Rangers FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

You also seem to now have debt approaching that total as well.

Understatement though many Rangers fans just don't see it.

By the way EB, that was a good win for you guys on Saturday especially as you went 1-0 down. A real morale booster of a win.

Was a huge win, and to play well into the bargain. Interesting that Celtic have 4 away games in the last 5 before the split, Pittodrie, Tannadice, Ibrox and Rugby Park. Hopefully we can take a 3 points off you and hope the sheep or united do us a favour. In saying that, our home form is brutal so it's likely we'll drop points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

TheBuilder wrote: »
    Was a huge win, and to play well into the bargain. Interesting that Celtic have 4 away games in the last 5 before the split, Pittodrie, Tannadice, Ibrox and Rugby Park. Hopefully we can take a 3 points off you and hope the sheep or united do us a favour. In saying that, our home form is brutal so it's likely we'll drop points.

Just checked our run in to the break...

19/02Hibernian Away 15:00
    22//02 Dunfermline Home 19:45
    25/02Motherwell Home 15:00

03/03Aberdeen Away 12:00

25/03Rangers Away 13:00
    31/03St Johnstone Home 15:00

07/04Kilmarnock Away 12:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

Just checked our run in to the break...

19/02Hibernian Away 15:00
    22//02 Dunfermline Home 19:45
    25/02Motherwell Home 15:00

03/03Aberdeen Away 12:00

25/03Rangers Away 13:00
    31/03St Johnstone Home 15:00

07/04Kilmarnock Away 12:00

It doesn't surprise me the guy that told me the other fixtures was wrong, apologies. Relying on Aberdeen to do us a favour then.

TheBuilder wrote: »
    It doesn't surprise me the guy that told me the other fixtures was wrong, apologies. Relying on Aberdeen to do us a favour then.

No apologies required mate. I think he was right if he took our two cup games (which I think we play in a row) to be league games.

Now Dave King has been kicked out by Whyte according to tomorrow's papers.

What's he at???

http://twitpic.com/8j3zfy

kingsu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Well done Whyte, piss off a director that has more money than you can dream of. I'd say that King wanted out more so that Whyte giving him the boot. King probably demanded some proper accountability knowing he would get the axe because he didnt want to be liable, in any way, shape or form for the financial fallout whilst a numpty is in the driving seat. He knows more than he should about tax cases!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Wasn't this the Dave King that, when he tried to bid for the club, was ridiculed here as a tax-evader because of his issues in South-Africa ?

At least try to be consistent, will you ?

Not to say that this isn't weird, sounds like Whyte's getting rid of everyone who questions him, can't be a good development.
    Fairly sure King won't accept this, could be a massive own-goal by Whyte as I believe that King is 100% a Rangers man with the best interest of the club at heart.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Wasn't this the Dave King that, when he tried to bid for the club, was ridiculed here as a tax-evader because of his issues in South-Africa ?

At least try to be consistent, will you ?

Not to say that this isn't weird, sounds like Whyte's getting rid of everyone who questions him, can't be a good development.

The same dodgy Dave King but it seems that Whyte has gotten rid of a man with far more financial muscle than himself.

But also someone who was pals with the people who got us into this mess, and who have been sticking the boot in from day 1.

I dont think he had that much influence as a non executive director during Murray's era and he did put in £20m more into the club than those putting putting the boot in.

Not straight into the club though I think, he put it into MIH if I recall.

Dodgy Dave is a feckin angel compared to Whyte. At least you know Dave King is a Rangers man.

Not straight into the club though I think, he put it into MIH if I recall.

MIH was the parent company of Rangers under Murray. Thats alot like saying investing in Celtic plc isnt investing in Celtic FC. I'm sure King was able to get guarantees that the money be specifically used for Rangers FC and not any other subsidiary at the time and all the media reported it as an investment into Rangers at the time.

I seem to remember someone saying back then that the 20m invested in MIH would be put into Rangers yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Rangers have lodged an intention to go into administration with the Court of Session.

The Ibrox club lodged the notice in Edinburgh at Monday lunchtime.
    STV.

And so it begins.....:(

Knew it would be the possible outcome of the tax case, but to happen now... ? :(

Weird though, we sign Cousin and on the same day we file for admin ?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Eirebear wrote: »
    STV.

Well I'm genuinely sorry for the decent fans, must be ****ty to see your club go through this.

Will be interesting to see what the punishments are resulting from the tax case outcome. Is the early administration a way to possibly avoid some additional punishments (outside of the standard 10 point thing)?

Knew it would be the possible outcome of the tax case, but to happen now... ? :(

Weird though, we sign Cousin and on the same day we file for admin ?

Wouldnt surprise me if Cousin is one of the first players the administrators chop given that he is on a short term contract.
    Same goes for Aluko

STV.

A very surreal moment

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Hitting the news now:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-17015966

Just been announced on Sky Sports News also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Terrible news for Rangers I am shocked

**** off.

The only thing I can think off is that this is a way to force HMRC to settle.

Fairly confident Whyte got word that the tax case has gone badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The only thing I can think off is that this is a way to force HMRC to settle.

Fairly confident Whyte got word that the tax case has gone badly.

Not so sure Jelle, the statement by Whyte a few weeks ago saying you were down £10m this year was a sure sign for me that administration was coming regardless of the tax case.

Anyway I wish you good luck(off the field) for the next few months.

I really don't know what to say at the minute.
    We all expected that this was Whyte's intention from the beginning, but the timing seems odd. Obviously there is something brewing with the tax judgment, but it seems a bit risky to try and pre-empt it.

Outwith that i am actually feeling a bit sick tbh.

I'm sure the vultures will be circling with their comments and smily faces though, so it won't be long before anger kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

**** off.

Hurting much are we? What do you expect.

Seriously though, my symapthies are with you and a couple of other rangers fans on here who seem sound lads but im not going to be a hypocrite, im ****ing dleighted

Hurting much are we? What do you expect

Stupid question time is it?

EDIT: Just seen your edit, honestly i don;t expect your sympathies mate - i know where you stand and it's been discussed on the thread often enough.
    Pointless gloating such as above however i don't have any respect for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

A dark day but we will rise again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Lets all laugh at Rangers!! :D