Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭eigrod

Liverpool really are becoming some sort of PR joke at this stage. Every journalist and former footballer I've seen comment on the statements has said they're really making fools of themselves.

Like anyone gives a **** what they think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

The FA found out because Evra openly admitted saying it from the start despite Surarez never hearing it.

Nope again.

The evidence was put to Evra .

Why would Evra admit to just saying "**** me" to himself ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Again shows a lack of class imo

Doesnt make either the club or the player look any better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

eigrod wrote: »
    Like anyone gives a **** what they think?

I think more of their opinion that most posters on here. In fairness the journalists and former footballers do not have their keyboard to hide behind. They cannot claim to be experts in a field in which they know nothing.

Off to hide behind keyboard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

gerryo777 wrote: »
    This is a stupid thread anyway.
    There's not too many on here really give a s**t about racism in the game.
    It's all been about united fans having a go at the Liverpool fans and visa-versa.
    I reckon this one should be locked now!!

Don't agree - I think it's been an excellent thread; plenty of poor posts but enough people posting sense to make it a worthwhile read.

As to closing the thread - Liverpool and Suarez have just issued their statements. Surely it should be left open to discuss these in more depth ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

This is a stupid thread anyway.
    There's not too many on here really give a s**t about racism in the game.
    It's all been about united fans having a go at the Liverpool fans and visa-versa.
    I reckon this one should be locked now!!
    Bull****.From your posts you don't seem to think there's any issue with him referencing his skin colour in an argument.
    Believe it or not most normal people do think it's an issue.

Liverpool really are becoming some sort of PR joke at this stage. Every journalist and former footballer I've seen comment on the statements has said they're really making fools of themselves.

Is agree. For a club that used to command respect and do it's off the pitch business with the utmost dignity, it has been a long slide to this incendiary Bull**** for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

greendom wrote: »
    Don't agree - I think it's been an excellent thread; plenty of poor posts but enough people posting sense to make it a worthwhile read.

As to closing the thread - Liverpool and Suarez have just issued their statements. Surely it should be left open to discuss these in more depth ?

If Suarez had been found innocent he'd be demanding it be left open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Bizarre statement, right decision.

Now let's put this ****e behind us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I think most former footballers on TV regularly make fools of themselves, Sky's coverage has showed us this on plenty of ocassions.

As for football journalists, I wouldn't read what they have to say tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Simple question for you, what colour is evra?
    Yourself and eagle_eye should get together sometime, ye'd make great friends.

Also, sometime you should go out on the street, find the biggest "black" person you can find and start saying some of the stuff Suarez said to Evra. Thats is, of course, perfectly acceptable, isn't it?

Liverpool FC, and particularly Suarez should be absolutely ashamed of themselves. Outrageous behaviour altogether. I've actually gained a lot of respect for Evra during the past week. No one should have to put up with what was said to him, and then not even to get an apology despite one of the biggest associations in world football finding and publishing exactly what was said is just shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

A friend of mine read the entire 115 page document from start to finish as he has been bed ridden for the last few days. He is a spurs fan and actually has little love for United or Liverpool (part of the "sky sports 4" in his view).

He thinks that its a very straightforward case and is for once impressed with how the independent comission, through the FA, came to a very rational and clear conclusion based on
    • the clear and consistant information provided by Evra
    • Information that was confirmed by fellow players, manager and Ref - ie what Evra said was exactly what happened.
    • He didnt call Suarez a racist he clearly stated that he didnt understand what he was saying and thought that Negro meant N"""""
    • Liverpool and Suarezs inconsistant story of events
    • Liverpool players (think it was Kuyt and somebody else) changing of their statement of events.
    • Liverpool changing their story and making up stuff like Evra getting pinched by Suarez and taking it upon himself to MAKE this all up. Even after Suarez admitted to saying Negro. the phrase has also been translated and in this context could not be considered to be an affectionate use of the term.

In truth, the Liverpool defence of Suarez was more to do with his importance to the team, as opposed to his innocence in this affair. I think they need Suarez to get CL and their choice of time to start the ban to include 4-5 cup games is perfect. Suarez will only miss a city game they were prob going to lose anyways and will miss a couple of handy league games, back in time for Spurs and United.

Nobody from United, including Evra, called Suarez racist, that was Liverpool that brought it up. Suarez might not be a racist person, but what he did was use racist insults to try and upset a player. Most players will use tactics to do the same thing (Zidane v Materrazi anyone?!) but Suarez chose the wrong subject that is simply unnaceptable in the game. I believe it was proven that the manner and context in which Suarez used Negro would not be considered acceptable in South America (again contrary to Liverpool propaganda).

For the Liverpool fans still clinging onto the last straw that somehow their club, manager and players acted in a remotely acceptable manner befitting a respectable club, there isnt much point in debating this with you anymore. Its clear from this case that Liverpool acted in a dispicable manner looking to make up stories and indeed foul the name of the sinned against party simply to protect their own interests.

Fair play to the FA for calling Liverpools bluff (ie Kenny "if there is so much evidence why dont the FA publish it?"). While the rest of us can see exactly how obvious the tactics of the Liverpool camp were to obstruct the comission, we might aswell leave the fans of the accused making up excuses and clutching at straws for some sort of comfort. Was it proven beyond reasonable doubt ? Not exactly, but the evidence couldnt paint a clearer picture of the actions of Liverpool FC.

Jamie Redknapp just on Sky "I dont think Liverpool really had a case". At last some Liverpool pundits can actually see the forrest from the trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

mixednuts wrote: »
    Nope again.

