How many women shower after the gym?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

You get cold if you leave it too long though so I hit the shower asap.

I always shower at the gym. Usually covered in sweat, mank!

I can see why many women don't shower at the gym though. Some may want to dry their hair (in many gyms you must pay for the use of hair dryers), use various face/hair products/shave. These would all be easier to do at home.

And most women I see at the gym do feck all anyway so wouldn't really need a shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭phoenix833

saa wrote: »
    I will assure you if you don't shower after you workout you don't die.

You're joking:eek:
    saa wrote: »
    I prefer to shower at home as my hair is a fussy bítch.
    Whatevers less hassle "I'm a woman and I don't care" in this vote.
    Oh no's! but the women they must be dainty and clean.
    although..
    It doesn't bother me seeing people walk out without showering but its another thing to take a go the jacks missus and not wash your hands, filthbag

I never said it bothered me. More of an observation.

I don't judge anybody for not showering it just got me wondering for the women who don't shower what's the main reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 sunnymar

phoenix833 wrote: »
    In the gym I go to hardly any women use the shower when they're finished. They just get off the treadmill or whatever and head straight out the door.

I rarely see any men do the same. Are women more embarrassed walking around a changing room with little or no clothes on?

Because one thing's for sure plenty of men don't mind walking around bollock naked.

probably a lot of women like to have: shampoo, conditioner, showergel, moistriser, facewash, moisturiser for your face. Hairbrush, leave in conditioner, hairdryer, straightener, make up and perfume.

Where a lot of men would be happy with showergel and deoderant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I always shower at the gym. Usually covered in sweat, mank!

I can see why many women don't shower at the gym though. Some may want to dry their hair (in many gyms you must pay for the use of hair dryers), use various face/hair products/shave. These would all be easier to do at home.

And most women I see at the gym do feck all anyway so wouldn't really need a shower.

Mental image of all the ladies looking in the mirror with a faceful of shaving foam on and a Mach3 in their hands :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Always showered after. I don't like the feeling of being sweaty then going outside, cooling down, then you've got cold sweaty stuff on ye :S

A quick wash down doesn't take long, fresh clothes, feel 100% :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

I always find it easier to work out around hot women. At my last gym, the women were smoking hot. You'd be pumping away trying to impress them (as if they even cared). Right now it's the opposite though. It's so uninspiring to jog on a treadmill behind some ould wan with a rear end like a Charolais bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

later10 wrote: »
    It's so uninspiring to jog on a treadmill behind some ould wan with a rear end like a Charolais bull.

I think the hefty auld wans are great for having a go and getting stuck in.

I always shower at the gym. The thought of getting dressed to go outdoors when I'm sweaty makes me retch. I just bring small sizes of the bare essentials with me and put all thoughts of being judged out of my head.

And its nice being able to collapse when you come in the door instead of having to hit the shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Dudess wrote: »
    I go straight home for my shower - gym is less than 10 minutes' drive away. I dunno... in my case it's not the naked thing so much as the preference of my own shower and comforts.

Driving to the gym... reminds me of this

http://www.filehurricane.com/viewerthumbnails/411200892904AM_onlyinamerica.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Loopie

I simply cannot be arsed packing a bag, two towels, flip flops, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, fresh clothes, then leave with soaking wet hair and most probably still be sweaty due to the heat and humidity in the changing rooms, only to then jump in the car to drive 10/12 minutes home... No, I prefer to be able to head home, jump in my nice shower and change into my jammies and chill!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

i always thought that communal showers and droves of naked feckers walking about was a little gay myself so i just go home and shower, must be the same for the women :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 RaoulPuke

sunnymar wrote: »
    probably a lot of women like to have: shampoo, conditioner, showergel, moistriser, facewash, moisturiser for your face. Hairbrush, leave in conditioner, hairdryer, straightener, make up and perfume.

Where a lot of men would be happy with showergel and deoderant.

True.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85HT4Om6JT4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Are you one of the many people reading this thread just because it involves the words "women" and "showering"?

If so, good evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

I used to shower in the gym but now that I walk to/from my new gym (about 15 mins away) I shower when I get home as I prefer to wear my gym gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

I shower at home, way easier plus sports bras are a b!tch to take off when you're trying not to flash the rest of the changing room!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

I think it's a sign that you haven't really trained. That you're happy to walk out around people. Sit in your car for a while etc. If you were pumping sweat then you wouldn't do that. You would have at least a quick shower before leaving, even if you intended to wash when you went home.

I'm not drawing any correlation between women and pretend training for psychological purposes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I never realised AH had so many healthy gym attending people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

newbee22 wrote: »
    I shower at home, way easier plus sports bras are a b!tch to take off when you're trying not to flash the rest of the changing room!

Tell me about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

I think it's a sign that you haven't really trained. That you're happy to walk out around people. Sit in your car for a while etc. If you were pumping sweat then you wouldn't do that. You would have at least a quick shower before leaving, even if you intended to wash when you went home.

I'm not drawing any correlation between women and pretend training for psychological purposes. ;)

That's a bit stupid, if people are going home to shower then that's their choice. Not showering does not mean you haven't worked out properly!

Only time I would personally shower is when I'd work out before heading to college and obviously wouldn't want to stink but now that I work out in the middle of the day and am able to walk home It makes more sense to shower at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Also is it not time we got over all this nonsense of womens changing rooms and mens changing rooms with the invention of the gays and whatnot, can we not just make unisex changing rooms?

I would predict a large rise in male membership at gyms, shortly followed by a massive plummet in the female membership, until the situation returned to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What if you live seven miles away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Well that's rubbish cos I always shower at home after football, takes 10 mins in a car to get back after the game and believe me I am covered in sweat. At least when I'm at home I am in my nice power shower and I don't have to worry about who may or may not haved pissed in the shower.......at home I know who has pissed in it ;) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Hate showering in the gym, therefore I don't! It's only a few minutes from my house so I'd rather do it comfort instead of sweating bullets after a shower in a gym changing room and putting your clothes back on. That's worse than waiting 'til you get home IMO*.

*I still don't think there's anything wrong with it though. Just not for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Always shower after a workshop, am like sweaty betty after a work out so have to- have the baby in a drop in centre so have limited time and work out like a mad woman- not a pretty sight. Have private showers in my gym with hairdryers, so once managed to get the feckin sports bra off me, am grand. It's very easy to protect your feet with flip flops! De hubby goes to gym after his work and comes straight home and he's not allowed into the bed unless he showers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

For me it all depended on the gym I was going to and if i needed to do anything afterwards.

I used to predominantly train in a gym close to my gaff, so would just use the walk home as a cool down and shower at home. If i needed to go into a shop to grab anything on the way i would always shower...didn't want to be walking around folk smelling of sweat and lifting chalk.

Regarding the last point...most people in a gym, male or female, don't really train hard in my experience. You'll have a small group of people doing it right in any commercial gym but the vast majority are just under the impression they are working hard because they are not sitting on the couch.

Think it away - doesn't mean you're right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I swim after the gym thing so I would shower after that.

newbee22 wrote: »
    Yep. Pinnnnnnng! /black eye

Giselle wrote: »
    I think the hefty auld wans are great for having a go and getting stuck in.
    Oh me too, fair play to them. I wouldn't knock their effort at all. It's just more motivational, I suppose, to work out around hot girls.

WindSock wrote: »
    I swim after the gym thing so I would shower after that.
    I hate when people do this!

You're one of the ones that make the water sweaty with your sweat juices:pac: