Constitution halts sheriff megamerge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ghandee wrote: »
    Came across this video on a mates fb page

Did you run out of regular pron?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

There have been a couple of threads put up about this already..

A live one in the Legal Forum at the moment afaik..

Fair play to the main guy speaking.. I heard him being interviewed on the radio the other day.. He's just a humble Electrician who has armed himself with information...

Good on him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

TheZohan wrote: »
    Did you run out of regular pron?

Yeah, back to good old fashioned porn now. Fappin away again like a goodun!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I want to be called a sheriff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Seems to me if he still owes on his mortgage the house is not yet his, so while the spokesman is eloquent he is wrong. Plus he does himself no favours with his Courts are corporate entities freeman cobblers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I thought he was a bit of a gob****e tbh, the sheriff remained so cool. He is my hero in all this. I think your man was trying to get him to lose the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

xzanti wrote: »
    . I heard him being interviewed on the radio the other day.. He's just a humble Electrician who has armed himself with information...

Good on him..
    That's shocking. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Seems to me if he still owes on his mortgage the house is not yet his, so while the spokesman is eloquent he is wrong. Plus he does himself no favours with his Courts are corporate entities freeman cobblers.

Lol . Wrong on all counts.

Agreed about the house/mortgage not being paid for, but was he telling the truth about the common law thing?
    (serious question)

I admire the Gards in the video, think they acted very impartially indeed.

Join the aul youtube and friends that group or whatever. There's a little bit of payback instore for these corrupt officials.

hondasam wrote: »
    I thought he was a bit of a gob****e tbh, the sheriff remained so cool. He is my hero in all this. I think your man was trying to get him to lose the head.

Well I disagree, I think the sheriff got tied in knots by an ordinary member of the public.

I know if I was in his (probably) highly paid job, I'd sure as hell make it my business to know the inns and outs of the law, ref the constitution etc.

There was one stage were he mumbled like a buffoon, and was jeered by the crowd as if he was one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A

They had no choice, they more than expected this episode to go viral and the last thing they would want would be bad PR particularly since the subject is such a sore point in the country.

Is that not their job?

Of course it is, hence me admiring them for being so good at 'their job'.

If they were crap, I'd hardly admire them now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Agreed about the house/mortgage not being paid for, but was he telling the truth about the common law thing?
    (serious question)

Interesting discussion. Plenty of anomolies in law ......... that's how solicitors make their wonga.
    As for admiring the Gardai in the video? Jesus H Christ - that's what they're paid to do. As regards impartiality? The basic rule of nature won the day ........ self preservation. Two of them plus gimp against maybe twenty on the other side of the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

It was a complete load of freeman bollox. He didnt win any argument, the sheriff and gardai were outnumbered. The sheriff was there to evict but wasn't expecting a confrontation. The gardai were there to ensure public order.

They left but they'll be back and next time the sheriff will have a court order for the gardai to assist and there will be plenty of Garda backup.

Arguments re the constitution and common law make no sense, spreading this bull**** is dangerous and will cause huge misery for desperate people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

djk1000 wrote: »
    It was a complete load of freeman bollox. He didnt win any argument, the sheriff and gardai were outnumbered. The sheriff was there to evict but wasn't expecting a confrontation. The gardai were there to ensure public order.

They left but they'll be back and next time the sheriff will have a court order for the gardai to assist and there will be plenty of Garda backup.

Arguments re the constitution and common law make no sense, spreading this bull**** is dangerous and will cause huge misery for desperate people.

If he didn't anticipate a confrontation, why the Guardai? Surely not just to appear on youtube in uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

These people are as bad as any of the top bankers in this country. I'm going to get me a mortage and not pay it in the hopes that a youtube video will let me keep the house.

People at all levels of this county need to take some responsibility and pay what they owe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Fair play to him for making a stand, excellent points were made and he caught the sheriffs deputy off guard however....

If the guy got the mortgage to buy the house he has to pay back the money. I don't know his circumstances but if he was paying back what he owed this wouldn't be happening. Its ridiculous to accept and spend other peoples money and expect to shrug off that responsibility when it comes to paying it back

Also claiming not to be educated at the time of the court case isnt good enough. Ignorance of the law isnt a defence as far as i know

Of course it is, hence me admiring them for being so good at 'their job'.

If they were crap, I'd hardly admire them now?

