What's the worst accident that's happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Erica<3 wrote: »
    Current OH is a racing jockey, could not agree more.

The worst bruising I ever seen from an injury - My uncle got a kick off a horse in the rips down the curragh. All his ribs and forearm were purple and green for months. Needless to say few of them were broken.

Speaking of broken ribs actually I have a good story regarding them.

Myself my brothers and father are quite competitive at the best of times. In anything. Sport, gameshows…Anything that can be competed….is…..fiercely.

One day myself, my younger bro and my dad climbed aboard a Banana Boat in Majorca.

Clinging onto dear life in the 4th spot I was while watching people falling by the wayside.

Glancing over my shoulder after couple of mins and noticed there was only me and my dad left aboard.

His smile said it all. It was on !

The 2 boatmen tried for several minutes to get us off but neither of us were giving an inch.

Eventually they decided there was only 1 way to get us off.

They slowed up the boat and parked parallel to the banana boat but facing the opposite way…..From a standstill they floored it !!!

The banana boat swung rapidly and I couldn’t hold on. I fell off and smacked my dad full on. He tumbled into the water.

With my last swing of an arm I clung onto the final spot. Cracked 5 ribs and drank 6 litres of salt water but it was worth every bit of the anguish to see the look on the lads faces on the boat when they stopped and seen me clinging to the side of the boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

My worst accident was when I was crossing a road and a car hit me. I bounced off it and landed 30 feet down the road. The front bumper smashed off the car as it broke my leg. When I hit the road it split my head open. I had 6 stitches in my head, and my leg in plaster for 6 weeks. I have never felt pain like it in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Stubbed my big toe once, painful thing I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

SomeFool wrote: »
    Stubbed my big toe once, painful thing I tells ya!

Gloating, eh? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

slipped climbing over a spikey topped gate (not drunk) only to impale my thigh on one of the spikes, then fell back so was being held on by the spike in my thigh, managed to right myself, the (ex) gf patched me up, then passed out, was sent straight to hospital next day by doc who gave out to me as I missed my femoral artery by very little... 15 stiches, 10 staples and almost 6 years later have a nice scar :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I sliced my scrote bag skateboarding several years ago. Wasn't funny at the time but looking back I can forgive my friends for laughing hysterically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

broke my arm when i was 5 but 2 years ago i accidentally poured pure animal fat over my arm. the stuff was bubbling at 190 degrees and it literally took the skin off my arm. i got a quick shiver the pain was so intense.
    ive a permanant scar now that wont go away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

nice_very wrote: »
    slipped climbing over a spikey topped gate (not drunk) only to impale my thigh on one of the spikes
    Oh sure, you "slipped" on it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

While patrolling my vast veranda, a small buzzing avian creature pricked my little finger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭luvnit!

Brother and cousin were fishing, my brother threw back the line and the fish hook got caught in my ear.

I was screaming he thought i was messing (i was only 6) and continued to pull on it till it tore my whole ear lobe.

painful as hell!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Playing a stupid game with my brothers when we were kids that ended up with me smashing my head off a sharp wooden part of a couch and splitting my head open.

Cracked two ribs last year when my friend picked me up and threw me into my laundry room as a joke-he didnt realise that underneath the clothes was a toilet and I essentially bounced off it. Wasnt a major accident but funny how things happen, and damn did it hurt :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

I was run over by a car when I was 2yrs old.
    My proudest memory from it was that I was cycling my bike without stabilizers! Quick learner. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

To say I was a fat baby would be an understatement.

When I was 10 months old I tried to walk, fell, and broke my arm under my own weight :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Clogsworth

I was out hacking on a horse, the house got a fright, reared up and fell over (he was 17.2hh so it was a big fall!). I landed on my bum and broke my tail bone, luckily the horse didn't land on me but when he was getting up he stood on my knee and tore all the ligaments...sitting down wasn't too pleasant for a few weeks after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

RichieC wrote: »
    I don't trust horses, or people who do... :D
    Dangerous on both ends and uncomfortable in the middle :pac:

Me whilst high or drunk or both I fell and smashed me head on a curb, have a nice big scar on my head I forgot about until I got me haircut for the first time in four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

When my father was 4 he got a kick from a horse to the head. Instead of rushing him to the hospital they rushed him to the church to get confirmed. He was okay in the end, despite a sort of horse shoe shaped mark on his forehead that's visible sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Had a Motorcycle accident a number of years back.

