Your dealings with the Gardaí - positive or negative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

sagat2 wrote: »
    Only a couple of dealings:

After Ireland drew with Germany in the Japan World Cup I was drinking oustide the Stags Head on Dame Lane with a pal, we were getting pissed off by the taxi's flying down the lane with reckless abandon every few minutes telling us to get the f**k out of the way. So we did what any reasonably drunken lads would do at that hour of the morning: constructed a wall of kegs across the road, about 5 kegs high and stood there enjoying the chaos. So the taxi's soon started piling up and the enraged drivers who suspected the two fella's laughing hysterically began leveling torrents of abuse in our direction while dialing furiously on their mobiles. None of them got out of their cars, probably because we were fairly big bastards.
    About twenty minutes passed before Dublin's finest made it two the scene, surprisingly both the Gards were from Dublin, a rarity. Anyway they were very reasonable, apparently we had managed to back traffic up all the way to Aungier street and they issued us a simple ultimatum, remove the wall of kegs and bring our pints back inside or else they would take us to the station. The taxi drivers were livid, demanding we be charged with something but the coppers were good to their word and let us go back about our business as soon as the wall came down. not long after the street was closed to traffic, not sure if it still is.

A year or so later I noticed the door to a neighboring apartment had been kicked in so I called the fuzz, took them about 10 minutes to arrive on scene. A couple of big country boys this time. Both were excellent and professional, we entered the apartment to discover it had been stripped clean by burglars and they patiently searched through the rubble until they found information about the tenants identity (the lads who rented it were down the country for the week). No complaints in either case.
    sure fair play to yis. and by the way it's not rare to find dub cops in dublin now there's rakes of em there's even foreign nationals as well...

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    I saw a Garda smoking a fag whilst driving a squad car today. Good to see that our law enforcement seem to think that they themselves are above the law.
    big deal:eek:

prinz wrote: »
    I saw one injecting heroin between his toes wth one hand, driving the car with his other foot and giving himself a handjob with the other hand.
    did ya really :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I had baaaad experiences with the guards and wouldnt go to them if I were lying bleeding to death with my brains hanging out my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

One of many unpleasant experiences Iv had with Gards: Got hit by a car on my bike yesterday,

Gards were called but never showed up,

After a few hours in the hospital went back to my local station, to make a statement.

unfortunately called in while the rugby was on, and the young Guard who emerged to serve me had no interest and told me to basically f**k off to a station closer to the incident,

Before I even told him why I was there, he was standing ten feet back behind the counter, with his hands in his pockets, looking as if I was the most irritating thing he had ever seen,

whole right side of my body is black and blue, ankle and wrist are in bits, and couldn't muster up the energy to get myself to the other station,

not exactly sure why I'm posting here, three conclusions

1) Gards are self absorbed ignorant, moronic, unpleasant w*nkers
    2) Cyclists are purely at the mercy of reckless negligent drivers
    and
    3) Always wear a helmet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Most are ok. A few have Robocop syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

eternal wrote: »
    I had baaaad experiences with the guards and wouldnt go to them if I were lying bleeding to death with my brains hanging out my ears.

how could you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Yes
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    Assualted in Eyre Sq. Not a drunken incident, this was in the middle of the day and I got sucker punched from behind by a wino which hang around the square.
    Garda sergeant arrives up on the push bike, take my detals, an independent witnesses details and interviewed the wino who got cut when I knocked him to the ground.

Gave a statement in Mill St and asked for an update a few months later and bla bla, we have six months to charge him. Never heard anything again and this was a sergeant, not some clueless new garda. I expected more from a sergeant

Scooter vandalized/attempted to be stolen three times.
    Twice they just took my details but did nothing at all though to be fair I'm not sure what they could do.
    The third time they took my panel to Phoenix Park for fingerprints and lost it :rolleyes:

They were never slow to call around to break up houseparties I was at. I guess that's an easy issue to solve, easier then sorting out assaults and property theft

Haha, think ya might have forgotten ya told that story on a previous page with a different account :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ha, I knew this thread looked familiar :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

I'm happy never to have had any dealings with Gardaí apart from getting passports and stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Some cûnts robbed my motorbike, I was driving up into darndale in my car and 2 mates to catch them, I could hear it being ragged around, the cops prevented me doing so.
    I asked them to go and confront the thieves, they wouldn't.
    I was left to stew listening to my uninsured bike ( it was off the road for winter) being destroyed.

3 months later, copper called me and said my bike was recovered, was in good nick and I could collect it from the depot place out past swords, called them, it had been there since 3 days following the thef, they wanted 3 months storage costs, I negotiated them down to 1 month, and they delivered it to me for an extra 100.
    I was pissed off paying it but delighted to get the bike back.

