Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

unkel wrote: »
    At least you wouldn't have to worry about the engine - it's the reliable 6 pot daysul from BMW :)

Reliable yes, but my god they're horrendously slow! Have you ever driven one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

RoverJames wrote: »
    John Cradden's piece?
    I meant to buy it but forgot all about it :(

Aye John Craddens piece about Motoring costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Anybody have a link to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,557 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Avensis "D is 4 Diesel"

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2900643

No DMF to worry about on this particular one.

These are surprisingly nippy.

This thread was mentioned in the Sunday Times today

Keep up the good work lads, great thread
    RoverJames wrote: »
    John Cradden's piece?
    I meant to buy it but forgot all about it :(
    colm_mcm wrote: »

That's from the Independent in 2010 :P It's not even the one featuring me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,537 ✭✭✭ongarite

Volvo S80, NCT '13 & full Volvo dealer service history for €1250.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2887592
    Full?id=9431944

Audi A8 2.8, €1200 NO NCT....
    Full?id=9418251

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

That Audi is soooooo chancy at a few hundred less. One of these days I'm buying an A8.

like the look of that Volvo. are those steel wheels? feckin donedeal not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Anyone fancy taking out the wet and dry this spring. Might be a very cheap way to a future classic ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2900805

View2?id=9492593

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Anyone fancy taking out the wet and dry this spring. Might be a very cheap way to a future classic ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2900805

View2?id=9492593

Welder more like.

Had a 95 Aero auto/ flappy paddle estate bought but a friend sold me out on it :rolleyes:

Ah well, karma's a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,734 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Wasn't I right, LM? :p

Ah well, there'll be others. Be patient.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    Wasn't I right, LM? :p

Ah well, there'll be others. Be patient.

Not a 03 for under a grand with 18 months test and a months tax there won't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,734 ✭✭✭✭unkel

No, probably not :(

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

W123-80's wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2894873 - Tax and Tested. Wouldn't be put off by the miles if it was looked after. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/ http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/28949592894959 Surely six months motering in this. Apologies if this post is all over the place. My enter button has stopped working..!

I'd say the Audi 1.6 is a sound buy alright. I'm always happy to see a high mileage. Here it is a week ago on carzone for €1k http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A4/1.6E/201202206525857/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,537 ✭✭✭ongarite

Mazda 323 for €250 with 2 months NCT left:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2901188

Full?id=9494371

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

/\ scrapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

The best you'd get for that price, although I wonder how much fabreeze and hoovering the inside would need. If he had washed it rather than throwing a bucket of diesel and muck on it he could have chanced 300 asking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cadaliac

ongarite wrote: »
    Volvo S80, NCT '13 & full Volvo dealer service history for €1250.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2887592
    Full?id=9431944
    Thats a winner IMO...looks like the expensive money was spent on the car already and you could get plenty of trouble free motoring from that car. Good find.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

not as good an offering as that volvo (which is sweet), but here ya go anyways.....

Full?id=9059991

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/2800894

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

cadaliac wrote: »
    Thats a winner IMO...looks like the expensive money was spent on the car already and you could get plenty of trouble free motoring from that car. Good find.
    A lot of the work that's been documented has been carried out quite a while ago so may not be of as much relevance depending on what mileage has been covered since.

Top Dog wrote: »
    A lot of the work that's been documented has been carried out quite a while ago so may not be of as much relevance depending on what mileage has been covered since.
    True for Throttle body and shocks. (2008)
    The rest was a few months ago. (2011)
    Good enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

View2?id=9498698

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2902138

Long tax and test. Barura's gonna have a hard on..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Good enough for me.
    Erm, not quite.
    -New clutch kit and flywheel on 19/11/2010 at a cost of 1,740 euros
    -Timing belt and water pump kit and all pulleys fitted on 27/5/10 at a cost of 842 euros
    -New throttle body fitted 2008 at a cost of 658 euros
    -New shocks fitted 2008 at a cost of 448 euros
    Clutch is in it 14 months
    Timing belt was nearly 20 months ago

Lot of mileage could have been covered in the time since, though it looks that clean that I'm sure the mileage covered since is probably well documented so may not be an issue. On first glance I thought the same as yourself - heap of work carried out recently. It was only on a second glance that I noticed that a lot of it is a good while ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

Good enough for me.

-New throttle body fitted 2008 at a cost of 658 euros

jaysus thank god i managed to get a used one from polish breaker for 150 euro back then, dealer charges are really savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Also found this

View2?id=9497642

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2901898

Nice colour, timing belt done, very low miles, tax and test. The only thing going against it is the lack of alloys but surely you could pick up a set of teledials for pennies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Iluvjazzmasters

Bit of a stretch for bangernomics but looks clean. Query the mileage though

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2902276

View2?id=9499328

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭alias no.9

166man wrote: »
    Also found this

View2?id=9497642

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2901898

Nice colour, timing belt done, very low miles, tax and test. The only thing going against it is the lack of alloys but surely you could pick up a set of teledials for pennies.

Teledials and tan Momo would be good but the
    4 NEW CONTINENTAL TYRES

are probably much more valuable for bangernomics, probably half the asking price of the car. Just as long as the timing belt has been done recently, it should have been done every 3 years on a low miles car like that.

Top Dog wrote: »
    Erm, not quite.

Clutch is in it 14 months
    Timing belt was nearly 20 months ago

Lot of mileage could have been covered in the time since, though it looks that clean that I'm sure the mileage covered since is probably well documented so may not be an issue. On first glance I thought the same as yourself - heap of work carried out recently. It was only on a second glance that I noticed that a lot of it is a good while ago.

Apologies, I read it as the cluch, belt and co was done last year.
    Spec savers and all that....