Anyone staying in and why???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

LighterGuy wrote: »
    On new years? sucks man.
    What type of job you got?

Work for a multi-national. And happy to have a job.

Don't mind anyway, as haven't been out on NYE for maybe 5 or 6 yrs. Got fed up with paying to get into places that I would frequent all year, or being squashed like a sardine for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

I'm staying in tonight because I'm working tomorrow morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Having a couple of beers in the local pub - just 2 or 3 - and home by 12.30. I plan to start this new year with that smug feeling that only non-hungover people have on the morning of the 1st. I'll be out on a 10k by 9am. 2012 is going to be different.....

Sure a night out would be fun (if the idiots that appear on new years eve can be avoided), but spending the 1st day of 2012 feeling like sh1t is not worth the price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

As always, my wife and I are staying at home. Our dog is ultra-sensitive to the sound of explosions and with thousands of rockets and other fireworks going off between 6 p.m. and 2 p.m. as the law permits, he is panting and trembling in the corner of the bathroom. We are drinking some good wine and watching TV to see the year change in places east of here, but it is inconceivable that we would go out and leave our little friend alone in his terror and panic. We keep going in to see how he is and pat him on the head, but all attempts at consolation are futile and I hope he makes it again this year without getting a heart attack.:(:(

The Finnish word for fireworks is ilotulitus, literally "joy firing", but there is no joy for the many little animals who suffer such terror at this time of year.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Going out and getting pissed is not worth the hangover and 2 days of anxiety. The joys of getting old. Everytime I get a nostagic thought I'm gonna slap my self and say 'Cop on Walrus'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,400 ✭✭✭✭cena

staying in cause I hate nye and I have no friends. Not heard from them all christmas. So I'm not going running after them by text them etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

If "going out" meant more than "Getting as drunk as possible in as little time as possible" i'd be all for it but unfortunately that's not how things are over here in Ireland
    Bull****. "Everyone else" does that, so you have to if you go out as well? It is what you make it.
    When I "go out" I never go to clubs, cos as you said, they're ****e. I'll go see some live music, usually enjoy no more than 4 pints, so I'm not incapacited or broke. And lo and behold, I ACTUALLY ENJOY MYSELF. The fun police don't come after me and tell me I'm "too sober to be on a night out in Ireland".
    Do what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

First time in 8 years that I wont be heading out.

Had a fair few options in Belfast, Dundalk and Dublin but I decided to stay in as I couldnt deal with the crowds, the small talk and the awkward craic with people I dont know.

Though just found out my mates from college are going to a gig kinda wish I was going with them now but too late now no more buses to Dublin to get me there in time ah well always next year. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Love fireworks frighten the life outta dogs:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Staying in, cant physically drink anymore to be honest, hit it hard the last couple of nights and im sick as a dog now!

should never of drank last night TBH, but New Years is over rated anyway, its always way to packed everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Yep, I'm staying in I think. I just don't like NYE. No real reason that I can think of. I know people say "Oh everyone will be hammered drunk and talking crap" but that's true of any Saturday night you go out...

Anyways, Happy New Years kids. :) I was watching a look back on the year thing on RTE earlier. Lots of stuff happened this year. Two elections, earthquake in NZ and tsunami in Japan, Queens visit, Stone Roses re-uniting, the Arab dawn stuff... strange, didn't seem like it was that busy at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    As always, my wife and I are staying at home. Our dog is ultra-sensitive to the sound of explosions and with thousands of rockets and other fireworks going off between 6 p.m. and 2 p.m. as the law permits, he is panting and trembling in the corner of the bathroom. We are drinking some good wine and watching TV to see the year change in places east of here, but it is inconceivable that we would go out and leave our little friend alone in his terror and panic. We keep going in to see how he is and pat him on the head, but all attempts at consolation are futile and I hope he makes it again this year without getting a heart attack.:(:(

The Finnish word for fireworks is ilotulitus, literally "joy firing", but there is no joy for the many little animals who suffer such terror at this time of year.:eek:

Put a tight T shirt on him. Worked wonders for my noise sensitive Lurcher who suffered a thousand deaths during fireworks, shots etc.

To be honest, I'm glad to see the back of Xmas and New Year. It generates exaggerated emotions and feelings.

COP ON WALRUS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Staying in because I dont like crowds of people. It gets on my nerves and cant enjoy myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Hate when pubs/clubs are far too crowded plus im also poor :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

Staying in, two children , mortgage week, actually every direct debit we have comes out this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭claire983

New Years is over exaggerated. It's all a ploy by publicans to make an extra few quid on their busiest night of the year. People use it as an excuse to get drunk.....Happy New Year, feck that, your not going to remember it in the morning when your head is hopping and your mouth is as dry as a bears ass.

Happy New Year :p

Also broke aswell, so im hating everything to do with new years this year lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Went out last night and going out tomorrow for some daytime drinks. Hate NYE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

I don't have a reason to go out.

claire983 wrote: »
    busiest night of the year

Is it though? I always thought NYE was a damp squib nowadays, that most people drink in houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

To many drunken dicks starting fights,and i'm usually one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Me, much more fun staying in letting the kids kick the shít out of me then when they go to bed break open the booze and the bag of weed watch some Match of the day.... bliss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Is it though? I always thought NYE was a damp squib nowadays, that most people drink in houses.

In Galway it most certainly isn't anyway when you consider Ladies Day at the Races. I also thought house parties and the likes would keep a good bit away from pubs/clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Staying in tonight too.

There are a few advantages to staying at home:

No need for a babysitter
    No queuing for taxis
    No queuing at the bar for drinks
    No queuing for the ladies' toilets

The children are in bed, the fridge is packed with nice things to drink, the takeaway has been ordered - Let the fun begin!!!!

I'm not going on statistics here but for majority of pubs and clubs it is their busiest night of the year.
    Alot of ppl do stay in and i can see the benefits to that, but there's also alot of ppl still going out for New Years, hence why every pub and club is gonna be jammers.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Staying in tonight too.

There are a few advantages to staying at home:

No need for a babysitter
    No queuing for taxis
    No queuing at the bar for drinks
    No queuing for the ladies' toilets

The children are in bed, the fridge is packed with nice things to drink, the takeaway has been ordered - Let the fun begin!!!!
    I like your thinking
    :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I f cuking hate this night. Next year I am seriously considering getting a few sleeping pills so I can sleep through the whole thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Think I broke my big toe so I'm contemplating going to A&E to get an x-ray. F*ck you 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Damokc

Don't mind going out NYE usually but happy enough to stay at home this year with OH and 5 week old boba:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    I f cuking hate this night. Next year I am seriously considering getting a few sleeping pills so I can sleep through the whole thing!

Cheer yourself up by watching Wonkey Donkey videos on youtube. Highly recommended.

I miss SM:TV :cool: