Are Irish people fat? If so why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

supermouse wrote: »
    I think weather has a lot to do with it. I live in NZ and every hour of the day there are people out running with their dogs or power walking. That's on top of their normal team sports that they play as well as the trekking and outdoors activities that they do on the weekends.

That and our love of processed food and not being allowed leave the table until our plates piled high were empty.

There's a massive obesity crisis in NZ, especially among the Islander people and Maoris, take your blinkers off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

Leftist wrote: »
    Well done.

Walking 2-3 miles to do your shopping and dragging plastic bags back with you may not be the ideal option.

In addition to this some people actually do go out especially to walk. The facilities for this are inadequate.

Facilities to walk?

Wah wah, I can't go for a walk because there isn't a nice big park for me to walk around.

If you want to go for a walk, then walk. Stop making really pathetic excuses for not doing it.

I don't know about y'all, but I found Dublin absolutely fantastic for getting outdoors. I lived in Artane most of my life and I could walk down to St Anne's park, down to the seafront, out along the piers, cycle up aroud Howth Head, take the Dart to the Southside coast and go for walks, up Kilinney hill etc. You don't get that type of choice in a lot of cities. I can only speak for Dublin but there are no excuses. I also found it excellent for cycling in, and I really miss being able to nip into town on the bike in less than half an hour for some shopping, instead of waiting like a chump for Dublin Bus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Fat people are jolly and bring much mirth to our communities.

I say leave fat people be or we'll all be the poorer for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

reprazant wrote: »
    Facilities to walk?

Wah wah, I can't go for a walk because there isn't a nice big park for me to walk around.

If you want to go for a walk, then walk. Stop making really pathetic excuses for not doing it.

Yep, who needs nice parks and walking trails. And while we're at it lets close galleries too, this genius can just walk along a motorway looking at pictures on his mobile phone.

FFS just find a square space and walk around it turning left at each corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

More excuses for sitting on your rather large arse I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Inside every fat person is a thin person trying to get out.

(because they've just eaten one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Your really not getting the picture are you?

Why do you need a park to walk around? Why do you need a trail to get healthy?

Why cant you just walk as part of your daily life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

biko wrote: »
    Title fix because OP didn't have any sources to back up his claim of that Irish people are fat.
    23% of Irish people are obese. I think it's fair to say Irish people are fat
    No it isn't - it's fair to say 23 per cent are, if that stat is correct.

I think I mentioned it earlier in the thread that people could walk more instead of opting for their car.

but where's the harm in having better walking facitilies? better trails, better access to trails & nature walks?

I mean two people have actually taken offence to that notion. I'm amazed by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I love how some people make fun of America for it's obesity levels when the simple fact is they are actually trying to combat the problem when Ireland seems to ignore it.

In New York, anywhere selling foodstuff has to display there calorie count. Simple measures like that at least make people more aware of their calorie intake.

Blaming bad weather is no excuse, wear appropriate clothing ya fatty! :pac:

I think I mentioned it earlier in the thread that people could walk more instead of opting for their car.

but where's the harm in having better walking facitilies? better trails, better access to trails & nature walks?

I mean two people have actually taken offence to that notion. I'm amazed by that.

But we have great trails and walking facilities in Ireland

http://www.discoverireland.ie/Things-To-Do/Activities-and-Adventure/Walking-and-Hiking/Find-a-Walk

I love how some people make fun of America for it's obesity levels when the simple fact is they are actually trying to combat the problem when Ireland seems to ignore it.

In New York, anywhere selling foodstuff has to display there calorie count. Simple measures like that at least make people more aware of their calorie intake.

Blaming bad weather is no excuse, wear appropriate clothing ya fatty! :pac:

I spent some time in Mid West America recently and the fat people there were off the charts compared to Ireland. Even some of the police were really morbidly obese, like fatter than John Candy fat.

NY is an exception, you see beautiful skinny people everywhere there, it's a fashion capital, it doesn't represent the US really the same way London doesn't really represent the UK on a whole.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

You need a car to access almost all of those facilities with the exception of Howth and Greystones. Only so many times you can walk the same routes. Gets boring after the 4th.

EDIT: and they've included the royal canal :D yeah thanks tourist board. Where can I just give my wallet over to some knackers and get it over and done with.

You need a car to access almost all of those facilities with the exception of Howth and Greystones. Only so many times you can walk the same routes. Gets boring after the 4th.

Ok well I dont know anywhere offhand where all these wonderful amenities are so easy to access

You're not familiar with european transport systems? Should check that out.

Offence? Where? You're obviously just looking for an argument for the sake of it - you could try to be more subtle.

Oh and "knackers"? Not very leftist of you...

Yeah, and what? I never had a problem finding anywhere to walk to or cycle to in Dublin. What are you getting at? Are you saying there's nowhere to walk or cycle in Dublin?

but where's the harm in having better walking facitilies?

Walking facilities? Like footpaths?

WTF?

