Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is sexism such a difficult topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Dudess wrote: »
    Where have people said that?

PrincessLola, only a stupid person would say women have it better than men in general here - no point addressing them. To be fair, I don't think most guys here would think that.

I do think gender quotas are a bad idea and one which only fuels the "feminists are crazy bitches" way of thinking. Encouraging women more to become interested in politics would be the way to address that one IMO.

This really, hiring someone competent is good, hiring someone to pad out the number of ladiez is not. a woman hired purely because shes a woman will have a harder time benig taken seriously as a politican than one who has a track record of being good at what she does.

the gender in kids thing, a lot of it is nonsense, hippy parenting at its worst,using their kids as a social experiment instead of just teaching them to be themselves and respect the the other sex and see them as equals.. i'd wager the vast majority of people here were raised with that primitive notion that boys and girls are different and turned out as well rounded individuals, I have a nephew who's 8, he plays soccer, loves video games but loves helping my sister cook and he wants to learn to bake things properly as he enjoys helping her make cakes and the like, thats healthy, he doesnt look at an apron and go "ew, thats for wimmin!" and she encourages it, but she doesnt tell him that such and such a toy is evil and gender based, she just lets him play with what appeals to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

the term equality means different things to different people and has become a loaded catch all term for all that is right and vitreous , the subject is very often riddled with pious pronouncements which don't amount to very much in reality , it's up there in Irish discourse with that other catch all , the most vulnerable

I think most people would agree that it means considering all people to be equal and to be neither of more or less worth, and deserving of fewer opportunities due to their gender/race etc.

I've never come across anyone using it in any other way, apart from perhaps a very slight variation of the meaning.

Can you give any examples of the term being used as "a loaded catch all term for all that is right and vitreous , the subject is very often riddled with pious pronouncements which don't amount to very much in reality?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Bannasidhe wrote: »

And no - there is not a massive difference between being told 'we will arrest you if you go out' and 'if you go out and are brutally raped and murdered it's your own fault because we did warn you' which was the message the Yorkshire police were giving out.

The sheer fact that they felt it was acceptable to tell women to just stay at home as it was more important that men were still able to have freedom of movement beggers belief. Yet, the ides of telling men to stay home so that any man who was out and about could be questioned, recorded and checked if another crime occurred during the curfew never dawned on anyone. It was simply unthinkable. But apparently it was perfectly reasonable to expect women to become prisoners in their own homes.

In all fairness, I don't think the police were involved in some chauvinistic conspiracy there at all. The ripper was killing random women in Bradford and not men, therefore their message was only warning women to stay inside after dark for their own safety, not as some kind of punishment for being female!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

If someone claims to care deeply are the protection of horses but never actually does anything to protect horses then they are hypocryts. You dont seem to be understanding basic logic here.
    You missed the point completely.

One might take the view that abuse of all innocent creatures is wrong. Does that mean that those who dedicate their time and attention only to caring for horses is a hypocrite? That they are hypocritical for not campaigning for the fair treatment of the Ugandan silverback gorilla?

They're all innocent creatures -- why not?
    What part of the following logic doesn't make sense to you?

The core principal of feminism is gender equality.
    That part.

I would suggest that the core aim of feminism is the improvement of the lot of women and girls in a struggle that can then lead to gender equality.

Gender equality itself is much broader topic - to which, in my experience most feminists would naturally subscribe.

Sharrow wrote: »
    Nice False Analogy you have going there.

Stop trying to use the fact that there are women who have it worse in other countries as a reason to try and paint women here and whinging, which is a way to try and shut women up and not let them talk about how our society and culture effect us.

If these discussions aren't allowed to happen then gendered attitudes and thinking will remain unchallenged and unexamined and things won't change.

hows that a false analogy? its a very real one, and nobodies telling anyone to stop whinging, just that context and perspective are important, tell me one thing you as a woman in 2012 Ireland you cant do purely based on your gender and I'll agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Have you not heard of the Yorkshire Ripper? The crimes left no doubt that the killer was a man.
    I have of course. You've missed my point, but it's trivial so don't worry about it.
    No it was not a legally binding curfew ... FFS, what kind of policing is that?
    You'd prefer if the police didn't warn the public? (I agree the language wasn't ideal, it's the principle I'm refering to)
    And no - there is not a massive difference
    Sorry, but there is a massive difference. Explain your comment to people unfortunate enough to have lived under a real curfew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

If someone claims to care deeply are the protection of horses but never actually does anything to protect horses then they are hypocryts. You dont seem to be understanding basic logic here.

The core principal of feminism is gender equality. If feminists only campaign for increases in female rights then what their real core principal is is increasing female rights. The claim that gender equality is the goal is in fact false.

If you can find flaws in my reasoning or assumptions I am more than happy to change my opinion.

Your assumption appears to be based on the idea that mens rights and womens rights began at an equal level, lets say both at 0, and these campaigns for womens rights are about pushing past that of men so that they are at say 1 while claiming eqaulity as their aim.
    The key thing that you seem to be missing is that feminism came about because women were at -10 while men were at 0 and the campaigning is to move women closer to zero.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Well what about all the bits that come before a young woman puts down the codes for an engineering course on the CAO?

Has she been able to do the best subjects for this?
    Was there even those subjected in her school?
    (all girls schools often don't have them)
    If she is in a mixed gender school and wanted to take up what are seen as
    'boy' subjects, how much support did she get from parents/family, teachers and from her fellow pupils?
    OR did she get constantly slagged and harassed until she dropped out of the class?

When she expresses the desire to be an engineer when she grew up or to have a career on engineering was she meet with encouragement or told no dear you'd be better of doing some more 'appropriate' or you'll never get a husband doing that sort of work.

Attitudes like the above still exists and often they are unexamined and unchallenged and the are often the reason there are not more young women going into those course or careers.

When I started first year of my engineering year there were 110 inf the class, 4 of us were female out of the 4 only two graduated and we had comments made from lecturers how we'd not get work and we were taking up a place that a man would need to provide for his family and a fat lot of good the qualification would do when we were at home having kids.

These days I could report the lecturers for saying that, but how many students will?

Are there schools in Ireland with no maths and physics classes? It's utterly disgraceful that a college lecturer would say something like that. I honestly did not think that kind of attitude existed among allegedly educated people in the 20th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭hardbackwriter

the term equality means different things to different people and has become a loaded catch all term for all that is right and vitreous , the subject is very often riddled with pious pronouncements which don't amount to very much in reality , it's up there in Irish discourse with that other catch all , the most vulnerable

I think most people would agree that it means considering all people to be equal and to be neither of more or less worth, and deserving of fewer opportunities due to their gender/race etc.

I've never come across anyone using it in any other way, apart from perhaps a very slight variation of the meaning.

Can you give any examples of the term being used as "a loaded catch all term for all that is right and vitreous , the subject is very often riddled with pious pronouncements which don't amount to very much in reality?"

well , one example is the kind of thing where Vincent Browne sees everything though the prism of equality , therefore any kind of anti social activity can be rationalised through the they started off with less angle , where do you draw the line and start asking what happened to good old personal responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

but the statements issued by the Yorkshire Police were very much of the 'No respectable woman needs to go out after dark and we cannot be held responsible for what happens if a woman does go out at night. After all, there is a serial rapist and murderer on the loose so the best advice we can give women is stay indoors'. FFS, what kind of policing is that?.

Well, I'm not sure where you're getting that from but this part,

"best advice we can give women is stay indoors"

Is pretty good advice when there's a serial rapist prowling the streets.

well , one example is the kind of thing where Vincent Browne sees everything though the prism of equality , therefore any kind of anti social activity can be rationalised through the they started off with less angle , where do you draw the line and start asking what happened to good old personal responsibility

Not to get too off topic, but one doesn't have to simply take a criminal's disadvantaged background as the only reason for their crime. It's not an all-or-nothing situation.
    You can acknowledge the person's background as a partial cause and attempt to improve conditions for the disadvantaged and attempt to remedy some of the effects of the criminal's disadvantaged situation, while simultaneously accepting that the criminal is ultimately responsible for their crime and punishing them.

