The most epic wedding you've ever been to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

My sisters. She married a South African, 3 1/2 weeks in SA...incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Best wedding I've been to was in a registry office, dinner afterwards (about 20 people) then on to a pub for a session. We got the bus (just the regular non fancy bus) to the nightclub then afterwards.
    It was just a great day and night with friends, with a little marriage ceremony in the middle of the day. Perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My own - great food, 4 awesome cakes made by various family members who are master confectioners, had two photographers (one pro and one an uncle who did an even better job for free), brothers band was awesome and kept playing till 3am and reception was filled with musicians who each played (musical family), Dress was picked for me by staff in a fantastic boutique (also my photo now hangs in their shop as noone else had the colouring to suit this particular designer dress) and bridesmaids, flower girls dresses matched for me, staff of hotel joined us and band in an after party session of music, sandwiches and dancing until 8am, wedding by an absolute gem of a celtic monk in a castle (a castle where there was never a wedding before and staff went out of their way - big time) by handfasting, readings personal and read by family members who adore us, flowers made by neighbour so heavy with real flowers I was afraid to throw mine, more photos in another castle, photos on the mayor of dublins 4 black arabian stallion horses and carriage (provided by hotel coz usual horses at a show---for free!!) Sun was unusually hot for time of year!

Every second of the day was beyond awesome! No wedding I have ever been to has come close to it- people still talk about it to this day!

What was better? Staff of said hotel ringing us on our anniversary and giving us honeymoon suite and a meal for free so that they could see the photos!!!!

'Nuff said.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

I hate weddings.

The best one I was at though was in Jordan...

Ewww, she rents out her vadge for weddings now? Is there anything that woman won't do for attention. :rolleyes::p

EDIT: Just call me the Thread Killer. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

So now I have another generation of weddings to embrace and behave as if they are a special. I am making a stand, I am not going to any of them, I mean it I am so sick of them.

A wedding party is the ultimate chore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

44leto wrote: »
    So now I have another generation of weddings to embrace and behave as if they are a special. I am making a stand, I am not going to any of them, I mean it I am so sick of them.

A wedding party is the ultimate chore.

I don't get why people feel like they are obligated to go? It's nice to be asked and all, but it's expensive. Sending regrets and a gift is perfectly acceptable; I haven't been to a wedding in the last four years simply because I couldn't afford it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Hmmm.. suspiciously skewed ratio of 'my own'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hmmm.. suspiciously skewed ratio of 'my own'..

True but mine WAS awesome! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

I've only been to one wedding :( anyone want to take me to an epic wedding?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

BrianJD wrote: »
    2 days at my brothers wedding in Lithuania. A member of the Irish crowd and a member of the Lithuanian party had a whistle and a local spirit (Jameson and Vodka). If they came to you and blew the whistle you had to have a shot of their product. Hence 2 days and a show of strenght between two nations.

Pics of the bride please, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

My cousin's one that had a free bar when I was 15. Great night involving too much Heineken followed by robbing a lot of my da's pints of Carlsberg(according to Ma, I don't remember it and I detest Carlsberg) and then tearing it up on the dancefloor before absolutely destroying the hotel room in vomit. Great night.

I don't like to see wedding invitations coming in the door. I've had far better nights out than at most weddings I've been to. Of course you don't have to accept the invitation but for the most part you are obliged to. Between clothes, present, hotel and drink money plus the next day session (which is always better than the night before) it usually sets us back the guts of a grand as a couple attending.

We went to Vegas to get married last November along with ten friends. Service was over in 15 mins, another 15 mins or so of pics and that was it. Went on to have a fantastic meal in the Venetian and had a good session afterwards. We had four days in Vegas in total then went on a road trip ourselves for the guts of a week down to Arizona and took in the last leg of Route 66 and the PCH, ending up in San Fran. Stopped off when and where we felt like in some of the most amazing places with beautiful scenery.

When we came back we threw an evening reception. Herself got to wear the dress again, there was no fuss or hassle on the guests, we had top end finger food, plenty of drink and a really good band - not your typical wedding band sh1te.

Whole thing cost us €15k start to finish which was at least half the price of a traditional wedding here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

To those people that say 'oh we had a great day, everyone said they had a fantastic time'-of course they said that, as the truth would hurt 'i wish i was spending the money that it cost to attend here on something i wanted'
    also, 'people haven't stopped talking bout it since' seriously?? What a joke, and how sad are you that you beleive it.

