Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who at fault reversing out of car park space and car hits rear side of my car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 marylou123

she only gave them when security explained that the gardai would make her do it anyway give them if we waited for them. But she then said she didn't want to go through insurance or whether her husband even wanted to claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

What's the story with right of way if this happened in a car park so?

RoverJames wrote: »

Should have mentioned that to the Garda at the time really I would think :)

Sure the gardai shouldn't even be called if noone is injured :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭berrypendel

MYOB wrote: »
    She had no obligation to give way, and hence her speed is irrelevant.
    should she not be driving at a speed where she could stop in the distance she could see to be clear?

Sure the gardai shouldn't even be called if noone is injured :confused:

Not the case, if no one is injured they don't have to be called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,009 ✭✭✭✭L1011

should she not be driving at a speed where she could stop in the distance she could see to be clear?

The way was clear until the OP reversed in to her.

My undestanding is the op says she drove into him/her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭cala

if the guards were completeing a reversing manouevre and in the centre of the road. and they were hit from behind would they admit liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

marylou123 wrote: »
    she only gave them when security explained that the gardai would make her do it anyway give them if we waited for them. But she then said she didn't want to go through insurance or whether her husband even wanted to claim.
    If you haven't already done so, you need to inform your insurance company immediately. It does sound possible that she's uninsured, a quick call to her insurance company will clarify that. If it turns out that that's the case then inform the Gardaí. Either way you're 100% liable - you must yield to traffic when reversing. Don't take this the wrong way, but if you never even saw her then you clearly need to work on your observation skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,009 ✭✭✭✭L1011

My undestanding is the op says she drove into him/her

The OP reversed in to them, whatever they may want to convince themselves of.
    cala wrote: »
    if the guards were completeing a reversing manouevre and in the centre of the road. and they were hit from behind would they admit liability.

Yes. Gardai do have at-fault accidents too.

cala wrote: »
    Doesn't matter - unless they were prepared to lie about it in court they'd be liable. Nobody can expect to reverse out of a parking space into the path of oncoming traffic and not be liable.

The OP reversed in to them, whatever they may want to convince themselves of.

Think it might be best to word it that the OP reversed out in front of the other driver. For the pedants :)

And to add, I still don't understand how people can't grasp the whole stopping distance v someone pulling out in front of you thing.

Anan1 wrote: »
    a quick call to her insurance company will clarify that. .
    will they tell that, what about data protection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,823 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It was in a car park and she did just come from around a corner when i asked did she not see me she said she honked which she didn't but still kept driving. when security came to the scene they seen where cars were parked and pulled me aside and said she pulling a fast one that it looked like she wasn't watching where she was going as she was refusing to give me her insurance details

Doesn't the fact that they were in a car park make a difference? Surely you would expect to find people pulling in and out of spaces, either reversing or forwards, you also have people wandering around, and there is supposed to be a speed limit. If someone could come round a corner and drive into the side of a car reversing out, they would have done the same if she had been coming out forwards?

A bit off topic, but I have often wondered who is at fault if two people reverse out of opposite spaces and back into each other.

looksee wrote: »
    .......... If someone could come round a corner and drive into the side of a car reversing out, they would have done the same if she had been coming out forwards? ..............

... or if it was a parent with a pram, or a child etc etc.
    This right of way lark isn't a carte blance to plough your way through whatever appears in your way.

The OP claims to have backed out from the other side of the road slowly and also crossed the line dividing sides of the road. If the other drover didn't notice this and stop they mustn't have been very observant, of course, as mentioned neither was the OP.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This won't help Op's situation but why not reverse into parking spaces?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

looksee wrote: »
    ... A bit off topic, but I have often wondered who is at fault if two people reverse out of opposite spaces and back into each other.
    50/50, with my ears still ringing from all that shouting at the start. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Fwiw, I always try to reverse in, but if the buggy is needed out of the boot it's not always practical to reverse in, depending on the car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

Now of course if the OP had completed (part of) their reverse manoeuvre and were therefore stationary..... and A.N. Other then came round the corner (too) fast... I’d like to see any CCTV before I jumped to a conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

This is completely wrong, and quite frankly I'm worried if you've completed a driving test.

Id be worried about a driver that drives blindly into the side of a car partly blocking the road beside car parking spaces while this car is trying to reverse out, regardless of the driver out on the road having the right of way. All assuming the OP version is correct, and they didnt just quickly reverse out.

As for being worried about the poster completing a driving test, its hardly a test that reliably shows a person is a good competent driver. And completing one would not be the same as passing one anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If I grasp this correctly, the reversing car was well out into the road. The other car came along and hits the side of the reversing car. If that is the situation, IMO the fact that the car is slowly reversing has little to do with the accident as if the reversing driver had actually stopped and was completely blocking the road, it would seem that this other driver would still have hit the side of the OP in a similar manner.
    I cant see this as being as clear cut as its being made out here. If the act of reversing in itself didnt cause the accident, there must be some liability on the part of a blind driver who drives into the side of a near stationary car. Unfortunately insurers may just settle as you were the reversing driver but it would appear that there is a great deal of stupidity on behalf of the other driver.

Ah come on, lads. We know that the OP never even saw the other car, and we know that the OP was still moving when they were hit. We also know that the other car was very close to being able to stop in time. I'm going to take a wild punt here and suggest that the other car expected the OP to stop at the centre line, rather than blindly reversing into their path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I WAS ALMOST OUT AND PASSED TH HALFWAY MARK ON THE ROAD AND ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CAR LANE WHEN I FELT A BUMP.
    53 posts and only 2 notice that the OP didn't see the other car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Personally I was unaware of this, my defensive course simply told me that in practice give right of way to almost anything in front of you so long as it is in your flow of traffic (ie not necessarily always yielding to people coming on from a sideroad). And that in a collission you are pretty much always at fault if you rear-end someone. But if they're reversing that's a special case eh. I like this. Usually I worry about insurance scammers trying to reverse into me at the grocery store to get a payout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It's a LOT easier to reverse back out into (what is almost always) open space than it is to reverse in-between what can be 2 or even 3 other vehicles with no more than 2ft of clearance on each of 3 sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,622 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Overheal wrote: »
    It's a LOT easier to reverse back out into (what is almost always) open space than it is to reverse in-between what can be 2 or even 3 other vehicles with no more than 2ft of clearance on each of 3 sides.

It's a lot harder to see around two parked vehicles when reversing out of a space though. I'd always find it easier to reverse into a space in tight situations like car parks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

i always reverse into all parking spaces

or

i have my car that i can drive straight out rather than reverse out of anywhere.

i think it was on boards here that someone was saying its harder for an engine to reverse when cold ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

The problem is drivers are rarely trained to reverse into parking spaces, I know a lady that had seven years of lessons, before passing her test, yet was never taught how to reverse into a space or to parallel park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

2 stroke wrote: »
    The problem is drivers are rarely trained to reverse into parking spaces, I know a lady that had seven years of lessons, before passing her test, yet was never thought how to reverse into a space or to parallel park

we could talk all week about the irish driving test being flaud - but thats for another thread !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

It's a lot harder to see around two parked vehicles when reversing out of a space though. I'd always find it easier to reverse into a space in tight situations like car parks

Exactly. The parked cars you're reversing in between are not going to magically start moving... whereas if you're reversing out of a parking space, the traffic behind you is most definitely moving.

Of course, some car parks are designed specifically for people to drive into because it's easier for most people to drive in to a diagonal space (note: easier for most, but most definitely not safer).
    I WAS EDGING OUT OF A CAR PARKING SPACE AT TWO MILES ON HOUR, I WAS ALMOST OUT AND PASSED TH HALFWAY MARK ON THE ROAD AND ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CAR LANE WHEN I FELT A BUMP.

Sorry, a bump is possibly clipping a kerb or bouncing into a pothole... NOT another car.

It sounds like both yourself and the other woman need to pay a HELL of a lot more attention when driving around car parks in future because both you and her observational skills are seriously in question in this scenario.

It sounds like either you just blindly reversed out and clipped someone because you think that everyone should stop/slow when they see you reversing, or the other woman was one of these "I'm just going to bully on by them and force them into stopping coz I can't be arsed waiting for her to reverse at 2 miles on hour [sic]" people and you didn't notice them, which meant you collided.