The fact is: social disadvantage does lead to increased crime and while that doesn't excuse criminals, it's also only fair to factor that into evaluating their crimes.
    And greater social equality would undoubtedly reduce anti-social crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Are there schools in Ireland with no maths and physics classes? It's utterly disgraceful that a college lecturer would say something like that. I honestly did not think that kind of attitude existed among allegedly educated people in the 20th century.
    Not all schools offer higher level maths every year. 79 in 2009 says a quick google search.

Physics is not a requirement for any engineering course that I ever looked at, but H level maths usually is.

I'm honestly surprised someone is as surprised as you seem to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    This is a nonesense hpothethical situation

No it's not, it's what transgender people often have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

No it's not, it's what transgender people often have to do.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77125105&postcount=470

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Zulu wrote: »
    I have of course. You've missed my point, but it's trivial so don't worry about it.

You'd prefer if the police didn't warn the public? (I agree the language wasn't ideal, it's the principle I'm refering to)

Sorry, but there is a massive difference. Explain your comment to people unfortunate enough to have lived under a real curfew.

My point is that it was considered acceptable by the authorities to suggest that approx 50% of the adult population had no real business going out at night based only on their gender.

Tell me this - why couldn't the other 50% of the population have been told ' Look, a man is committing these horrendous crimes so we are asking all men to please stay indoors until we catch him. Any man out at night will be stopped and questioned and we will ask you to provide ID plus a record of your movement that we can verify'?

The answer was because officialdom believed that women didn't need to go out at night, but men did. One couldn't seriously advise men not to go out - they had important things to do, but women - sure they will all be watching Corrie on the Tele and none of them have any business being out after dark if they are respectable. Do you really think the message that sends is acceptable?

Remember this included winter when it gets dark by 5 p.m. - so women didn't have jobs that finished after dark? Women didn't attend lectures that finished after dark (one of Sutcliffe's victim was 20-year-old Jacqueline Hill, a student at the University of Leeds, he killed her on 17 November - while on bail awaiting trial for a night time DUI arrest).

Can you imagine the outrage now if women were 'advised' not to go out after dark by the police and if they did the implication being what happens to them is their own fault as they had been warned? Yet, at the time this was deemed perfectly acceptable by the authorities.
    Things changed because of campaigns like Reclaim The Night (a global movement) showed up the double standards for what they were - one rule for men, another rule for women.

Back in the mid 90s I was training as a chef - a CERT lecturer was very fond of telling us that only men can be chefs, the best a woman can hope to be is a good cook. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do you reckon a man on a murderous rampage would have just packed it in if the police advised men to stay indoors?

I get what you're saying about the police's incompetence and the inference that society would survive all right if the female population weren't about at night but surely you recognise that telling half the population to stay in just in case they were a bloodthirsty psychopath is not quite the same as advising half the population to stay in as an extreme measure of self-preservation?
    Back in the mid 90s I was training as a chef - a CERT lecturer was very fond of telling us that only men can be chefs, the best a woman can hope to be is a good cook.
    The ultimate get back in the kitchen comment :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Sexism is awful in country towns and villages. I would go so far as to say it is shocking and I'd actually blame the GAA.

GAA seems to turn the local men into thinking they are heroes/superior. The only respect is given to other men who play GAA. Life revolves around sport. Men who don't play sport are seen as nobodies, it cultivates an all male bravado environment, where it is the done thing to look down on women. All the banter is about how many 'birds' they can smash on a night out.

And it is this environment men are born into in the country; they are not encouraged to actually see women as equal to them, it's a generational thing, society needs to change.

It is this bad and it is shocking.. I've been very frustrated over it many a time. But what can you do to change it: small steps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Are there schools in Ireland with no maths and physics classes?

Yes when it comes to honors maths, applied maths, physics and honors physics if there are not enough pupils in the school interested in taking them (which can and does happen in all girls school) then it's considered a waste of teaching resources and the classes either don't go ahead or get canceled.
    We'd one teacher who ran an applied maths class for the 5 of us that wanted it after school hours for no paym but when she was in a car crash the classes stopped.
    It's utterly disgraceful that a college lecturer would say something like that. I honestly did not think that kind of attitude existed among allegedly educated people in the 20th century.

