So ....the Banks are getting real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

Discontinue Health Insurance / Gym membership/Golf Club membership.

Strange one this, given that if the 'breadwinner' gets ill, there will be no bread or even crumbs, and possible no possibility of recovery.

If I were a bank, I'd have compulsory health insurance, life insurance, payment income protection payable to the bank and I'd insist on a medical and health programme to protect my investment, YOU the person earning the money and your children, the ones going to private school, they'll be your retirement payment continuum.

I've stopped listening to banks, but if banks are taking this step, they are positioning for mass evictions. possibly in preparation for our new Chinese Trade Agreement which will bring million to our lands to control the Chinese exports.

KKkitty wrote: »
    til debt collectors knock on their door.

Unless accompanied by a sheriff and a warrant, they have no power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I still to this day cannot understand why financial institutions with staff trained in finance, economics and the rest, lent money to people who obviously, in the medium term could not afford it, can someone please explain this to me, because I reckon there is a case to be made on the part of the borrower.
    Were they? Doubt it.

My guess is if you were flash, and fast talking, you were selling product without knowledge of the product, or concern about the customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bfocusd wrote: »
    I volunteer in my old school and last year a kid was transfered to the school, his family were multi millionaires and had the mansion house and a home abroad, the private boarding school, everything money could buy. But they are penniless now and up to there neck in debt, they've moved into a 2 bed council house and are living on the dole.

At first I thought the lad would be eaten alive by the other students, he had everything anyone could of ever wanted and kids can be very cruel with jealousy of how he lived his life. But he's fit in fine, it was a big shock at first for him, he does still struggle sometimes, but claims he prefers having real friends, living at home and having his parents around, rather than being in boarding school or having an au pair. From what ive gathered the parents are struggling still, but who wouldn't, thats a major lifestyle change.

I spoke to a teacher about how he was doing and we both thought it seems better for him to live in the real world and learn how to fend for himself, even for him to be able to hang out with mates on the road playing football after school is something he would have never done.

We need a camera team in that gaff, pronto.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

benway wrote: »
    It will always be a risk, it shouldn't be a huge risk.

Whatever way you look at it, it's spending hundreds of thousands of pounds that you do not have. That's the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

gbee wrote: »
    til debt collectors knock on their door.

Unless accompanied by a sheriff and a warrant, they have no power.
    I'm sure they'd make sure they have everything they need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

squod wrote: »
    Bonuses. It's that simple. There was a bonus pyramid scheme in place globally which paid out not when the debt was paid, but when the contract was signed.

Everyone made money. Even if you took on a risky or bad loan. Loans got pooled together. Traders bought these groups of loans and were paid bonuses when they were sold on.

Each new derivative gamble yielded a new bonus. Simple stuff. Gambling for rich idiots. We were a source of cheap credit for all kinds of gamblers.
    Everyone knew the risks. FF & the Greens became the bookie. They made us the stooge.

http://www.sec.gov/answers/mortgagesecurities.htm

Agreed.

It was pass the parcel stuff with a ticking time bomb. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Sindri wrote: »
    What...did they used to exist in some vacuous alternate dimension where matter did not exist?

Yes.

They used to give out - even pre-approve loans without factoring these things in.

Odd how they only factor them in once they are still benefitting from it.

If they had said "you have a Sky sub / existing loan / credit card debt, so we can't give you the car loan / 100% mortgage" then we might have all been better off.

But no - in typical Irish fashion they only close the doors AFTER they feck everything up.

Jake187 wrote: »
    Freesat / Soarview for the win.

The amount of people that don't know about free tv is a joke. 99% of people I talked too who dont know about it think its a 'dodgy illegal box'

€200 one off payment. No bills and all the major channels (c4, bbc, itv etc)

I'm sure they'd make sure they have everything they need.

Do arm yourself with your rights. There has already been many TV and Radio programmes both made by the BBC and RTE and TV3 which suggests the opposite to your above post.

If you are in a position were you might be expecting 'debt collectors' to arrive, then it's in your own interest to be informed as to the law.

WARNING: The value of your investment may fall with a complete loss of capital. ;)

It reminds me of the eircom shares 'fiasco'.

People investing huge amounts in something that was a 'sure thing'.

Sure some people made money when they sold early but the rest lost big time and blamed it all on being missold products and that the stock market was one big stitch up.

To those who lost money on eircom shares, NOT MORTGAGE HOLDERS.Can ye just admit ye got greedy?
    It's nothing to be ashamed of. It's human nature after all. Fear and Greed.

doovdela wrote: »
    Some of them in Scandinavia kept their currency like Britain did. Think Switzerland did the same.
    Switzerland is not in the EU let alone the Euro, they had the sense to stay away from any alliance that would interfere with their internal affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

I still to this day cannot understand why financial institutions with staff trained in finance, economics and the rest, lent money to people who obviously, in the medium term could not afford it, can someone please explain this to me, because I reckon there is a case to be made on the part of the borrower.

