If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

WeightWatchers & "How Many ProPoints?" Thread MkII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Danii86 wrote: »
    Im also 5'5" and hoping to get down 2 9n half/9! The lowest iv ever gotten over my various WW attempts is 11.....iv yet 2 break into the 10s!!! I can def say that@ 11 i was no where near 2skinny!!! Definatly could get to under 10 and stil not look too skinny i reckon!!!
    On the subject of people wanting "chubby friends"....i have friends that are much heavier than me and a few that would be a little thinner than me but in no way would any of us begrudge any1 of us losing weight, any real friend should be happy for you making a choice to lose weight and be healthier!!!

I am 5'3" and WW have set my goal at 9 stone 9lb. I don't even know when I weighed that as the first time I remember being weighed was when I was around 13 or 14 and I was just under 14 stone then. Starting weight 18 stone 3lb, currently 15 stone 8lb. The lowest I have been in my adult life was 14 and a half stone. I can't wait to see what 12 or 13 stone looks like on me. Best of luck girls, we can do this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

Boyfriend in the kitchen doing up beef fajitas and wedges nom :) we got a tray of stir fry beef in aldi €2.99 and only 12pm for the whole tray!! Great value!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭MaggieMay2

Hey All,

Quick question to put out there.....1st week doing 26pp a day. I defo noticed the 3pp less. I know it's only 3pp but when your using 3pp of the 26pp for milk like they suggest it is a good bit less food.

Anyways, had WI in tonight and I was only down a half pound. I know it's good to be even down a half just felt for the hard work (food and exercise) it may have shown a bit more? Do you's think maybe it's because I was on less daily pp and I'm readjusting to it? Gosh our bodies do the oddest things....

Boyfriend in the kitchen doing up beef fajitas and wedges nom :) we got a tray of stir fry beef in aldi €2.99 and only 12pm for the whole tray!! Great value!!

Beyond jealous, I wish my boyfriend could cook. He can't even make a decent cuppa :( Ahhhh well, he's funny at least that's something :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭foundry

After loosing a whooping 5lbs last wk, I went to WI very positive this evening as I was just as good, if not better this week!
    Was shocked/upset to see I was +.5lb. :(

I realise it's probably my body adjusting and even-ing things out after my big loss last week. Buuutttttttt... so disheartening not seeing a result after a wk of constant tracking, soup drinking, fruit chopping, butternut squash chipping, swimming 26 lengths, walking 5 days, water aerobics ........

However!! I will not allow this get me down.
    Just gonna forget about it and move on, something I haven't done in the past very well!! But this time has to be different.

Congrats on all the weight losses, so inspiring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

foundry wrote: »
    After loosing a whooping 5lbs last wk, I went to WI very positive this evening as I was just as good, if not better this week!
    Was shocked/upset to see I was +.5lb. :(

I realise it's probably my body adjusting and even-ing things out after my big loss last week. Buuutttttttt... so disheartening not seeing a result after a wk of constant tracking, soup drinking, fruit chopping, butternut squash chipping, swimming 26 lengths, walking 5 days, water aerobics ........

However!! I will not allow this get me down.
    Just gonna forget about it and move on, something I haven't done in the past very well!! But this time has to be different.

Congrats on all the weight losses, so inspiring!

The exact same thing happened to me at the start of December. Think of it as 4.5lbs gone in two weeks rather than a loss and a gain :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Bernso

Hmmm
    I rejoined in November and as started running I eased myself in.
    Stayed the same over Christmas which was good but like you Maggie May REALLY feeling the 3 points less, I think I'm hungrier with the exercise.
    Anyhoo I BETTER be down a decent bit tomorrow as it's been hard work and was very very good.
    Let yiz know tomorrow.
    Well done your losses!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ali85

K ladies... panic averted.... i was down 1lb.... thats 5lb in two weeks... very happy with that...

I was so afraid I would be up coz I felt so bloated but thank god there was a minus sign up on screen.

Spoke to my leader about the bloated feeling and she said sometimes it takes the body a few weeks to get used to drinkin water especially if like me, it was something completely foreign!!!

MaggieMay2 wrote: »
    Beyond jealous, I wish my boyfriend could cook. He can't even make a decent cuppa :( Ahhhh well, he's funny at least that's something :rolleyes:

Same as my fella... "Ah I know how much you love cooking, and you do it so well... i would only mess it up!" even when it comes to my tea (I don't take milk) he tells me that he always forgets and puts milk in so he has to make it twice, so I'm better off makin it myself....

