Madden NFL 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I'm confused myself BigBadRob :pac:

My trades were:

Out
    Mario Williams ROLB Giants
    Richie Incognito LG Colts
    Taiwan Jones HB Colts
    Third round pick Colts who then traded it to Titans
    Steve Smith WR Texans [the younger Steve Smith]
    Amobi Okaye DT Texans
    Robert Meecham WR Giants
    Kroy Biermann LE Colts

In
    John Henderson DT Giants
    Demaryius Thomas WR Colts
    Sam Bradford Texans
    Jacob Bell LG Giants
    Parys Haralson ROLB Giants
    Reggie Bush HB Colts
    Marcus Spears LE Colts
    Richie Incognito LG Colts He returned without playing a game in Indy, wanted to retire a Raven and begged to return :)

FA:
    I cut my backup FS, backup RT, Nick Folk my K, my backup RG and my third string TE
    Signed replacements for these lads

Retirements:
    Thomas Jones HB
    James Farrior MLB
    Pat Williams DT
    Three important players and left me scrambling to work on these positions

Goal
    My main goal this offseason was to have the strongest Oline possible
    I was willing to sacrifice my top WR's and Super Mario to get this, luckily my young corp of WR got rating boosts.
    After that it was beef up the D line and MLB though it's still not the strongest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭BigBadRob83

10-6

AFC North runners-up, narrowly missed playoffs

Trades

TEXANS: QB Sam Bradford sent to RAVENS in exchange for WR Steve Smith and DT Okeye
    GIANTS: Parys Haralson ROLB and Jacob Bell LG
    > Mario Williams ROLB
    GIANTS : John Henderson DT
    > Giants receive Robert Meecham WR
    RAVENS trade Richie Incognito LG to the COLTS for Deymarius Thomas WR
    COLTS: LE Bierman, HB Jones >>> LE Spears, LG Incognito
    ***I’m sure there are some missing here, the press pool just couldn’t keep up with the GM’s moves

Donovan McNabb is pushed aside, as Sam Bradford has been proclaimed the future of the Ravens franchise. Will McNabb be a dangerous influence in the clubhouse?
    Bradford may have to rely heavily on TE Jason Witten as the Ravens No.1 receiver Steve Smith was sent to the Texans as part of the Bradford trade. There is depth in the WR corps, as the Ravens added Thomas to compliment a solid group.
    Star linebacker ‘Super’ Mario Williams was sent to the Giants as the Ravens also upgraded their O-line.
    Baltimore’s favourite son Rich Incognito had a topsy-turvy summer. He was at the boarding gate about to get on a plane to Indianapolis, when Mike comes running through the airport in slow motion, shouting, until Rich turned around to see his smiling GM tell him it was all going to be okay, he’d made a terrible mistake in trading him, and he wanted him back.
    Knowing Mike, it is unlikely that the Ravens are done trading either....

Notable Player Progressions (Regressions)
    SS Berry 95 (+7)
    WR Thomas 79 (+6)
    WR Edelman (79 (+6)
    QB Bradford 90 (+5)
    A lot players +3/+4, especially on defense
    QB McNabb 80 (-2)
    LG Bell 82 (-4)

[TOTAL TEAM PROGRESSION: +73]
    Most improved team in the division, with the passing game getting a big upgrade at QB and WR

Draft
    1st Round – DT Manning 80 – Beast on the D-Line as the Ravens get a starter straight away
    2nd Round – MLB Carter 72 – Could be thrown into the mix early, and will see a lot of playing time
    *CB depth added with later picks, Ravens seemed happy with the draft

6-10

Trades
    BENGALS: QB Cam Newton ---for--- 2nd round pick
    TITANS: RB Jahvid Best ---for--- 2nd round pick
    *May be missing other trades

The Browns collected some draft picks in the offseason, as the new Gm looks to rebuild the team in his own image.
    The reins at QB were handed over to Andy Dalton, while James Starks took over at running back having shipped off Cam Newton and Jahvid Best. It really is a fresh start in Cleveland. These two should have ample protection behind a solid O-Line led by All-Pro Joe Thomas.