Were they not just there to make sure the sheriff did not get attacked.

djk1000 wrote: »

Watch the video again for yourself. What you've done there is jump to conclusions without making any effort to understand what was going on.

Three completely legal points were made. In common law or any other law in this countrys constitution. The ''sheriff'' was posing as something he simply wasn't.

The circuit court didn't have jurisdiction over the value of the property in that case and the court registrar was also acting as sheriff. That's a summary.
    That ''sheriff'' bloke was in the wrong, got found out and promptly fecked off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Hats off to that man. Refreshing to see.

Were they not just there to make sure the sheriff did not get attacked.
    They were there to uphold the constitution it seems:P
    But fair play to them for not getting.... excited shall we say.
    Although the first Gard is a bit lost when asked if he's under oath.

Unfortunately all they've managed to do here though is delay the inevitable. I'm not sure why exactly, but I heard your man talking today and he said there was something they can do to go about it another way or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Are you serious? Could the sheriff have been a bigger gobshyte. @ 07.13 minutes in he comes out with...“I don’t want to see the constitution, I’m not a solicitor.” I mean what a fúcking twit. I think the regular Joe behind the gate did a great job and actually made the sheriff look like a right muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭YumDeiseMum

Yer man was on the morning show with Sybil and Martin today, he said that the homeowner in question is giving back the keys of the house to the bank because the sheriff has said that they'll come back like thieves in the night to evict him and his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Hats off to that man. Refreshing to see.

Bollix. As far as I can see the man took a loan and couldn't repay it and is now tying to hide behind a load of smoke and mirrors.

I took a two year loan befoe. After about a year I lost my job. I kept repayng my loan. Six months down the line I couldn't find a job. I then moved back to my mother's house so I could continue to meet my fianacial obligations such as the loan I took out.

This is the problem with this country, for all the bitching eveyone is willing to let someone off an obilgation as long as that person is a bit cute about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Yer man was on the morning show with Sybil and Martin today, he said that the homeowner in question is giving back the keys of the house to the bank because the sheriff has said that they'll come back like thieves in the night to evict him and his family.

Is that a direct quote...? :D

Are you serious? Could the sheriff have been a bigger gobshyte. @ 07.13 minutes in he comes out with...“I don’t want to see the constitution, I’m not a solicitor.” I mean what a fúcking twit. I think the regular Joe behind the gate did a great job and actually made the sheriff look like a right muppet.

Your man was a good speaker and knew what he was talking about, I still think the sheriff remained calm.
    They are just delaying the inevitable, he borrowed the money now he can't repay it.
    If this eviction is illegal does that mean all other evictions were as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Plautus

Watch the video again for yourself. What you've done there is jump to conclusions without making any effort to understand what was going on.

Three completely legal points were made. In common law or any other law in this countrys constitution. The ''sheriff'' was posing as something he simply wasn't.

The circuit court didn't have jurisdiction over the value of the property in that case and the court registrar was also acting as sheriff. That's a summary.
    That ''sheriff'' bloke was in the wrong, got found out and promptly fecked off.

I watched the video. It's freeman woo. Nothing more, nothing less.

Where in law does it say that the county registrar, an official analogous to the Master of the High Court, cannot also act as a Sheriff? Citing 'Separation of Powers', as this guy did, is complete bollocks: that's not what 'separation of powers' means. The Registrar does not act as a 'private company' when he's also the Sheriff enforcing an eviction notice.

An order for possession of the Circuit Court (for Ulster Bank) was upheld in the High Court by Justice Michael Peart on this house in January. Leave for Judicial Review was refused as no significant point of law of public interest was at stake. Pursuant to the order for possession, an eviction notice was sent by the Registrar and executed by the Sheriff. The Sheriff need not be present in person and can send an authorised deputy to effect the eviction.

What will you come out with next - "statute isn't law" or similar cobblers?

This guy has some 'understanding' of the Constitution alright. A tendentious and entirely misleading one, that is.

Orim wrote: »
    Bollix. As far as I can see the man took a loan and couldn't repay it and is now tying to hide behind a load of smoke and mirrors.

I took a two year loan befoe. After about a year I lost my job. I kept repayng my loan. Six months down the line I couldn't find a job. I then moved back to my mother's house so I could continue to meet my fianacial obligations such as the loan I took out.

This is the problem with this country, for all the bitching eveyone is willing to let someone off an obilgation as long as that person is a bit cute about it.
    Bollocks right back at you. Smoke and mirrors. WTF. Did you watch the video?