He makes the bed! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭foundry

lizt wrote: »
    The exact same thing happened to me at the start of December. Think of it as 4.5lbs gone in two weeks rather than a loss and a gain :)

That's exactly what my leader said!!! Thanks for your comment, appreciate it :)

ali85 wrote: »
    Same as my fella... "Ah I know how much you love cooking, and you do it so well... i would only mess it up!" even when it comes to my tea (I don't take milk) he tells me that he always forgets and puts milk in so he has to make it twice, so I'm better off makin it myself....

He makes the bed! :p

Ahhh hahaha. yup exactly what he says....:rolleyes: sure.... as if I love cooking THAT much that I want to do it every day for every meal!! I also get the "god you should be on that masterchef thingy....

Mine makes the bed and puts on the clothes to wash so I get two jobs out of him :p

Congrats on the one pound loss after all the panicking you had.... Alot of it is a mental thing like we were saying, I always feel 2 stone heavier on WI day, but I would say it's all the water and extra fibre you wouldn't be used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭marvilly

Made this yesterday and it was yum-I used quorn mince so the total was 4pp for a serving (it makes 6 big portions so you can freeze some!) with rice at 6pp I had a super filling dinner for 10pp in total. I got it from Jamie Oliver's 'Ministry of Food' book and left out the guacamole etc.looks like loads of ingredients but it was quick enough to make

Ingredients

• 2 medium onions
    • 2 cloves of garlic
    • 2 medium carrots
    • 2 sticks of celery
    • 2 red peppers
    • spray oil
    • 1 heaped teaspoon chilli powder
    • 1 heaped teaspoon ground cumin
    • 1 heaped teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1 x 400g tin of chickpeas
    • 1 x 400g tin of red kidney beans
    • 2 x 400g tins of chopped tomatoes
    • 500g quorn mince (handy-can be used straight from frozen)
    • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

chop the onion, garlic, carrots, celery and red pepper. put it in suacepan misted with the spray-oil. add the chilli powder, cumin, cinammon. cook for about 7 or 8 mins. add chickpeas, kidney beans and cans of tomatoes. add the quorn. fill one of the empty cans with water and pour it in. add balsamic vinegar (salt and pepper too but I left this out-I'm trying to cut down on the salt!)bring to the boil and simmer for about 45-60 mins.

lovely served with rice (with coriander chopped and stirred through it!delish and no extra pp:) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭marvilly

Butternut Squash Soup

The one point in the stock cube divided over all the portions works out at 0pp and it's lovely...found the recipe and made it yest too. a cook-fest:P
    Ingredients

Butternut squash, peeled and chopped
    2 onions
    2 apples, peeled and chopped
    750 ml of chicken stock (made with a cube)
    1/2 teaspoon curry powder (more if you like it spicier which I do!)

roast the chopped butternut squash, onion and apple at 190 degrees for about 35-45 minutes (depends on size of your chopped cubes so keep an eye after the 35 mins is up)
    make up your stock with cube and boiling water in a saucepan.
    Add the veg and curry powder. simmer for a few minutes.
    Blend with a handblender or run it through a food processor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Cliodhna26

Hello again! My dailies are 37pp! I find it very hard to make up these points and feel guilty for snacking! I keep going to the fruit bowl, snacking on fruit and then remembering they're not using up any points! Any ideas on tasty snacks? (I usually have between 8 and 10 pp left over in the evening!) :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Cliodhna26 wrote: »
    Hello again! My dailies are 37pp! I find it very hard to make up these points and feel guilty for snacking! I keep going to the fruit bowl, snacking on fruit and then remembering they're not using up any points! Any ideas on tasty snacks? (I usually have between 8 and 10 pp left over in the evening!) :confused:

Do you actually feel hungry in the evening? Don't just have something for the sake of filling points.

You could do some scrambled eggs with melba toast, some babybel lights etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Try have healthy but high point snacks - like some avacado. You could make it into some healthy dip for veg sticks or even pitta bread. Hummous is a good one too. Throw a bit of extra full fat items into cooking. Use read oil instead of the spray stuff. Add slightly more protein to your main meal instead of bulking up on extra snacks and carbs! Things like this will make it easier to cut back on again when your daily allowance starts going down as you are losing weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭username2010

