If you drink alcohol, yet you are against other drugs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

Jagle wrote: »
    man are you stupid?
    drink and fags arnt drugs

Not sure if serious???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I can guarantee booze is far more dangerous then Cannabis

No you can't. You may be able to guarantee that people who drink over the recomended daly alowance of alcohol can be at a far greater risk but not if they dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If you regularly get pissed drunk yet condemn people who occasionally take narcotics, yes you're a hypocrite IMO.

As for the ethics angle: there are numerous industries - e.g. coffee, tea, chocolate, soft drinks, clothing, footwear - where abuse is rife.

The legal angle? Fair enough, but I still don't see a cause for someone who gets pissed often being influenced by this. Simply not taking narcotics would suffice IMO.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Naomi00 wrote: »
    That made me lol. :P

put down that vodka and red bull and pick up a book

educate yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

jimpump wrote: »
    and probably got you on a floppy

Nope not once yet thank god. The comment was only meant as a joke though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

But herion is just so deliciously moreish. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

3units a day, or a pint and a half is the recommended dasily intake for males in this country..
    promise you no one ever has that little, having a few pints in the pub with the lads will intake more, and bottom line people dont follow these limits.

http://www.saferchoice.org/content/view/24/53/

both graphs in these article just show how dangerous drink is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Kids in Italy and France drink a small amount of wine with their lunch/dinner regularly, obviously that is not 'more dangerous' than cannabis or any other illegal drug which would obviously not be given to them as they are dangerous.

end of pointless thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

So can weed and cocaine can be used in dentistry, also there are studies that mdma can help with parkinsons cancer and MS.
    All alcohol can do is clean a wound.

Guinness is rich in iron, they used to give out free pints to people after donating blood.

It has some iron. Certainly not rich in it.

Not sure if serious???

defo not serious.

but often the argument you hear from the great ignorant populace

If you abuse alcohol and are against people taking other drugs, you're a hypocrite.
    If you like a few pints at the weekend and look down on someone who likes to have a few joints instead, you're a hypocrite.
    If you like a few pints at the weekend but disagree with a highly addictive drug like heroin, you're probably just a sensible person.

what about a few smokes of heroin the odd time?

i guarantee its just as safe as a few pints the odd time as well

everything in moderation

Kids in Italy and France drink a small amount of wine with their lunch/dinner regularly, obviously that is not 'more dangerous' than cannabis or any other illegal drug which would obviously not be given to them as they are dangerous.

end of pointless thread?

End of pointless posts instead maybe?

everything in moderation

Yeah I'm sure the junkies at the Luas stations in Dublin will totally agree with you..

Role model material and all that.

Yakult wrote: »
    End of pointless posts instead maybe?

What the OP's?

:pac: heh heh

everything in moderation

really this argument? you cant compare cannabis to alcohol, you can compare alcohol to heroin tho, as its abuse you cant deny over the past generations of our people, and worldwide alcohol and tobacco kills more people then hitler ever did.

but hey dont wanna offend your ignorant opinion, id say you would be surprised how many people you interact with daily smoke weed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

end of pointless thread?

Shur Jaysus himself drank it............
    ? you cant compare cannabis to alcohol, you can compare alcohol tho,

*Brain explodes*

really this argument? you cant compare cannabis to alcohol, you can compare alcohol tho, as its abuse you cant deny over the past generations of our people, and worldwide alcohol and tobacco kills more people then hitler ever did.

but hey dont wanna offend your ignorant opinion, id say you would be surprised how many people you interact with daily smoke weed

I think they were actually being serious... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

What about methylated spirits.

It cannot be bought off the street any more, it causes blindness and madness but up to a few years ago it was able to be bought in pharmacies rather easily.

Should that be legal?

Or a highly addictive substance which can cause death?

Or acetone, lets all drink that.

Or uranium, that should be legal.

but often the argument you hear from the great ignorant populace

Due to being misinformed *Cough* news article not so long ago *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

mikom wrote: »
    Shur Jaysus himself drank it............
    made it himself too, copyright infringer he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭many

I would tend to agree with you, but I don't think hypocrite is the right word.

I think it's more due to the fact that certain substances are allowed in our society and others are illegal, I think that is why people view cannabis in a harsher light than tobacco.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We look for the little good in evil and magnify it and then call it good in it's entirety .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Doc wrote: »
    I think you may be mixing up use and abuse. Just because I have a glass of wine at dinner but am against cannabis,cocaine,heroin use I am the biggest hypocrites there is? Grow up.
    not all drug users binge, some do them in moderation, just like a glass of wine every evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Doc wrote: »
    No you can't. You may be able to guarantee that people who drink over the recomended daly alowance of alcohol can be at a far greater risk but not if they dont.

http://alcoholireland.ie/alcohol-facts/

just pulled the very 1st stat I saw there from the pile, 10% liver cancer in males, 3.33% in Females.

Cannabis,

here's a few state funded studies which resulted in no increase in cancer of the patients over a lengthy period

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1046/j.1360-0443.2002.00003.x/full

Yeah I'm sure the junkies at the Luas stations in Dublin will totally agree with you..

Role model material and all that.

most of them are off their head on legal tablets called zimovanes

h

What the OP's?

:pac: heh heh

think that was meant for u

Yakult wrote: »
    Due to being misinformed *Cough* news article not so long ago *cough*

oh youtalking about the article in the irish times a few saturdays ago?

PLEEEASE what a load of scaremongering nonsense,

Subject 1. female i think if i remember right talked about buying 4 50bags of weed a week. now any decent smoker would realise that for 200 a week, you can get 10grams of weed(going by the standard bad drug dealer bags of 2.5grams for 50, should be 3.3) would buy an Oz for 350(28.34 grams) first issue.
    second the being paranoid, i dont agree with anyone who has a prior mental illness smoking a psychoactive chemical, just as anyone with liver problems shouldnt drink, but no study has yet to take into account if the person had the ability to develop mental problems later in life that ive come across if you know any please share. and keeping something illegal makes a user have some level of paranoia as they are doing something that can get the busted, the going buying the drugs, driving with it in your car and such makes people nervous knowing that its an offense. cant remeber the rest of the nonsense if i can dig it out i will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Two big glasses of wine a day triples cancer risk

REGULARLY drinking two large glasses of wine or two strong pints of beer a day triples the risk of developing mouth cancer, research has shown.
    The findings came as it emerged that cancer was responsible for almost half of all deaths in Ireland last year.
    Health experts recommend that men should not regularly drink more than three to four units a day, while women should not regularly drink more than two to three per day.
    And drinkers are being advised to cut down by having alcohol-free days, not drinking at home before going out, swapping to low or alcohol-free drinks and using smaller glasses in a bid to cut the risks.
    The survey of more than 2,000 drinkers in Britain found that 85pc did not realise that drinking more than the recommended limits increased the risk of developing breast cancer.

more here:
    http://www.independent.ie/health/health-news/two-big-glasses-of-wine-a-day-triples-cancer-risk-3010673.html

think that was meant for u

I don't think you get it..