HB Starks 87 (+10)
    CB Cox 83 (+10)
    RG Jerry 82 (+6)
    QB Dalton 75 (+4)
    LT Thomas 98(+3)
    WR Moss 80 (-5)
    ROLD Bowens 78 (-5)
    DT Bannan 78 (-6)

[TOTAL TEAM PROGRESSION: +33] A young improving team had some big jumps, mainly on offense. Andy Dalton will need to show this improvement

Draft
    1st Round – LOLB Cooper 81 – A starter straight away, the Browns needed help with the LB corps and were delighted with this pick
    2nd Round – Couldn’t quite keep up with the Browns drafting of picks here
    The fantastically named Jatavious Calhoun (CB 74) was taken with the Bengals’ pick
    QB’s Dakieston Lattimore (72) & Dillon Henderson (72) will battle it out in camp to backup Dalton
    CB Trayion McCoy (72) & FS Jonathan Kirce (72) add more depth to the impressive D-back group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

notyalc666 wrote: »
    Grand, around 9 ok? I'll message you here when i'm heading on

sounds good!

In third string QB news that nobody cares about, Ravens cut Dennis Dixon and sign Joe Webb

Similar players, speedy QBs who can break out a run, I just like Webb's potential a bit more

Trades
    None

ROLB Weatherspoon 83 (+8)
    TE Pettigrew 89 (+8)
    HB Ivory 81 (+7)
    LE Dareus 87 (+5)
    LT Free 89 (+5)
    DT Wilfork 94 (-2)
    DT Williams 94 (-3)
    SS Bell 81 (-6)
    LG Waters 84 (-7)
    [TOTAL TEAM PROGRESSION: +54]

Draft
    1st Round - WR Barksdale 83 - After escaping the corners of Baltimore, Barksdale steps in immediately as the No.1 WR for the Steelers, a big ask for a rookie.
    Other rounds - backups from here on

Division Analysis
    Last year's division-winning Bengals should start as favourites for the division in the bookies, although this will be an unpredictable division.
    The Bengals-Ravens series last year will not provide any prediction for this year as the CPU had to step in for the Bengals in the first game and the second game had to be simmed. It is likely that this series will go a long way to deciding the division. With both sides improving the O-Line, and trading away WR's, it looks like a return to good old-fashioned AFC North hard-running football.

The Browns are the wildcard in all this, as a mid-season takeover. The new coach should have his own system and personnel in place for this season.
    The Steelers have possibly the most impressive defensive front 7 in the league, and will be tough to run and score on. Their offense may let them down, as the fans are not happy with David Garrard leading the team. Another last place finish beckons.

I'm going to go out on limb (not too far really) and say that whichever team's new QB settles in best will take the division. Pre-season QB rankings in the division:
    1. Sam Bradford 90 (Ravens)
    2. Cam Newton 83 (Bengals)
    3. David Garrard 81 (Steelers)
    4. Andy Dalton 75 (Browns)

The run game will dominate in the division, and defenses will be tough. But which QB will rule them all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

etloveslsd wrote: »
    Rams are you free to play tomorrow evening? I will drop that LG into FA before we play. If Heli is on around then could he drop my LE for me?
    Ill be about tonight sure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Titans D-stayed pretty much the same while most offenses got good upgrades.
    The Titans o-line didnt change much and they are going to looka tactical changes to help them out.

First up are the Buccs who have a very highly rated WR corps along with a lethal HB.

The Titans will be hoping to keep the ball away from the Buccs as much as possible tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Berty44

Dunno what everyone else thinks about the game times for the regular season. I would like to see for the regular season possibly increase from 7 minutes to 8 minutes as there are now far more human v human games. Running the ball can mean very few posessions and much more difficulty in a come from behind.

We use 10 minutes for the playoffs and that is absolutely ideal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I'd have no issue with that Berty, for total game time it isn't gonna make that much difference tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Danger_dave1

Ye would make a difference to when you'd need to start chasing a game.also it would add what 6-10 mins onto real time for the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

Berty44 wrote: »
    Dunno what everyone else thinks about the game times for the regular season. I would like to see for the regular season possibly increase from 7 minutes to 8 minutes as there are now far more human v human games. Running the ball can mean very few posessions and much more difficulty in a come from behind.

that'd be fine with me but I wouldn't want to go any higher. the increased frequency of games means I'll be hogging the TV long enough each week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭etloveslsd

Berty44 wrote: »

8 minutes sounds good

Ravens and Colts will use that tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭Raoul

McG wrote: »
    that'd be fine with me but I wouldn't want to go any higher. the increased frequency of games means I'll be hogging the TV long enough each week

This!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

It's set by the commish no?