Dude with dodgy brakes pulled in front of me, I ended up with a shattered left femur which required major surgery. I set off airport metal detectors because of the permanent chunk of metal embedded in my leg, and 13 years on my knee is still swollen.
    I also broke the distal radius in my right arm.
    Developed a blood clot on my left leg as a result of lying prone in the Mater hospital which was discovered by accident. TBH it was scarier than the accident.
    Had a 9 month enforced break from work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Slipped on stairs 2 weeks before christmas day, and seen the nice view of right leg snapping, tibia and fibula gone, and then while lying on the hall floor, i could feel the bone ends grating together as i was trying to get the phone out of the back pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Car crash. 5 broken ribs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

When I was in junior infants I got dragged by a mini bus about 70 meters,my coat strings got stuck in the door and I was letting myself out the side door ,of course the driver was suppose to open door for the kids.the strings snapped when bus turned left,I would be dead if he turned right as my head would have gone under the wheel.was in and out of hospital for 4 months with burns and to the legs and such.lunch box in my bag saved my upper body.was melted to nothing when we opened bag later that day.oh and my mam saw all this happening as she was cleaning the windows and was walking out to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I died twice in the back of an ambulance on my way to hospital following severe head injuries in a car crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

When i was 9 or 10 i was riding a raleigh Chopper bike down hill as fast as i could go, all i remember is the steering starting to wobble and next thing i knew i woke up on the ground. I knew my mouth was bleeding and my right knee was tore to shreds. I had a severe pain in my left leg and right arm. I managed (with the help of my friend to get to my feet and walk the 1.5 miles back home) My mum fainted when she seen me at the back door. My upper lip was hanging off and my face covered in blood. My front tooth was broken and i lost near enough all the skin on my right knee (i was wearing shorts) and it was bleeding heavily. I was taken to hospital where i found out that my left leg was broken as was my right wrist, i had to get my lip stitched back on and i had 30 something stitches in my left knee. My two eyes were also black and i had a huge bump on my head. I was kept in hospital for nearly two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Broke my arm when I fell off a wall when younger and hit the only rock in a field.
    Sliced through my thumb with a stanley knife when I didn't notice I was holding the fecking thing upside (that blade that is)...and I used my thumb to push down on it wondering why it wasn't cutting.
    Various ankle ligament damage playing soccer etc.
    Broke my collar bone when falling off a bike.
    Perving at a bird in work, and dropped a cup of boiling water on my foot...must root out that picture :)

But by far the worst that I'll ever remember to the end of my days is catching my cock in my jean's zipper when I was about 10..
    Cue lots of screaming and my mother/my mate's mother all helping to unzip me...they eventually decided on the fast way at which point I nearly fainted.

Nothing..and I repeat nothing...ever feels as bad as an injury in that area:(

had a horse stamp on my hand
    my thumb in particular
    lovely coloured fingernail for a while
    thrown into a wall, fell off with the horse falling on top of me, etc etc
    i'd say "feet stamped on" but that became an everyday occurence :pac:
    got concussion once falling head first onto concrete
    that's about it really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

EGAR wrote: »
    Got my nose broken twice, once by a bucking horse and once by a swan.

Swans ! The sneakiest creatures on the face of this earth. Don't know why people think they're adorable and graceful. Fúckers always look as if they'd kill you in a heartbeat. Egar, did you have to make up a story though for your friends down the pub? Ya couldn't tell them a Swan broke your nose it had to be a 6ft 2 Puerto Rican kickboxer or something.

Going to National School, I fell off my bicycle while going full throttle down hill. Nice face plant into the tarmac. No broken bones but the left side of my face was left on the road. Got three stitched right under my eye, and this was back in the day when anesthetics seemed to be in short supply. Painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Stabbed myself in the knee with the sharpest pencil, tip broke off and was lodged in there.

How it happened was when I was playing with my dog, kneeling down, flapping my arms since it was driving her crazy, didn't see the pencil and litteraly drove it into my knee. Fùcking ouch!

Had to have a small op to have it removed, the size of the tip stuck in there was huge.

I also ripped my right hand apart from an 8ft fence. I was jumping over it, my hand got caught on the top, I kept falling and this tearing sound could be heard. Just a flab of skin hung off my hand with the flesh and bone exposed.

Now I have a huge scar from the middle of my hand running up to the side of my middle finger. Freaks everybody out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

I was with the mrs one time taking a short cut trough a shopping center car park. We got to the fence where tha traffic was at a stand still only to have the mrs, fall on her face getting over the fence. While she was making an idot of herself falling in public she grabbed the nearist thing to her to break her fall, which happened to be my jocks! I stood there iin traffic bare bollock naked while picking the mucky mrs off the deck. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Was having sex...to cut a long story short it went in the wrong way broke me banjo string and riped open half my cock, then follows a very very awkward conversation with me dad for a lift to the hospital, then telling them what happened, disinfectant on my cock to get rid of dry blood injection right into the wound and stitches. Many will think this is a joke but I can promise you its not...that pain will stay with me to till the grave!

Dear God Almighty!!!! That's just horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

fell out of my bedroom window (1st storey) when I was aged 4

not a scratch on me