Hi there! Abs delighted I found this thread.. Slowly but surely reading my way through each post!
    Decided to introduce myself as I think support (however anonymous it may be :p)
    Recently my Dad became very ill and it is very important for him to regain the weight he lost and because of that our house is filled to the brim with high fat, calorific and high fat foods which provide HUGE temptation for me!
    Thankfully the nearest WW meeting turned out to be very near my house so I have no excuse but to go!
    I abs LOVE the new pro points system, shocked at the increase in the points values of foods high in protein but it's working well for me!
    Down 1.5 on my first weigh in which I am deelighted with! Scrimped on the exercise and had a family meal the night before the weigh in! This week I plan to get out walking every evening! Partaking in a water aerobics class tomorrow night which I'm really looking forward to!
    I wish you all the very best of luck and I'm really looking forward to giving and receiving hints and tips, and the odd recipe here and there :cool:

Welcome and Best of luck with the weight loss!!...Plenty of great ideas and support on this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Dubgirlww

Delighted to be -2 pounds this week!! Only one more pound to get to my own goal of bein the under ten stone mark and be 2 stone down and the lightest EVER!! it's taken me over a year to lose that but glad it did as I'll never put it back on ever again!!

My motto....I have struggled too much to fail!!

Re: the posts about friends who always saying 'your too skinny stop losing weight'....that's sooo annoying as I find it's my friend who would have been same weight as me before I started, she hates I have changed and while she says ww doesn't work for her....but she never pointed, tracked or stayed for class so that is not following a program.....its paying a fortune to get weighed once a week ha ha!!

Well done everyone on this weeks loses....everyone doing great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭username2010

Quick question - does anyone know how many points are in a Kinder Surprise?...There was no nutritional information on the wrapper, but I just needed a treat tonight....

Totally agree with those getting motivation from The Biggest Loser, Operation Transformation etc....They seem to always have these shows on when I go to the gym, and it really keeps you going there....

Congrats to all the losers!....:D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭shellybelly08

Hey hey!! Jus my two cents on the friends commenting on your weight loss at my lowest 10th 13 I had ' don't sacrifice your face to lose weigh' ehh wat crap is that! I was 19 and 15st when I started I held it well surprisingly :).. Anyways it's how u feel at end of the day! An I hated the whole ' ahh sure were all havin a treat ul be grand' .. Anyways I seen through it and althou iv been off the wagon iv never lost focus ya no!!

Jus bk from body pump and headn to gets me a job soon enough I won't have all this time to workout :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Hey all,

Have a question that's been bugging me since my weigh-in yesterday. Last summer I paid €100 for 12 classes deal that ww have. From what I can gather from the log i kept of my weigh-ins I used 3 then I went off the rails for a few weeks, came back and I think rejoining after that off the rails period used up a few (can't remember how many they use when you've missed classes) Then I didn't go back until last week.

Anyway I had forgotten about the pre-pays and just handed the girl at the desk €20 last week and €10 yesterday. When the leader put my card in the machine it popped up that I have 2 pre-pays left. At the time I thought it was just a mistake but now im thinking maybe I do and maybe I actually had 4! I'm going to ask my leader next week of course but I'm just wondering if anyone else pre paid and then left for a while. Were your pre-pays gone when you went back or were they still there for you?

Sorry for the long post, its been bugging me all evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I've gone through my notebook thingy and I paid for 12 classes on the 14th of June last year. I think that they use 2 of your prepays when you come back after missing classes. This would make sense since its €20 to rejoin. From the weigh-in notes I have it went like this:

14/6 - prepay 1
    *missed 2 weeks*
    5/7 - prepay 2 & 3
    12/7 - prepay 4
    *missed class*
    2/8 - prepay 5 & 6
    9/8 - prepay 7

So that would mean there should have been 5 prepays left when I went back last week, which should have meant the girl at the desk used 2 of them leaving 3 prepays, one of which should have been used last night too.

Instead it looks like she used the 2 prepays when I rejoined last week *and* took the €20 off me. And then last night took the €10 and used a prepay.

Its all very confusing. I know I won't know what the craic is until I speak to my leader, I'm just hoping they keep decent records of when you used them and when you didn't :/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Yeah, the prepays stay on your card even if you haven't been in a while. Hopefully you'll get to the bottom of it next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭BaileyPants

Lady Lainy wrote: »
    So far i've had a crazy busy day :) but also a crazy good day food wise :D
    :D Just ordered pair of riding boots :) woot! all i need now is get the nerve to ask my aunt if I can ride one of the horses...she's a very judgemental condisending person when it comes to my weight loss (or lack there of) so its going to take alot for me to ask.

I need something to get me out of the house! Fresh air! even if its freezing cold fresh air LOL.

