Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sites Using Pyro

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

thermo wrote: »
    the idea that you put forward, shut up pay your money, man up and deal with it because i think its fun,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, is laughable.

your confusing two different points here.

if your going to nit pick then im not going to waste my time. of course you have the right to ask, but the site has the right to tell you to kiss his ass. you have the right to ask anyone anything. if you cant deduct what i meant from my post then thats your fault pal.
    Poccington wrote: »
    I'm gonna assume you're talking about a mil ex ran over here.

Thinking off the top of my head, there's only one real location where using smoke while in a subterranean setting would be feasible and even then, it's solely because it's fairly open ended and well vented from windows etc.

I don't even get why people would want to use smoke while indoors. It completely slows everything down, especially at a time when you need momentum and speed.

Not to mention, you're dealing with a mil ex, with soldiers... Not a sport.

Well you see, that's the magic of it. It's safe to say your lungs are completely different from anyone you interact with.

Someone who has never experienced being caught in a smoke cloud given off by a smoke grenade may not know they have underlying respiratory problems. Cue them getting a bad dose of smoke and anything could happen. Simply saying "Is everyone alright with this?" and hoping for the best, it doesn't cut it.

This attitude of "Sure it's a bit of smoke" is ridiculous. I've been in gas chambers filled with CS gas and made demask and the coughing, burning throat feeling you get from that is nearly the exact same as being caught in a thick smoke cloud. Being caught in a confined space with a smoke grenade isn't anything to shrug off.

if were talking about the same place (which were are) then its not that well ventilated it begins in a room and ends in a room and is definatly alot more confined than the area the smoke grenades are being used in in the site in question. not to mention they are military grade smoke grenades which produce more smoke and heat than the airsoft ones.

there is no difference in the anatomy of a soldier and an airsoft player, he may be fitter but i STILL believe its ok to be indoors, with a way out and proper screening before and after, while using a smoke grenade.

im not talkng about putting someone in a box room then pulling the pin and closing the door im talking about the site in question. my refrence to subterranean use is only showing in extreame cases its not that bad.

now will somebody please think of the children:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

c-90 wrote: »
    there is no difference in the anatomy of a soldier and an airsoft player, he may be fitter but i STILL believe its ok to be indoors, with a way out and proper screening before and after, while using a smoke grenade.

Problem is m8, quite a lot of the time in airsoft its a mixture of people from all
    walks of life. you could have bunch of Kids/Children mixed with bunch of older adults playing at the same time, none of which will have passed a medical in the same way you would need to pass a medical in the Military.

Younger players who may not be responsible enough to know whats a right
    decision and whats a wrong decision for them might gladly cause themselves harm and start breathing in ****e into their lungs.

Your not dealing with enlisted soldiers, your dealing with members of the public so all it takes is the slightest thing to go wrong where some member
    of the public decides to Sue the place for something and it causes the site to close down for good. Waivers and disclaimers often mean Squat Diddly when it comes to a court case where the Mammy of some 14 years old decides to take out a claim on someplace thats worked and invested so much in trying to get a place opened.

~B

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭ronan keane

your confusing two different points here.

if your going to nit pick then im not going to waste my time. of course you have the right to ask, but the site has the right to tell you to kiss his ass.

alot more confined than the area the smoke grenades are being used in in the site in question.

I Tried to stay out of this put some of the points mentions are about as good as the article on Airsoft in the Irish sun recently.

Firstly,You say the site has the right to " tell you to kiss his ass" I highly doubt that this would be the case,A site owner doesn't like to see the Gardai walk through the door asking questions so it would Just be easier to show proof of Legalities?

Secondly,you state " alot more confined than the area the smoke grenades are being used in in the site in question. " yet in previous posts you mentioned you have no affiliation with the site or you are not a player there so explain how you know that the site is more vented?

Thirdly, You say there is no difference between the anatomy of a player thats B/S.You for one may be able to play using smoke grenades but I personally feel dizzy and have a hard time breathing anywhere near the smoke grenades

Personally I believe this thread should have been finished about 6 pages ago without all this utter nonsense being involved.
    Thats my 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Quick questions..

What screening exactly does the site owner or marshal do?
    Are they medically qualified to carry out such screening?
    Do they have the necessary equipment on standby should an adverse reaction to .....oh let me see........smoke inhalation occur?

