Single Parents Protest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

May seem horrible but it's a legal term

Law books reference it

Words change over time, what was acceptable once and can seem unacceptable now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Total crap Sophie! I have the same opportunties as any other adult. And shock, horror, I probably have more income benefits as a single mum with 2 kids than a married couple. I certainly get the same credits as them!

What you gonna do when your kids grow up? Cry that 188 isn't enough for you now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭graceanseo

€25 is indeed excellent, magical even especially when one's travel costs to works are added, taken from the €28 extra lone parents in that particular situation receive and hey presto these people are coming out with LESS than they started with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

stovelid wrote: »
    That's pretty horrible, to be honest.

My intention was not to insult / shock and it isn't a troll post. Just looking for an answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

mikemac1 wrote: »
    May seem horrible but it's a legal term

Law books reference it

Words change over time, what was acceptable once and can seem unacceptable now

Think it's the sly implication in the deployment of the phrase in this thread rather than the phrase itself.

Maybe I'm wrong.

Well Juan has explained himself above

Can't ask for more then that :)

Total crap Sophie! I have the same opportunties as any other adult. And shock, horror, I probably have more income benefits as a single mum with 2 kids than a married couple. I certainly get the same credits as them!

What you gonna do when your kids grow up? Cry that 188 isn't enough for you now?

Laugh Out Loud at your ignorance - seriously! :D or maybe your simply not aware of the proposed changes to the Social Welfare system. Your ignorance speaks volumes

graceanseo wrote: »
    €25 is indeed excellent, magical even especially when one's travel costs to works are added, taken from the €28 extra lone parents in that particular situation receive and hey presto these people are coming out with LESS than they started with.

Grace, they can apply for FIS. Probably keep a portion of their one parenet, keep medical cards and also have entitlement to the back to school allowances.

It isn't a bad deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Same **** different day all I can say is thank feck I've was not born with the begrugdery gene nor would I make someone in a difficult relationship stay in it, how many of our parents did and that's why people think its normal to behave in such a way. Not good

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Can we start a protest against single parents?

I was listening to Niall Boylan on 4fm the other night. They were talking about single mothers with 3 or more children all with different fathers and the reluctance to put the fathers name on the birth cert so they could get their full 'entitlements'.

:D complete urban legend, utter bull ****e

Grace, they can apply for FIS. Probably keep a portion of their one parenet, keep medical cards and also have entitlement to the back to school allowances.

It isn't a bad deal
    There's a cut off for btsa along with every so called entitlement and low paid married couple can apply for it to you know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Almost everyone's suffering folks.

Bitching and arguing about who's being screwed more isn't going to help anyone and I'm sure the government are happy to see people so this and distract themselves from the big payouts (bondholders, pensions and bonuses etc.) that are more worthy of getting angry about and that are haemmorhaging money that could be much better spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

token101 wrote: »
    Yeah if you wouldn't mind! I'm at work and the link is blocked apparently it's inappropriate! What exactly are single mothers protesting about? Who's minding the kids? Will they be left to their own devices to fight off the likes of Joe Pesci?

You read what you wanted to read! The OP didn't mention single mothers. :rolleyes:

Can we start a protest against single parents?

I was listening to Niall Boylan on 4fm the other night. They were talking about single mothers with 3 or more children all with different fathers and the reluctance to put the fathers name on the birth cert so they could get their full 'entitlements'.
    They have even been known to have immaculate conceptions.

They might as well be because the fathers obviously make like the shadow of the the holy Spirit* and disappear just a quickly. You seem to be another one of those singling out the mothers rather than sleazeball gits who shoot their load in them and then move on to do the same in another dozen girls without taking a single shred of responsibility for their sperm dumps.

I'm another one of those oddballs who have four children by the same man, he's even named on the marriage cert and birth cert, but of course, I'm in the minority. The whole of Ireland is overrun with with pyjama wearing single mothers pushing brand new brands and their brats are dressed in Hollister!

*"The holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you." Angel Gabriel to Mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭sophia25

mikemac1 wrote: »
    €25 for childcare is incredible :)

There are people paying hundreds and hundreds per month, almost a second mortgage

EXACTLY. Impossible for most single parents to manage on their own and hence forces them reluctantly out of the labour market. Budget 2012 makes it nigh on impossible to get a foot back on the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

You know what's cheaper than childcare though? Jonnies. Just saying.

Laugh Out Loud at your ignorance - seriously! :D or maybe your simply not aware of the proposed changes to the Social Welfare system. Your ignorance speaks volumes

Laugh out loud all you like. If I am ignorant for being a WORKING SINGLE MOTHER then so be it.

I already said I couldn't click the above links.

May I ask do you work? Or are you taking the defeatest " I can't work because bla bla bla" line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Can someone help answer a question I have about the term 'bastard'.

One of the definitions from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/bastard is 'a person born of unmarried parents; an illegitimate child.'

So can a girl be a bastard?

Person/child... what do you think? Unless a female is neither a person or a child? Are you really puzzled about this question or just looking to stir shit?

It isn't a bad deal

Back to School Allowance has been further cut and wouldn't cover a childs basic needs such as books and uniform. FIS does not take chilcare expenses into account and is most lightly going next year anyhow. It's funny the assumption here too that the vast majority of lone parents are at this level of education. The general public like to think they're well informed but in fact the media controls you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

gcgirl wrote: »
    You should have put this in the parental forum the apes here it might be a little too much for their brains to take in.

Cop on. There's some great whit to be found in here sometimes. This forum is for having a bit of craic so posts here will invite a bit of slagging. That's what it's for.

I agree that perhaps the post might be better off being made in the Parenting forum if serious responses are required but there's no need to tar AH with such a broad brush.

Also, I have a hangover and I found it very hard to parse that sentence of yours. I think you left out a word somewhere. It's the weekend. Please be considerate to other users who may be nursing sore heads.

Lol
    I know a guy who was married had 5 kids who assaulted his wife while pregnant and have countless affairs do you think that marriage was a: good for her or b: good for the kids, fair play to the woman who had the balls to feck him out in the end but it took her 15 years

gcgirl wrote: »
    There's a cut off for btsa along with every so called entitlement and low paid married couple can apply for it to you know :)

So all parental units are treated the same then? That's life gcgirl.

Childcare is expensive, could be several hundred a month

At the same time the staff are badly paid, little more then minimum wage.
    Of course businesses have costs, insurance would be huge but someone is making money from all this, must be the owners

Why not have a network of state run creches?
    Run at affordable prices based on what you can afford and also the staff get paid a bit more too

Is this some mad socialist dream? :pac:

Person/child... what do you think? Unless a female is neither a person or a child? Are you really puzzled about this question or just looking to stir shit?

Well I've never heard the term applied to a girl. I have heard it applied to boys with regard to their parentage. Hence my confusion.

Almost everyone's suffering folks.

Bitching and arguing about who's being screwed more isn't going to help anyone and I'm sure the government are happy to see people so this and distract themselves from the big payouts (bondholders, pensions and bonuses etc.) that are more worthy of getting angry about and that are haemmorhaging money that could be much better spent.

I agree that's why we're doing something about it, if others want to speak up for themselves they're perfectly entitled to form their own campaigns

Yes but the problem is no one ever starts a group to protest in favour of the white middle income males of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samina

sophia25 wrote: »
    Looks like you may need to. We all want to be ringfenced by the cuts (other than the Croke Park beneficiaries). The reality is we can't all be.

OK how about for starters, did you know that if you work as a single parnt and are let go, you now have to go on OPFA. Guess what on OPFA you can't do jobbridge!

We can do CE schemes for €20 a week but hav to fund childcare out of this €20???

We are forced longterm on SW and do not have same opportunities as others.

To do a fas course, we have to pay €25 for childcare, we only get an additional €29.80 per week for a child so if we do course left with €4.80 to feed and clothe child.

Shall I go on, or is it clear that the budget is forcing single parents out of training oe work experiences??

I live with a partner can I do a ce scheme - no

Can I do a FAS course yea but I don't get paid and also have to pay childcare

So basically the only way I can further my training is to pay for it

Can I claim SW again no

To do any of these I have to either leave my partner, arrange his death or move into a caravan. Why should your need for training be more important than mine?

:D:D:D again laughing at your ignorance, I like many others planned my daughter, and in fact my ex hub and I waited some time to conceive. I don't have to explain my one parent family status to you though. I'm sure you wouldn't like someone to speak to your mother like that :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭sophia25

Yep, pity it wasn't there for some parents:p

You are showing your ignorance, most recipients of OPFA come after a longterm relationship/ marriage breaks up. And the courts do little to enforce maintenance. They only can jail and reluctant to do it. There is a warrant out for my husband for 6k arrears. So far waiting 5 months for it to be executed. What do I feed my kids in the meantime?

Back to School Allowance has been further cut and wouldn't cover a childs basic needs such as books and uniform. FIS does not take chilcare expenses into account and is most lightly going next year anyhow. It's funny the assumption here too that the vast majority of lone parents are at this level of education. The general public like to think they're well informed but in fact the media controls you.

How is the media controlling the single upbringing I have given my kids since they were 3 and 1 years old? I have worked all this time so I haven't "read" about it I am living it.

But hey, if my side of the single parent scenario doesn't suit your protest then you just carry on dismissing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I applaud anyone who protests against what they deem to be unfair.

It's just frustrating when any issue like this comes up and some people on both moan about the other side, or when I read stuff complaining about people on the dole etc.
    The politicians must love seeing the people most affected by the cuts tearing strips of each other.