Called the copper and asked why he waited 3 months before he informed me it was recovered, he got quite stroppy on the phone, the bike was un damaged and I should be happy etc.

The bike arrived, I was absolutely gutted, it was in fûckin bits, wheel hanging off, no handlebars, petrol tank crushed, even a kid would know it was ****ed from 50 metres away.
    I called the copper and he hung up on me, so I had forked out nearly 400 quid in storage and delivery for nothing.

2 weeks later the copper called me to testify against the things, I went down to him, it transpires they had the bike under surveillance within minutes of it being stolen, watched 3 kids ride it for 3 days whilst they built the case, then arrested them when they'd crashed the bike. I was willing to testify even though I was super pîssed with the Garda.

It didn't get to court as the chain of arrest was incorrect .

The fûckers sat there watching my bike get destroyed for nothing, and cost me 400 on top of the 4000 the bike was worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Completely apart from all of the violent/alcohol/driving offences....

Was recovering from an op, just out of hospital (destined to go back in as it happens!!), my bank account had been rifled whilst I was on the flat of my back in hospital, receiving 3 units of blood!! (12.15 am, O'Connell Street, €700 withdrawn from cash machine:eek:)

I discovered this when I got out of the hospital, was instructed by the bank that in order to have the funds refunded to my account I would have to report the incident to AGS and provide them with a Ref No. Despite being very ill, my O/H drove me to the local Station where (by this stage, I had to hold onto the counter to remain standing, was the colour of chalk and on the verge of fainting)........having explained my situation to the Bean Garda on duty, she abruptly and rudely told me I would have to go to the Station nearest to where the offence occurred....Store Street or somewhere (Begs the question if they used a cash machine in Athlone would I have had to go there to report!!) The OH would have a certain knowledge in this area and slapped his Work ID on the Counter......cue very sharp change of attitude and the report was taken!! I always thought she could not give a toss about my obvious physical distress or the 'crime' (my card had been cloned off a local cash machine so where the crime was committed was moot:rolleyes:!!) Had my O/H not been with me I would have just given up at that stage!! I think it was the fear of paperwork that was her real problem!! No arrest or charge in it for herself!!

A couple of days later I was asked to give a statement and as I was still very unwell 2 detectives came to my house (much appreciated)...from what I remember they were very nice!! Several months on I got a call from one of the Detectives to say that the perp (always wanted to say that!!) had got 4 years.....and he asked me how I was recovering since!! Nice guy:)

One crime, 2 different experiences;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Is your partner with the Dept of Justice or something like that? Or maybe garda ombudsman office

He seems to have a fair amount of power

Actually, don't reply as that's too much info but that was some reaction he was able to get

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Is your partner with the Dept of Justice or something like that? Or maybe garda ombudsman office

He seems to have a fair amount of power

Actually, don't reply as that's too much info but that was some reaction he was able to get

The point being..He shouldn't have had to do it, she should have taken the report and, if she had, he never would have got involved!! Knowledge is power;)

Also the Detective told me...€35,000 stolen in 48 hours from various accounts, mine was only one however my case was one they would have pursued (amongst others I am sure) in the absence of a 'Guilty' plea because I could prove without a shadow of a doubt where I and my card were (O/Hhad it so safe enough;))!! It was a fairly sophisticated operation that was shut down!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

That's it Slaneylad....Kill 'em with kindness;) Bet she was Morto!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Maybe because you were (a) known to Gardaí in some way, or (b) you looked like shady character wearing "knacker" clothing thus why they made comments about your appearance.

Killer pigeon cmon now. The law is complex it certainly doesnt boil down person from a certain area is a criminal and someone who talks or looks a certain way must be a drug dealer. Detectives are supposed to show some level of detection abilities outside of judging by clothing or accent. If it were that simple criminals would walk around with bags marked swag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

The Gardai are ordinary people doing an extraordinary job.
    People are quick to forget that.
    They do a difficult job, and I think if we had to walk a mile in their shoes we would see them differently. I for one would not want to do their job.
    I have never had anything other than positive experiences in dealing with the Gardai.
    When you compare them to the PSNI in Northern Ireland you see the difference.
    Worse still are the Police Services in England such as the Metropolitan Police.
    Over the years I have had dealings with the; Metropolitan Police, PSNI, Crown Prosecution Service, HM Revenue and Customs, The Criminal Assets Bureau, The Serious Organised Crime Agency. Having dealt with them all, I can say that the Gardai are professional in comparison.
    I find that if you go looking for trouble, it will find you.
    If you treat the Guards well, they treat you well in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

When I was 15 I was walking from templebar to grafton street via central bank, there was one of those street cleaning machines a few metres from me and some absolute c*nt of a garda grabbed me and started shouting at me in her manky voice "Git outta da way a da machine ya doooooope". I just sort of shook her off and told her I wasnt in its way (probably a bad idea looking back on it but **** her!) and then she told me to stop pretending i didnt see it or something, and tried to send me back the way i came...the point of which was? :confused:

walked back a few metres then walked back up around her. :pac:

another time some druggy was following me and my friends and literally shoving his hand into their bags to take things, we told a guard and all he was interested in was "are yiz drinkin" like fook off and do your job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 HAAA! HAAA!

