Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Still don't know why he apologised, it's not like it'll reduce the ban or stop opposing fans throwing crap at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It's not really a good enough apology considering the severity of the situation.

Barring Suarez coming out and saying he lied, I don't think anything would be acceptable to many.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Still don't know why he apologised, it's not like it'll reduce the ban or stop opposing fans throwing crap at him.

Perhaps because it was the decent thing to do. Shame it wasn't done immediately after the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

K-9 wrote: »
    Barring Suarez coming out and saying he lied, I don't think anything would be acceptable to many.

I think an apology that came off as genuine might end it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭hadepsx

cam,
    its only severe if the FA deem it severe. lots of other cultures do not deem the word severe at all, in latino countries especially . The FA do not realise this. suarez is appologising for his own ignorence,for he did not realise the effect of the word he used, not for an apparant racist attack on evra, of which imo it is not. his grandad is black like, and he has grown up in a mixed setting, loving all people of all types. open your mind up to other cultures pls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

I think an apology that came off as genuine might end it.

Heres hoping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

hadepsx wrote: »
    cam,
    its only severe if the FA deem it severe. lots of other cultures do not deem the word severe at all, in latino countries especially . The FA do not realise this. suarez is appologising for his own ignorence,for he did not realise the effect of the word he used, not for an apparant racist attack on evra, of which imo it is not. his grandad is black like, and he has grown up in a mixed setting, loving all people of all types. open your mind up to other cultures pls.

Read the fúcking thread.

read d fookin post wasnt talkin to u

It's a discussion forum.

Every single one of those question has been asked at least twice on this thread and explained quite thoroughly.

As for the "open your mind up to other cultures pls" lol, if Suarez had have done this(since according to you it was a cultural mix up) none of this shíte would have happened.

agreed he should have had an adviser go through what can and can not be said. just like if you were to go abroad to some exotic place,u should look up whats safe to do/say. ye no to not offend the locals. unlike here where u like to offend posters

It's been proven by language experts that "Negro" is not an affectionate term in South America, especially when you're just after kicking someone "because they're black" and then proceed to pinch their skin. That argument is bollocks. Don't know where I offended you, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Lads, with all that has been said and done, I think this is a fitting to conclude the thread.
    wrote:
    LUIS SUAREZ’S mum has launched a passionate defence of her son in the wake of the Patrice Evra racism row.

Liverpool FC have decided not to appeal the Uruguayan’s eight match ban issued by the Football Association but continue to protest his innocence.

Sandra Suarez, who lives in the Uruguayan capital Montevideo, is refusing to accept her son is a racist and speaking in her homeland, admits to having concern about his welfare.

“The truth is that I laugh when they call my son racist,” she said. “Nothing could be further from the truth.

“It's a shame because it had been a perfect year for Luis.”

Suarez’s mother concedes her son does need to curb his temper at times but cannot believe the 24-year-old is a racist.

And Mrs Suarez insists the FA have been too harsh by banning him for eight matches.

“I know my son,” she added.

“I know he has to calm down a bit with things like the salute he made to rival fans. But he's no racist.

“One thing is his conduct on the pitch and another is that they accuse him of being a racist. Nothing could be further from the truth.

“I'm worried now when I see him on the pitch. I know he's going to have to look after himself.

“I'm very worried about his future. He has his whole future in front of him and there's a stain on his character. I hope this will strengthen his character and serve as a lesson.

“The FA went to town with him by banning him for eight matches.”

[URL="Read More http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-fc/liverpool-fc-news/2012/01/04/luis-suarez-s-mum-sandra-defends-liverpool-fc-striker-after-racism-row-100252-30058242/#ixzz1iXViIsiu"]Source[/URL]

Case closed.
    Fin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

DEAR MODERATOR
    please read this forum , summarise it , come to conclusion and close it
    its becoming a pain in the arse now
    there seems to be people finding a copy of the sun from the day after the match and running to post about it without reading the last few weeks of going around in circles
    i know his apology will be read and will get milage but it will just go around in circles again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

hadepsx wrote: »
    cam,

Baz2009 summed it up pretty well.

baz2009 wrote: »
    It's been proven by language experts that "Negro" is not an affectionate term in South America, especially when you're just after kicking someone "because they're black" and then proceed to pinch their skin. That argument is bollocks. Don't know where I offended you, tbh.

the same experts said it also can be a term of enderment. evra was very forgetful/selectful as to when suarez used the word, so how do you know it as fact he was kicked cos he was black.u shud work for the FA so.evra didnt even realise he 'pinched' him either til he saw it on tv.

I actually refuse to get into it with you because I know it'd piss me off to watch the argument go back around in circles. All I'll say is read the thread because your points have been picked apart already.

agreed, cos its called my opinion, yours is not law by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

On that logic the same language experts backed Suarez's evidence. The language experts came out pretty inconclusive. All the say said was that both parties evidence was pretty consistent. The FA chose the one that they believed most probable.

