If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Dolorous wrote: »
    I had a really light sleep last night but weirdly feel better for it than if I'd had a deep sleep...!

Never mind, it's just kicked in... I feel like I really could sleep at my desk now! And I have to go out tonight for work drinks, maybe it's time for an afternoon coffee...
    Waaaaaaahhhh, where did I save [bit of imagery that took forever to put together], where is it gone, what did I even call it so I can search for it, stupid technology, stupid everything.

Are you on Windows? Try Start/Documents and that should bring up your recent ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I've never had tonsilitis (touch wood) even though I have MASSIVE tonsils. Keep hearing of people getting it lately though so it must be doing the rounds. Feel better Emiliy.

Day is going quicker than expected. Getting a fair bit of work done. Still can't wait to go home though.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Kiera wrote: »
    How did it go?

Really well, thanks. :)

I was so bloody nervous though, I wouldn't mind but I've met them before as he and I have know each other over 8 years now, but this was the first time in years and since he and I decided to give us a go.

But yes, I was a bag of nerves that morning, I wore heels and everything. :D

EmilyO wrote: »
    Ah, tonsillitis. We meet again :(
    I have a humongous essay due next Friday, I'm working all next week and I was meant to see the bf today. Fcuk you, bacteria :(
    Oh you poor creature, rest up and hope you feel better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Ophiopogon wrote: »
    I'm not a film buff in any way and also I've not really seen a lot of movies made recently but is it just me or were films a lot more violent in the 80's and 90's. I mean I have seen a few of the saw's and hostel to me were just gross but I can think of a really violent movie made recently.

And yes I'm procrasting...

They could get away with more in the 80s and 90s, now everything is toned down, sure look at The Expendables 2, its a throwback to all those Arnie, Sly and Bruce Willis action movies starring all three and ...its pg. I mean really? kids today barely know who those guys are its supposed to be for people who grew up watching their movies in the 80s. Sick of movies being made to appeal to certain demographics these days instead of just being about making a good film. kids today are wusses :pac:

The most violent movie I've seen recently is Drive, its shockingly violent in places as its so cold and unexpected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Maple wrote: »
    Really well, thanks. :)

I was so bloody nervous though, I wouldn't mind but I've met them before as he and I have know each other over 8 years now, but this was the first time in years and since he and I decided to give us a go.

But yes, I was a bag of nerves that morning, I wore heels and everything. :D

Awww that's really cool. I think it has to be the worst thing about meeting someone. I've no problem meeting his mates and that but i get dead scared when it comes to meeting the folks.

Glad it went well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

Hmm.. Got an email from college inviting me to an information meeting for research masters/phd. Apparently one of my lecturers put my name forward as someone who they think is capable of successfully completing one, which surprises me because I'm not an extraordinary student, my grades are fairly average.
    I'm tempted to go, but I'm scared I'll get there and they'll tell me the email was sent to me by accident or something :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Dolorous wrote: »
    Are you on Windows? Try Start/Documents and that should bring up your recent ones

I saved over it. Idjit!

Afternoon coffee sounds like a plan and a half. I want an afternoon margarita. Went into 777 on Georges St last week & they were thronged so couldn't get a table and the site of all the lovely, frosty margaritas is living with me

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

krudler wrote: »
    They could get away with more in the 80s and 90s, now everything is toned down, sure look at The Expendables 2, its a throwback to all those Arnie, Sly and Bruce Willis action movies starring all three and ...its pg.

No......it can't be,for feck sake

Hmm.. Got an email from college inviting me to an information meeting for research masters/phd. Apparently one of my lecturers put my name forward as someone who they think is capable of successfully completing one, which surprises me because I'm not an extraordinary student, my grades are fairly average.
    I'm tempted to go, but I'm scared I'll get there and they'll tell me the email was sent to me by accident or something :o

Do it. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

That's a great feather to have in your cap, well done. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

They could get away with more in the 80s and 90s, now everything is toned down, sure look at The Expendables 2, its a throwback to all those Arnie, Sly and Bruce Willis action movies starring all three and ...its pg. I mean really? kids today barely know who those guys are its supposed to be for people who grew up watching their movies in the 80s. Sick of movies being made to appeal to certain demographics these days instead of just being about making a good film. kids today are wusses :pac:

The most violent movie I've seen recently is Drive, its shockingly violent in places as its so cold and unexpected.

Yeah never really thought about it before. Just got a few movie channels on the TV with older movies on it and so watching things that scared the crap out of me as a child, and finding that they still scare the crap out of me.