To put it very simply the banks were using the mortgages they had given as assets. The more risky the loan the better for the bank as their projected income from it would include the higher interest rates they had applied due to the risk, thus increasing the "value" of the asset over its lifetime. The borrower was not really important because in a housing boom there were always more borrowers to buy repossessed houses. What was important was getting assets on the bank’s balance sheet. Especially come bonus time.

Also when deciding on the risk of potential defaults, bankers really only looked at the Irish property market for the last decade or so. As prices kept increasing they figured that even if someone did default the bank would be left holding a property that had increased in value. The potential dangers of an overheated property bubble were ignored or effectively downgraded.

The fact that most banks didn't bother to set aside the minimum necessary capital and reserves to service these debts as well as wildly underestimating their insurance risks in case of default, demonstrates how greed motivated them. This is because any money set aside would have reflected poorly on the bank's balance sheet and pointed to how risky their “assets” actually were.

Obviously though, traders could see that debts of this nature would be quite hazardous to buy so the banks would amalgamate these "filler" assets with more stable and established debt assets and sell these as complex packages rather than separately. Bankers went out of their way to ensure a lack of transparency was the industry standard. They routinely disguised losses and inflated their assets. They conflated potential risk and potential earnings until one couldn't separate them, all in the name of profit.

When I hear politicians whining that bailing out people in negative equity is a bad idea due to "moral hazard" I can't help to agree. Moral Hazard is a definite, almost palpable consequence of handouts. One need only look at the banking industry's record of sticking the taxpayer with their debts again and again, to see that those greedy cretins learn nothing the more they're bailed out.

Why it's so risky to do the same for normal homeowners I can't explain. It's not like they could be any worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

To be fair this image of fookers having 3 foreign holidays a year, whilst driving around in SUVs, and every family member dripping in versace is a myth where I come from. Did this type of indulgence ever happen?

yes it is true. 1000s of people in this country, live outside their capabilities. the phrase keeping up with the jones was invented for what happened in this country over the past 10 years.

one family in my locality have 2 average jobs, infact the husband always complains how poor they are. yet the wife, so intent on her image in the locality drives a bmw and applied to sent their child to private school for 11,000 a year. they borrowed 80k to buy 2 cars, and furniture for a house they dont own and now complain about their costs of paying back the loan.

another family can barely buy new clothes cos they are paying back a huge mortgage for a house they cant afford and a bmw x5 that they bought during the boom.

the amount of suvs in my area is astounding, all bought during 05 to 07, yet none of them are able to afford to replace them now such was the dent in their finances cos of buying them.

people are idiots.

yes it is true. 1000s of people in this country, live outside their capabilities.

Cork local authority last week said there was a several million outstanding in rent collection as nearly 60% of their tenants were over six month in arrears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

foxyboxer wrote: »

Can ye just admit ye got greedy?

Why should I and others admit to something we didn't do, just so that you and others can convince yourselves that you are "right" and excuse making us foot the bill ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Does anyone take Banks serious now? How ironic of them to come out with something like this.

People do need their priorities checked tho.

Yakult wrote: »
    People do need their priorities checked tho.

And not paying the banks is a best option IMO. They will survive or regroup or emerge again under a different name.

YOU, as in you personally who owes them money, might not survive s dose of flue that goes to Pneumonia because you can't afford a doctor.

or your children are deprived of a good education, YOUR own children, I think the people have their priorities just right, that's my own opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

And not paying the banks is a best option IMO. They will survive or regroup or emerge again under a different name.

YOU, as in you personally who owes them money, might not survive s dose of flue that goes to Pneumonia because you can't afford a doctor.

or your children are deprived of a good education, YOUR own children, I think the people have their priorities just right, that's my own opinion.

So those children who do not attend fee paying schools are being deprived of a good education?

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    So those children who do not attend fee paying schools are being deprived of a good education?

You have to ask?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Why should I and others admit to something we didn't do, just so that you and others can convince yourselves that you are "right" and excuse making us foot the bill ?

My post is as an aside referring to the 'greed' surrounding the eircom shares flotation and not in relation to banks chasing those with mortgages.

Those who sought an easy earner but got burnt by not having any plans for getting out, the 'the value of your investment' caveat.

Simply blaming the stock market and labelling it a stitch up simply clouds the greed factor.

If that makes someone feel better for having been burnt then good luck.

Remember with any investment.

Poor Plan + Poor Outcome = Poetic Justice
    Poor Plan + Good Outcome = Blind Luck
    Good Plan + Poor Outcome = Cut your Losses
    Good Plan + Good Outcome = Deserved Success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Noreen1 wrote: »
    Erosion of self-confidence, coupled with a divide and conquer strategy, makes for a group of people so torn by division, and lack of unified leadership, that no adequate resistance is possible.
    Indeed, start off by blaming the victims and take it from there.
    foxyboxer wrote: »
    Can ye just admit ye got greedy?
    Says who? I think you'll find that any reputable psychological study will show that "human nature" is much more complex than "fear and greed". If, indeed, there is such a thing as "human nature" in the first place.

In case you hadn't noticed, greed has traditionally been culturally specified as something that people should be ashamed of. And for good reason, as should be readily apparent.

I love this ... "we all partied", yeah? :rolleyes:

The fact is that the catastrophic levels of personal debt we're seeing is going to hold back any prospect of economic recovery, unless something can be done to give people a dig out. As to what that might be, I have no idea, and it's definitely one for another thread.

Point here is that the banks are riding roughshod over all of us, and we shouldn't let them or their media handmaidens convince us that it's somehow the borrowers' own faults.

For the record, I don't have a mortgage, nor do I have any significant level of personal debt.

You have to ask?

Obviously yes since I asked.

In my experience as a university lecturer I see no evidence that those who went to fee paying schools have any notable educational advantage. In the case of those who went to expensive so-called 'Grind' Schools I noted a dis-advantage as the obsessional rote learning system employed in such schools rendered their pupils nearly incapable of independent thought or critical analyse of any kind.

What I also noticed was a greater sense of entitlement among private school pupils and an unwillingness to put in the work - something State school pupils did not appear to suffer from to the same extent.

Now, I went to a fee paying school - my son didn't as quite honestly apart from the social cachet attached to such schools which appeals to the snob factor they do not perform better then State Schools - something that has been borne out by international studies.
    Free schools outperform fee-paying schools

SEÁN FLYNN, Education Editor

PRIVATE FEE-PAYING schools in Ireland are performing no better than their counterparts in the “free” State sector, according to an international study.

It concludes that parents who spend more than €5,000 a year on fees in private schools are receiving no additional premium for this investment.

The report by two Israeli academics compared the performance of students from State-run and fee-paying schools in the OECD/Pisa survey of 15-year-olds in maths. It found public schools actually delivered better results when all factors, including the selective enrolment policies of some fee-paying schools, were taken into account.

The research paper concludes: “Our analysis shows that although the average score of pupils in the sample from private schools is significantly higher than the average score of pupils from public schools, the picture is reversed once the effect of the school selection is accounted for properly”.

The OECD tests Irish teenagers in maths, literacy and science to compile its international rankings of education systems worldwide. Ireland was ranked as average in maths in OECD surveys in 2000 and 2009.

Last night, Prof Danny Pfeffermann of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem told The Irish Times his research showed clearly public schools were performing better than private schools in Ireland.

Dr Kevin Denny of UCD’s Geary Institute said the results were “important for the many parents who are now struggling to pay fees for schools and wondering: ‘is it worth it?’ It is also a significant finding for teachers who work in public schools,” he said. The new findings echo the results of the 2010 Irish Times feeder school list, which tracked progression to third level.

The top feeder schools for high-point courses include several leading fee-paying schools including Gonzaga, Mount Anville and CUS in Dublin; Glenstal Abbey in Limerick and Clongowes Wood in Kildare.

However the list also indicated how “free” State schools will match or even eclipse the progression rate of some fee-paying schools if they are located in affluent areas. Community and comprehensive schools in affluent areas of the main cities all feature strongly in The Irish Times list.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0810/1224302180871.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

I heard about this off a miortage person in BOI last year sometime.

Basically tons and tons of folk were coming in asking for mortage repayment restructuring (on fixed rate mortages) and the advisors went through their bank statments with them.

The most common no-nos were Movie and sports packages, Xbox live memberships and similar, online gambling accounts and large sums withdrawn on thurs/fri evenings on a regular basis (spending over a hundred quid every weekend drinking and whatnot).

A lot of homeowners were in fact well capable of meeting their mortgate repayments and were refused restructuring.

benway wrote: »
    Indeed, start off by blaming the victims and take it from there.

Says who? I think you'll find that any reputable psychological study will show that "human nature" is much more complex than "fear and greed". If, indeed, there is such a thing as "human nature" in the first place.

In case you hadn't noticed, greed has traditionally been culturally specified as something that people should be ashamed of. And for good reason, as should be readily apparent.

I love this ... "we all partied", yeah? :rolleyes:

The fact is that the catastrophic levels of personal debt we're seeing is going to hold back any prospect of economic recovery, unless something can be done to give people a dig out. As to what that might be, I have no idea, and it's definitely one for another thread.

Point here is that the banks are riding roughshod over all of us, and we shouldn't let them or their media handmaidens convince us that it's somehow the borrowers' own faults.

For the record, I don't have a mortgage, nor do I have any significant level of personal debt.

