Did Enda Kenny blame the Irish people for the crisis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Kenny is an incompetent who cannot field questions without a script, Its no wonder he was hidden away behind handlers during the election and he doesn't allow "doorstep" interviews.

He would not debate on TV3 and blamed Vincent Brown. Responding to a question about emigration in his own constituency, in the Dail last week he replied by saying that Knock airport was a great facility for people coming and going.

Then this week he declares that we are not going to have "defaulter" on our forehead. And now he describes the fiscal implosion of his country as being caused by mad borrowing.

I am sure he is a nice man but I don't believe that he is capable of leading this country, especially at a time like this. A large minority of his own party believed so until very recently.
    His empty promises during the election campaign are now ringing true.
    "I want to get the country working again" and "employment for everyone" statements were never really going to come true, were they?
    Fact is, that we are a fickle bunch that carried so much hatred for FF, a blind guide dog could have gotten elected for FG at the time.

Now here we are tearing him a new ass-hole for being, well, himself.

I don't agree with him, I think it was a combination of things. People are greedy, yes. So are governments. So are banks, etc, etc.

To tar everyone on the island of Ireland with the same brush while acting leader of the country, beggars belief to be honest.

He is not the one to get out of this mess that is for sure, but then again, who is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Slozer

Enda is of course right, we are to blame and as long as we keep voting them in we will always be to blame. In fact we won't only be to blame, we will also be made to pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

People are idiots, the reason there is any such thing as a government at all is to protect us from ourselves, to tell us what we can and can't do and to regulate. People would take a kick up the arse if they were readily available. If I'm lending all my money to people without much thought of how they're going to pay me back then I'm ultimately responsible.

In summary, fúck you Enda Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Yes but people can't help their pride sometimes. This recession is a disease that has gripped the country and killed people. It's terrible to see. I never had much money, but still, I feel embarrassed that I have less now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭benagain

shame on us , we elected the self serving bastards to sell us out. lunatics really are running the asylum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Datsit

Bad Panda wrote: »
    Muppet. It's people like this that only have themselves to blame.

Trying to keep up a facade of prosperity...pathetic.

Themselves to blame but us to pick up the tab,,,,,f**king great.

I can't help but be pi**ed at some people that clearly helped bring us to where we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Lending and borrowing, banking, personal debts brought about due to poor decisions is only some of Irelands problems.

The other half:
    The over spending of the exchequer - who's at fault there?

FF built this economy on greed for their own gains over inflating their pockets and many sectors and encouraged the breeding grounds for a bubble. They built this economy on the back of this bubble. Apparently we all voted for this as if we were economists and as if we were to know it would lead to a failed economy. Were the nation outside the dail on budget days chanting MORE MORE MORE. No doubt, people did become materalistic happy with money and what that could buy them and with this people slept walked right into this mess blindly while FF filled their pockets with pay rises. I knew something was a amiss during the boom but it only all came together like a jigsaw within the past 18 months.

They were put there to do a job. To care for this country. They took advantage of their power. They failed. We failed. We took our eye of the ball. We're paying for that now. Are they?

Where was the leader of the oppostion in all this. It was their job to offer an alternative. They didn't. They were shouting for more, more, more spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,451 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Well, people wanted loans for various reasons. The market was there. Banks are businesses at the end of the day. What were they to do? They either put out their capital for loans or they got left behind as people would use their rivals.
    So who's to blame?
    The banks for lending too much to people who might have bother paying it back?
    The people for taking out these big mortgages?
    Where was the financial regulator in all of this?
    Did the government try to slow things down?

People say it's a mess and that's what it is. Enda can lay the blame anywhere he wants (except himself and his colleagues of course). But the thing is there isn't any one party to blame. It's the system.

Just my 2 cents.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

he is dead right. it was crazy greed by some people who got us in this boat.
    he is hardly talking about average joe who just wanted a better life. If all we had to worry about were the average folks who went a little mad then we would be laughing. the scale of our problem is a lot bigger than that.

It is those who went spectacularly mad that have us all looking to leave the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

What else would you expect from a grade A bollocks. I wouldn't be surprised if he asked Führer Merkel for her autograph during their first meeting.

Post of the day, I just piss** myself when I read it!! Although I feel a little sad because it is more than likely true!! A joke of a leader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Pissmire

I haven't heard his speech. Did he mention the German banks elbowing each other out of the way to lend us money? I'd love to seen Merkels face when he said that. I'll bet it was something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

ppink wrote: »
    he is dead right. it was crazy greed by some people who got us in this boat.
    he is hardly talking about average joe who just wanted a better life. If all we had to worry about were the average folks who went a little mad then we would be laughing. the scale of our problem is a lot bigger than that.

It is those who went spectacularly mad that have us all looking to leave the country.

Absolutely.

Like the select few who borrowed to build housing estates, hotels, shopping centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

In fairness, he does have a point.

I find it a bit ironic that they go to one of the most expensive ski resorts in the world to discuss the world's economic problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Joshua Jones

Ah Enda, Tsun Szu would be proud.

Well played sir, well played.

*slow clap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

msg11 wrote: »
    I'm devastated, I work 20 hours and this week I got 35, I was like great a bit of extra cash. I got paid 504, only to look to the side after all the government charges that I get paid 430, 70 in taxes, USC and PRSI. PRSI which I though was meant to be included in the USC.

I gave Labour my second vote because I though they would stick up for the low paid worker, how wrong I was.

