Rangers FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Seems odd that he chooses such a hardcore, politically motivated group to speak to. A group who often divide the opinions of Rangers supporters let alone anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Did he not have one, very recently, where all groups could attend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,230 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Eirebear wrote: »
    Seems odd that he chooses such a hardcore, politically motivated group to speak to. A group who often divide the opinions of Rangers supporters let alone anyone else.

I don't think that he chose them specifically, they don't exactly have a big audience.
    I think it's just more the case that they're the only ones who actively looked for a talk.

Pretty disappointed in specifically the RST in all of this, they could do far better to help answer questions the fans have.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    I don't think that he chose them specifically, they don't exactly have a big audience.
    I think it's just more the case that they're the only ones who actively looked for a talk.

Pretty disappointed in specifically the RST in all of this, they could do far better to help answer questions the fans have.

Maybe, if that's the case though maybe he should be a bit wiser in his actions.

As for the RST, i tend to keep a healthy distrust of them anyway - i love the idea of them, but like all of these things there are too many who are out for themselves.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

+-200.000 fans is the general estimate though, we know you can't believe it that we dwarfed the million billion gazillion pyoor Hoops fanatics in Seville, but there you go :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7401814.stm
    An estimated 100,000 fans descended on the city to see the match, which Zenit St Petersburg won 2-0.
    Care to point out what part of it is exactly 'bollocks' ?
    Or will that become the standard reply to anything Whyte says on here ?

It's bollocks in so far as that group has essentially been told nothing by Whyte/White. To call it a "productive" meeting, based on that report, is a joke. I can summarize:
    - The bad media are out to get us. If true, this is not news.
    - Mr. Whyte/White had to let the other BBC piece run, because honestly there was f**k all he could do to stop it. (He was "too busy" lol).
    - Need to be more proactive against the media muck-raking. This is just waffle, what are they going to do exactly?
    - Ticketus deal - it's a few million less than reported. Wow.
    - Administration - Whyte/White basically said he has no idea how things will pan out. Did he explain what is Plan A or B? Course not, cause they won't happen. Just tell the bears any old **** and they'll lap it up. Mr. Whyte/White knows EXACTLY what he'll do if administration happens, otherwise he's totally incompetant.
    - Bills - we can pay the small ones, but we're kinda f**ked trying to pay the big ones.
    - New revenue streams - waffle, monthy subs - let's see how well the monthy subs issue pans out!
    - Security - the big bad chef is a 'RA head and should not be anywhere near Dignity FC lol.
    - Bloggers - just lol at that bit. More waffle.

Maybe you can tell me what concrete actions came out of that productive meeting? 'Cause if I'd spent two hours at that, I'd be pissed off with the lack of outcomes.
    Sounds to me like he's pretty open on some stuff, like the wages and the payment issues with some companies.

He's been open but hasn't said anything, that's the point. Is there anything new in there? Anything you didn't know? He's essentially sat there just nodding his head from what I can see, agreed to nothing, patted the VBs on the head and said "good fans, now run along".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭RoryMac

You forgot the obvious high level meeting with a rep from Man Utd!

Expect Rangers to sign a billion pound sponsorship deal any day now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

RoryMac wrote: »
    When did you get the job with Europsport Bobby?

Not getting your point mate?

Cousin looks like he ate D'Archeville in this photo!

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/7507479/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Cant believe they let the fat bastard watch training, he looks like he needs it the most :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Cousin looks like he ate D'Archeville in this photo!

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/7507479/

I imagine that was the most unflattering pic the press could get of him, he looked in pretty good shape at the African Cup of Nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Good result yesterday for The Rangers.

On the whole Whyte interview, Well I am sick and tired of these interviews now to be honest. I just want to wait for all the facts and the result of the tax case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

This is my first post on this thread lads, so I just have a few questions/points to make.
    I just read a piece by Charlie nicholas and he was saying that all the problems that rangers are facing are not the fault of the current owners and firmly lie at the doorstep of the previous regime. He also argues that Scottish football and especially Celtic need rangers, which I agree with.

So can you lads explain to me the specifics of what is happening with rangers in laymans terms?
    I would find it a shame that a hugely successful club could go to the wall(if what I'm led to believe is happening)

I'm coming from a neutral stand point on this tbh, but I've always been a fan of Scottish football,(I used to go to Easter rd when I was based in Edinburgh.)
    If GR's go bust, it will have a massive effect on the whole of scottish football, and that would be the biggest shame from this fiasco IMO.
    By the way lads, if I'm talking nonsense, apologies. Just would like it explained by fans rather than newspapers. Thanks in advance.

RoryMac wrote: »
    When did you get the job with Europsport Bobby?

Not getting your point mate?

Just meant that the article you posted was obviously written by a Celtic fan with a strong anti-Rangers bias.

This is my first post on this thread lads, so I just have a few questions/points to make.
    I just read a piece by Charlie nicholas and he was saying that all the problems that rangers are facing are not the fault of the current owners and firmly lie at the doorstep of the previous regime. He also argues that Scottish football and especially Celtic need rangers, which I agree with.

So can you lads explain to me the specifics of what is happening with rangers in laymans terms?
    I would find it a shame that a hugely successful club could go to the wall(if what I'm led to believe is happening)

I'm coming from a neutral stand point on this tbh, but I've always been a fan of Scottish football,(I used to go to Easter rd when I was based in Edinburgh.)
    If GR's go bust, it will have a massive effect on the whole of scottish football, and that would be the biggest shame from this fiasco IMO.
    By the way lads, if I'm talking nonsense, apologies. Just would like it explained by fans rather than newspapers. Thanks in advance.