Same here.

My post is regarding the eircom shares flotation which was deemed a fiasco by those who lost money. I don't think those who made some money would deem it a fiasco.

With regards to human nature. It's use is with regard to investing and the psychological effects it has. With the two overriding emotions being fear and greed. When it's your money on the line then these two have a lovely habit of creeping up.

Say you invested in BOI shares.
    You buy them at 7c. They rise to 15c.
    "I'm a genius! Watch out Buffet, here I come."

Then they fall to 6c and you fear losing it all.
    "Oh crap, I'm going to lose it ALL"

However, if you had a plan then these scenarios won't play out.
    The first rule of investing is "Only risk what you can afford to lose".*
    You can sleep soundly when you have a plan.
    If you don't have a plan, then you're better off betting on the horses because then you're just gambling.

* a plan for investing will include money management rules which only risks a portion of your investment capital (e.g. if you're wrong then you only lose say 1% or 2% of that capital)

The problem was that there were no money management rules being used and money was invested/traded/gambled - delete where applicable - with other peoples money. When you have no risk, you'll take more risk hence the greed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Obviously yes since I asked.

In my experience as a university lecturer I see no evidence that those who went to fee paying schools have any notable educational advantage. In the case of those who went to expensive so-called 'Grind' Schools I noted a dis-advantage as the obsessional rote learning system employed in such schools rendered their pupils nearly incapable of independent thought or critical analyse of any kind.

What I also noticed was a greater sense of entitlement among private school pupils and an unwillingness to put in the work - something State school pupils did not appear to suffer from to the same extent.

Now, I went to a fee paying school - my son didn't as quite honestly apart from the social cachet attached to such schools which appeals to the snob factor they do not perform better then State Schools - something that has been borne out by international studies.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0810/1224302180871.html

But you miss the point - it's not about the education - which is a poor predictor of who gets rich - it's about hobnobbing with the future Seanie Fitzpatricks and Michael O'Learys of this world. Read any Ross O'Carroll-Kelly book for a proper explanation.

If you go outside of academe into the real world of business the movers and shakers are often cringeworthingly poorly educated and quite dumb in an academic sense. Have you ever watched Bill "flying below the radar screen" Cullen or "Lord" Sugar in action? OK Bill Cullen bad example, but you get the point?

Look at Mick O'Leary and Brian Cowen as two products of private schools. They wouldn't have the connections they have had they not gone to private schools, and life is still more about who you know than what you know.

The most common no-nos were Movie and sports packages, Xbox live memberships and similar, .

SKY €80 a month,
    XBox €64 a year. say €5 a month [but it's not]
    Drinks €400 a month

Gambling?

Mortgage, €1,000

SKY and XBox won't make a shred of difference TBH.

professore wrote: »
    But you miss the point - it's not about the education - which is a poor predictor of who gets rich - it's about hobnobbing with the future Seanie Fitzpatricks and Michael O'Learys of this world. Read any Ross O'Carroll-Kelly book for a proper explanation.

If you go outside of academe into the real world of business the movers and shakers are often cringeworthingly poorly educated and quite dumb in an academic sense. Have you ever watched Bill "flying below the radar screen" Cullen or "Lord" Sugar in action? OK Bill Cullen bad example, but you get the point?

Look at Mick O'Leary and Brian Cowen as two products of private schools. They wouldn't have the connections they have had they not gone to private schools, and life is still more about who you know than what you know.

Maybe it's just me - but I reckon it's more important to pay your debts then perpetuate the ol boys network.

Just on that - my bother owns a factory, he used to be a vice president in Dupont with responsibility globally for Lycra and Teflon. He is a 'mover and shaker' - at least in Italy and Switzerland. His mate is CEO of a major catering concern in Ireland. They went to the same school as Micheál Martin. Eddie Hobbes and Dan Boyle - the non-fee paying Coláiste Chríost Rí http://ccrcork.com/

Perhaps if the ol boys from the private schools weren't so ' cringeworthingly poorly educated and quite dumb in an academic sense' our country might not be going down the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭jackal

People are going to put paying the mortgage at the end of the queue as long as there is a moratorium on repossessions, sure why would you deprive yourself of life's luxuries when the bank can do SFA anyway. Then you can sell the Indo your story that you are an underwater struggling hard pressed squeezed middle class nouveau poor ordinary joe soap no choice but to get on the ladder or I would have missed the boat home-owner living a negative equity nightmare, and sure didnt we all go mad and aren't we all to blame and sure didn't we bail out the banks so why not us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Add them all up and they do make a difference. the point that has escaped you entirly is that a lot of folk saying they cant afford their mortage payments can afford then but are to used to spending their money on lifes nicities. Its perfectly ok as far as Im concerned fo rthe bank to tell them to sort their finances and then they can talk.