There was 1 female lecturer which we had for one subject, I was the only female student in the year who picked her option and she told me point blank she was going to be harder on me to protect herself and her reputation so no one could say she was favoring me and I would never get the highest grade in her subject no matter how hard I worked. Talk about encouraging your students.:mad:

My point is that it was considered acceptable by the authorities to suggest that approx 50% of the adult population had no real business going out at night based only on their gender.
    No, they were advised not to go out because somebody was victimising them based on a specific characteristic which happened to be their gender.

Tell me this - why couldn't the other 50% of the population have been told ' Look, a man is committing these horrendous crimes so we are asking all men to please stay indoors until we catch him. Any man out at night will be stopped and questioned and we will ask you to provide ID plus a record of your movement that we can verify'?
    Because obviously they had man things to be doing, like going to strip clubs and objectifying things.

Or because they'd need to pass a national law to enforce such a procedure. And it would be a complete waste of police time.
    Can you imagine the outrage now if women were 'advised' not to go out after dark by the police and if they did the implication being what happens to them is their own fault as they had been warned? Yet, at the time this was deemed perfectly acceptable by the authorities.
    Was it? Can you show anywhere that suggests this was done or was accepted?

If there was a serial rapist active where I live would I be sexist for advising my mother not to go outside after dark? Or would I just be trying to protect my mother?

Do you reckon a man on a murderous rampage would have just packed it in if the police advised men to stay indoors?

I get what you're saying about the police's incompetence and the inference that society would survive all right if the female population weren't about at night but surely you recognise that telling half the population to stay in just in case they were a bloodthirsty psychopath is not quite the same as advising half the population to stay in as an extreme measure of self-preservation?

The ultimate get back in the kitchen comment :D

If men had been asked to not go out at night Sutcliffe would have had to account for why he was out. Thereby bringing him to the attention of the authorities faster.

It seems as if some here find the stance taken by the Yorkshire police to be acceptable so we will have to agree to disagree on that. I think there was a chauvinistic subliminal message stating that it was no biggy if women stayed in after dark - that's what I thought then and I still think it - but it was utterly impossible to expect men to do the same thing.

As for that former lecturer - yes, I did enjoy becoming his head chef years later.

If men had been asked to not go out at night Sutcliffe would have had to account for why he was out. Thereby bringing him to the attention of the authorities faster.

Out of curiosity, did women stop going out at night?

Would men?

Would the police have the manpower to interview every man?

Would they have the legal ability to stop and search them?

Would inflating their suspects list to hundreds, if not thousands, help or hinder their investigation?
    I think there was a chauvinistic subliminal message stating that it was no biggy if women stayed in after dark - that's what I thought then and I still think it - but it was utterly impossible to expect men to do the same thing.
    Do you have any evidence that suggests any of that is true?

Sexism is awful in country towns and villages. I would go so far as to say it is shocking and I'd actually blame the GAA.

GAA seems to turn the local men into thinking they are heroes/superior. The only respect is given to other men who play GAA. Life revolves around sport. Men who don't play sport are seen as nobodies, it cultivates an all male bravado environment, where it is the done thing to look down on women. All the banter is about how many 'birds' they can smash on a night out.

And it is this environment men are born into in the country; they are not encouraged to actually see women as equal to them, it's a generational thing, society needs to change.

It is this bad and it is shocking.. I've been very frustrated over it many a time. But what can you do to change it: small steps?

have you ever seen a GAA star without a cracker on his arm , most women like men who engage in playing sport , the GAA has been an almost overwhelming force for good in this country and is the bedrock of rural Ireland , btw , I say that as someone who prefers soccer

It definitely does a lot of good, but that doesn't mean one has to accept that everything about it and the culture that's grown up around is great.

Just because something has some good aspects, it doesn't mean that everything about is good and not in need of change. That's a fallacy that lots of people fall into as, in fairness, it's easy to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Once again my main point is being ignored.

