Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prices from times gone by

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭yenoah

20 Gold Bond (fags) 50p (very early 80's)
    Bag of Tayto's 3p (early 70's)

I aint kiddin but am giving my age away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Navanmom

1972 My Mam and Dad paid 100 pounds for their wedding reception, 33 years later we paid 4 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Navanmom

10 penny bags which contained 10 1p sweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

I remember this bag, he he

tayto3p.jpg

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭yenoah

uch wrote: »

tayto3p.jpg

yenoah wrote: »
    20 Gold Bond (fags) 50p (very early 80's)
    Bag of Tayto's 3p (early 70's)

I aint kiddin but am giving my age away

Thank you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Remember walking down henry street in dublin town and hearing the dealers roar 6 bars for a pound ! These were the likes of snickers , mars , kit kats. Then it went to five for a pound, then four and then I think they just gave up.

I thought it was hilarious when the garda would be spotted and someone would shout to let them know and all of a sudden 40 women with big old style prams full of sweets and chocolate would be flying towards jervis street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭deisemum

uch wrote: »

tayto3p.jpg

I remember that as well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

when i was working as a lounge boy in 1996/7 i always got a fresh cod and chips on the way home that cost me [only] £3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Thanks Darth.

Probably 1983?

I remember actually saving 1p's and 2p's (and 1/2p's come to think of it) that I'd find down the back of the couch or that I could beg borrow or steal in and putting them in and old tin can, all in order to get up to that magical £6.99 for the speeder bike. I'm glad I hadn't set my target for the £113 Atari.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Ozzie

£5 bought us 3 pints and 3 packets of King when we started drinking back in '90 /'91. I drank Smithwicks. Have no idea how I did!

Years before a Tangle Twister, as they were called then, cost 25p. I remember eating 8 of them whilst watching an episode of MacGyver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Any one remember the ha'penney sweets (2 for a penny) ?

I remember when Captain crisps were 5p and a Mr freeze was 2p.

I remember my dad buying a Telefunken VHS video recorder back around 79/80 for £750stg...yes 750quid!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭deisemum

I can remember this

Tayto.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Ozzie

Ok guys, this is the ultimate "ALL THINGS RETRO" for your......

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38301877@N05/3593028702/in/set-72157619206330728/

(The 1985 Argos catologue in it's entirity!)

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭yuppies

http://www.anthonykelly.com/inflation.html

Been plugging in figures from this thread into this calculator out of curiosity.. note it converts to 2010 €'s, which I'd imagine are nearly the same as jan 2012 €'s...

eg.
    - tayto for 3p circa 1972 would be about 41c in 2010, which seems quite cheap.
    - £113 atari circa 1984 would be €316.87
    - £3 cod and chips circa 1996/97 would be about €5.50
    - £59,000 house in D12 in 1995 would be about €111,129 .. wow!
    - tayto 7p and mars bar 10p in 1978 would be 44c and 63c
    - maximum bus fare 36p in 1980/81 is about €1.71, taking the average figure..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

has anything actually gone down in price over the years?(excluding house prices in the last 2 years)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

triple-M wrote: »
    has anything actually gone down in price over the years?(excluding house prices in the last 2 years)

Electronic items

I remember VCRs costing £600 in 1980, blank tapes were around £12 each. DIFFERENT TIMES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Brian Lighthouse

Here`s my tupence ha`penny worth.

1970`s
    Chipsticks 6p
    (I`m nearly convinced they sold them in cheese and onion flavour also)
    1980`s
    "Penny Drink`s"
    (Mr. Freeze that weren`t frozen)
    Large Chocolate mice 1p
    (The one`s with toffee in the middle)
    No. 6 cigarettes (10) 86p
    circa 1989
    3 pint`s of Smitwicks and a bag of chips < £5
    4 cans of steiger and ten fags < £5
    Flagon of Linden Village and two cans of harp < £5
    10 fags, a can of coke and a naggin of vodka < £5

I remember picking up the phone and the operator asked what number.

The Bob Geldof campaign "Phone Wreckers are idiots"

Being refused, on a payphone, an ambulance by 999 because I was a child and no adults were around to confirm the fact that my friend`s brain was exposed and he was convulsing on the ground after he was knocked down by a car that continued driving.
    Hanging up and requesting the guards, who hung up on me when the guard on the other end asked me where I was.
    I tried the ambulance again and the operator told me that I was wasting time as children were ringing in too many hoax calls.
    I ran at full speed to the pub 5 mins away to ask the barman to ring.

Being asked if I went to mass regularly by a clerk in the in the Birth Certificate office, when I asked for a birth cert??????? WTF????

Semi Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I remember when dvds first came out they were €60 each or there abouts, I also remember going into the electronics section in brown thomas about 10/11 years ago and they had a 50" plasma screen for 20 grand!!! And thats no lie!
    But prices today that are ridiculous include a pcket of McCoy's crisps in the Centra near my work for €1.27!
    I remember when I started my first job at the age of 12/13 back in 1993 and starting on £1.28 an hour!