Maybe leave it until week 2, as some games have been played?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Anyone else having problems posting on LM?

Anyway, updated trade block:

Adding in my first round draft choice. Jeremy Riggs - 1st round draft choice OVR 84, potential A.

Looking for (in this order) FS,CB,TE,WR C,MLB,OLB

If you like the look at anyone else on my roster feel free to make an offer, no untouchables.

Jeremy Riggs - 84, potential A.
    Matt Cassell QB 86.
    Brady Quinn QB 70
    Luke Stocker TE 78
    Brandon Johnson ROLB 73
    Garry Williams LT 85
    Ryan Williams HB 82
    Fred Jackson HB 82
    Jamaal Charles HB 95
    Gary Gibson DT 76

mikemac1 wrote: »
    8 minutes sounds good

Ravens and Colts will use that tonight
    Maybe leave it until week 2, as some games have been played?

Good point, we can wait

McG wrote: »

I agree. I think the balance of 8 min quaters would be great with the play offs going to 10mins. Gives those game added tension. 10mins quarter would be to much in regular season with 3 games in 2 weeks as well.

8 min quarters sounds good lads.

Have we officially moved to the 3 games every two weeks schedule yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

adrian522 wrote: »
    Anyone else having problems posting on LM?

Anyway, updated trade block:

Adding in my first round draft choice. Jeremy Riggs - 1st round draft choice OVR 84, potential A.

Looking for (in this order) FS,CB,TE,WR C,MLB,OLB

If you like the look at anyone else on my roster feel free to make an offer, no untouchables.

Jeremy Riggs - 84, potential A.
    Matt Cassell QB 86.
    Brady Quinn QB 70
    Luke Stocker TE 78
    Brandon Johnson ROLB 73
    Garry Williams LT 85
    Ryan Williams HB 82
    Fred Jackson HB 82
    Jamaal Charles HB 95
    Gary Gibson DT 76[/Quot

i.ve lots of good cb's. Make me an offer for one!

Are you the Rams yeah? What are you looking for in terms of position?

Anyone any idea on when our forum proposal will be decied upon?

Might be a while, there's a few other forums in front of us for a decision.

Just need to keep this thread busy tbh

mikemac1 wrote: »
    In third string QB news that nobody cares about, Ravens cut Dennis Dixon and sign Joe Webb

In other third-string QB news that no-one cares about, the Bengals have worked out free agent Dennis Dixon and he has been brought to camp to compete for the backup role with fellow free agent Ricky Stanzi.
    In a Belichickian plot, Dixon may or may not bring insider information on the division rivals, we will find out in Week 12.

Ricky Stanzi was with the Ravens too last season

Check out Baltimore Mid-West, signing all my castoffs

You can be my B team :):cool:

Might be a while, there's a few other forums in front of us for a dgecision.

Just need to keep this thread busy tbh

We also do not have enough support. We need +18 to be considered. Think were +14at mo, ppl withpost counts below 50 wont count.

I'd say 3weeks till they make decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Right lads.

The poll clearly shows that 3 games every 2 weeks is what every one wants. As much as it doesn't suit me ( :) ) it's about what the majority wants so it'll be put in for this season. If everyone could get their games done by Sunday night that'd be great so we can start the Monday-Thursday cycle from next Monday. Also, as there is more human games being played I agree with 8 minute games. I've played two 8 minute games against Eamonn and Dave in the past week and feel it's the perfect length for a game so as long as most people do not have a problem, this will also be implemented from Monday so that everyone plays this week at 7 minutes and no one feels like they're at a disadvantage.

Thanks,

Ben.

We also do not have enough support. We need +18 to be considered. Think were +14at mo, ppl withpost counts below 50 wont count.

I'd say 3weeks till they make decision

I think its a little more complicated than that dave (unless you have insider info!) We need to justify the creation of a new forum and show that we will actually use it and generate traffic on it.
    The best place to convince TPTB of that it by keeping this thread active, the thread i created over yonder is the application, but this thread is the proof that the forum will be needed