Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,595 ✭✭✭✭phog

With regards prices any one know how much a Cat A ticket is for the Heineken QF with Ulster is?

€50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Have to laugh at some of the previous posts re Donncha Ryan by a few Leinsters, I might be dreaming but Ryan was much maligned after being chosen for the RWC panel ahead of ...McLaughlin,Tuohy whoever . Now they want to sign him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭leftleg

buck65 wrote: »
    Have to laugh at some of the previous posts re Donncha Ryan by a few Leinsters, I might be dreaming but Ryan was much maligned after being chosen for the RWC panel ahead of ... . Now they want to sign him!

Whats so funny about it??

His lack of gametime was what was being maligned; Munsters inability to blood players on the fringes of the first team was maligned; his ability was never in question;

And i think the section in bold is something only Donncha can answer for; please stop phising

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Have to laugh at some of the previous posts re Donncha Ryan by a few Leinsters, I might be dreaming but Ryan was much maligned after being chosen for the RWC panel ahead of ... . Now they want to sign him!

I don't recall this at all. I'm not aware of anyone maligning him or anyone suggesting a credible alternative.

He's a good player. If he was ever going to move it was 3 years ago though, not now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I don't recall this at all. I'm not aware of anyone maligning him or anyone suggesting a credible alternative.

That's not true...go back and look. Ryan was definitely one of the players used as an example that Kidney is a bad coach. In fairness people admitted they were wrong the minute Ryan played in the warmup games and off the bench, because he was very impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

*Player does nothing of note....makes WC squad. People confused and annoyed as to why he is traveling.
    *Player does something of note during WC and in the games that followed, people form the opinion that he is a good player.

If anything it's the opposite of funny.
    I don't know who to point the finger at. The coach, for bringing a player to NZ who (based on previous performances) did not deserve to go. Or Ryan, for waiting so long to pull his finger out and play some rugby. Or maybe Munster, for not rotating him and DOC enough.

But of course, Ryan's been playing at this standard forever right? And We've just been too blind to see it:rolleyes:

Hagz wrote: »
    *Player does nothing of note....makes WC squad. People confused and annoyed as to why he is traveling.
    *Player does something of note during WC and in the games that followed, people form the opinion that he is a good player.

I don't know who to point the finger at. The coach, for bringing a player to NZ who (based on previous performances) did not deserve to go. Or Ryan, for waiting so long to pull his finger out and play some rugby. Or maybe Munster, for not rotating him and DOC enough.

But of course, Ryan's been playing at this standard forever right? And We've just been too blind to see it:rolleyes:

Ryan was playing, albeit at 6, at the end of last season and was playing very well. Munster's performances improved a lot towards the end of the season and Ryan was one of the reasons why. He had displaced Leamy, really upped his aggression and physicality around the field and I think he was just as worthy as McLoughlin who was being touted as his main competitor for the 4/6 spot.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Ryan was playing, albeit at 6, at the end of last season and was playing very well. Munster's performances improved a lot towards the end of the season and Ryan was one of the reasons why. He had displaced Leamy, really upped his aggression and physicality around the field and I think he was just as worthy as McLoughlin who was being touted as his main competitor for the 4/6 spot.

I believe at the time. The argument was that Ryan had been playing well for Munster at 6, but hadn't shown much to rave about at lock. So people were saying that if we are going to take another 6, why would we not take McLaughlin. If anything I think the main argument was that there was no point in bringing another 6.

As it turns out, Ryan is a very promising lock given consistent game-time.

Ryan was always a good player who wasn't good enough to oust the likes of O Callaghan at 4 or Leamy, Quinlan at 6. O Callaghan is slipping and Ryan is now first choice lock and covers 6 well too.
    Nothing has changed he was always good enough just needed the gametime that he is getting now to prove it to people who weren't aware.
    And I'd imagine this story is just a bit of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The thing is, those of us who watch him most often know he's a good player.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    That's not true...go back and look. Ryan was definitely one of the players used as an example that Kidney is a bad coach. In fairness people admitted they were wrong the minute Ryan played in the warmup games and off the bench, because he was very impressive.

Well I'm not arsed going back to check, but I'll take your word for it! I don't really see who could have feasibly gone ahead of him except maybe Tuohy.

(someone is gonna check and find out I was one of the ones moaning about it now probably!).

I believe at the time. The argument was that Ryan had been playing well for Munster at 6, but hadn't shown much to rave about at lock. So people were saying that if we are going to take another 6, why would we not take McLaughlin. If anything I think the main argument was that there was no point in bringing another 6.

As it turns out, Ryan is a very promising lock given consistent game-time.

Again, anyone who watched Ryan play would have known prior to the RWC he was a good option to bring.

Most Munster fans would rate him highly even before this season, great aggression and attitude and a smart player too.

just needed the gametime that he is getting now to prove it to people who weren't aware.

So you made up the original statement about Leinster fans ridiculing his ability and now wanting him to join Leinster about 4 posts up from this one .....

The thing is, those of us who watch him most often know he's a good player.

It's difficult to argue with that. Most people supporting Leinster will tell you that Rhys Ruddock is a huge prospect. But then Munster and other fans might not see what we see. You, and the other Munster fans on here probably did see the talent that Ryan had, but it was certainly hard for me and others to see what the hell yous were on about.

I think Ruddock is a very good player. And has the potential to be a brilliant one. Should have signed for Munster ;)

leftleg wrote: »
    So you made up the original statement about Leinster fans ridiculing his ability and now wanting him to join Leinster about 4 posts up from this one .....

I've read this post a few times and still don't know what the hell it means.

Thing with Ryan is, or was, is that he was originally quite light when he first got a senior contract, then he got a few injuries at bad times, just the way it goes. I don't think his talent has ever really been doubt (or his limitations) for those of us who watch most Munster games. It's the same with Nagle now, clearly very talented but not necessarily physically read yet.

I've read this post a few times and still don't know what the hell it means.

ignore it got lost in about five posts that came through at the same time; that were imo far more interesting than this post lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Again, anyone who watched Ryan play would have known prior to the RWC he was a good option to bring.

Two issues here:

Ryan playing well during the RWC and since does not mean that Kev McLaughlin or Mike McCarthy (the other options floated) would not also have played well.

Of course people outside Munster have revised their opinion of Ryan in the last while. He's had more exposure to HC games and international rugby so he's been able to demonstrate his ability more. As the old cliche goes, "when the facts change, I change my mind. What do you do?"

6a00d8341cbf9a53ef0120a74cd8ec970b-250wi.jpg

leftleg wrote: »
    ignore it got lost in about five posts that came through at the same time; that were imo far more interesting than this post lol

Honestly just couldn't understand it, thanks for being a sport about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

As the old cliche goes, "when the facts change, I change my mind. What do you do?"

What facts have changed exactly?

Honestly just couldn't understand it, thanks for being a sport about it though.

no no your absolutely right; once i looked at it; it meant feck all sense so kudos to you for pointing it out; cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Otacon wrote: »
    What facts have changed exactly?

As per my post above, "he's had more exposure to HC games and international rugby so he's been able to demonstrate his ability more."

Put it this way, if Ryan is awesome and has always been so, how come he only started one Heineken Cup game last season and a grand total of zero prior to that? We can only base our opinions on what we have seen at a given time; we've seen more of Ryan lately, therefore revising your opinion of him doesn't make you a hypocrite or clueless about rugby.

Unless you're from Leinster and the above is a given.

Only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

As per my post above, "he's had more exposure to HC games and international rugby so he's been able to demonstrate his ability more."

Put it this way, if Ryan is awesome and has always been so, how come he only started one Heineken Cup game last season and a grand total of zero prior to that? We can only base our opinions on what we have seen at a given time; we've seen more of Ryan lately, therefore revising your opinion of him doesn't make you a hypocrite or clueless about rugby.

missed his chance when POC was injured (he was out for most that season with a dislocated shoulder).

he was excerllent in the munster allblacks game as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Donnacha Ryan should have been starting with Munster years ago. McGahan messed that one up. He was fourth choice last season at one stage.
    Podge_irl wrote: »

He's a good player. If he was ever going to move it was 3 years ago though, not now.

He was because I was talking about him and I was basically ridiculed by one or two posters who didn't see him as much as I had.

profitius wrote: »
    He was because I was talking about him and I was basically ridiculed by one or two posters who didn't see him as much as I had.

Fair enough. Though in fairness it's not that surprising that people hadn't seen him much. I watch most HEC games but don't get to see as many non-Leinster Rabo games and Ryan just wasn't playing much HEC rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

People seem to be conflating the opinions of people on a message board with the views of the Leinster branch/management.

Some Leinster fans said he shouldn't go to the RWC.

The people in charge of Leinster who I am pretty positive do not post on boards.ie apparently would be interested in signing him according to Hugh feckin' Farrelly.

What's funny exactly?