Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Not being able to leave the Catholic Church - Violation of Human Rights?

• 12-01-2012 2:05am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

Hello,

This is my first time posting in this forum, and to be honestly it's my first time actually being on the Atheism and Agnosticism forum. It has been recommended to me to start this thread here.

A while ago in After Hours (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056513606) I started a thread looking to raise awareness of the following: (note that the text in italics is taken directly from my OP in AH).

According to the UN Declaration of Human Rights, humans are entitled to basic human rights, two of which are:

Article 18: The Freedom of Religion

"Everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others and in public or private, to manifest his religion or belief in teaching, practice, worship and observance."

and

Article 20:

(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association.
    (2) No one may be compelled to belong to an association.