I can guarantee you that the answer to all of the above questions is a big fat NO.

And all of that is secondary to whether the Site operator is legally using it in he first place.

That is thinking of the children. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Evade

Lemming wrote: »
    I have never - and I repeat - NEVER, been to a site in the UK (where pryo is the legal norm) that allowed the use of smoke pyro indoors.
    The last time there was a trip to the Mall in Reading (late 2010) didn't the marshals let off a few smoke grenades?

If not it was a very effective smoke machine and the smoke itself tasted horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭goblin59

Evade wrote: »
    The last time there was a trip to the Mall in Reading (late 2010) didn't the marshals let off a few smoke grenades?

If not it was a very effective smoke machiene and the smoke itself tasted horrible.

from my experience in working in various music venues in dublin and discussing the restrictions regarding the use of stage pyro (i am going to consider the restrictions are similar for airsoft and the like, so i am not claiming that i know for certain of anything)

pyro is generally not allowed to be used on an indoor venue due to the overall dimensions of the room in particular the height of the roof compared to the stage.

This is to mainly stop the roof catching fire, but it also means that if a pyro goes off, the smoke produced (which isn't the water soluble solution used in smoke machine) will not flood the room with particles that can potentially cause irritation or allergic reactions to those stuck inside the room.
    But in a larger room there would not be as much of a concentration of these particles.

as far as i remember the O2 arena/the point is the only venue that is allowed use pyro indoors (the olympia might be allowed some low grade pyro but im not certain)

The mall in england would certainly be considered big enough to be (in a controlled fashion) chucking smoke grenades about.

Again this is from what I know from working in music venues.
    for airsoft sites the restrictions might be even stricter as there are more variables involved for people getting hurt.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Evade wrote: »

If not it was a very effective smoke machiene and the smoke itself tasted horrible.

Ah yes, I stand corrected and do indeed remember that come to think of it. If it was an actual smoke pyro, it was of the single-stack (i.e. not high intensity) variety. I should point out that the area in which that was done was particularly 'large' with a lot of room for smoke to both disperse outwards and drift upwards by a couple of floors in height.

With that one notable exception aside, I have never encountered the use of smoke indoors, or smoke being permitted indoors at any site or event I've travelled to up and down the length of the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

Firstly,You say the site has the right to " tell you to kiss his ass" I highly doubt that this would be the case,A site owner doesn't like to see the Gardai walk through the door asking questions so it would Just be easier to show proof of Legalities?.

it would be easier. id support the idea of asking to see the permit if someone was there in person and had concerns. my rant is in relation to sliabhs demand on page 2 or 3 of this thread for them to show the permit here. it pissses me off how nobody here seems to know for sure the site doesnt have one and people are acting like they must come onto boards.ie and prove themselfs to everyone here they are above board. im pointing out that its nobodys right to see it and the site does not have to prove themselfs innocent, especially to boards.ie posters. they have a moral obligation to do this but not here.
    Secondly,you state " alot more confined than the area the smoke grenades are being used in in the site in question. " yet in previous posts you mentioned you have no affiliation with the site or you are not a player there so explain how you know that the site is more vented?

because i youtubed and fb them. its clearly a massive warehouse and if you cant tell the difference between your average room and a warehouse then you need someone to escort you to specsavers. i live in meath limerick is a tad to far for me.
    Thirdly, You say there is no difference between the anatomy of a player thats B/S.You for one may be able to play using smoke grenades but I personally feel dizzy and have a hard time breathing anywhere near the smoke grenades

and thats where you say "i do" in the screening and the marshal works around you
    Personally I believe this thread should have been finished about 6 pages ago without all this utter nonsense being involved.
    Thats my 2 cents.

so do i but people seem to think they can demand a site prove itself innocent.
    Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    Quick questions..

