Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,034 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

monkey9 wrote: »
    Funny how incidents like this lead Utd fans to tell us what a great club Liverpool is. :rolleyes:

Cop on ta fook... not the most blind biased United fan in the right mind can say Liverpool is not a big club.

Again make it a united vs Liverpool thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Much better statement from Liverpool, the original one should have been the same:-

The Club can confirm that they received the written reasons from the Regulatory Commission at short notice last night on the evening of the game against Newcastle United.

The player, the Club and our legal advisors will now take the necessary amount of time to read, digest and properly consider the contents of the 115 page judgment and will make no further comment at present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

copacetic wrote: »
    Liverpool is a racist club because a group of 3 people believe what Evra says over Suarez isn't far off the mark? Good to know.

three people? For god sake man. People that are victims of racism are usually a small group with a voice that people ignore.

That is why they need to be protected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Which is them admiting that they made a balls of their last couple of statements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

K-9 wrote: »
    Yes, but it doesn't mean there isn't a shadow of a doubt as some tried to make out.
    Agreed but it's probably all the insight we will get into what went on.It just happens to paint Suarez in a bad light.
    It's a case of take it or leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Trilla wrote: »
    Cop on ta fook... not the most blind biased United fan in the right mind can say Liverpool is not a big club.

Again make it a united vs Liverpool thing.

That's exactly what it is though. Hardly anything mentioned about the Terry incident!

Thread was reopened due to new findings

John terry is mentioned in here

It's blatant what terry said as its on camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Apparently on the Terry one the FA will deal with it only if the courts uphold the charge. I know it is a strange one, if Terry is judged and found not guilty then he will not be judged for the same offence as Suarez was in the same way that Suarez was. However as nothing has come out about it and is likely to come out for a while, we have nothing we can comment on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Liverpool will probably release the follow statement:-

We Liverpool Football Club would like to make it clear that Mr.Evra is racist. Before making this statement we have went to extreme measures to gather evidence and can now supply it. It has become clear that Mr.Evra recently rented the film "White Men can't jump". In addition to renting this movie we would like to point out that it was due back two days ago.

Are LFC not on record as saying that non white people and people with relatives that are non white can't be racist? Clearly Evra cant be racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Agreed but it's probably all the insight we will get into what went on.It just happens to paint Suarez in a bad light.
    It's a case of take it or leave it.

Indeed, the FA left finding Evras previous evidence as untrustworthy out of it!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The Club can confirm that they received the written reasons from the Regulatory Commission at short notice last night on the evening of the game against Newcastle United.

The player, the Club and our legal advisors will now take the necessary amount of time to read, digest and properly consider the contents of the 115 page judgment and will make no further comment at present.

Liverpool's statement.

Life long Liverpool fan here.

Do I think Suarez is a racist from that report? No, I do not. However I do believe he did say something racist several times to get a rise out of Evra. I don't like this labelling of me, other fans & the club as racist as nothing could be further than the truth. Yes a lot of fans have be blinkered defending their player vigorously especially because it happened against United but I think it is very unfair to label everyone on the Liverpool side as scum etc for supporting their player... I can tell you all that if it was the other way around I would be 100% positive the United side would be acting similar if not identical to how Liverpool fans have defended Suarez, you can argue all day but because it's Liverpool of course you would defend your player. The reason for the reaction is because of the clubs involved.

I am by no means at all an angel when it comes to racial slurs, I don't mean them in a serious way but I've said plenty of stuff over the years far worse then all this. But as a professional footballer on a world stage whatever Suarez had said and how he has acted since the game is ****ing stupid. He did say something racial to wind Evra up let's at least not be blind enough to admit that. It makes the club look terrible now to other people as well from how they have acted. The T shirts... Jesus Christ.

It's time to take off the blinkered glasses though lads, although a good player Suarez is a **** & if you can't admit that you are all blind. You can tell with how he acts on the pitch, to away fans, his tantrums etc etc. If he played for another club he wouldn't be a player I'd like at all. There's a lot of them in football unfortunately. United have had plenty of them over the years too & have a few there now, Rooney being a perfect example.

I just wish that this could have all been put to bed from the start. How it's dragged on has made it ten times worse.

