Friend Break Up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

token101 wrote: »
    He tells him to **** off and ask Facebook what the craic is. Facebook was the one that unfriended him.

:D but of course...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    How many fuc*ing friends have you got?
    huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Was wondering if anybody has ever broken up with a close friend before?

I have no particular reason...just sick and tired of the same old crap coming from his mouth.

Any advice?

Life is too short to waste on people you don't like, just cut your ties and move on. I wish i'd figured that out a lot earlier than i actually did, would have saved me a lot of time, money, heartache and even the odd hiding!!
    Be yourself and fúck anyone that doesn't fit into whatever that entails.
    Trust me you'll be much happier in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

newmug wrote: »
    Say, "I have to tell you this - as a friend". Then point out whats pi$$ing you off, but in a constructive critism kind of way, not in a mean way. End it with "I'm not saying this to hurt you, but if your mates cant tell you, then who can?"

This will either:

A) get it off your chest, possibly making you feel better around him, and improving your relationship.

B) make him realise the times he can be overbearing, and hopefully he'll make an effort to change.

C) offend him, which might result in HIM telling YOU to go and feck off. Job done.

One thing it will DEFINATLEY do is put you on an honest footing with him. No need to feel guilty or two-faced anymore.

this seems like good advice. I would be careful what you say it so he cannot just say it didn't happen or you are nuts.

My after hours response:
    1. suggest an exciting trip to see the cliffs of moher.
    2 push your friend off the cliffs of Moher. / Leave your friend at the cliffs of Moher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I have no particular reason...just sick and tired of the same old crap coming from his mouth.

Any advice?

You're not their friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Just cut contact with them gradually, make excuses as to why you cant meet up, ignore calls/texts for a day or so, it'll gradually die itself and you can get on with your life, failing that, ride him....its a sure way to kill a friendship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When I was about thirteen I was hanging around with two lads. Myself and one of the lads were talking about how to get rid of the other one. I suggested running while his back was turned, so we did. He eventually caught up with us and said "if you don't want to be friends with me just say so". We both said in unison "we don't want to be friends with you" and laughed. That got rid of him.

You should try that.

In case anyone feels sorry for him I should point out that we went to primary school together and he once almost killed me by putting a plastic bag over my head for about fifteen seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

A bit of both. I do like the guy don't get me wrong, my outlook on life has changed and when I talk to him I just feel down. He kind of saps the energy from me. The last think I want to do is hurt him but it looks like I have no choice

Noise reducing earphones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭dhayashi

I am confused!! Are you trying to break up with a friend that you're dating, or end a friendship?

My personal opinion is that if you call this person your friend, you should be a friend to them as well! That means if they are always doing the same old thing and it reflects negatively upon them, talk to them about it! That is what a friend would do...point out things that they think need to be said and help their friends grow and become better people. The same idea would apply to someone you were dating, if you care about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

pissing in their kettle, rubbing your bum on their pillow.
    Fairy Liquid in toilet cistern -> :-)

re-creating their facebook account, then invite them & all their mates until you have a replica - that seems to pi$$ of ppl alot for some reason..

PM me - I know ways....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 dday

Any advice?[/Quote

Yes that happened to me, was mentally and physically drained ... I was happy go lucky person and yet I always felt miserable .. Self absorbed .. Then I met a few
    Of his friends and they said da same thing ... I was gob smacked .. So it came to a head and I cut ties ... U feel awful for a while but it's fine as u move on ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Friel

Just start developing a new group of friends. Eventually you'll start to drift from the group you're with now. If you do have a specific group of friends at the minute, and you badly want away from the one friend, then you're the one that's going to have to leave the group, you can't push the other person away because other people mightn't have a problem with him/her.

Or you could just be open about the whole thing and say to the person that you find them to be a rather large bellend. Make sure not to mix up "be" with "have".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I broke up with a friend OP. If we were meant to be going anywhere she would conveniently fall asleep and either be late or she'd ring hours later using this bad excuse. If we went to a niteclub she was too cool for school and would stand there with a scowl on her face and no one was allowed to enjoy themselves around her.

I got sick of this so I text her one day asking was there something wrong with her and she replied no why? So of course I went on saying she is always falling asleep and had very high and low moods and I might have suggested she might have bipolar. That kind of got rid of her. :cool:

I have much better friends now who i enjoy hanging around with.

Life is too short to be hanging around with people who drag you down.