Haven't read that article by Nicolas but yes the majority of Rangers issues are down to the previous regime, they are facing a tax bill of around 40-50 million if they lose a court case(ruling due in the next few weeks). If they lose they will almost certainly go into administration and the outcome of that is anyones guess.

Some people are not too confident the new owner has a proper plan in place for guiding them through their current problems and there are questions being raised over his past dealings in business etc.

Even if Rangers win the tax case there are worrys over their finances with the new owner stating they are running at a loss of £10m, they have sold off/mortgaged some of their potential revenue streams so unless there are serious cut backs they still face an uncertain future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

+-200.000 fans is the general estimate though, we know you can't believe it that we dwarfed the million billion gazillion pyoor Hoops fanatics in Seville, but there you go :D

Care to point out what part of it is exactly 'bollocks' ?
    Or will that become the standard reply to anything Whyte says on here ?

Sounds to me like he's pretty open on some stuff, like the wages and the payment issues with some companies.
    a million billion gazillion??? good thing the big screen didnt break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

bobmalooka wrote: »
    Cant believe they let the fat bastard watch training, he looks like he needs it the most :eek:

That was the game yesterday.
    I imagine that was the most unflattering pic the press could get of him, he looked in pretty good shape at the African Cup of Nations.

You're right mate.....

Cousin_2715082.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

It has to do with a number of strange financial stunts, the big tax case and the wee tax case as they are known.

This site has the information.

http://rangerstaxcase.com/

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    It has to do with a number of strange financial stunts, the big tax case and the wee tax case as they are known.

This site has the information.

http://rangerstaxcase.com/

That site has a biased opinion on alot of information, lets be honest.

Lets put it in simple terms.

No one, not us on this forum, not "Big Phil", not (Honestly nothing to do with Phil) tax case website, not the media actually have a clue whats going on.

HMRC are into us for a lot of money, one of the main issues to arise from that is people are generally A) Unwilling to extend any credit to the club and B) Are looking to make sure they get their money and are attempting to "ringfence" it through the courts.

Craig Whyte is giving a lot of bluster, but not really saying anything about his plans - He has an ongoing feud with the BBC, which has led to the BBC hitting back by digging as much dirt as they can.
    This in turn has led to much of the Celtic support reaching climax slightly to early and spouting it all over pages such as this.

The tax case decision is due in the next couple of weeks.
    Once that decision is made, whatever is going to happen will no doubt happen very quickly.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Lets put it in simple terms.

No one, not us on this forum, not "Big Phil", not (Honestly nothing to do with Phil) tax case website, not the media actually have a clue whats going on.

HMRC are into us for a lot of money, one of the main issues to arise from that is people are generally A) Unwilling to extend any credit to the club and B) Are looking to make sure they get their money and are attempting to "ringfence" it through the courts.

Craig Whyte is giving a lot of bluster, but not really saying anything about his plans - He has an ongoing feud with the BBC, which has led to the BBC hitting back by digging as much dirt as they can.
    This in turn has led to much of the Celtic support reaching climax slightly to early and spouting it all over pages such as this.

The tax case decision is due in the next couple of weeks.
    Once that decision is made, whatever is going to happen will no doubt happen very quickly.

I can't argue with most of that, except the last point. Appeal, appeal, appeal. This will not be resolved quickly.

PauloMN wrote: »
    I can't argue with most of that, except the last point. Appeal, appeal, appeal. This will not be resolved quickly.

yeah i guess so, unless of course Whyte's plan has been administration all along as many people are suggesting.

I'm sure Whyte said before its unlikely we'll appeal mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Next month all will be revealed! The sooner this is sorted the better for rangers and their fans IMO. Surely the club will know what route it's taking after next month's result on the tax issue.

TheBuilder wrote: »
    I'm sure Whyte said before its unlikely we'll appeal mate.

I thought he said the opposite, that this could take a while to sort out because they would appeal. Will try to find the article.

As for Cousin, good bit of business imo. He looks in better shape than he was during his previous spell with yous tbh. His goal scoring record is not bad either.

Aye, but he'll have his work cut out getting McCulloch out of the side! :D

Thanks for the response lads to my question. The thing that baffles me is that how can a club as big as Rangers be in this situation? They have had so much success, have a 50,000 + stadium(correct me if wrong), and yet they are in this position. Is administration as bad in the spl as it is in epl? I know Portsmouth were docked 10 points or something to that affect, so I don't think we would see the demise of GR or am I missing something?

10pts is the least of our worries mate.

HMRC are after 50m from us, and we just don't have that sort of money.

Well that's a sad situation tbh. Crazy that a club with that much success and witha huge fan base can end up like this. Hopefully you can come through the other side.
    From reading online, it seems that white is a shady character, is that a fair assessment? From reading that piece this morning by Charlie nicholas this isn't his fault, but Murray and co. Did they milk the club then feck off?

But I always that this IS the appeal. HMRC have found against Rangers already, this court case is Rangers appealing against the decision. The only way they're be another appeal is if HMRC don't like the outcome.

You also seem to now have debt approaching that total as well.

From reading online, it seems that white is a shady character, is that a fair assessment?

Understatement though many Rangers fans just don't see it.

By the way EB, that was a good win for you guys on Saturday especially as you went 1-0 down. A real morale booster of a win.