Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

398689_236639919750778_190190401062397_528460_209341882_n.jpg
    tumblr_lgbywcA5nf1qelt3zo1_400.gif

Credit to Arsenal fan on other forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    398689_236639919750778_190190401062397_528460_209341882_n.jpg
    tumblr_lgbywcA5nf1qelt3zo1_400.gif

Credit to Arsenal fan on other forum.

About a week late there, sunshine :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Dercola wrote: »
    About a week late there, sunshine :rolleyes:

:o

My bad, I dont read Arsenal thread regularly tbh.

Apologies then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

In other exciting news that no ones mentioned yet Johan Djourou has signed a contract extension until 2015 hold back on the excitement lads :D.

But in fairness I know this year hes been useless at RB but in his defence its not his natural position and at times he can be very capable at cb his form does fluctuate, but as a fourth or maybe fifth choice cb hes decent enough to be relyed upon from time to time, I just hope we didnt give him a ridicilous contract.

Heres hoping we get some word on Van Persies contract situation soon but ive a funny feeling we wont hear about this one way or another until the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Djourou is probably on 80 grand a week or something now. He's a good enough back up, but he'll never be a first choice player IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Djourou is probably on 80 grand a week or something now. He's a good enough back up, but he'll never be a first choice player IMO.

Is he really on 80 k a week?

That's near the top end of the pay scale at Arsenal?

amiable wrote: »

Theres no source on what his new contract is at the momment, I hope to god hes not but at Arsenal you never know considering the likes of Diaby and Almunia are reportedly earning around 60k a week. Same as Denilson and Bendtner which is why were finding it so hard to offload them because no team are willing to match the wages there on at Arsenal.

Do you think the board will break the pay structure for RVP?

IMO they should if possible. There must be a way to do it.

I'd hate to see him go somewhere else even though I'm not an Arsenal fan

Do you think the board will break the pay structure for RVP?

IMO they should if possible. There must be a way to do it.

I'd hate to see him go somewhere else even though I'm not an Arsenal fan

Well the board and Wenger have stated we dont have a pay structure as such, but will we give him the kind of wages he could get at Man City, Chelsea etc never in a million years but id imagine they would make him the highest earner at the club it all boils down to his own personal motivation at the end of the day. Im just hoping he sees his future with Arsenal but at the end of the day if we dont qualify for the Champions League and he doesnt see Arsenal making the moves he feels they need to then I wouldnt blame him for moving on either given his age and talent. But im still kind of on the glass half full side hell stay with Arsenal.

I bloody hope not. We lost Cole over 5k per week and he was an automatic starter. Djourou is a back up. 50k would be very generous for him.

In regards van Persie, give him a five year contract and let him fill in whatever numbers he wants. Nobody else at the club will (or at least shouldnt) complain about him getting higher wages.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    I bloody hope not. We lost Cole over 5k per week and he was an automatic starter. Djourou is a back up. 50k would be very generous for him.

In regards van Persie, give him a five year contract and let him fill in whatever numbers he wants. Nobody else at the club will (or at least shouldnt) complain about him getting higher wages.

RVP may not want the type of money he could get at City.

Look at Steven Gerrard, he could have earned more elsewhere but decided to stay at Liverpool.

Champions League might be a massive factor for RVP.
    He may also just want a fresh challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

I don't think money is the issue with RVP at all to be honest (although I'm sure he'd take it if he can get it). It's the competitiveness of the team that would be his main concern i think, which is where we have our problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,926 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

This lad is really starting to annoy me. He is constantly sucking-up to Wenger and maybe that is the answer of the mystery of why he's getting picked for the team
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2097834/Theo-Walcott-Blackburn-thrashing-Arsene-Wenger.html

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

This lad is really starting to annoy me. He is constantly sucking-up to Wenger and maybe that is the answer of the mystery of why he's getting picked for the team
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2097834/Theo-Walcott-Blackburn-thrashing-Arsene-Wenger.html
    ... or it could be the club captain telling everyone who'll listen how much he loves playing with him... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Why does it annoy you that he's acknowledging that the performances can be blamed on the players - that it can be down to them not wenger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,926 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Why does it annoy you that he's acknowledging that the performances can be blamed on the players - that it can be down to them not wenger

It annoys me that HE is saying it. It is not down to ALL the players but HE has rarely played well. Sounds very patronising to me.

he has 3 goals & 9 assists in the league - the top assists at arsenal, joint third in the league

I'm not his biggest fan either & think he should be scoring far more goals with the amount of chances he gets but think your/a lot of people be a bit harsh on him at times

this is what RVP has to say about him
    Robin van Persie has backed Theo Walcott for a prolific goalscoring return from the wing.

