Would you hand it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

My wallet was stolen not so long ago, got it back missing everything except student cards and that. Low class of criminals these days, decided to discard my 300e wallet but instead take a 5 year old condom (good reason for it being that old!). Good job mr thief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I found a wallet on the ground, while waiting for a taxi one night.. opened it.. no money just a few cards, ID bank etc.. decided Id go to guards next day, handed it to a guard in the city centre who looked at me and questioned me as if Id taken the money, someone found mine about 6 months before handed it in money and everything..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

RickRoll wrote: »
    You've way too much time on you're hands, is it because all of your unpaid interns are doing all of the work for you? No wonder you can afford to drive an Astra. :pac:

Someone's gotta pay my petrol bill - a 2 litre twin turbo is expensive to run you know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Lost my wallet in a Knightsbridge bar last week with cash,credit cards,driving licence etc in it and never seen it again,I did ask the next day but no sign of it..

So just wondered if you found a purse,wallet with the persons name and address clearly enclosed in it ..would you be honest and contact them or keep any cash and feck the rest away?

Me ..if it was just cash i found and nothing else then its fair game,but if the owners name is there i would hand it back without a doubt..

Yes, I would hand it back.
    If only for fearing Karma - but in the end, it would be the right thing to do - it might be me some day losing one and I'd hope others would do similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Would you hand it back?

Aww I thought this thread was going to be about having a ginger kid or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Temporary Dub

Yes have done before and would do again.

Got a card delivered to the house for a previous tenant lately, was going to f*ck it in the bin when I thought sure I may open it in case it's something important. 50 big ones staring back at me. Spent it that night but I did find the rightful owner on facebook and tell them they got post that they might want and to contact me....

They never got back to me, so next payday 50 big ones going to some homeless guy on the street, bad karma to keep it I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

I have thought about what i would do if i found a wallet like this and I still don't know for sure. I think it would depend onthe ammount of cash in the wallet.

The reason ive thought about this is that a few years ago a Polish girl i work with on the way to work early one Monday morning found a wallet near her bus stop. It had the guys name and cards and wait for it ... €2,500 in cash.

She got in touch with him and gave it all back to him.

I have to admit if i found that much in cash im not sure i would return it.

I mean who goes out on a sunday night with that kind of cash in their wallet??

I probably would have told myself that he was probably a drug dealer and im doing the community a favour by keeping his money for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

The worst thing would be if you found a wallet, put in a big effort and brought it back to the rightful person with cash and cards etc and the person who lost it turns out to be a total pr*ck.

Happened to one my mates before, brought it back and the guy basically closed the door in his face. Imagine! I'd have shat on his doorstep before beating his family members with my ding-a-ling.

Of course, there are cases where the person who gets it back is genuinely ecstatic to get it back, and may even share some of the cash with you! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Have done it the past.

Once I had to chase a guy to hand him back money that he'd dropped. He saw me trotting up to him (had to catch up) and calling to him and for some reason he turned and ran. I chased after him, now we have a full scale chase down a city street. He reaches the front door of his house, but I catch up before he can get the door open. He asks me what I want, to which I respond by handing him the £50 note that he dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

OP here I had over €500 in my wallet,but don't expect to see it again ...

Anyhows maybe its karma coming back to me, a couple of years ago i was walking into a pub and stuck to the wet ground outside,there was four fifty euro notes stuck to the ground,as i was picking them up a little old lady comes running across the road waving and shouting at me.....

"Excuse me...excuse me son...you dropped another one..." she shouts

I took it off her and said "Thanks love your very honest!!"...and skipped into the pub a very happy boy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Gandalph wrote: »
    My wallet was stolen not so long ago, got it back missing everything except student cards and that. Low class of criminals these days, decided to discard my 300e wallet but instead take a 5 year old condom (good reason for it being that old!). Good job mr thief!

Lost my wallet in fitzsimons, temple bar a few years back(left it on the bar i think) Went back the next day and got it back minus the money, a lotto ticket with 30 odd quid on it, and a years old "lucky" condom! What's with people taking clearly unuseable johnnies!!
    Also what kind of wallet costs €300??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I saw a woman drop her purse in the high street this morning, so I quickly followed her. As I was just about to tap her on the shoulder she started running for a bus. So I ran after her shouting, "You dropped your purse! You dropped your purse!"

She didn't hear me and proceeded to get onto the bus, so I got on the bus too. As I walked to the back of the bus I breathlessly said, "You dropped your purse on the floor outside McDonald's."

"Thank you so much" she said, "Where is it?"

