No Ivor Callely's been arrested thread yet?.....

• 25-01-2012 03:02PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭

You disappoint me lads....

Hopefully the Don is next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Leslie91 wrote: »
    U disappoint me lads....

Hopefully the Don is next.

hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Story from thejournal.ie
    FORMER JUNIOR MINISTER Ivor Callely has been arrested this lunchtime in connection with an investigation into the use of fraudulent receipts.

Callely, 53, is being held at Irishtown Garda Station in connection with breaches of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001.

He is being held under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984, which provides for a maximum holding period of 24 hours.

The claims relate to allegations that Callely used fraudulent receipts when claiming expenses for mobile phone kits while he was a TD.

The receipts, uncovered by the Irish Mail on Sunday in August 2010, carried the masthead of Business Communications Ltd – which went bust in 1994, eight years before the date included on the first receipt.

Its report also showed that the receipts were issued in ‘pounds’, despite Ireland having adopted the euro in 2002 when the first receipt was purportedly issued.

Callely, a TD since 1989, was made a junior minister at the Department of Health and Children in 2002 under Bertie Ahern, moved to the transport brief in 2004, a position he held until 2005. He lost his Dáil seat in 2007 but was appointed to the Seanad, which he left in April.

The matter had previously been investigated by the Standards in Public Office Commission, which was forced to discontinue its investigations last April when Callely ceased to be a member of the Oireachtas.

SIPO had reported the matter to the Director of Public Prosecutions at the time.

He'll probably be released without charge by dinner time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

So instead of starting the thread youself you start a thread about how disappointed you are there hasn't been a thread started on the subject yet thus starting a thread on the subject and negating your own thread?

How very very meta After Hours has become. My head hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

jester77 wrote: »

Gotcha... but I thought there'd a more humourous one here!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Story from thejournal.ie

Dinner in which house? :pac:

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So instead of starting the thread youself you start a thread about how disappointed you are there hasn't been a thread started on the subject yet thus starting a thread on the subject and negating your own thread?

How very very meta After Hours has become. My head hurts.

Now we're suckin diesel.... (love 'after hours')

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Should he have been taken to a Cork garda station :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

surprise surprise!

On the very day we pay out 1.25 billion to anglo bondholders, Ivor Callely is arrested.

I wonder which event will get more attention in the media?!!

What an extraordinary coincidence!! ;)

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Should he have been taken to a Cork garda station :p

Working out the mileage from home in Cork to Irishtown Garda Station right now!. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Ivor Callely's been arrested

A lot done, a lot more to do. Fair play lads, string him up by the boll0x. Hopefully the rest of the FF traitors will follow.

skelliser wrote: »
    surprise surprise!

On the very day we pay out 1.25 billion to anglo bondholders, Ivor Callely is arrested.

Paddy likes to have his mind preoccupied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

And just to be released 2 hours later with no charge as per usual...

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Story from thejournal.ie

.....and meet enda for a game of golf tomorrow morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

surprise surprise!

Agreed! Just a little story to occupy people while the agreed bank-revenue fraud theft continues.

There is something seriously wrong with paying these bondholders today when they dish out a fairy tale of pretend justice on the very same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

surprise surprise!

How cynical. The 2 things cancel each other out surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Same ole same ole be let out with out charge off into the sunset with his massive pension to one of many of his houses, he may sue to so another big hand out for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

No doubt it's an attempt to throw a sop to the peasants and deflect from the real crime that is taking place today, the payment of another billion or so to UNSECURED bondholders of a closed down bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

D1stant wrote: »
    How cynical. The 2 things cancel each other out surely

hmm 2,000 euros in phone expenses somehow cancels out 1,250,000,000 euros in debt we never accrued.

ya that really adds up.

Isn't Callery investigated in the Mahon tribunal?

This is a well planned out stunt with some Garda mates
    1) reflect from the thiefery of the Irish to banking bondholders.
    2) to hang onto the Mahon tribunal for some time longer. Apparently that can't be released if people investigated in the Mahon tribunal are also investigated further by the gardai because it may lead to an unfair trial and duty conviction.

A load of bo||ocks to protect corrupt, tax dodging politicians from revenue and the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Isn't Callery investigated in the Mahon tribunal?

This is a well planned out stunt with some Garda mates
    1) reflect from the thiefery of the Irish to banking bondholders.
    2) to hang onto the Mahon tribunal for some time longer. Apparently that can't be released if people investigated in the Mahon tribunal are also investigated further by the gardai because it may lead to an unfair trial and duty conviction.

A load of bo||ocks to protect corrupt, tax dodging politicians from revenue and the law.

You can rest assured that the Gardai are only following orders, but yes it does seem like a publicity stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

Seems he was on his phone a lot in fairness... http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0404/callelyi.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Seems he was on his phone a lot in fairness... http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0404/callelyi.html

Maybe hot girls were waiting in his area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

TheZohan wrote: »
    You can rest assured that the Gardai are only following orders, but yes it does seem like a publicity stunt.

Indeed and in an ideal world he would be held for at least 72 hours, with an oul strip search or twenty thrown in for good measure.

The slimy lookin' prick has been released without charge - http://www.thejournal.ie/ivor-callely-released-without-charge-337882-Jan2012/

I'm shocked.. SHOCKED

well, not that shocked

The slimy lookin' prick has been released without charge - http://www.thejournal.ie/ivor-callely-released-without-charge-337882-Jan2012/

I'm shocked.. SHOCKED

well, not that shocked

That picture of his smug little face is anger inducing.

Last November when the last payment was been made to unsecured bondholders, Willie McAteer was arrested on the same day and released without charge.. just like Callely this time round.

What a fckin joke.

Last November when the last payment was been made to unsecured bondholders, Willie McAteer was arrested on the same day and released without charge.. just like Callely this time round.

What a fckin joke.

Seanie Fitz was arrested and released in the same fashion a few years ago.

Still, nothing will be done. Apparently if you protest you are a weed smoking crustie and if you do nothing you are lazy.

Depressing stuff.

What a fckin joke.

These arrests are clearly stitched up. If everything was all above board paying out to these unsecured bondholders there wouldn't be any need for these stitched up arrests to draw attention away from the paying out to Billions to gamblers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Hopefully he's in a cell with a 40 stone rapist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    Seanie Fitz was arrested and released in the same fashion a few years ago.

Still, nothing will be done. Apparently if you protest you are a weed smoking crustie and if you do nothing you are lazy.

Depressing stuff.

Nothing will be done whether their arrest clashes with bond payments or not