Can't think of anything I've seen since that scares, shocks me. Even with things like the human cenitpede, etc. to me they are just a bit obvious and overdone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

Woo! got a tshirt making request for a load of kids tshirts- the woman has given my free reign with the designs. I love doing kids shirts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Go! :D You have nothing to lose by going and potentially a lot to gain. :)

So I opened up one of the cases I planned to read today and saw it was over 100,000 words. Wasn't too happy about that and said to myself "ah sure, I can skim through most of it if I read it with a focus and from the right slant." In the second paragraph I saw the following sentence: "The corporate structure of the group is complicated." NEVER a good thing to see in a judgment. I tried to skip the bits describing the corporate structure, thinking them to be irrelevant but it turns out I actually have to know it as the whole judgment is confusing otherwise. I know what I'm doing for the next few hours, so...:rolleyes: Not even a diagram of the corporate structure is helping much and the million acronyms are making my eyes bleed. Bah. I wanted to go for a walk and enjoy the mild sunshine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I ate too much... zzzzzzzz.

No......it can't be,for feck sake

yup, thanks to Chuck Norris, who wouldnt appear in it if it was too adult themed, quite why they let a z-list actor whos only famous these days because of internet jokes that got tired about 5 years ago dictate the rating is beyond me, but there ya go.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

yup, thanks to Chuck Norris, who wouldnt appear in it if it was too adult themed, quite why they let a z-list actor whos only famous these days because of internet jokes that got tired about 5 years ago dictate the rating is beyond me, but there ya go.

what in gods name is chuck norris doing in it?what possessed them to cast him?and to think I was really looking forward to seeing this.I see van damme is in it too,all the old school 80,90's action actor's cool,except for chuck!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Sitting in the sunshine in Stephen's Green park. Do not want to back to work. :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

The sun's just gone behind a cloud. I'm taking this as a sign from God to go back and do some menial work for a low wage. Stupid cloud.

what in gods name is chuck norris doing in it?what possessed them to cast him?and to think I was really looking forward to seeing this.I see van damme is in it too,all the old school 80,90's action actor's cool,except for chuck!

heres the trailer if you havent seen it yet:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

Today I looked myself in the mirror and I saw a very pretty young woman looking back at me :o
    For the first time in a while I feel pretty. I feel I'm worth loving and I feel precious :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

The weather is glorious today. It feels like summer in my back yard. Had tea outside during my lunch break :D

I've decided I'm getting a fringe. Not sure when I'm going to get it because my schedule is full but I'm getting one. (Again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I like travelling on trains. They're more comfy than buses. :D

My poor bf has some sort of bug though. He's complaining of a sore jaw and dizzyness and generally just not feeling himself. Won't go to the doctor, typical man. :rolleyes: I'm making him go if he doesn't feel better in the next couple of days. I'm armed with some of the buns and cookies I made yesterday for him so hopefully that will make him feel a little better. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

really wonderful weather indeed, had a nice long walk this morning, and gonna have another shortly :D

I had like the best shower in ages too... water was just so perfect, was relaxing as hell 'cos my shoulders were all sore yesterday, I could feel all the tension go... I didn't want to get out :o

had more electrolysis yesterday too, god it can really hurt sometimes! :eek: but definitely getting there I think ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Feel a bit guilty cos my boyfriend's grandad (who lives in the apartment upstairs, it's a duplex) is pretty sick, his wife is in the hospital after an operation, and I can't look after him cos I don't want to pass on germs to the baby (there are 3 million cases of flu in France since January) as he is too young...

Luckily he has lots of family to help but still! We live here practically rent-free and I can do nothing!

Ivy, sorry to hear that. Of course you cant expose Terrible Jnr to something like that - what about cooking up some lots of soups and stews instead? That way you can show that you are thinking of them and that you are trying to help, but not exposing yourself or baby to the illness Nothing better than having some easy food you can just reheat if you are ill or looking after someone that is ill?

A neighbour brought a massive vat of Beef and Guinness stew around when we had a family funeral - it was brilliant - nobody had the energy or will to cook and it was a godsend at the time. I did the same when the OH's parents were both sick, and it worked out great for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Got some rather interesting news this morning when I turned on my laptop and checked my emails - since yesterday was a Leap Day, 29th of February, my sister took the opportunity to ask her boyfriend to marry her.

And he said yes.

Never one for the traditional route, that woman.

Posting anonymously for now, because my parents want to tell the rest of our extended family before my sister even puts it up on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

my god, twirl bites are the nicest things ever!
    It's like getting a bag of mini twirls.
    NOM!!!

bubblefett wrote: »
    my god, twirl bites are the nicest things ever!
    It's like getting a bag of mini twirls.
    NOM!!!

I prefer Crunchie Rocks (all the pieces from the floor of the crunchie factory - Cadbury's are genius's)

started watching Its Always Sunny In Philadelphia, why had I never watched it before now?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Oh my God. I am getting this lady out of the pound and smuggling her into my house, I don't care what my dad says.

420432_10150718201007474_270131087473_11369974_135086011_n.jpg