15 year old boy tortured and killed for being a witch [UK]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Sweet Jesus, I'm sorry I read that.

I'm absolutely sickened, to the point I feel nauseous! That poor young lad, what a way to suffer, and at the hands of people who he trusted. They must have been just waiting for them to get their kicks!

I hope life in prison isn't kind to them! I know it's not the right answer, but after reading that, FCUK being PC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Anyone remember the story of the man caught shagging a goat and said he has hired a prostitute and she must have been a witch who transformed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭KilOit

1 less witch

KilOit wrote: »
    1 less witch

WHAT????

Are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

pacquiao wrote: »
    the source was on the first page of this thread bud.
    Oh I see. It was the very line before the bit I referred to (which you decided to dismiss) . Nice selective editing.

One in four Irish people have been sexually abused apparently. The catholic church was responsible for an awful lot of that happening to children, and for protecting those rersponsible. Yet the Catholic church still have a lot of control over Irish schools - including primary schools. Meanwhile, the government passes an "anti-blasphemy" law.

And like I said, we can't claim mitigation of extreme economic hardship, taken as a whole.

Anyway, I can see my suggestions that people shouldn't be massive racist hypocrites aren't too popular here, so I'll leave ye to it.
    It isn't remotely racist to simply point out how f'ucked up a society is - so bad that its own people would criticise it. It's not hypocritical either - how are we responsible for what has happened to children via the church?

Ireland is obviously a far better place in which to live than the Congo - and you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

smash wrote: »
    Anyone remember the story of the man caught shagging a goat and said he has hired a prostitute and she must have been a witch who transformed?

I remember the other story or priest in a village who was killed for being magical.

What I found hilarious out of that horrible story was that they chased out and accused the wife of turning into a snail and terrorising the village :pac:

Really archaic cultures in parts of Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭KilOit

RachaelVO wrote: »
    WHAT????

Are you for real?

Of course I'm joking, the story is horrific. My humour spin is a way of coping. This is nothing new in places like Congo

KilOit wrote: »
    Of course I'm joking, the story is horrific. My humour spin is a way of coping. This is nothing new in places like Congo

OK then, I have a pretty broad based sense of humour, but I've been truly horrified and very sickened by that story so I just can't see jokes about it funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Do you guys think this rubbish isn`t happening here? I have encountered it and it wasn`t the congo it was Nigerian here in Ireland. A Latvian woman married to a Nigerian man here was trying to kill herself because the Nigerian family of the man here were torturing her and her 12 year old daughter who had been sent to Nigeria because they thought they were under a spell/witches. Thats half an hour down the road from me, in a government asylum camp. I would be interested to see how prevalent it is, I would have concern that it is very prevalent and we will see similar cases here soon.

theg81der wrote: »
    Do you guys think this rubbish isn`t happening here? I have encountered it and it wasn`t the congo it was Nigerian here in Ireland. A Latvian woman married to a Nigerian man here was trying to kill herself because the Nigerian family of the man here were torturing her and her 12 year old daughter who had been sent to Nigeria because they thought they were under a spell/witches. Thats half an hour down the road from me, in a government asylum camp. I would be interested to see how prevalent it is, I would have concern that it is very prevalent and we will see similar cases here soon.

That's frightening and very accurate!

It's only a matter of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Oh I see. It was the very line before the bit I referred to (which you decided to dismiss) . Nice selective editing.

One in four Irish people have been sexually abused apparently. The catholic church was responsible for an awful lot of that happening to children, and for protecting those rersponsible. Yet the Catholic church still have a lot of control over Irish schools - including primary schools. Meanwhile, the government passes an "anti-blasphemy" law.

And like I said, we can't claim mitigation of extreme economic hardship, taken as a whole.

Anyway, I can see my suggestions that people shouldn't be massive racist hypocrites aren't too popular here, so I'll leave ye to it.
    I swear, one of these days there'll be a post about how hitler was bad, and one of these people will pop out of the nearest cup of tea and say "ah but you know... Irish people wear black clothes too..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

theg81der wrote: »
    Do you guys think this rubbish isn`t happening here? I have encountered it and it wasn`t the congo it was Nigerian here in Ireland.
    But that's as a result of their beliefs from the society they grew up in. It doesn't matter where they are, if they have those beliefs then they'll stick with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

blaze1 wrote: »
    Saw this yesterday, absolultly disgusting story.

Bring back hanging

Burning at the Stake seems more appropriate somehow ;)

You know how we in this country live in the 21st Century?
    Reading this proves to me that some people and societies are still living with a pre 18th Century mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

It's absolutely crazy and I think they need to go away for a VERY long time and be made an example of to drive home the fact that this is not acceptable in the rational world.

There are horrendous things done in the name of religious belief / faith all over the world. That kind of torture went on in Europe in the past e.g. the Inquisition. There are still plenty of religious societies in the Middle East that seem to think it's quite normal to stone people to death for all sorts of reasons from being gay to being accused of adultery.