Right....off for a much needed shower! I smell of wet dog (from grooming) and olbas oil (from the kitten)

You're like myself so! I'm mad into horses, don't have one of my own mind. You have some great recipes by d way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭ladysaint

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I've gone through my notebook thingy and I paid for 12 classes on the 14th of June last year. I think that they use 2 of your prepays when you come back after missing classes. This would make sense since its €20 to rejoin. From the weigh-in notes I have it went like this:

14/6 - prepay 1
    *missed 2 weeks*
    5/7 - prepay 2 & 3
    12/7 - prepay 4
    *missed class*
    2/8 - prepay 5 & 6
    9/8 - prepay 7

So that would mean there should have been 5 prepays left when I went back last week, which should have meant the girl at the desk used 2 of them leaving 3 prepays, one of which should have been used last night too.

Instead it looks like she used the 2 prepays when I rejoined last week *and* took the €20 off me. And then last night took the €10 and used a prepay.

Its all very confusing. I know I won't know what the craic is until I speak to my leader, I'm just hoping they keep decent records of when you used them and when you didn't :/

Our leader actually spoke about it the first week & said you don't lose your pre pays - she used the example of if you broke your leg 7 couldn't go for a few weeks. She said they just stay on your card until you go back.
    Hope you get it sorted next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Chinafoot wrote: »

14/6 - prepay 1
    *missed 2 weeks*
    5/7 - prepay 2 & 3
    12/7 - prepay 4
    *missed class*
    2/8 - prepay 5 & 6
    9/8 - prepay 7

That analogy sounds like exactly what happened. They owe you €30.

I haven't gone back to WW yet (going back next week) but I had 4 prepays on my card too. I also had 1 or 2 out of the 7 special christmas prepays on my card (it was a deal where you get 7 classes for the price of 5 in the run up to Christmas).

I know I should still have my prepays but I wonder would I still have my special prepays?

What time is your WI BaileyPants????

I have set out a meal plan (well a loose one) for the week. I have really lean steak mince defrosting at home - Mexican night again.... :P Got some avocados in Aldi so I'm going to have a blast at making my own guacamole.... just to bump up what I'm having.

Also found a brilliant fishmongers in Clondalkin village, so I shall be frequenting that either tomorrow or Saturday because I really really enjoyed the haddock I had last week. Considering how low in points it is and how filling and tasty it was I'm definitely going to try my hand at a few different fish.

I have a WW pizza in the freezer too which will come in handy when the other family members are having their dominos on Friday or Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭ShindyB

exam results in the bag! woop! hope for an even better semester this time round as my exercise and good food kick in!
    Going away for the weekend with himself to the druids glen in wicklow (got one of those groupon thingies!) and I'm terrified I'll fall off the wagon altogether. We're going walking on the Saturday though and the gym too at some stage over the weekend. I've looked up the menus, nothing seems low fat but I'll try to be wise with my choices. As for the red wine....well we'll see!! Think I deserve a glass.....or 4. ;) Good luck with all WI's!

ShindyB wrote: »
    exam results in the bag! woop! hope for an even better semester this time round as my exercise and good food kick in!
    Going away for the weekend with himself to the druids glen in wicklow (got one of those groupon thingies!) and I'm terrified I'll fall off the wagon altogether. We're going walking on the Saturday though and the gym too at some stage over the weekend. I've looked up the menus, nothing seems low fat but I'll try to be wise with my choices. As for the red wine....well we'll see!! Think I deserve a glass.....or 4. ;) Good luck with all WI's!

Well done on your results Shindy! you definitely deserve a few red wines this weekend!!! Best thing to do is to roll into your weeklies... I haven't used too many of mine since I started... but I definitely intend on using them when the OH brings me away next month!!! :D

Have a great time! you deserve it!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭BaileyPants

ali85 wrote: »
    What time is your WI BaileyPants????

I have set out a meal plan (well a loose one) for the week. I have really lean steak mince defrosting at home - Mexican night again.... :P Got some avocados in Aldi so I'm going to have a blast at making my own guacamole.... just to bump up what I'm having.

Also found a brilliant fishmongers in Clondalkin village, so I shall be frequenting that either tomorrow or Saturday because I really really enjoyed the haddock I had last week. Considering how low in points it is and how filling and tasty it was I'm definitely going to try my hand at a few different fish.

I have a WW pizza in the freezer too which will come in handy when the other family members are having their dominos on Friday or Saturday

Hi! It's at 7pm this evening eeek! :p You know I feel like I'm down, but I only just stayed within my points & I didn't really exercise, so I guess I'll see later on! Congrats on being down yourself!

You have to give me your recipe for your Guacamole! I LOOVVEE Mexican :D