What screening exactly does the site owner or marshal do?
    Are they medically qualified to carry out such screening?
    Do they have the necessary equipment on standby should an adverse reaction to .....oh let me see........smoke inhalation occur?

in addition to the sreening aleady asked they should ask if everyone is ok with the use of smoke grenades/pyro and if anyone has asthma or lung issues.

arent sites required to have a medic first responder or something?

does a site have the proper equipment on standby for when you have an asthma attack? i doubt it but its happend.

as for younger players not being responcible enough this is a good point, but there are ways of dealing with this like having a no minors game.

im not saying every site should use smoke in every indoor area they can find and smother people. im saying that it can be safe with prior screening, precautions to use smoke in an indoor evniroment. maybe the man up attitude offended some. if it did i apologize.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Bemused

I have played this site a couple of times and on one occasion one of the marshals was going to use some sort of pyro before the game began. I have to say that it looked far more like a firework than any airsoft grenade I have ever seen on you tube but then I admit little experience with such things.

I was concerned by this and asked if they were legal to be in play. I was assured that they would only be used by marshals and that players would be advised not to pick them up. I was still sceptical and as a result of my concerns they were not used in game. If everything is signed off on and above board it should not come to this. It should not be down to the individual player to raise concerns. Most Irish people are reluctant to cause a fuss on the spot and all the more so the younger players who might fear that they do not appear "manly" enough.

I think it would the better for the entire community if the situation at this site was clarified. After all, if a problem was to arise it could cause trouble for airsoft as a whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

my rant is in relation to sliabhs demand on page 2 or 3 of this thread for them to show the permit here.

Hmm, what I said was "I'd like to see a scan of their cert which would make this whole discussion go away."

I am not sure that could be described as a "demand", and I certainly wouldn't expect a site owner not ordinarily present on Boards to turn up here just to satisfy my curiosity.
    it pissses me off how nobody here seems to know for sure the site doesnt have one and people are acting like they must come onto boards.ie and prove themselfs to everyone here they are above board.
    As has been said, considering there is no active site in the Republic with a pyro licence, then the onus is on this guy to prove he is legit. If pyro sites were two a penny I wouldn't even comment on his photo.

No one says this site owner has to come onto boards. It would be perfectly fine for him to answer the question on his own facebook page. But he chose to ignore the question and then deleted the photo (removing the question) rather than answer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 GoldenCrisp

Would ya not think YE lot would have bloody better things to complain about than some site and whether they used a bloody smoke grenade.

"BUT the law states you need this and this...." - J.C.!!!

In defense of our so called sport wich seems to be played by a bunch of [EMAIL="f*@kin"]f*@kin[/EMAIL] little girls, would you not have better things to be doing than arguing like women.

To be honest i'd be more concerned about scumbags buyin aeg's and using them out in the streets or neighbourhoods where someone will actually get hurt which in turn WILL hurt our sport.

Bunch of Bigots in here !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Would ya not think YE lot would have bloody better things to complain about than some site and whether they used a bloody smoke grenade.

In defense of our so called sport wich seems to be played by a bunch of [EMAIL="f*@kin"]f*@kin[/EMAIL] little girls, would you not have better things to be doing than arguing like women.

To be honest i'd be more concerned about scumbags buyin aeg's and using them out in the streets or neighbourhoods where someone will actually get hurt which in turn WILL hurt our sport.

Yes we are the 'little girls' for obeying the law, now on your bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 GoldenCrisp

Of course because the law is always followed to a T in anything that is done these days. Gimme a break will ya. I'm all for rules and regulations but what im getting at is how ridiculous this thread is becoming mate!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Of course because the law is always followed to a T in anything that is done these days. Gimme a break will ya. I'm all for rules and regulations but what im getting at is how ridiculous this thread is becoming mate!!

So your argument is this: the law isn't always followed so everyone can do whatever the fcuk they want. Nice.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

poo
    Troll has been permanently relieved of duty, move along. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭c28omzk7ihsxv0

That's what boards is for, for everyone to B*tch about everything. TBH though I partially agree with him on the "more pressing concerns" part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

in addition to the sreening aleady asked they should ask if everyone is ok with the use of smoke grenades/pyro and if anyone has asthma or lung issues. What do they deem is sufficient as screening. Asking whether you want to take part or not is not screening. And unless one of them is qualified EMT,Paramedic or higher, then they are not really qualified to carry out any screening.

arent sites required to have a medic first responder or something? First aiders are all that is required. Some sites might have medics playing that will assist in any situation that occurs.

does a site have the proper equipment on standby for when you have an asthma attack? An athsma attack is something that athsma sufferer prepares for. They have an inhaler. They are usually quite capable of self-administration.
    Smoke inhalation is completely different. Then you need high flow oxygen through a non-rebreather mask. No site would have this but then again no site should be stupid enough to risk this type of scenario.