Of all the weddings i have been at, probably about twenty, none of them stand out at all. All the brides looked lovely, grand food, good laugh, bit of a dance. Oh, and empty fooking pockets after.

The only way to have a wedding to remember is perhaps a run away bride, some pole dancers as the entertainment or releasing birds of prey in the ceremony.
    (by the way, i am married)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

amdublin wrote: »
    I cannot pick one memorable wedding out of all I've attended. They've all merged into one.

Thats it exactly - most weddings are the same boring long day where you pretend to be enjoying the church, the dinner and the strangers. It only gets good when it becomes a nightclub and cocktail sausages come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

i work as a barman in a hotel...so iv ''attended'' about 150 weddings and i must admit that there are about 10 standout weddings in my head possibly due to me being one of the few sober people there....the ways in which they stood out are (ranked in order of importance)

1. Talent - always makes the nights work go better

2. Band - the guys from the late late show are epic along with a few more love to see them coming back

3.Fireworks- always a buzz about the place when the ''special suprise outside'' is announced at midnight!!

im sure there are more reasons too but i just cant think of them!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Never been to any worth mentioning, but Congratulations Rosie :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

A New Year's Eve wedding-
    There was a brilliant band the groom knew from a bar he worked in, the New Years countdown was done to the tune of a very strange medley.

The great things were:
    -It was a very small church, very private and comfortable, not loads of empty seats or a huge crowd.
    -Hotel was lovely, food brilliant, great band, great craic.
    -After the dacing was over, the bride and groom stayed up most of the night singing songs and having a laugh with the attendees in the Resident's Bar. It really was a brilliant night/morning*.

*Though I'm not sure I'd want to spend my wedding night singing and drinking with family and friends when there's a honeymoon suite upstairs. Each to their own though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I don't like to see wedding invitations coming in the door. I've had far better nights out than at most weddings I've been to. Of course you don't have to accept the invitation but for the most part you are obliged to. Between clothes, present, hotel and drink money plus the next day session (which is always better than the night before) it usually sets us back the guts of a grand as a couple attending.

We went to Vegas to get married last November along with ten friends. Service was over in 15 mins, another 15 mins or so of pics and that was it. Went on to have a fantastic meal in the Venetian and had a good session afterwards. We had four days in Vegas in total then went on a road trip ourselves for the guts of a week down to Arizona and took in the last leg of Route 66 and the PCH, ending up in San Fran. Stopped off when and where we felt like in some of the most amazing places with beautiful scenery.

When we came back we threw an evening reception. Herself got to wear the dress again, there was no fuss or hassle on the guests, we had top end finger food, plenty of drink and a really good band - not your typical wedding band sh1te.

Whole thing cost us €15k start to finish which was at least half the price of a traditional wedding here.

Yeah, that's kind of what we had in mind...Although I am sorely tempted to organize a BBQ at my parents' place, bring in a keg and a few cases of wine, and call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Yeah, that's kind of what we had in mind...Although I am sorely tempted to organize a BBQ at my parents' place, bring in a keg and a few cases of wine, and call it a day.

Go for it. Sounds like great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

My boyfriend's cousins wedding in Kerry- I'd never been to Kerry before. Never drank so much in my life.

You've never been to a wedding til you've been to a Kerry wedding

I went to a wedding in the UK last year out in the countryside, big farming / horsey community. They had a marquee out the back, lovely buffet to include pig on a spit, etc. They had wine with the meal, a few kegs of beer and a selection of spirits. No band but there was a DJ. Great day TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭El Jefe

kupus wrote: »
    What ever happened in the movie Bridesmaids, just do the exact opposite,

And dont for the love of god have the wedding in some other country that has no association with you and your hubbietobe.
    Just so you can say, oh I got married in such and such a country. eg Italy. Nobody cares. And you still sound like a twat. Its was twatty in the best of times and its still twatty in the not so good times.

And yes im not married lol, Best of luck in future by the way!!

