Front Bicycle lights for Long Night Ride/Audax

• 13-01-2012 05:30PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

I know this has been discussed before but I havent really be able to answer my query fully, hence this post.

Its something that I have wanted to invest in for some time as conventional lights just dont do enough in the country.

Basically this is directed to anyone who cycles for prolonged periods in the dark. ie Audax cyclists or the like or anyone who feels they can answer it.

I am looking for the following and if anyone has any ideas I would love to hear them.
    1. It must a very powerful light that is capable of Lighting up the road on fast decents.
    2. Not (completely) blind oncoming motorists
    3. Be Rechargeable
    4. Be capable of lasting in or around 8-12 hours on a decent power
    5. Be Robust
    6. Not be overly heavy
    7. Waterproof
    8. Last longterm

Anyone have any ideas or maybe you have something that fits the bill at present?

Am I really limited to a fenix or a cheap chinese one (magicshine)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Am I really limited to a fenix or a cheap chinese one (magicshine)?

The Fenix TK11 won't cut it for you because it won't last long enough on full power (the lower setting isn't bright enough for dark country roads). Having said that, switching batteries is the work of a few seconds so you could bring a spare 18650 or two.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,525 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I'm currently using the Exposure Race - it will last up to 10 hours on the medium setting (24 on low, 3 on high)

I've been using it (and the Maxx-D) for the past 3 winters. You need to make sure you set it up correctly (particularly the Maxx-D) to avoid dazzling oncoming drivers, but IMO, these are the best lights around - very robust and completely reliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Transporting

Not at all limited to that Chinese muck, have you looked at the Hope range of lights, the Vision Two LED may suit your needs, http://www.hopetech.com/page.aspx?itemID=SPG66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭cnz8euq6x7syj2

The Fenix TK11 won't cut it for you because it won't last long enough on full power (the lower setting isn't bright enough for dark country roads). Having said that, switching batteries is the work of a few seconds so you could bring a spare 18650 or two.

Another issue i have is weight. That is why I want it to last a long time. I do my long distance on a carbon and dont want to use panniers to front bag. Bringing additional kit is not part of the plan as I will be travelling with one saddle bag and a top tube bag.

Transporting
    wrote:
    I have looked at the hope but didnt give them alot of thought as most discussion was about the other two brand. I am open to them or other brands once they cant fit the bill

Beasty
    wrote:
    I'm currently using the Exposure Race - it will last up to 10 hours on the medium setting (24 on low, 3 on high)

I've been using it (and the Maxx-D) for the past 3 winters. You need to make sure you set it up correctly (particularly the Maxx-D) to avoid dazzling oncoming drivers, but IMO, these are the best lights around - very robust and completely reliable
    Will they light cut the mustard on fast decents. Ie say Sallygap in the pitch black? I need to be able to see the holes coming quick as its no fun fixing a puncture in the cold, pitch black. I will certainly take a look at this light though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

The Fenix does not have an external battery pack. The 18650 batteries take up very little space in a jersey pocket. However, I suspect you need something more powerful in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Fenix - IMHO a bullsh1t light. Blorg or Lumen wrote a bit of a review and we all rushed out and bought one. (I bet neither of these gents would use the TK11 now).

I have two of them. Eats batteries - you wont get 10 hours.

More frustratingly the light beam is unstable - ie it sometimes just decides to switch off. So you have to stop on the bike, fiddle around with it and turn it back on again.
    Yes it does give reasonably good illumination, but I wouldnt like to depend on it for 10 hours on the basis of the two that I have.

Also, the rechargable batteries that I bought with it are very poor. Two of them no longer recharge at all. the 6 that do, have diminishing amounts of power.

Fine for a commute, not for an all night long cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Conneff

As Beasty already said, Exposure lights all the way IMO. Fantastic lights, no seperate battery, good power and very reliable. I use the MaxxD on the bars and a Joystick on the helmet and its perfect for fast mtb'ing through the winter, so I'd assume they'd be grand for the road. I used them at a 24hr mtb race during the summer and they were flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

http://www.scurion.ch/jm/

A scurion. We use them for potholing but they can be mounted to bicycles. They are the dogs bollocks, light, strong, durable and very bright.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,525 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Will they light cut the mustard on fast decents. Ie say Sallygap in the pitch black? I need to be able to see the holes coming quick as its no fun fixing a puncture in the cold, pitch black. I will certainly take a look at this light though.
    Half my commute is in pitch black. I really don't think there are better lights around. One of the guys who posts occasionally on here borrowed them for the Race around Ireland in 2010 - the organisers said he had the brightest lights in the competition - you just need to make sure they are correctly aligned as otherwise they will dazzle oncoming drivers

Like Conneff I also have the Exposure Joystick helmet light, which is used mainly for pothole spotting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭cnz8euq6x7syj2

Thanks beasty & conneff.

Ill take a good long look at these and maybe look at hope too.

If any of the audax lads have any ideas other than Whats been put out there i would love to hear them as their demands would be quite similar to mine also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Thats some recommendation ye got going on there for the Exposure lights, A few q's if ye dont mind:

With the Joystick light what do you use one or two lights on the bar?
    Do they really hold charge for 10 hours?
    Is the 10 hour medium setting strong enough for cycling at speed on dark roads?
    I'm looking to invest in quality 'country road' lights, these seem head and shoulders above others in the same price range, are they really as good as you say? As ROK said internet reviews can be easy to put out there.
    Ever use them for mtb?

What are the bad points?

Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Greenman

I'd love the Maxx D but the price is rather high. Is it really worth it? I mean price for quality.

Anymore views on the Maxx D would be welcome.:)

Thats some recommendation ye got going on there for the Exposure lights, A few q's if ye dont mind:

With the Joystick light what do you use one or two lights on the bar?
    Only use a single on the helmet - that light alone is better than most you see on unlit roads
    Do they really hold charge for 10 hours?
    Not tried it but have used on full for well over 2 hours. The RAI guys may be able to comment though
    Is the 10 hour medium setting strong enough for cycling at speed on dark roads?
    Yes, still as good as or better than most lights
    I'm looking to invest in quality 'country road' lights, these seem head and shoulders above others in the same price range, are they really as good as you say? As ROK said internet reviews can be easy to put out there.
    Check out the Wiggle reviews for the Maxx D and Strada (which is very similar to the Race) - hardly a negative comment, apart from pricing, but you are paying for quality and reliability
    Ever use them for mtb?
    No, but they are very popular as you will see from some of the reviews. Others have positive comments on here (you might want to have a look through the front light for a dark country road commute thread, or search for "Exposure"
    What are the bad points?
    Main criticism is probably price (for some anyway). You do need to be careful to set them up in a way not to dazzle other road users. I also once had a comment from another boardsie who thought I was chasing him down on a hill climb, not realising it was car headlights illuminating his (very large;)) backside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

I would have thought most Audax riders would use hub dynamos. Maybe I am wrong though.

I have a hub dynamo with some Busch and Mueller lights. Very bright and very reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Thanks for that Beasty.
    I know its a lot of money to lay down but the commute I want to take on is 50km each way at rush hour on a main road in pitch black so I need to be seen and to be able to see. Its a wide road but was talking to LBS guy tonight who was listing all the guys he knew who had been hit cycling the same road so I reckon its cheaper than a hospital bed (or a coffin).
    Also I'm hoping to give Audax and long distance cycling a crack so I do want kit that will work and will last, as well as a bit of mtb fun too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LastGasp

ROK ON wrote: »
    Fenix - IMHO a bullsh1t light. Blorg or Lumen wrote a bit of a review and we all rushed out and bought one. (I bet neither of these gents would use the TK11 now).
    I have to agree that the Fenix isn't all it's cracked up to be. I bought a TK11 a while ago, and the light has been intermittent since I got it, flickering badly over bumps etc. I sent it back to the shop who "tested" it (I think the guy took it out for a spin) and said there was nothing wrong. It's still the same, and I dont use it any more.

Regarding Audaxers, most of us wouldn't be much use to you, as a lot use the SON or Shimano Dynamos, together with less bright lights such as the B & M range http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/lighting-dynamo-front-dept117_pg1/ which are fine for relatively relaxed Audaxing, but not as bright as some of those mentioned earlier, but they do have the advantage of "fit and forget", no batteries etc, but maybe not a great idea if you're leaving your bike unattended for any length of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

My TK11 has given me no problems whatsoever and I've dropped it a few times. The original batteries I bought are dying out but they're well over a year old. I was originally charging them once a week and getting 5 days out of them. Now its down to 1 or 2.

I find the lower setting grand for dark road cycling but I do have very good night vision. So I wouldn't recommend it for everyone. The odd size batteries it needs is also a bit of a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

If you unscrew the head and the bottom end and give the inner and outer threads a clean with a cloth it may solve the flickering problem. It will probably be grey gunk you wipe off. Mine was flickering this week and not turning on reliably and this solved it.

The circuit is being complete by the casing (I think) and too much gunk on the threads will prevent this from happening. If this doesn't work you, I'll take them off your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭dancecatz2000

Iv got a lovely 2000 Lumen light 3 settings brightest is to bright but next one down is perfect out of Cyclebike, cycle about 30k home, the light also has a Dim-able setting something like on your living room light. Got it for €220.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

penexpers wrote: »
    I would have thought most Audax riders would use hub dynamos. Maybe I am wrong though.

I have a hub dynamo with some Busch and Mueller lights. Very bright and very reliable.

Same, I have a Shimano Hub Dyanamo on the front wheel, paired with the B&M Iqon Fly LED lights. The result is that I'm brighter than most mopeds, never mind other bikes. They've been going strong for 3 years and survived an accident. I bought them for the same reason as the OP, I had a 26km commute, of which the last 6km was on unlit mountain roads.

Downside is, by the time you buy and install the equipment (rebuild the wheel with new spokes), you're down at least 200 euros. That sounds like a lot, until you think that, just on the backlight alone I'd go though 30-40 euros of batteries a year. The dynamo does add weight but there's no noticeable drag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭C3PO

The Exposure Race would be my recommendation too! I also have a Hope R4 for the mountain bike and it is brighter but the Exposure is perfect for the road bike because of the self contained battery pack. Regularly use the Race for the pitch dark road decent down from Kindlestown to Delgany and it's more than adequate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭el Bastardo

The Hope R4 isn't really suited to road cycling - It's got a wide beam rather than a long one, and the battery life ain't great (on full). It's also fookoff expensive. It's designed for MTB and from what I read, it's usually used with a narrow focus helmet light (like a hope 2 or some such).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,525 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I've never got on with my Fenix - it failed shortly after purchase. Despite ROK ON's lazy suggestion that I strongly recommended it, it's Blorg who has used it more, but he's probably only gone halfway round the earth with it so I'm sure his opinion can be dismissed equally. :pac:

I love my Shimano dynamo hub and B&M Cyo Plus light. It's more effective and much more reliable than any battery light I've used. The Edelux is reportedly a slightly better light, but much more expensive.

If I was doing a lot of night riding I'd pair the dynamo light with a bar or helmet mounted torch with a very focused spot, for descending and using off the bike. Changing a puncture in the dark with a dynamo light is near impossible, for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lgk

Lumicycle do some great lights that have fared well in head to head reviews and tick all those boxes. Not at the cheaper end of the spectrum though.