far as I know...I think he's still in the panel, but doesn't look like making a breakthrough. I'm not 100% sure tbh, he came on as a sub at least once in the league.

John Mullane got a bit of gametime last year, I heard he pulled out of the panel and I forgot about James O'Meara when I was making the panel, he's done pretty well for himself in the league although isn't starting at the weekend.
    adrian522 wrote: »
    Kilkenny post league (assuming the various injuries clear up):

Herity
    Murphy
    Delaney
    Tyrell
    Walsh
    Hogan
    Doyle
    Rice
    Fennelly
    TJ Reid
    Power
    Hogan
    Fennelly
    Larkin
    Shefflin

No place for Ruth? I was very impressed with him. I know there's a lot of competition for places but as an outsider, I'd have thought he earned his place.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Fireball07 wrote: »

No place for Ruth? I was very impressed with him. I know there's a lot of competition for places but as an outsider, I'd have thought he earned his place.
    He was grand, but he's not better than any of the 6 mentioned above.

Depends where Shefflin is used but I'd imagine he'll start from the bench.

Buckley is a great talent and he will see game time too.

Rice could also play in the forwards pushing ruth further down the pecking order. Good option from the bench though.