Well I am gettting married this year IN ITALY , Im Irish and my Fiance is Canadian and her family and most of her friends are wealthy and her dad is paying for the wedding so we thought why not, my friends are getting to stay in an amazing spot in Tuscany , flights are pretty cheap, accom is not too bad and they get a nice holiday, a lot of free food and drink , going to weddings is part of growing up and if you are too cheap to celebrate this occasion with your friend , then maybe you shouldnt be their friend. People that complain about the costs of weddings piss me off , its a once (hopefully) in a lifetime celebration and I have no prob spending money going to these, if you cant afford it then dont go , but dont go and complain after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

El Jefe wrote: »
    Well I am gettting married this year IN ITALY , Im Irish and my Fiance is Canadian and her family and most of her friends are wealthy and her dad is paying for the wedding so we thought why not, my friends are getting to stay in an amazing spot in Tuscany , flights are pretty cheap, accom is not too bad and they get a nice holiday, a lot of free food and drink , going to weddings is part of growing up and if you are too cheap to celebrate this occasion with your friend , then maybe you shouldnt be their friend. People that complain about the costs of weddings piss me off , its a once (hopefully) in a lifetime celebration and I have no prob spending money going to these, if you cant afford it then dont go , but dont go and complain after.

Easy to say when her dad is paying for the wedding ;)
    Obviously being too cheap to pay for your own wife's wedding doesn't apply to you.

Blazer wrote: »
    Easy to say when her dad is paying for the wedding ;)
    Obviously being too cheap to pay for your own wife's wedding doesn't apply to you.

yea it is easy to say , but we are still taking out a loan to pay for some of the extras and the honeymoon of a lifetime, Why not , after that , its kids and trips/events like this are not feasible anymore so It is not cheap for me either. Meh each to their own I suppose, just think a wedding should be a day to enjoy and penny pinching should not come into play. Most women I know would want a nice wedding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What's the most epic wedding you've ever been to and why?

Probably my own. Seriously.

Was during a 3 day television conference and a quite few heads that we knew from TV/film attended.
    It involved everyone spending a whole wedding day spending a full day and night in an amusement park.
    No long wedding speeches, no sit down traditional meals, no fuss over presents on the day.
    Just TV conference, wedding (including Buffy, Star Trek, Terminator, and Angel TV series characters to mention a few!), quick bite to eat for all, down to a massive amusement park, spend the day there, then went to a pub for a another quick meal and drink, back to the conference, back to the amusement park again, quick change of clothing and then to a disco with all involved with the conference and the wedding!
    Approx about 4,000 people partying away on our wedding night! :D

...And as far as the word back was from them, they all had a blast, a non-traditional wedding that was just real pure fun. :D

Stuff tradition and boring long wedding days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I went to a brilliant wedding last year, very unconventional and lots of fun. It was in my friend's huge back garden in Wicklow by the edge of a forest and the invites said "Fancy dress: 50s, 60s and 70s". Lots of people showed up looking right out of Mad Men or else dressed in pimp suits complete with platforms and canes. It was fantastic.

The whole garden was done up with homemade colourful decorations and looked a bit like a festival - think Body & Soul from Electric Picnic. Bar was set up and every drink was €3. Great band played and there was a huge buffet with a pig on a spit. Very relaxed, great craic and no fuss. The groom wore a 1970s style suit with shirt ruffles and the bride wore a simple vintage dress and her favourite pair of flip flops. It was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

yea it is easy to say , but we are still taking out a loan to pay for some of the extras and the honeymoon of a lifetime, Why not , after that , its kids and trips/events like this are not feasible anymore so It is not cheap for me either. Meh each to their own I suppose, just think a wedding should be a day to enjoy and penny pinching should not come into play. Most women I know would want a nice wedding.
    Too right!
    You could never accuse your future in laws of penny pinching.

You on the other hand........

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Too right!
    You could never accuse your future in laws of penny pinching.

You on the other hand........

And how am I penny pinching , I am still forking out a sh!t load on extras for the wedding and an amazing honeymoon. Just cause I am fortunate enough to be marrying a hot Canadian who happens to have a wealthy family that want to pay for the wedding. A lucky Fcuker , I am , A Penny Pincher , I aint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

And how am I penny pinching , I am still forking out a sh!t load on extras for the wedding and an amazing honeymoon. Just cause I am fortunate enough to be marrying a hot Canadian who happens to have a wealthy family that want to pay for the wedding. A lucky Fcuker , I am , A Penny Pincher , I aint
    Withdraw penny pincher.
    Insert moocher.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Withdraw penny pincher.
    Insert moocher.

Ha jealousy will get you no where Padd , I am betting you are single. How am I mooching by the way , I didnt ask for this , I was lucky enough to be offered this. Mooching would imply I asked/begged for this and read the post , I am paying a boat load for extras and a south pacific cruise honeymoon:D