What is the main goal of feminism, gender equality or to increase the rights of women?

Has anyone ever come across a feminist pissed off that women have better conditions than men?

I get it that you're afraid women's rights = oppression of men, you see any kind of movement to try and help women as being anti-man.

To answer your point, the main goal of feminism is hinted at in its very name: feminism, its for the progression of women so that they are given an equal standing to men. It came about in the late 19th century when women decided to stand up and fight for their right to vote/ own property/ have careers/ run businesses/ not be under the control of their husbands/ just be seen as equals. So yes, it was born out of a need to address the inequal standing of women in society. Its main focus was women, i this a bad thing? No.
    Black equality groups focus on black people
    Fathers' rights groups focus on fathers
    Not every social movement has to be related to you.

To answer Dudess, I agree with you, but you'd be surprised what some individuals think. You see people complaining that poor little boys are doing badly in school with only female teachers who they can't relate to. Yet girls are expected to just deal with the fact that most world leaders/doctors/characters in tv shows & movies are male. :rolleyes:

Seachmall wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, did women stop going out at night?

Would men?

Would the police have the manpower to interview every man?

Would they have the legal ability to stop and search them?

Would inflating their suspects list to hundreds, if not thousands, help or hinder their investigation?

Many did yes. Other's like Jacqueline Hill had the choice between missing lectures and that impacting on her degree or getting on with it. It cost her her life.

Sutcliffe terrorised the whole north of England, not just Yorkshire - his victims were found in Leeds, Bradford, Keighley and Manchester over a 5 year period. It was obvious at the time the killer had some job that meant he travelled - Sutcliffe was a truck driver. Logistically it was possible to ask men whose jobs did not require them to be out at night to stay indoors then focus on those whose jobs did. That never seemed to occur to the police. Checkpoints could have been put in place to monitor movements - after all, they had 5 years.

It definitely does a lot of good, but that doesn't mean one has to accept that everything about it and the culture that's grown up around is great.

Just because something has some good aspects, it doesn't mean that everything about is good and not in need of change. That's a fallacy that lots of people fall into as, in fairness, it's easy to do so.

where do you see a need for change within the GAA, they acted with an open mind towards rugby in Croke park , the queen of England to visit Croker last year during her state visit , where else do you think they need to change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

To give an example, picture this. We're walking around Patrick Street in Cork and notice some (in Cork Lingo) langer acting the fool generally. With his thick norrie accent and his effin and blindin with his buddies the thought occured to me. "When people say they hate Cork people, this is who they're thinking of"

The point is just because some groups of GAA-heads got a bit rowdy does not infer that all GAA people are like that and share their opinions and views.

its also parochial bigoted small town Ireland at its worst, but thats a whole other debate

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

later12 wrote: »
    You missed the point completely.

One might take the view that abuse of all innocent creatures is wrong. Does that mean that those who dedicate their time and attention only to caring for horses is a hypocrite? That they are hypocritical for not campaigning for the fair treatment of the Ugandan silverback gorilla?

They're all innocent creatures -- why not?

The core principal of feminism is gender equality.
    That part.

I would suggest that the core aim of feminism is the improvement of the lot of women and girls in a struggle that can then lead to gender equality.

Gender equality itself is much broader topic - to which, in my experience most feminists would naturally subscribe.

If one starts a movement where the core goal is to stop the abuse of all animals but ignores abuse to all animals except gorillas then they are hypocrites.

I was linked definitions of feminism and it states that femininism is primarily concerned with equality for women. How can movement concerned about equality for women be content to do nothing in cases where women are treated better than men. That violates the core principle of feminism. And I've heard and read feminist frequently refer to the importance of gender equality but I never hear or see any actions taken to create equality where it means increasing men's rights or reducing women's unfair advantage.

Feminism is a collection of movements aimed at defining, establishing, and defending equal political, economic, and social rights for women.[1][2] In addition, feminism seeks to establish equal opportunities for women in education and employment. A feminist is a "person whose beliefs and behavior are based on feminism."[3]

As you can see from the definition the pursuit of equality for women is the goal, it doesn't say the goal is to increase women's rights.