Let's all bitch about the Gardaí

• 05-02-2012 01:50AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭

Walking through the streets of Dublin today I came across a domestic between a 'scumbag' and his beloved. She claimed that he was a dirty rotten cheating bastard and he said that he going to go away and fúck her sister.

This, as you can imagine, didn't go down to well with the woman and she proceeded to lash out and he hit her a smack across the jaw.

All well and good but a man, in his 30's steps in to protect the woman as it looked like the scumbag was going to take it further than just a slap. Incredibly both the scumbag and his woman than proceeded to attack the civilian man together, his crime being that he had had the temerity to step in and try and help the woman. The scumbag and his lady landed a few slaps on the man in his 30's and stuff could have got ugly.

Next thing I notice is out step two of the boys in blue and they go up and arrest the scumbag man and lady charging them with assault and public order offences, while making the sure the man who had stepped in was tended to.

It was great to see that a member of the public was prepared to step in and protect someone who had been struck and that the police were so quick and decisive in what they did. A lot of people, and I include myself in this, are very quick to criticise the Gards while slow to credit them for the good stuff they do.

Before anyone says they were doing they're job, if everyone did they're job properly we wouldn't be in the creek of shít we currently find ourselves in, so fair play to the cops for being able and competent to make the quick and correct decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Some guards may do their jobs correctly but a hell of a lot of them don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

buddy of mine went into the garda station with clearance forms that had to be signed etc... the female guard at the main desk asked what he expected her to do with them!!... he was looking at her... are u serious????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Getting your passport renewed at the Gardaí station is hell on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

fjsanchez wrote: »

i just got mine renewed and it was a breeze. the female garda was sound and very helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Morricone wrote: »
    Incredibly both the scumbag and his woman than proceeded to attack the civilian man together, his crime being that he had had the temerity to step in and try and help the woman.
    This is pretty normal. If you get in the middle of a domestic you'll quite often find that both parties turn on you. Odd I know but...
    twinytwo wrote: »
    buddy of mine went into the garda station with clearance forms that had to be signed etc... the female guard at the main desk asked what he expected her to do with them!!... he was looking at her... are u serious????
    Garda clearance certificates for employees are issued through a central office. Garda certificates to show you have no record for foreign visa applications are issued through the office of the area superintendent. Neither can be processed by the Garda on duty in the station so there was nothing she could do for him.
    I found it a very simple procedure and the Garda on duty was very helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Tayla wrote: »
    Some a hell of a lot of guards do their jobs correctly but a hell of a lot some of them don't.

fixed it for ya.

i just got mine renewed and it was a breeze. the female garda was sound and very helpful
    I found it a very simple procedure and the Garda on duty was very helpful.

Ye obviously haven't dealt with the boys back wesht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Ye obviously haven't dealt with the boys back wesht

maybe its you.

mattjack wrote: »
    maybe its you.

Nah I'm great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I was accused of pickpocketing in a club once (like Oliver Twist!). The bouncers forcefully escorted me to a room and after I refused them consent to search they informed me the Gardaí were on the way.

A few minutes later two Gardaí arrived. They informed me of the accusations and my rights and asked if they could search me. I consented. They politely asked me to turn around with my hands against the wall and patted me down. They then politely asked me to remove my shoes and they checked them. They also politely asked me if I could switch off my phone and enter the pin to turn it on, to ensure it was mine.

After it was clear I had nothing on me that I shouldn't have they thanked me for my patience and cooperation. I asked them about the force the bouncers used and asked was it legal for them to hold me without my consent. They carefully explained it was legal for the bouncers to put me in the room if they had reason to believe I was involved in a crime and had contacted the Gardaí, they also asked if I'd like to file a complaint about the force. I declined.

They then wished me a good night and apologised for the inconvenience.

I have had a couple of other encounters with Gardaí, primarily over stupidity on my behalf, and have always found them to be respectful, polite and completely professional. Credit where credits due, in my experience the majority of Gardaí are exceptional when dealing with idiots like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

mattjack wrote: »
    fixed it for ya.

Not in my experience....

.....and I say that as a law abiding citizen who is aware of many cases of pure laziness and incompetence by the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Nervosa

Two lads hoped over the wall of next doors about an hour ago. I heard some commotion so I took a peak. Then I heard them trying to break the lock of the back door. Called the guards and they were up in 90 seconds. Two lads were arrested.

The young lady next door was home alone in the house. Fair play to the gardai for their rapid response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I have a feeling this story is disingenuous.The story about a "Scumbag"and his woman fighting and then both pummeling a good samaritan seems to come up a little to often in after hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I turned on the radio 20 minutes ago & Snow Patrol were on it.

I called the guards & reported that I was being raped.

When they showed up just 22.7 seconds later, I thanked them for their quick response.

They took the ear rape seriously & arrested Gary Lightbody 4.2 seconds later.

He is now facing the death penalty without trial thanks to God, Joe Duffy, Ray darcy, a homeless man and a rabbit and Jesus Christ himself, Mr Eamon Dunphy.

God bless the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Morricone

When they showed up just 22.7 seconds later, I thanked them for their quick response.

He is now facing the death penalty without trial thanks to God, Joe Duffy, Ray darcy, a homeless man and a rabbit and Jesus Christ himself, Mr Eamon Dunphy.

God bless the police.

Poor attempt at being the funny man to be honest. It makes absolute zero sense whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Nervosa wrote: »
    The young lady next door was home alone in the house. Fair play to the gardai for their rapid response.

Sounds like a scene from a porno :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I have a feeling this story is disingenuous.The story about a "Scumbag"and his woman fighting and then both pummeling a good samaritan seems to come up a little to often in after hours.

No, Its constantly happening especially when groups of alcoholics/junkies are on a session, I'v seen it happen numerous times even on the street I live on, The thing to remember is don't ever get involved...:cool:

Poor attempt at being the funny man to be honest. It makes absolute zero sense whatsoever.

Well after 11 posts you can't really comment on him..:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was ear raped. Nothing funny about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Walking through the streets of Dublin today I came across a domestic between a 'scumbag' and his beloved. She claimed that he was a dirty rotten cheating bastard and he said that he going to go away and fúck her sister.

This, as you can imagine, didn't go down to well with the woman and she proceeded to lash out and he hit her a smack across the jaw.

All well and good but a man, in his 30's steps in to protect the woman as it looked like the scumbag was going to take it further than just a slap. Incredibly both the scumbag and his woman than proceeded to attack the civilian man together, his crime being that he had had the temerity to step in and try and help the woman. The scumbag and his lady landed a few slaps on the man in his 30's and stuff could have got ugly.

Next thing I notice is out step two of the boys in blue and they go up and arrest the scumbag man and lady charging them with assault and public order offences, while making the sure the man who had stepped in was tended to.

It was great to see that a member of the public was prepared to step in and protect someone who had been struck and that the police were so quick and decisive in what they did. A lot of people, and I include myself in this, are very quick to criticise the Gards while slow to credit them for the good stuff they do.

Before anyone says they were doing they're job, if everyone did they're job properly we wouldn't be in the creek of shít we currently find ourselves in, so fair play to the cops for being able and competent to make the quick and correct decision.

Story lacks detail. People would usually say what street they were on, what they were doing in town, what time it was, how the Guards arrived, how the suspects were removed.

Yeah, a load of bollocks. Next time include little details when you make shit up OP.

Obvious attempt to counter recent police failings is obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,703 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

I reckon the Guards nowadays are fairly sound. The younger ones. The older ones were kinda thick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

I had to go there last year to get my passport renewed and two scumbags started a fight while waiting in the Garda station public office. The garda, understandably, didn't even give two fucks. It was pretty obvious from his face that this stuff happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

God bless the police.

Haw haw haw, I'm great because I don't like Snow Patrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

One thing that annoys me is that you cant say anything bad about gardai on here. People jump out of the word work to defend them.

The gardai are just regular people behind that badge and in this world you can encounter nice people and complete dickheads. But a good percentage of people on here refuse to entertain anything bad said about the gardai. But will acknowledge there is a lot of pricks in the world :rolleyes: But members of the gardai are so how magically 'different' are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

God bless the police.

I might just call 999... EMERGENCY!!!

That was shockingly bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

skregs wrote: »
    Haw haw haw, I'm great because I don't like Snow Patrol.

I thought it was funny, and I think Snow Patrol are fcuking awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I went to get a driving licence form in my local station, as i was taking one of the forms from the rack i accidentally punched a guard in the face, three times. His colleagues all piled out of the office and attempted to arrest me, naturally i struggled and hit a few of them as i was only there to get a form and it was an accident that i punched the garda. They pepper sprayed me and beat me with their batons, the more they hit me the more i lashed out. Eventually they managed to subdue me and threw me in the cell.

What the hell is the world coming to when someone cant even go into a station to get a licence form anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Walking through the streets of Dublin today I came across a domestic between a 'scumbag' and his beloved.

Was this a pinstripe suit wearing scumbag? :confused: I get the impression you were using the word scumbag to denote the class of the man as typified by his attire rather than his behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

whatsamsn wrote: »
    One thing that annoys me is that you cant say anything bad about gardai on here. People jump out of the word work to defend them.

The gardai are just regular people behind that badge and in this world you can encounter nice people and complete dickheads. But a good percentage of people on here refuse to entertain anything bad said about the gardai. But will acknowledge there is a lot of pricks in the world :rolleyes: But members of the gardai are so how magically 'different' are they?

Im sorry are we talking about Boards.ie here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

So they didnt pepper spray the poor guy, beat him repeatedly,kick him in the head, throw him face down and handcuffed into a van, while their mate back at the station turned the cameras away?
    Ah sure give them a medal then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

I do believe the gardai provide a necessary service that they carry out very well.

With that said my own personal, limited experience of the gardai is very poor and even comical.

I believe my own experiences to be the exception.