I can keep going at this all week. I am a Dublin Fire Service trained Emergency Response Team Member. I know a little bit about smoke in confined spaces :)

I also volunteer with one of the wonderful Volunteer Emergency services in the country. So I have other training as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Red Barn have a smoke machine( or dry ice whatever it is) that works pretty well outdoors and provides genuine cover.

People need to just move on. Pyro here is bollox. When HRTa had it while it was a cool feather in the cap, it was COMPLETELY pointless.

I had to shout for a marshall who walks up beside me in a high vis jacket. I have to ask what I want, it gets ticked off a list, I'm handed the pyro and then supervised while I throw it ( probably to make sure I actually used it and dont smuggle it off site)

All this, hoping that the ****ing fella I want to blow up isnt a complete capper, and hasnt moved.

Having someone watch over me for dribbles, aswell as making it stupidly impossible to use in a tactical scenario pretty much made up my mind on pyro in Ireland.

If the above is how it works legally, forget about it, waste of time and effort for something so impractical.

Player1 : We need to clear that building, whose got frags?
    Player2 : MARSHALL!!!!!!!!!
    Marshall: Lads, howyis
    Player1 : Grand, one grenade please
    Marshall: Okey dokey, so we have red smoke, green smoke, pea grenade, triple barracks and some lovely purple smoke that gives a really contemporary hue
    Player 1: "oooo, jeez I dunno, pruple sounds lovely, what do you think
    Player 2: I'm thinking green, its a nice day out, green is a nice day colour
    Marshall : So definitly not red
    Player 1 : O not red, definitly not
    Marshall : Well actually, there might be a safety concern throwing smoke in the building, might give the lads a cough
    Player 2: O right, well cant be having that, thats rude
    Marshall : Yup, serious business
    Player 1: Right lets have a pea grenade then!
    Marshall : OK so, just the one?
    Players : Yes
    Marshall : okey dokey, and are you paying cash or laser
    Player 2: Laser please
    Marshall : OK now there is a minimum purchase of €10 to pay by laser, but we do a smoke and grenande combo for €11.50
    Player 1 : oooo, right..aa....actually I'll pay by cash
    Marshall : perfect, hold on a moment and I'll write a receipt.....now, ok so you just pull the pin and throw, underarm please, its not baseball
    GROUP LOLZZZZ
    Player1 : ok, er...what building was it again
    Player2 : The one on the right
    Player1: There is four buildings on the right
    Player2: Hmmm, was definitly the middle one
    Player1: ok then, ready?
    Marshall: Underarm now remember
    Player1: ok, 3.....2....

Site owner: Lads...the whistle went 10 minutes ago....are ya having lunch?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Don't be ridiculous.

When I marshalled games with pyro in HRTA2 there was none of that rubbish. Pyro was delivered subtly and the players were delighted with how the games went.

The reason for supervising the actual use (from out of view of the other side) is that every piece has to be accounted for, including misfires. This is a nuisance for everyone concerned, but that's the way it is.

It's quite possible to make pyro work within the regulations with a bit of thought.

Or are you just trolling?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

OzCam wrote: »
    Don't be ridiculous.

When I marshalled games with pyro in HRTA2 there was none of that rubbish. Pyro was delivered subtly and the players were delighted with how the games went.

The reason for supervising the actual use (from out of view of the other side) is that every piece has to be accounted for, including misfires. This is a nuisance for everyone concerned, but that's the way it is.

It's quite possible to make pyro work within the regulations with a bit of thought.

Nope, that was my experience, too. You want pyro, you shout for the dude in the hi-vis.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭moggser

OzCam wrote: »
    Don't be ridiculous.

erm im afraid i will also have to disagree with you there too

any of the games i played with the use of pyro they where Pauls milsim and they had to be used under the supervision of the marshal and we had to wait on the marshal to get to us with it first

i recall the blow up the bridge one where at the star we had to blow a bridge real quick at the start o the game and had to call the marshal at the time was hivemind if i remember correctly by the time he got there it was indeed to late .....that in fact is a factual fact finding FACT end of Oz even if you choose to believe it ....prove me wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Suppose it work better if experienced expert players could use pyro where and what ever way they like .

