Can RTE ever get it right Broadcasting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

its just sh**e tbh..

It just needs to be more focussed on creating more home grown stuff and spend less on wages and rubbish from the US and UK that people can get for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I used to be a lot more anti RTE than I am now and amazingly I have boards.ie to thank for my about face on the whole RTE issue.

What made me change my mind on the RTE issue?

The amount of self-hating, Anglophile, pro NI Unionist, anti-Irish language, anti-Irish culture people on these boards disturbs me.

At the very least RTE acts as a televisual (and radio) cultural 'anchor point' for me as I do not subscribe to this general loathing of all things Irish and it helps me delineate my identity from these horrible cretins who would not shed any tears to see the obliteration of all things that separate us culturally from our former colonists.

Hopefully I'm not one of those who irritate you? but I do prefer the UK stations for all kinds of programming, that's not to say that I dislike RTE, who do a great job on a local level, I just think that money & experience speaks volumes, and the UK stations have everything in spades! RTE by comparisson is small fry (very small fry) on a small budget. I think RTE hold their own on a local level, and they serve to preserve the Irish language & Irish culture > this is a good thing - but I do often think of them as being like a poorly funded amateur UK regional station :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Irish tv is just horribly cringe worthy cant bring myself to watch anything on it..

I am scarred for life having watched Pat Kenny interview Bridgette Nielsen a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

I am scarred for life having watched Pat Kenny interview Bridgette Nielsen a few years back.

Why what happened?

patwicklow wrote: »
    Why what happened?

See if its on you tube, she made an eejit out of poor Pat, she tried to get him to put on one of her knee high boots, cant find it on you tube myself but it must be there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

See if its on you tube, she made an eejit out of poor Pat, she tried to get him to put on one of her knee high boots, cant find it on you tube myself but it must be there somewhere.

Much worse than the time he interviewed Enya, which was until now the worst thing I saw. It was like two planks of wood sitting side by side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

It just needs to be more focussed on creating more home grown stuff and spend less on wages and rubbish from the US and UK that people can get for free.

I agree its time for RTE to get back to basics and start making TV that people actually want to watch,like Sports Stadium on Saturdays was a great programme back in the day I doubt RTE would be even capable of doing a show like that now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Its not the worst station by any stretch of the imagination, certainly not as bad as some people on here would have you believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

LordSutch wrote: »
    I think RTE hold their own on a local level, and they serve to preserve the Irish language & Irish culture > this is a good thing - but I do often think of them as being like a poorly funded amateur UK regional station :))

BBC is a wealthy corporation who make some brilliant programs, no doubt.

One of the problems we have here is similar to the problem Canada has with the US.

The talent, not just presenters, tends to gravitate to the larger neighbour where there is greater reward in the form of raising your profile, getting more exposure, and far greater financial reward.

RTE just needs to be more focussed on nurturing home-grown programming and talent imo.

Its not the worst station by any stretch of the imagination, certainly not as bad as some people on here would have you believe.

Yes about 2% of it ok 98% pure rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

it says volumes about RTE when Dave McSavage was responsible for the best thing they've done in years, I dont like him nor his standup but The Savage Eye was fantastic, more stuff like that and less money spent on Kenny and Tubridy and cheap, cheap, cheap productions values on everything please. the amount of money being wasted on talentless presenters is unreal, Tubridy doesnt have an iota of talent in him as a talk show host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Mary Kennedy

Oi. Leave Mary out of this. She is a great broadcaster and raging milf.

Aidric wrote: »

More like a gilf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I have given up watching RTE if something can be watched on another station, I have lost count the amount of times that RTE does not work properly with Sky+ and you lose the end of a TV show, recently it decided to record the first 43 minutes of Homeland, and incorporate the last 20odd minutes in with Damages which was on afterwards.

I may be jumping the gun in blaming RTE, but its the only station on Sky that I have that issue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Aidric wrote: »

I know lots of people like her but I can't stand her. She just seems very fake and patronising. I saw her interview Maureen O'Hara on Nationwide once and she kept talking down to Maureen and interrupting her. She looked like she wanted to kill Mary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Just tuned into the 5pm news echos talking over clips laughable carry on laughable.....

Was it as bad as this sentence?

al28283 wrote: »
    Was it as bad as this sentence?

You worked it out did you:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

You worked it out, did you?:rolleyes:

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I used to be a lot more anti RTE than I am now and amazingly I have boards.ie to thank for my about face on the whole RTE issue.

I'm still against the over-paying of our 'stars' and the paying for UK and US shite 'comedy' and soap that can be gotten easily from UK FTA sat.

The amount of self-hating, Anglophile, pro NI Unionist, anti-Irish language, anti-Irish culture people on these boards disturbs me.

At the very least RTE acts as a televisual (and radio) cultural 'anchor point' for me as I do not subscribe to this general loathing of all things Irish and it helps me delineate my identity from these horrible cretins who would not shed any tears to see the obliteration of all things that separate us culturally from our former colonists.

Think that's a touch hysterical Chuck. It's right and reasonable to raise concerns with regard to Irish language policy without having one's sense of Irishness called into question.

As for pro-Unionist posters and those who would genuinely delight in seeing the languages demise, I think you could count those contributors on one hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

because love to see all the **** ups they make so ye

Pat ? Is there a shift key on your computer are are you just too lazy to do capitals ?

Just askin.......

Pat ? Is there a shift key on your computer are are you just too lazy to do capitals ?

Just askin.......

have two hands and only 3 fing,,ers betwe,,en the//m:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I'm still against the over-paying of our 'stars' and the paying for UK and US shite 'comedy' and soap that can be gotten easily from UK FTA sat.

RTE are biggest bunch of West Brits with a colonial mentality.

RTE's radio broadcasting such as Creedo and Late Date is top class though.

TG4 is what you're looking for. Some brilliant shows on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

RTE have had some interesting music programmes, it has to be said the UK and for that matter the US do not have music archival programmes like Come West Along the Road which can be great sometimes and sometimes awful. Why did they ever scrapped No Disco I cannot fathom, that was a class show, Other Voices can be ok too and Under Ether whenever it returns. As far as covering music festivals they should stay away from that after the Electric Picnic 2006 one. Homelands 1999 was a different matter.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Think of how many bbc tv series we are familiar with. Think of how many rte series the brits would be familiar with. In saying that, some fantastic individuals have emerged from ore tea ye edit- i think the lyrics board was rte's biggest international success story!! (correct me if i'm wrong) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/the_lyrics_board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's the worst value for money wise though.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Boscoirl wrote: »
    I have given up watching RTE if something can be watched on another station, I have lost count the amount of times that RTE does not work properly with Sky+ and you lose the end of a TV show, recently it decided to record the first 43 minutes of Homeland, and incorporate the last 20odd minutes in with Damages which was on afterwards.

I may be jumping the gun in blaming RTE, but its the only station on Sky that I have that issue with.
    Disgraceful attitude towards your former employer which made you a household name! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think there's a few good Irish factual programmes shown on RTE, however they're often not RTE productions but made by external companies that use RTE facilities.
    Current affairs programmes are generally decent on RTE IMO.
    But yeah the pool of talent is extremely limited - giving Pat Kenny a light entertainment gig, ffs... :rolleyes: The man has a sheer terror of not being in control - doing The Toy Show, Jesus Christ he was fit to throttle the kids (although he's a very good broadcast journalist).
    Salaries of the big names are completely unjustified too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Dudess wrote: »
    Disgraceful attitude towards your former employer which made you a household name! :mad:

I really turned against them when they gave the late late to Pat Kenny instead of me :mad: