Rangers FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Eirebear wrote: »
    STV.

And so it begins.....:(

I posted the other day that regardess of the Tax Case you'd go into administration.

To me this stinks of Whyte trying to maintain himself as the main creditor so that his "investment" is protected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Lets all laugh at Rangers!! :D

Celtic could lose the only game in their season that matters. Nobody should be laughing today.

Hope it all works out for ye lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

F*ck David Murray by the way.

In tears. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I would see Celtic and Rangers as having a very much symbiotic relationship. I think if Rangers go now, they'll go for good. £50m in a league that is diminishing year after year with no credible alternatives emerging to the Old Firm. If Rangers topple Celtic won't be far behind when it is just a one horse race. At the end of the day no one will take a pile of interest in a procession behind one club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I would see Celtic and Rangers as having a very much symbiotic relationship. I think if Rangers go now, they'll go for good. £50m in a league that is diminishing year after year with no credible alternatives emerging to the Old Firm. If Rangers topple Celtic won't be far behind when it is just a one horse race. At the end of the day no one will take a pile of interest in a procession behind one club.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17013512
    Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell insists his club "don't need Rangers" to flourish financially.

But Lawwell says the eventuality of their Old Firm rivals going bust "would have no material effect on Celtic".

"We look after ourselves," Lawwell told BBC Scotland. "We don't rely on any other club. We are in a decent position, we're very strong."

"Our aspirations and horizons are to dominate in Scotland but also beyond that; we want to compete at the highest level again in Europe," said Lawwell.

"We have a stand-alone strategy, a stand-alone financial plan and a robustness hopefully that will take us through that.

"Times are pretty tough. I don't think it's appropriate for us to talk about any individual club, these things are hypothetical at the moment.

"I think we've a view, a very strong view on certain circumstances but we'll only share that at the right time.

"In terms of Scottish football, I'm disappointed to look at the performance of Scottish teams in Europe and the effect that that has on co-efficient.

"I'm disappointed to see that financial constraints and problems in other nations as well."

We'll be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

I doubt Rangers will 'go for good', it may sound easy but they are just too big to just disappear.

edit: Good to see Lawell can't help but mention us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    I doubt Rangers will 'go for good', it may sound easy but they are just too big to just disappear.

edit: Good to see Lawell can't help but mention us.

If they can't buy players and keep up with the pace the spiral downards will occur. Look at Leicester, Leeds and Portsmouth, none of the three really bounced back and all in stronger leagues. Rangers slipping down in the Scottish Premier Division would be bad for business for all concerned. There is no ready made challanger to the Old Firm hegemony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,935 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Hurting much are we? What do you expect.

Seriously though, my symapthies are with you and a couple of other rangers fans on here who seem sound lads but im not going to be a hypocrite, im ****ing dleighted

what do you think will happen to Celtic if Rangers are destroyed? The SPL generates little enough money or attraction as it is - without the Old Firm element to the league, it (and by extension, Celtic) are fooked.

@Dempsey - it doesn't matter what people at your club say - the money generated by the SPL would dwindle to almost LoI levels if Rangers went kaput. Celtic can't survive as they are without Rangers, and the same is true of Rangers. Sure, Celtic would likely win the league every season and be the biggest club up there, but the financial impact would be huge and desperately hurt their chances in Europe through a lack of buying/paying power and the fact no other scotish club would be in a position to do anything in europe so the co-effecient would drop and actually making it to meaningful rounds of the European game would become very difficult.

If Rangers went kaput, Celtic would have to look at leaving the SPL, imo. I wonder would a fan lead rangers revival team (if one were to happen) consider starting in the english league rather than Scottish leagues.

If they can't buy players and keep up with the pace the spiral downards will occur. Look at Leicester, Leeds and Portsmouth, none of the three really bounced back and all in stronger leagues. Rangers slipping down in the Scottish Premier Division would be bad for business for all concerned. There is no ready made challanger to the Old Firm hegemony.

None of those clubs have the fanbase of Rangers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Sad that such a big club is facing extinction. Let's hope administration is the worst outcome and they get themselves sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

We all knew this was on the way but am shocked its happened before the tax case outcome is announced.

This looks like Whyte is safeguarding his position (not the clubs).

I feel bad for Aluko, he's gonna get rightly stiffed. The only good thing for him is he has performed well at Rangers and should get a better deal elsewhere.

Wonder would Lenny take on any of your players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Celtic without Rangers is like Batman without the Joker, Suarez without Evra, me without Boggles....it just doesn't work. Interest in the league will fall MASSIVELY which will be disasterous for Celtic.

bobmalooka wrote: »
    We all knew this was on the way but am shocked its happened before the tax case outcome is announced.

This looks like Whyte is safeguarding his position (not the clubs).

I feel bad for Aluko, he's gonna get rightly stiffed. The only good thing for him is he has performed well at Rangers and should get a better deal elsewhere.

Wonder would Lenny take on any of your players.

The u19's clean the 1st team boots, we dont need anymore :confused:

@Dempsey - it doesn't matter what people at your club say - the money generated by the SPL would dwindle to almost LoI levels if Rangers went kaput. Celtic can't survive as they are without Rangers, and the same is true of Rangers. Sure, Celtic would likely win the league every season and be the biggest club up there, but the financial impact would be huge and desperately hurt their chances in Europe through a lack of buying/paying power and the fact no other scotish club would be in a position to do anything in europe so the co-effecient would drop and actually making it to meaningful rounds of the European game would become very difficult.

If Rangers went kaput, Celtic would have to look at leaving the SPL, imo. I wonder would a fan lead rangers revival team (if one were to happen) consider starting in the english league rather than Scottish leagues.

Ye forget that Celtic have downsized the cost of playing squad before because of serious financial contractions in the SPL. Its better known to Celtic fans as the Gordon Strachan era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

what do you think will happen to Celtic if Rangers are destroyed? The SPL generates little enough money or attraction as it is - without the Old Firm element to the league, it (and by extension, Celtic) are fooked.

There's no doubt that short term it would have a detrimental effect on the other SPL clubs. Not so much Celtic as TV money is only 3% of the clubs turnover.

Celtic would survive and not downsize imo. The key is regular Champions league football and keeping up the policy of buying talented young players ( Wanyama, Matthews, Rogne, Ki etc ) and selling them for high prices.

The other clubs would miss any loss in TV money as well as the Rangers away support packing out their stand twice a season.

If you think about it, long term it could be good for the likes of Aberdeen, Motherwell, Hibs and others. They might say themselves "look 2nd place is there for the taking now". More fans might start coming through the turnstiles again if these clubs were competing for second.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    There's no doubt that short term it would have a detrimental effect on the other SPL clubs. Not so much Celtic as TV money is only 3% of the clubs turnover.

Celtic would survive and not downsize imo. The key is regular Champions league football and keeping up the policy of buying talented young players ( Wanyama, Matthews, Rogne, Ki etc ) and selling them for high prices.

The other clubs would miss any loss in TV money as well as the Rangers away support packing out their stand twice a season.

If you think about it, long term it could be good for the likes of Aberdeen, Motherwell, Hibs and others. They might say themselves "look 2nd place is there for the taking now". More fans might start coming through the turnstiles again if these clubs were competing for second.
    I don't know how naive that statement is. Motherwell and Hibs and so on would be finally at LoI level, if they aren't already.

Celtic will NOT get into the Champions league group stages (the real money) because they will not have the competition to push them on and to attract the better players. Rangers and Celtic haven't got a hope in hell of making the Champions league now with the quality both squads have.

Rangers out of the SPL and it would be a nightmare for Celtic. It would basically involve Celtic playing for the SPL every year with low standard players who would fail to get up to the Champions League standards because they will not have been used to that standard of competition.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Celtic will NOT get into the Champions league group stages (the real money) because they will not have the competition to push them on and to attract the better players. Rangers and Celtic haven't got a hope in hell of making the Champions league now with the quality both squads have.