Suarez can say the language experts agreed with him, so can Evra.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

It's been proven by language experts that "Negro" is not an affectionate term in South America.

No it bloody well has not!

The report highlights a a few extremely rare situations where the word Negro can be used in an offensive way.

They also used cases in ****ing colombia as their bases.

They word colombia appears in the report over twice as often than the word Uruguay, that in itself is retarded.

They didn't focus on the linguistic realities of the Rio Da La Plata region at all.

The two experts used are not linguistic experts at all, they are sociological and anthropological professors respectively, neither of whom have worked in the Rio Da La Plata region, one of whom has spent his time, almost exclusively, in manchester, for the last 8 years, the other who specialist area is rural Colombia.

The findings do not prove ANYTHING, the FA are just retards and used something they didn't actually understand as the bases on which they gave their verdict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

And this thing about Suarez pinching Evra's skin and the assumption being that it's a reference to his skin colour, it could easily be assumed also that he did it as a wind up if Evra was threatening to punch him to get a reaction. The same reason he pinched Fabio's hair in the same fixture last season.

monkey9 wrote: »
    And this thing about Suarez pinching Evra's skin and the assumption being that it's a reference to his skin colour, it could easily be assumed also that he did it as a wind up if Evra was threatening to punch him to get a reaction. The same reason he pinched Fabio's hair in the same fixture last season.
    monkey you really are a <insert something here>
    so you think pinching evra to get him to punch you so he can get sent off is cool ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

cloptrop wrote: »
    monkey you really are a <insert something here>
    so you think pinching evra to get him to punch you so he can get sent off is cool ??

I'm making an assumption as to why Suarez might have pinched him on the arm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Seaneh wrote: »
    No it bloody well has not!

The report highlights a a few extremely rare situations where the word Negro can be used in an offensive way.

They also used cases in ****ing colombia as their bases.

They word colombia appears in the report over twice as often than the word Uruguay, that in itself is retarded.

They didn't focus on the linguistic realities of the Rio Da La Plata region at all.

The two experts used are not linguistic experts at all, they are sociological and anthropological professors respectively, neither of whom have worked in the Rio Da La Plata region, one of whom has spent his time, almost exclusively, in manchester, for the last 8 years, the other who specialist area is rural Colombia.

The findings do not prove ANYTHING, the FA are just retards and used something they didn't actually understand as the bases on which they gave their verdict.

I can't believe you continue to talk through your arse in here while evading one simple question.

If the linguistic experts were so inept as you say they were, then WHY DID SUAREZ AND HIS LAWYER ACCEPT THEIR EVIDENCE?

Also, the FA did not deliver the verdict. It was an INDEPENDENT commission.
    monkey9 wrote: »

Except the commission didn't make that assumption.

They said it was possible he was referring to Evra's skin coulor when pinching his skin, but could not say conclusively.

And if Suarez was pinching Evra's skin to wind him up, then maybe he should have admitted it instead of coming up with some comical excuse about ''trying to diffuse the situation''.

read the forum we have been through this he called him black , he admits this,,it doesnt matter how many times he did it , he pinched him , it doesnt matter if evra remembers it or not , now you say he pinched da silva last year
    put that with this mans past history and now you see why the best club he could get was an underperforming liverpool <why didnt city or chelsea swoop for him>
    he is trouble and liverpool are supporting him
    a liverpool of the 70s /80s wouldnt have let this run so long because they wouldnt have been afraid of loosing him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Players at chelsea and city have done far worse things than Suarez.

What a ridiculous argument to make.

Also, Seaneh, no offence, but you're talking out your hole trying to be the expert here because you speak the language, you need to read the report fully.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    you need to read the report fully.

I have, twice in the last 3 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

I have, twice in the last 3 days.
    Well then I can't understand how you aren't getting the fact that Suarez agreed with the findings of the linguistics folks, to disagree with their findings is practically saying that Suarez doesn't know what words he uses and you do.

That said, I have refrained from judgement on this until I see some kind of evidence.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Well then I can't understand how you aren't getting the fact that Suarez agreed with the findings of the linguistics folks, to disagree with their findings is practically saying that Suarez doesn't know what words he uses and you do.

That said, I have refrained from judgement on this until I see some kind of evidence.

You obviously haven't read it so.

He never agreed that it was offensive in the context he claims to have said it. He agreed that saying "por que, tu eres negro" would be offensive, but he denied ever using that sentence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

You obviously haven't read it so.

He never agreed that it was offensive in the context he claims to have said it. He agreed that saying "por que, tu eres negro" would be offensive, but he denied ever using that sentence!

Who has claimed otherwise? Everyone knows that Suarez has denied using the sentence. You're deliberately sidestepping the question asked my Doc and I.

I'll repeat again.

If the linguistic experts were so inept as you say they were, then WHY DID SUAREZ AND HIS LAWYER ACCEPT THEIR EVIDENCE?