Hi there.
    About two minutes ago I ignored this thread as I thought it held no relevance to me.
    Just been talking to a family member and got this interesting story about someone close to me.
    He was on a bus travelling through corduff last night, out of nowhere one of the glass panels was put through in a split second.

Fair enough, sht happens and skangers throw stones at buses.
    However, the pane on the other side of the upstairs of the bus also shattered (fully if im correct based on the impression I was given) and there was a golf-ball sized entrance hole in the first pane.

So basically he was sitting upstairs on say the right side of the aisle, an object came from outside through the glass on the right, left a golf-ball sized hole on impact, then travelled across the aisle and exited the bus after shattering the glass panel on the left.

I can't see how this could have been a rock. Possibly it was a golf-ball but only if it was fired from something like a slingshot. I don't think I'd be at all surprised if it turned out to be a bullet.
    In any case, it had the strength to go through two panes.

He telephoned the guards and was told more or less 'oh right ted' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

I only had to contact the guards once and im kind of neutral about the experience.

A guy I was seeing was a bit butthurt when things ended and told me that he had spiked my drink and was going to "beat the sh1t out of me" next time he seen me out (gentleman!) He was messed up and the kind of guy who probably would do that, so one night after another string of abusive messages I went to the guards and showed them all of the messages. The guard at the desk told me to "never mind sure it'll be grand"....then informed me this guy had been arrested about a month before hand for assaulting his own dad!

Went out that night and at the end of the night I was chatting to a male friend when psycho ex comes out of nowhere and punches my friend for no reason at all. Then proceeds to tell me I'm next. The following weekend he attacked another guy I was chatting to so I went out to the guards and the same guard was there..told me there's not much they can do to help now and that until he actually hits me, they can't do anything. In the end I just stopped going out in that town :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The Gardai are ordinary people doing an extraordinary job.
    People are quick to forget that.
    They do a difficult job, and I think if we had to walk a mile in their shoes we would see them differently. I for one would not want to do their job.
    I have never had anything other than positive experiences in dealing with the Gardai.
    When you compare them to the PSNI in Northern Ireland you see the difference.
    Worse still are the Police Services in England such as the Metropolitan Police.
    Over the years I have had dealings with the; Metropolitan Police, PSNI, Crown Prosecution Service, HM Revenue and Customs, The Criminal Assets Bureau, The Serious Organised Crime Agency. Having dealt with them all, I can say that the Gardai are professional in comparison.
    I find that if you go looking for trouble, it will find you.
    If you treat the Guards well, they treat you well in return

Jhonny I only had a few minor negative experiences with unprofessional gardai but a lot here seem to have had negative experiences without looking for trouble or treating gaurds badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭bubbuz

Phoned the Killarney guards last week to explain I have an unpaid court fine for a speeding ticket and may have a warrant out for me and just wanted to get it all sorted out, he was grand at first till I mentioned about the warrant then he just spoke to me like a piece of crap and hardly gave me the time of day....... I was fuming, the fecking fool needed a lesson in manners other than that any dealings have been good ( ie stopped for speeding or no tax etc ) but that guard in Killarney I spoke to.......WHAT A MUPPET

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes
    Over-all, I have to say 'positive'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Artur Foden

Yes
    Funnily enough yesterday I had been dealing with the gardai because some junkie tried to climb in my window. all 4 that i dealt with were very friendly, and professional and even sent the fingerprints man around within a few hours to search for evidence.
    this experience has been positive.

If they catch the bastard i may just become their number one fanboy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Yes
    Good tbh i was caught speedin in a truck on the m11 and without a taco and was let off, and was caught drink-driving outside my house on my birthday 6 years ago out of my bin, other than peno points that i deserved gaurds have be good with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Never really had trouble with them tbh...

Got stopped a few times of times for making wrong turns in my car, once not having L plates on when I was on my prov licence and stuff... Never got fined or anything.

I find the Gardi to be really relaxed and chilled tbh compared to cops in UK and especially the ones in USA who shoot first and ask questions later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Generally sound unless you want them to actually catch a criminal. Oh and 'Killer Pigeon' is definitely a Garda, his writing style is remarkably similar to the type of language used by Gardaí :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

jay93 wrote: »
    Most of them are grand

bla
    bla
    bla

joke they are :rolleyes:

make up your mind

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Yes
    Terrible job they have sometimes .