I get a grand old laugh out of AH but today it's actually annoying me.

Well what do you want? Do you want your exercise facilities handed to you on a plate? The pub tran in Ireland is pretty bad yeah, but build a bridge for God's sake, or stay at home being obese, whatever, stop moaning!

I'd wager his home is under a bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

"Leftist" me arse. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Good points well made. Although the high-cardio exercise is almost neccesary in order to keep your weight down. That is not natural imo.

IT has to be the food and bread.

Also just lack of regular walking.

Everyone takes taxis. You leave a city and people start getting very round. No walking at all.

Not really, a very sedentary lifestyle is not natural at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

ICANN wrote: »
    True, eating a loaf of bread a day will make you fat, eating a slice of bread a day will not.
    My quota is 2-3 slices a day :) A few years ago I could eat half a slice pan for supper :eek: I was 3 stone overweight back to normal now.

Well what do you want? Do you want your exercise facilities handed to you on a plate? The pub tran in Ireland is pretty bad yeah, but build a bridge for God's sake, or stay at home being obese, whatever, stop moaning!

I'm sorry what? we can't complain about the public transport because it's... moaning? Can't we complain about the government or healthcare?

Or is that just moaning? awful post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

I'm no skinny minnie but what I have found to try to keep things under control the following helps

1. Get a dog, you have to walk them everyday, come hail, rain or shine. We get out so much more than we used to, up the mountains, Dun Laoghaire Pier, the strand, and yes on normal days, around the housing estate.
    2. Cook your own food, from scratch. I have to as tinned sauces and stuff give me heartburn. That way you know what you are eating.
    3. Reduce your portion sizes. I don't need the same amount of food as my hubbie.
    4. Don't be afraid to leave stuff on the plate. Again the dog works here as you can give it some leftovers. But remember to reduce the real food then to compensate, you don't want an obese dog :D
    5. Eat a little of everything, including bread and chocolate.
    6. Only eat what you truly actually like. It's amazing how many of us love that first five or six hot vinegarry chips from the chipper, but then you know what by the end of the bag we don't enjoy them as much. So maybe share a bag rather.
    7. Chocolate and crisps are NOT food groups and we don't need 5 a day. A nice choccie or two after dinner is so yummy and more appreciated than a bar at lunch time, another on the way home, and maybe one in front of the TV
    8. Be aware but not obsessed with calories. I love real butter, real mayonaise etc. and prefer to have less than substitute for low calorie alternatives.
    9. Stay away from diet foods, they are filled with chemicals and sugar and make a complete mess of your body.

The reason why we have the obesity epidemic I think is
    • Education or lack of, including how to cook. Every kid should have to do Home Ec to Junior Cert.
    • Lack of exercise
    • The Diet Industry. Dieting is damaging, you mess with your metabolism and then put on more weight.
    • Our body obsessed culture, encouraging kids to diet, feeding on the point above.

I know I qualify as obese even with all this, I'm a healthy size 14 at 5' 7" and I would like to drop a size, but I am happy, my doctor is happy, I look and feel attractive most of the time, and my hubbie adores me. I am down from a size 16 and I think if I keep on with this thinking I'll get to 12 before Easter. Without following the guidelines above I would be far bigger.

Here's to a happy and healthy 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

People won't even bother take the stairs if there is a lift, to increase their general movement. We're doomed.
    Without having to leave the house there are loads of body weight cardio type exercise program type things out there - Bas Ruttens MMA workouts being my personal hell.

I blame a lack of education both at school and at home.

In school if children don't make a team PE is limited. No education about exercise, the types or benefits.

Most people don't know how to cook properly, the amount of lads I lived with over the years in college and it was rare I'd meet someone who could cook a decent meal.

And the food pyramid is balls, although I believe there has been some movement on this.

First they came for the socialists...

I'm sorry what? we can't complain about the public transport because it's... moaning? Can't we complain about the government or healthcare?

Or is that just moaning? awful post.

You can, but I would never bring public transport into an argument about obesity - surely lack of public transport should lead to less obesity as you'd have to walk/cycle more?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Well in my year there are no more than 4 or 5 obese students out of 80 students. Then Id say there are about 10 students who are overweight but nowhere near being obese. Id say there are far more underweight students in my year/school than overweight students.I dont know maybe my school is just skinny? But i dont really see very many obese people on the street, ye a lot of overweight people especially more middle aged people but not many obese people, I think the 23% are obese figure is ott. If I was to guess Id say 3-5% of 1-12 y/o are obese and 5-10% overweight. 5-9% obese 15-18 y/o are obese and 10-15% overweight. 10-13% of 18-29 y/o obese and 20%overweight. then 15-20% of 30-60+ y/o are obese and 35-45% are overweight. Ill admit A LOT infact most of my friends mothers and fathers are definitely overweight but not many are obese, I think not many irish young people are fat as most play atleast one or two sports and play a few times a week, I think the fatness comes in around middle age or a bit younger.