Religious excuses can be used for all sorts of totally inhumane and utterly unacceptable behaviour.

The sad reality is that people behave horrendously when they get into cult-type situations. It can happen around a religious ideology or even a political ideology.

I seriously think there's too much respect given to 'faith-based ....' problems.

If you torture and murder someone, it is utterly inexcusable and the punishment should not be in any way reduced because of faith / cultural background.

Given the depravity of the attack, you would really have to wonder if the two involved were sane too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

The BBC or C4 had a documentry on this about a year ago, with a reporter who went undercover.
    I'm not sure what you call them, a minister or church leader, says that all the problems in someone's life is due to an evil spirit entering the body of a younger sibbling, and to fix all the problems/bad-luck in their family's life an exorism has to performed.

What of the person that convinced these two, that a member of her family was a witch?

Could we drop the them/us crap, superstition is part of every culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Some cousins were/are belonged to a what can only be described as a religious christian sect here in Ireland. I started to read up on the organisation out of curiosity and came to the conclusion that it was quite simply a cult with all the group dynamics and quasi-brainwashing involved in a cult.

Months later, I confronted a cousin on the topic of it being a cult.

The conversation panned out as follows.

Me "I think your church is a bit of a cult isn't it?"
    Cousin "What makes you say that?"
    Me "Well I did a bit of research on the internet"
    Cousin <angrily> "That's the Devil tempting you"

One can only resort to loud expletives when the counter argument is that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Some cousins were/are belonged to a what can only be described as a religious christian sect here in Ireland. I started to read up on the organisation out of curiosity and came to the conclusion that it was quite simply a cult with all the group dynamics and quasi-brainwashing involved in a cult.

I confronted a cousin on the topic of it being a cult.

The conversation panned out as follows.

Me "I think your church is a bit of a cult isn't it?"
    Cousin "What makes you say that?"
    Me "Well I dod a bit of research on the internet"
    Cousin <angrily> "That's the Devil tempting you"

One can only resort to loud expletives when the counter argument is that!

I was actually just making this point to someone we were discussing this thread cause I showed it to them. Its like my granny - she has a pic of the pope up on front of her and no amount of convincing will make her believe that he is not gods embodiment here on earth, same with the priest even after all they did. What do you say when people are that brainwashed?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Dudess wrote: »
    It isn't remotely racist to simply point out how f'ucked up a society is - so bad that its own people would criticise it. It's not hypocritical either - how are we responsible for what has happened to children via the church?

Ireland is obviously a far better place in which to live than the Congo - and you know it.

This really, theres an excellent channel 4 documentary about African child witches that would turn your stomach about how completely fcuked up those places are, and the people who convince ignorant villagers (thats not an insult) that someone who has a nice house is a witch, its like something from the dark ages, theres a horrific video on liveleak of a witch being stoned and burned to death in the middle of a street, with kids looking on as hysterical people smash rocks off her while shes lying there burnt to a cinder, animals is a perfectly apt description for these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

Dudess wrote: »

To be jaysis you're right... I wouldn't be able to handle the heat at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭stylie

Did he weigh the same as a duck ?

On a more serious note when I was in Saudi an african driver was being tried for being a witch. He apparently put a spell on his employeer/slave owner that made the slave owner rape his house maid and get her pregnant. Lots of Saudi's accuse the Afircans of witch craft when they want to blame shift.

stylie wrote: »
    Did he weigh the same as a duck ?

On a more serious note when I was in Saudi an african driver was being tried for being a witch. He apparently put a spell on his employeer/slave owner that made the slave owner rape his house maid and get her pregnant. Lots of Saudi's accuse the Afircans of witch craft when they want to blame shift.

Its utterly mad than if you commit a crime in the Congo you can essentially blame anyone, literally anyone be they man woman or child, claim theyre a witch and the chances are theyll be burned alive and you get off since you were under their "spell"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

I'd also stress that this isn't a uniquely African problem.

The Salem witch trials weren't that long ago in American culture.

It's a problem that seems to occur when puritanical cults gain too much traction and it happens in all sorts of societies.

Rule of civil law is there to prevent these kinds of things !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Solair wrote: »

It's a problem that seems to occur when puritanical cults gain too much traction and it happens in all sorts of societies.

Wouldn't consider the 17th century as not long ago..

Solair wrote: »

ehh, they happened in the 1690's, thats quite a long time ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

They both should be taken out back and shot:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

Painful to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

The guards should torture the **** out of him. It wouldn't be hard, just get a black hat in the discount store, some sewing pins and a voodoo doll with his mugshot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

Lost for words when I see this kind of mentality. These folks, like the Muslims, are 1000's of years behind the evolutionary process with their mindset.

Disgusting.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Lost for words when I see this kind of mentality. These folks, like the Muslims, are 1000's of years behind the evolutionary process with their mindset.

Disgusting.....

Come on lad ,that's a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Disgusting.....

What's wrong with the Muslims?