I said, "I've just told you, on the floor outside McDonald's."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

Hand it back...you get no luck from it otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

yep id hand it back. I even handed a roll of cash i found in college in once (few hundred quid at a time when i was on a postgrad grant of 2k per annum!), left it with security who said if it wasnt claimed in a week I could have it.
    Day before I could have claimed it, it was claimed; lecturer phoned me to say thanks, awkward pause as I waited for him to add 'and your reward is....', but he didnt :(

Still waiting for karma to pay me back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

nix84 wrote: »
    Definately. I just know my conscience would gnaw at me if I didn't.
    This. I lost my wallet a little while ago, someone handed it into my school for me. I'd do that fir someone else, or hand it to the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Lost my wallet in fitzsimons, temple bar a few years back(left it on the bar i think) Went back the next day and got it back minus the money, a lotto ticket with 30 odd quid on it, and a years old "lucky" condom! What's with people taking clearly unuseable johnnies!!
    Also what kind of wallet costs €300??

Mine was lucky too! People don't understand...they are always like "Its hardly lucky if its 5 years old"...they just cant comprehend the immensity of a lucky condom.

It was an okley wallet I had bought in dubai a couple years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, I would hand the wallet in or contact the owner if their name and details were inside. I'd be a bit tempted to take the cash but I think my conscience wouldn't allow it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

In my first job at a petrol station there were countless occasions where customers left their wallets on the edge of the counter so we'd ring them to inform them and keep the wallets safe in the office until they returned to collect them.

I also handed a wallet I found on the pavement in to the Gardai a few years ago.

My purse was returned after it was stolen in a club. There was no cash left but a guy found it in a hedge and dropped it in to the Garda station. I bought him a pint to thank him for going to the trouble of getting it back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If i found a substantial amount of money (and i have done) I keep it for a few weeks and keep an eye on local papers etc and if the owner posts looking for it i will hand it back. In my case i spent it after about 6 weeks.

If it was a wallet and i could trace the owner then i'd send it back to them, i'd feel too guilty if i kept it and its actually a form of theft if you know who the owner is and fail to return it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Yeah I'd hand it in, you never know what situation that person could be in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Is1ldur

I've done it twice.
    Walking through town, near Odessa, found a bag on the ground with phone, etc, inside. No address details as far as I could see. Called some of the numbers, managed to speak with a friend of the owners who was in a pub around the corner and returned same to her.

Found wallet with cards and annual travel pass in town one night. Address was on it so called to the house in Terneure the next day. Was no-one there so I just dropped it through the letterbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

If you hand a wallet full of money to the garda station or nearest shop then all that's gonna happen is the guard on duty or shop owner will take the cash out themselves before contacting the owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

Definitely hand it back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

If it's owned by the same ungrateful, ignorant, rude, wanker, bastard, who's wallet I returned last time, I'll take the money, max the cards and then hand the stuff the dodgiest looking crimbo I can find. Anybody else gets all their stuff back intact, as previously done on a few occasions.

I wouldn't hand it in to the gardai but I would go to as much effort as possible to find the owner and get it back to them. It's horrible losing things and sure if we can make the world a teeny tiny bit better then it's worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Scamaill

worth considering..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I've found and returned several wallets/purses down the years. One was a garda one with their ID inside (discreetly returned), one was a ladies wallet which she'd left on the roof of her car in LIDL while loading kids and then driven off (I found her by ringing a dry cleaners who's receipt was in the wallet and getting her number from their database). In all cases there was money in the wallets and in all cases the owners were happy to get them back.

At some point in your life you will depend on the kindness of strangers, you are very young/naive if you think otherwise - practice random acts of kindness and do to others as you would hope they'd do for you.

'cptr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Ziggy star dust

I found a wallet sitting on a table outside a cafe beside my job a while ago. Just picked it up and handed it in without looking to see what was in it. Glad i didn't look cos was told by staff later that day that there was €450 in it and if i had of seen that would have made it so much harder to hand it in.
    Glad i did though cos i wouldn't have felt good about myself if i'd have kept it, but on the plus side the bloke who owned it left me €50 as a thank you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

Feel good stories alert.....

On the way to college years ago I found a wallet on the ground. About €50 in it but no cards or anything you could use to identify the owner. It was outside a health centre / clinic place so I went in and handed it into them. Didn't take any of the money out. They said they'd hold it on the chance someone came looking for it. That night I went to the dogs in Shelbourne and won about €70-€80 doing small forecast bets. Out on the piss for the night and ended up in a casino, won another €150 or so. Was convinced it was karma.

Used to work at concerts during the summers in college. Again, found a wallet on the ground with everything intact including about €100 cash. Think it was at Oxegen so knew there was no chance of the guy finding it and the lost & found at those things is a joke. Rang his bank on the Monday and they rang him. He made contact with me and turned out his Dad was close by where I was living so met his Dad to give him the wallet. Handed it over when I met him and he took a look inside it and cursed at me for not taking the money! Handed me the €100 to say thanks as his son was expecting it to be gone anyway.