Although Walcott did not score in Saturday’s 7-1 win over Blackburn, the England international laid on two assists for Van Persie and another for Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain.

The 22-year-old has been a regular source of supply for the Dutchman in his excellent goalscoring year – as well as finding the net six times himself - and the captain is eternally grateful.

"I love him, I honestly love him,” said Van Persie. “I don't understand the criticism. On Saturday he gave three very clear assists, two for me and one for Alex.

"He was sharp, he was playing fantastically and, like anyone, he misses chances. But I miss chances. Ronaldo misses chances, Messi misses chances. It's life, you know.

"Sometimes I feel that people are a bit harsh on him. I don't know why. If you look at his assists rate then it is unbelievable.

"And he will score. Trust me, he will score. He will get 20 goals at least every season. You will see. Have faith in him.

"He has given me so many assists. And for me, if you give an assist then it is worth a goal, especially if you give a great assist. It is as important as scoring a goal. For me he gave two simple tap-ins. That makes it more his goal than my goal.”
    story on the clubs website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I like Van Persie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Theo Walcott is like the fraud version of football. So much pace but little else. When he makes a bad school boy like pass, he blames the player who it was supposed to be for and constantly sucks the ass of the boss.

Walcott is just a poor footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

he has 3 goals & 9 assists in the league - the top assists at arsenal, joint third in the league

I'm not his biggest fan either & think he should be scoring far more goals with the amount of chances he gets but think your/a lot of people be a bit harsh on him at times

Robin van Persie has backed Theo Walcott for a prolific goalscoring return from the wing.

"I love him, I honestly love him,” said Van Persie. “I don't understand the criticism. On Saturday he gave three very clear assists, two for me and one for Alex.

"He was sharp, he was playing fantastically and, like anyone, he misses chances. But I miss chances. Ronaldo misses chances, Messi misses chances. It's life, you know.

"Sometimes I feel that people are a bit harsh on him. I don't know why. If you look at his assists rate then it is unbelievable.

"And he will score. Trust me, he will score. He will get 20 goals at least every season. You will see. Have faith in him.

"He has given me so many assists. And for me, if you give an assist then it is worth a goal, especially if you give a great assist. It is as important as scoring a goal. For me he gave two simple tap-ins. That makes it more his goal than my goal.”

I think that is the first time I have ever heard of Walcott being compared with Messi and Ronaldo. :D

I respect RVP hugely, but was he suffering concussion when he was interviewed for this ?

Walcott may provide a lot of the passes or crosses to RVP, but then again how many does he waste.
    I think RVP can turn a pigs ear of a cross/pass into a silk purse of a shot/goal whereas a lesser striker couldn't do as much with the service.

Walcott has promised a lot for years and if anything I think RVPs assertion that he will come good is being generous.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Theo Walcott is like the fraud version of football. So much pace but little else. When he makes a bad school boy like pass, he blames the player who it was supposed to be for and constantly sucks the ass of the boss.

Walcott is just a poor footballer.

9 assists and 3 goals for a poor footballer/fraud ? He's infuriating at times and now seems to panic when he gets in front of goal (since he stated he wants to play up front it seems) but your appraisal is too harsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Jmac24128

cson wrote: »
    Just reading through those names... It's actually ****ing galling how many players we've just let go without any fight whatsoever. Had we kept half the players we've sold the past few years and added a select one or two we wouldn't have an empty trophy cabinet at The Emirates. Fair enough we might not be as profitable but surely theres a price somewhere we can pay for success.

Gilberto - forced out, could have done a job for another season as Frisbee says. The guy was a huge influence too - really experienced and professional. I'll never forget the night he single handedly dragged us to penalties against Doncaster Rovers in the League Cup one year.

Flamini - When you see the money being burned on the likes of Arshavin, the fact we wouldn't give him the contract he wanted after he proved himself in that season partnering Cesc in midfield was criminal. Even more so as the guy was a very useful utility man who filled in at LB and RB for us on the Champions League run iirc.

Cole - A lot of hate toward Ashley Cole which is natural I guess but the guy didn't exactly hold us to ransom. He wanted £5k more and employed the Roy Keane tactic of waiting it out. Of course we blinked; we'd never break our wage structure to keep him. He subsequently turned in about 5 odd years as the leagues best left back. We got a hormonal Billy Gallas. Only one winner there.

Adebayor - Yes City came calling. Yes it was a huge amount of money. But did we have to? No we didn't.

Eduardo - Never the same after his injury but he'd have been better to have as a squad striker than Chamakh let alone Park. He still had the flashes to brilliance even after the injury [see his goal v Burnley in the FA Cup].

As for the rest; I'd have kept Bobby Pires for another season. Cesc and Nasri goes without saying. I'd also have kept Vieira - solely for the fact that in hindsight he was never properly replaced and it took until the last couple of seasons until Alex Song fully developed as a player to fill that void.

It was the right time to sell Henry I think, Hleb and Toure were good sales for the money we got. Clichy was absolutely needless considering we got **** all for him anyway. Diarra wanted to go so whatever. The Gallas deal should never have happened.

So yeah; if we'd have kept the players I've outlined above and added the select one or two - i.e. Goalkeeper and a DM if Vieira wasn't kept then we'd have a trophy or two in the bag at this stage.

Instead we sold, created an incredible situation contractually where we're happy to have 10 mediocre players on 50k rather than pay a world class one the money it takes to keep him.

Thats the most frustrating thing; its not as if we would have required any major surgery to take the next step to winning trophies. The template was there, it needed a tweak here and there. But now its come to the point where we do need major surgery. And thats ****ing inexcusable considering where we started from.

Good post, but it is easy to look back from now and pick faults. u can do that with every club. at the end of the day all the players are money grabbers. its that easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Jmac24128

The thing about the wage structure is that Spurs one is even lower than ours . It's not so much that we can't break the upper limits of it that's the problem, it's more so that we have all our wages tied up in overpaying eejits such as Diaby, Denilson, Squillachi, Allmunia etc...

i agree with most of them except Diaby. he is a quality player. injures is the only thing holding him back. he has pace power and vision.

story on the clubs website

Maybe I am a bit harsh but that's how I feel about him. I find him very cowardly too. He really does infuriate me at times especially when he does something very stupid and blames other players.

Is it going to Tottenhams luck that 'arry's going to quit now and join England? :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

Is it going to Tottenhams luck that 'arry's going to quit now and join England? :pac: :D

Don't think arry is that big a bastard, unfortunately.. Stuart Pierce will take the reigns for the Euro's, or until the end of the season at the soonest.. All the talk surrounding there manager could affect the spuds tho. Fingers crossed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Gervinho just scored in the ACN semi-final, some run he just made!

Got to love the English FA. A man with more relegations than cups is the odds on favourite to be the next manager of the national team :rolleyes:

We all knew spurs would find a reason to choke, guess this is going to be it. Just hope ourselves along with Chelsea, Liverpool and Newcastle all take advantage and pass them in the table :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Gervinho's sole strike sends Cote D'Ivoire through to the final, looks like we wont get him back any sooner :(

The goal: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXaovAKSUHM

Maybe I am a bit harsh but that's how I feel about him. I find him very cowardly too. He really does infuriate me at times especially when he does something very stupid and blames other players.

I don't know too much about his personality or anything other than seeing him play football but with the blaming other players(jenkinson at OT the one that stands out) i kinda get the impression that he's a narky enough chap that goes on a bit like a spoilt child. even a bit of a bitch :pac:

and i'm not trying to defend him too much either here as i said earlier he should score far more but i think he's people's favourite scapegoat in the arsenal team too, like when bendtner got a load of stick/abuse for missing that chance against barca at the nou camp but cesc not nearly as much for back heeling it to xavi(i think); straight before he scored