We clearly have a squad capable of qualifying for the Champions League as the winners route is considerably easier than the best placed route and we've played well against other UCL capable teams in the Europa League despite poor form and injury problems.

You are deluded to suggest that we 'haven't got a hope in hell' of qualifying next season.

Dempsey wrote: »
    We clearly have a squad capable of qualifying for the Champions League as the winners route is considerably easier than the best placed route and we've played well against other UCL capable teams in the Europa League despite poor form and injury problems.

You are deluded to suggest that we 'haven't got a hope in hell' of qualifying next season.
    The winners route is still hard. The point I am making a SPL without Rangers will effect Celtic in that they will attract less quality of player now because we all know that players who join either of the Old Firm do because of that game and the rivalry involved. Without one, it is just a plain old league. And the lack of competition will harm Celtic in the long run.

So trying to attract better players without any competition is not sustainable. It is just a fact of life in football.

The winners route is still hard. The point I am making a SPL without Rangers will effect Celtic in that they will attract less quality of player now because we all know that players who join either of the Old Firm do because of that game and the rivalry involved. Without one, it is just a plain old league. And the lack of competition will harm Celtic in the long run.

So trying to attract better players without any competition is not sustainable. It is just a fact of life in football.

Thats why the current format of the SPL is in the process of being changed, its short sighted and highly flawed. Maybe the death of Rangers will force the outstanding changes home quicker for the long term benefit of Scottish Football. You're thinking in terms of the league maintaining its current guise, im not.

You think all the Rangers fans in Scotland are going to sit at home with no club to support?

Thats why the current format of the SPL is in the process of being changed, its short sighted and highly flawed. Maybe the death of Rangers will force the outstanding changes home for the long term benefit of Scottish Football. You're thinking in terms of the league maintaining its current guise, im not.

You think all the Rangers fans in Scotland are going to sit at home with no club to support?
    I do actually. If we have no club, we either start a new one up or just forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Thats why the current format of the SPL is in the process of being changed, its short sighted and highly flawed. Maybe the death of Rangers will force the outstanding changes home quicker for the long term benefit of Scottish Football. You're thinking in terms of the league maintaining its current guise, im not.

We could play every second home game in Ibrox and let the Rangers fans shout for whoever we play against :D

I do actually. If we have no club, we either start a new one up or just forget about it.

I'd expect a new club but if not, it will just be a generation gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I'd expect a new club but if not, it will just be a generation gap.

Scotland is already losing young fans to the Premiership at an alarming rate.
    You really think that will change without Rangers?
    If anything it will get worse.

Eirebear wrote: »
    Scotland is already losing young fans to the Premiership at an alarming rate.
    You really think that will change without Rangers?
    If anything it will get worse.

If Rangers ceased to exist and no club rises from the ashes, yes it will get worse without any possibility of recovery if the current format for the SPL and structure of Scottish football is maintained. I dont see things stays as they are though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

Enjoy Administration.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS2PemNsQKJR_jyR5OelclbcmJITQxBYd7vIU1nGeeKpy5RQos&t=1

ASOT wrote: »
    Enjoy Administration.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS2PemNsQKJR_jyR5OelclbcmJITQxBYd7vIU1nGeeKpy5RQos&t=1

Don't tell me you actually tried to draw that face in MS Paint.

Hopefully Craig Whyte does know what he is doing and is doing it in the best interests of Rangers FC in the long term. I suppose we now have no choice but to hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Hopefully Craig Whyte does know what he is doing and is doing it in the best interests of Rangers FC in the long term. I suppose we now have no choice but to hope for the best.

After all that's happened recently and today... are you actually serious???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

After all that's happened recently and today... are you actually serious???

I think this part is key top that post.
    I suppose we now have no choice but to hope for the best.

**** all we can do now mate.