Suppose that would mean only 8/9 players only in this country could be allowed use pyro
    The rest 98+ % of Irish airsofters are dishonest cheaters knuckle draggers that don't belong on airsoft sites
    These ain't my words just quotes from experts

• Registered Users Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭moggser

define expert??

define what ever way they want??

dont be silly yeah thats how people get hurt aint that the whole argument ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

TheDoc wrote: »
    Pyro here is bollox. When HRTa had it while it was a cool feather in the cap, it was COMPLETELY pointless.

Pyro here [Ireland] is bollox because of the manner in which it is treated by the law. HRTA did its best to try and work with that law and indeed push the boundary. Legally. Was it perfect? No. But with every beginning, each step is a baby step until gradually the situation improves enough to allow more latitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

Gatling wrote: »
    Suppose it work better if experienced expert players could use pyro where and what ever way they like .

Suppose that would mean only 8/9 players only in this country could be allowed use pyro
    The rest 98+ % of Irish airsofters are dishonest cheaters knuckle draggers that don't belong on airsoft sites
    These ain't my words just quotes from experts

I think calling 98% of Irish airsofters cheaters might be a slight exaggeration.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Lemming wrote: »
    Pyro here [Ireland] is bollox because of the manner in which it is treated by the law. HRTA did its best to try and work with that law and indeed push the boundary. Legally. Was it perfect? No. But with every beginning, each step is a baby step until gradually the situation improves enough to allow more latitude.

Dont mis interpret what I said.

I fully 100% acknowledge the issue is with the law and the measures enforced.

I'm pretty sure HRTA and Paul didn't create the way pyro was distibuted, but was moreso hand tied to do it to ensure there was no funny business. It was a very good achievement for the site and considering the paperwork and documentation required credit has to be given that it was explored.

It also provided us as players a sample of what using pyro on a weekly basis would be like. And unfortunately because of the methods of distribution and ensuring there was no play acting, the actual implementation of pyro in a game was very ineffective. There was some good instances, that added ambience and atsmophere, but in any situation where ANYONE wanted to nade a target or group of targets, it was very easy to avoid. Numerous occasions I was able to hightail it seeing a marshall going to a player with an ammo ox, and many time I had someone leg it after me buying a pyro.

So unfortuantely OzCam it was not ridiculous it was very much what took place and there was lengthy and indepth discussions between many groups of players that were present for the duration of Pyro and its use in HRTA which did spand a good 2-3 months if memory serves and the outcome was generally

Good effort, cool to throw, adds ambience and atmophere with smoke, but not practical for taking out targets.

To clarify it wasn't a case a marshall hung around to make sure I threw the grenade and not the pin, but that I actually used it onsite , which is understandable.

And I agree with Gatling. Only experts should be allowed use Pyro unsupervised and correctly. "Knuckle draggers" and all the other stuff he mentioned, they should have bright yellow sonic grenades that make noise, and then you have aggro with players who don't take their hits from the noize.......

• Registered Users Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Off topic posts removed keep it on topic lads.

Off topic madness thread is for off topic posts not sites using pyro thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

I stand over every word I've posted on this thread.

Those of us who have been fortunate enough to use Pyro in other jurisdictions are spoilt. The laws here are a nuisance.

However... We can all either all sit on our couches and whine about suckage and how we can't do whatever we feel like whenever we feel like it, or get on with trying to develop a method of using pyros within the current regulations for the benefit of those players who can't travel outside the Republic. It isn't even all that hard if you make an effort - calling up someone to lay smoke or drop an "air strike" is no different in concept to calling in artillery or mortars.

If we can build a demand, keep our paperwork straight and show that we can comply with the law, then we might eventually earn some credibility and get those laws changed. But until then, you're either part of the problem or part of the solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭c28omzk7ihsxv0

andy_g wrote: »
    Off topic posts removed keep it on topic lads.

Off topic madness thread is for off topic posts not sites using pyro thread.

I don't see how all of my posts were off topic, I was detailing how another place (Not named) was using pyro. Then I gave my opinion on the matter in Ireland.
    I think you just don't like me.... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

I don't see how all of my posts were off topic, I was detailing how another place (Not named) was using pyro. Then I gave my opinion on the matter in Ireland.
    I think you just don't like me.... :o

Nope your posts werent offending posts on page 8 :)