From the report
    87. Mr Evra and Mr Suarez are agreed that they spoke to each other in Spanish in the
    goalmouth. Mr Evra said that he is not exactly fluent in Spanish but that he can easily
    converse in Spanish. For Mr Suarez, Spanish is his native language as a Uruguayan. Mr
    Evra told us that he began the conversation by saying "Concha de tu hermana".
    Mr Evra's
    evidence was that this is a phrase used in Spanish like when you say "****ing hell" in

Seriously, read the report thoroughly before making statements will you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Nope again.

For all your arguing have you even read the report!

Thanks to clubberlang12 for finding the relevant section...didn't want to have to troll through it again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Blatter wrote: »
    Basically the statement reads:

''We will not be appealing Luis Suarez' 8 game ban because we have no grounds to do so, as the FA's report is watertight and the charge was proven against the player.

Due to the way in which we unanimously protested Luis' total innocence from day one, without possession of all the facts, we now have to stick to our guns and still maintain that Luis Suarez is innocent. We do this despite the fact that he is actually guilty. If we were to backtrack now, we would lose even more credibility''

Signed,

LFC

Does'nt read like that at all, not even a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I'd be embarrassed to be a part of LFC over the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Just when i thought LFC coundnt handle this situation any worse

One quick look at any news sight shows they really dont get it. Even the liverpool supporting journos seem embarrased. Time to put the shovel away lads your embarrasing yourselsf and your club

My only thought is that they are playing up to their supporters who love to get behind a cause where they feel a club has been wronged ( most time previously they have been wronged by the way )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,022 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

So basically the Liverpool statement read that while they still supported Suarez, they weren't appealing because it was for the greater good of the anti-racism campaign that they accept the charges.

Isn't that in complete contradiction to what they were doing from the very beginning, in which time they've caused a lot of damage to the anti-racism campaign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Just when i thought LFC coundnt handle this situation any worse

Well, they could have handled it much worse.

From the report

Seriously, read the report thoroughly before making statements will you.

Do me a favour I can't cut and paste from phone

Will you quote the bit about the translation and video evidence of " your sisters pussy "

Ta

Keno 92 wrote: »

Your not so no harm done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Keno 92 wrote: »

You can only be embarrassed if you know that you have done something wrong.

Liverpool dug a hole of lies and went too far to dig themselves out of it.

The FA called their bluff and released information that shows the club up in a very poor light. Liverpool FC have not refuted the information disclosed which can only mean its fairly accurate to how events unfolded. Then they have the cheek to say that the FA has tarnished their name because they released information highlighting the awful way in which Liverpool and their staff tried to lie their way through this affair.

The first thing that Liverpool have done to grasp some semblence of respect out of this is to try and draw a line under it. The club, the manager, the players were wrong and acted in a manner that should not be encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Do me a favour I can't cut and paste from phone

Will you quote the bit about the translation and video evidence of " your sisters pussy "

Ta

No problem,

From the report.................again
    but the literal translation is "your sister's pussy". Mr Suarez did not hear Mr Evra
    say this. One of the video clips that we have seen, taken from a close up angle behind the
    goal, does appear to support Mr Evra's evidence that he started the conversation with this
    comment

Once again, states that Evra admitted to the saying of his own accord. FA used video evidence to see if Evra did in fact say it or something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

I have not posted about the report yet as I wanted to read the whole thing entirely before commenting. I read through the last 10 odd pages in here and it is very clear to me that very few have actually read the report.
    The evidence against Suarez was fairly concrete but I believe, only for his own admission, he could have gotten away with it.
    Liverpool's actions have been quite bizarre, between the statements and the pro- Suarez t-shirts.
    If LFC want to redeem themselves some bit I reckon an apology to Evra because of the content of the first statement would be a great start. Also they should contemplate wearing Anti-Racism t-shirts before their next home game. As maybe a mark of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭eigrod

Your not so no harm done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,658 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I love when people say they have read the report when they clearly haven't and the it gets lmfao Worthy.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

killwill wrote: »
    I have not posted about the report yet as I wanted to read the whole thing entirely before commenting. I read through the last 10 odd pages in here and it is very clear to me that very few have actually read the report.
    The evidence against Suarez was fairly concrete but I believe, only for his own admission, he could have gotten away with it.
    Liverpool's actions have been quite bizarre, between the statements and the pro- Suarez t-shirts.
    If LFC want to redeem themselves some bit I reckon an apology to Evra because of the content of the first statement would be a great start. Also they should contemplate wearing Anti-Racism t-shirts before their next home game. As maybe a mark of respect.

I have my doubts about Suarez explanation of events but there is actually no evidence that substantiate's Evra's testimony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

digging_a_hole.jpg

Keep goin' with those statements, Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,022 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I am very upset by all the things which have been said during the last few weeks about me, all of them being very far from the truth. But above all, I'm very upset at feeling so powerless whilst being accused of something which I did not, nor would not, ever do.

In my country, 'negro' is a word we use commonly, a word which doesn't show any lack of respect and is even less so a form of racist abuse. Based on this, everything which has been said so far is totally false.

That would be all very well Luis if you weren't found to have said this..."I don't speak to blacks"

Classless statement. Liverpool has to be the laughing stock of world football at this time. Trying to portray him as some kind of martyr being punished by the cruel, cruel football association. Laughable.

If you thoroughly believed you were not guilty, you would do everything in your power to fight the charge. I'd want to clear my name and prove that my statement we true and I truely don't look the scummy bastard that would racially abuse someone over a game of football.

I find his statement where he says, he was thought 'manners' and 'respect' at his home. This is the man who bites players and has been a piece of ****e in some of his antics across world football. Better head home during you ban there Luis and get a recap.

Looking forward to greeting you at OT. You may possibly, get a boo or two.:)