16 year old GIRL shot dead in Tallaght

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

ntlbell wrote: »
    he was shot for a reason.

The plumber?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

ItsAWindUp wrote: »

Yes, Well I'm not suggesting it's a valid reason.

but obviously the plumber seen the shooter and could now identify him.

You're not going to leave a living witness.

so he was "innocent" but he was shot for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    So based on the few paragraphs in the OP you came to the conclusion that the 16 year old girl that was shot dead had it coming? And you think there's a good reason for every shooting that occurs in Dublin?

You sound like a proper scumbag.

so based on the few paragraphs in the OP you come to the conclusion that it was wrong place wrong time ?

Nobody knows the facts here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

ItsAWindUp wrote: »

I like the way you put innocent in quotation marks there, one could be forgiven for thinking you didn't think he was innocent. Surely not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Christ almighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

pedantic pants, can we say in "general" you don't get shot in _ireland_ for nothing.

It's not pedantic at all.

The assumption made was that she had it coming. That assumption is in bad taste and quite possibly wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    OK, in general, what does a 16 year old girl do to deserve being shot? Whatever is behind it, it's a tragedy.

A previous poster said she was a traveller. If that is true she could easily have been shot for refusing to marry someone or dating the wrong guy. This is how most feuds start. Whatever we may think about travellers, I think it is very sad that their children are put under this kind of pressure to marry and in some cases have no choice. I'm sure the facts will come out soon but I'd put money on it being an internal feud based on something small that we take for granted. I very much doubt she deserved it at all. May she rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

It's possible she was the intended target, as a message to someone they couldn't get.

The scary part is what happens now......

The boys do revenge pretty well ...

I like the way you put innocent in quotation marks there, one could be forgiven for thinking you didn't think he was innocent. Surely not?

Don't know the man.

Seachmall wrote: »
    It's not pedantic at all.

The assumption made was that she had it coming. That assumption is in bad taste and quite possibly wrong.

based on the vast majority of shootings are for a reason.

It's not the most absurd thing to assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭topcatcbr

OK, in general, what does a 16 year old girl do to deserve being shot? Whatever is behind it, it's a tragedy.

I never said she deserved it.

No one deserves to have their life taken from that. but that != shot for no reason.

[Quite likely she / they were due what they got. You don't get shot in Dublin for no good reason.]

I thought you said they "likely" were due what they got.

How is that different than deserves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

When was the last time all of you were shot at ??? If someone puts themselves in a environment and circle that would inevitably mean they would come into the firing line at some stage then I have absolutely no sympathy for them. Obviously there are exceptions like the unfortunate plumber that was dragged into this thread. I stand by my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

KTRIC wrote: »
    When was the last time all of you were shot at ??? If someone puts themselves in a environment and circle that would inevitably mean they would come into the firing line at some stage then I have absolutely no sympathy for them. Obviously there are exceptions like the unfortunate plumber that was dragged into this thread. I stand by my original post.

So you're saying that in the majority of cases where a person is shot it was probably their own fault.

Go back to bed like a good little lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Slandering murdered teenage girls - a true keyboard warrior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Whether or not you agree with a post, abuse is never tolerated.
    Some posts deleted.
    Re-opened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Teen girl is shot dead in this country and people are arguing over whether she deserved it or not.

Lovely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I'm not going to jump on the Liberalist band wagon and go "RIP girl that we didn't know"

Quite likely she / they were due what they got. You don't get shot in Dublin for no good reason.

I completely agree. She must have been icing gang lords on an hourly basis and bringing several tonnes of cocaine into Dublin a fortnight to ever end up in the crosshairs of drugged up psychopath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Well Mods should start banning people for excessive stupidity then. It will lessen the need for abuse.
    The 16-year-old girl sustained serious injuries when a shot was fired from a passing vehicle into the parked car in which she was a passenger at Brookview Way at about 10.35pm.

Here's the important bit, I'd love to be able to post it in crayon for KTRIC.

You do a driveby on a car because you know the person that owns it will be driving it. Not because there might be someone you want to kill in the passenger seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

I'm not going to jump on the Liberalist band wagon and go "RIP girl that we didn't know"

Quite likely she / they were due what they got. You don't get shot in Dublin for no good reason.

What a disgraceful comment to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

And there are plenty of notable cases of innocent people being killed.

It's not absurd to assume she "had it coming", but it's certainly not absurd to wait until the facts come out before making assumptions in bad taste.

And given very few of those shot for a reason are 16 year old girls it's probably not best to publicly declare she's at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭simit

Dublin should be twinned with Kabul or Baghdad at this stage.It's remarkable how this government remains silent on the volume of guncrime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Not true. Plenty of innocent people have been caught in the wrong place at the wrong time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

When was the last time all of you were shot at ???

Never, and I don't expect anyone else to be shot at either. Especially not a 16 year old girl.
    If someone puts themselves in a environment and circle that would inevitably mean they would come into the firing line at some stage then I have absolutely no sympathy for them.

You have ny sympathy for a 16 year old girl who was gunned down? What heinous crime did she commit that warranted her being taken from the face of the earth while she was still a kid?

My little sister is her age, and I don't care what 'circle' she might find herself in - if anyone shot her, I'd hang them from a lamp-post in town.

Your lack of humanity is shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

These traveller feuds can last generations.
    Last so long people don't even know why they started

There'll be comeback over this, I expect to read about another shooting in a few months once the attention has died down a bit
    Or arson, burn out some homes

And then another shooting after that one.
    And so it continues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

plumbing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

mikemac1 wrote: »
    These traveller feuds can last generations.
    Last so long people don't even know why they started

There'll be comeback over this, I expect to read about another shooting in a few months once the attention has died down a bit
    Or arson, burn out some homes

And then another shooting after that one.
    And so it continues

We should treasure that ethnic group

they give so much to our society and ask little in return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

plumbing?

Or buying petrol like the two lads in Tesco Clearwater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Digging a hole for yourself now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

16 years is very young for a settled girl, but for a traveller it's not that young. Don't they all get married at that age? She could be called a 16 year old woman.

I hope the animals who shot her are caught very soon and that they don't get the typical 'lenient' sentence. Can't say I have a lot of faith in our courts. But I do have faith in the Garda.