I'm now 100% convinced they are all the same in the dail.
    You are complaining because you paid a total of less than 14% in tax, get a life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭V_Moth

His new nickname: Enda the Traitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Twas me and me big ideas with me 3 buy to lets :o

Shouldnt of gotten above me station:rolleyes:

At least yas are bailing me out lads WOOP

"Pukes in the Sink"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

Pissmire wrote: »
    I haven't heard his speech. Did he mention the German banks elbowing each other out of the way to lend us money? I'd love to seen Merkels face when he said that. I'll bet it was something.

He is an Irish politician after all, so the oul backbone department is undoubtedly lacking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

He's right i'm afraid. Ya seen it everywhere fecking plebs driving audi's and the like with their mountain bikes hanging off the back and young ones driving mini coppers with the big over sized sunglasses, all bought on credit. Greed was everywhere and now everyone is paying the price except the protected elites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It was nothing to do with the banks and developers going down the crapper, egged on by the global crash?

What a relief it is, finally knowing the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

This is the man that we elected :eek:.
    Mind you there wasn't much of a choice.
    The majority of people in the country are going to feel totally betrayed by his statement .
    Honestly are they all smoking crack or wha??? :mad:
    Between Leo telling us things aint that bad and we will all be able to take a holiday this year,the Sherlock git trying to drive thousands of jobs out of the country and Enda, there are days i just can't believe my ears when I listen to the news :confused:
    Not to mention the larrier that said emigration was a lifestyle choice.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the uproar is hlarious... bout time he spoke some home truths to the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

msg11 wrote: »
    I'm devastated, I work 20 hours and this week I got 35, I was like great a bit of extra cash. I got paid 504, only to look to the side after all the government charges that I get paid 430, 70 in taxes, USC and PRSI. PRSI which I though was meant to be included in the USC.

I gave Labour my second vote because I though they would stick up for the low paid worker, how wrong I was.

I'm now 100% convinced they are all the same in the dail.

So you thought by voting labour that...what?...you wouldnt have to pay tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

He has just said that the Irish people are the victims of bad banking decisions and poor political leadership live on primetime 5 minutes ago.
    So his reasons depend on who he's speaking to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Anyone wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/kenny-mad-borrowing-sparked-crisis-537452.html

So, according to Enda, we are resoponsible for the current economic crisis. He can go and fúck himself if he is laying the blame on us, the Irish people. Between this and that other gog****e in Cork proposing that SOPA'esque bill, I cant help think that this shower are as bad as the last shower we got rid of.
    26/01/2012 - 18:46:40
    Ireland’s economic crisis was caused by people’s "mad" borrowing, Taoiseach Enda Kenny has told the Davos global gathering.
    In a discussion on ways out of the country’s worst recession on record, Mr Kenny told the summit in the Swiss Alps that easy credit spawned greed.
    “What happened in our country was that people simply went mad borrowing,” Mr Kenny said.
    “The extent of personal credit, personal wealth created on credit was done between people and banks – a system that spawned greed to a point where it just went out of control completely with a spectacular crash.
    “The country borrowed over €60bn at excessive rates and the IMF eventually came in with the Troika.”

I think he left out the word "some" which is a massive oversight.

Maybe I should email him stating that "politicians are corrupt bastards" and leave out the most pertinent word "some" and see how he likes inaccurate sweeping generalisations ?

Of course, the difference is that I'm not in a position to hit the prick in the pocket for the goings-on of Callely, Ahern & O'Donoghue, so my description would just be slander instead of having a real impact on his life.

Gob****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

V_Moth wrote: »
    His new nickname: Enda the Traitor.

Not very catchy
    Try enda the benda (spoken in cockney accent)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Woodsocks

Salt001 wrote: »
    This is the man that we elected :eek:.
    Mind you there wasn't much of a choice.
    The majority of people in the country are going to feel totally betrayed by his statement .
    Honestly are they all smoking crack or wha??? :mad:
    Between Leo telling us things aint that bad and we will all be able to take a holiday this year,the Sherlock git trying to drive thousands of jobs out of the country and Enda, there are days i just can't believe my ears when I listen to the news :confused:
    Not to mention the larrier that said emigration was a lifestyle choice.
    LOL ! What is a larrier ? Do you mean that blubber headed baldie cute hoor from limerick who still thinks his talking to the kids he used to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

the uproar is hlarious... bout time he spoke some home truths to the people

Truths? I can tell you that I don't owe the banks/credit unions or anyone else for that matter as much as a cent. I worked hard when there was work, didn't buy new cars or build houses. I cut my cloth to measure. I don't like being branded with the same brush as others just because they overspent.

Yet idiots like me who did nothing wrong get classed as the reason that this country is fcked.

Its about time somebody stood up to all in government and started telling them a few home truths and not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

colly10 wrote: »
    He has just said that the Irish people are the victims of bad banking decisions and poor political leadership live on primetime 5 minutes ago.
    So his reasons depend on who he's speaking to

is this true? if so thats now 3 times he has contradicted himself on the issue, also I can think of at least 1 other issue where 2 times he changed his mind..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Anyone wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/kenny-mad-borrowing-sparked-crisis-537452.html

So, according to Enda, we are resoponsible for the current economic crisis. He can go and fúck himself if he is laying the blame on us, the Irish people. Between this and that other gog****e in Cork proposing that SOPA'esque bill, I cant help think that this shower are as bad as the last shower we got rid of.

I hate to say this.....

But ireland did get greedy its true!