Do I think Suarez is a racist from that report? No, I do not. However I do believe he did say something racist several times to get a rise out of Evra. I don't like this labelling of me, other fans & the club as racist as nothing could be further than the truth. Yes a lot of fans have be blinkered defending their player vigorously especially because it happened against United but I think it is very unfair to label everyone on the Liverpool side as scum etc for supporting their player... I can tell you all that if it was the other way around I would be 100% positive the United side would be acting similar if not identical to how Liverpool fans have defended Suarez, you can argue all day but because it's Liverpool of course you would defend your player. The reason for the reaction is because of the clubs involved.

I am by no means at all an angel when it comes to racial slurs, I don't mean them in a serious way but I've said plenty of stuff over the years far worse then all this. But as a professional footballer on a world stage whatever Suarez had said and how he has acted since the game is ****ing stupid. He did say something racial to wind Evra up let's at least not be blind enough to admit that. It makes the club look terrible now to other people as well from how they have acted. The T shirts... Jesus Christ.

It's time to take off the blinkered glasses though lads, although a good player Suarez is a **** & if you can't admit that you are all blind. You can tell with how he acts on the pitch, to away fans, his tantrums etc etc. If he played for another club he wouldn't be a player I'd like at all. There's a lot of them in football unfortunately. United have had plenty of them over the years too & have a few there now, Rooney being a perfect example.

I just wish that this could have all been put to bed from the start. How it's dragged on has made it ten times worse.
    this is more or less spot on.

Good post kag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

J. Marston wrote: »
    Liverpool's statement.

A dignified statement and wholly appropriate. Well done Liverpool, that's a proper statement.

How this comes from the same people who released that embarrassing clusterfúck written in crayon after the suspension was announced, I won't ever know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

A dignified statement and wholly appropriate. Well done Liverpool, that's a proper statement.

How this comes from the same people who released that embarrassing clusterfúck written in crayon after the suspension was announced, I won't ever know.

i dont think the first statement would have come out of the club, if Hodgson or rafa had been in charge. could you imagine them 2 wearning t shirts for example?

dalglish has played a huge part in the pr disaster that this has been for liverpool and maybe finally they have realised this and told him to keep quiet.

had he acted with a bit of professionalism and dignity in this, like the united camp, it would not have blown into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

i'd imagine the use of the word "negro" is what hung him in the first place. Once said in this jurisdiction, its going to be construed as a racist remark. Regardless of intent.

It really is one word against the other, in fairness being a biased Liverpool fan its apparent Evra has not been punished for his own lack of credibility in terms of how many times the word was used.

And on the flipside, Luis has been penalised as lacking credibility for changing his story 3 times. Which we must admit, is actually the case. The key issue is why Evra is being treated as the more credible. The onus should be on the prosecutor to show actual evidence of offence caused, not just take his word for it.

If Suarez has admitted to use of the word "negro" then he should have no complaints, regardless of what it means in Spanish speaking countries. Its a racist term here.

This Liverpool fan defending Suarez to the hilt v Man Utd fans slating him is very tiresome and so f*cking transparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

i dont think the first statement would have come out of the club, if Hodgson or rafa had been in charge. could you imagine them 2 wearning t shirts for example?

To be honest, up until 2 weeks ago, I could never have imagined any grown man wearing a t-shirt over a suit on live television.

This racism saga may have set football back a few years, but Kenny Dalglish has set fashion back a few years too.

I think you need to take a serious look at yourself if you are making comments 10 times worse. Absolutely disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

dalglish has played a huge part in the pr disaster that this has been for liverpool and maybe finally they have realised this and told him to keep quiet.

had he acted with a bit of professionalism and dignity in this, like the united camp, it would not have blown into this.

United didn't have to act in a dignified manner at all?? They were the "victims" in this so unless Fergie came out crying and screaming at Suarez they were never going to look bad. So less of this, "we're better than ye" crack!

Liverpool were the only ones with a situation to deal with, and in fairness they did so poorly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

NickDrake wrote: »
    I think you need to take a serious look at yourself if you are making comments 10 times worse. Absolutely disgraceful
    Is this for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

To be honest, up until 2 weeks ago, I could never have imagined any grown man wearing a t-shirt over a suit on live television.

This racism saga may have set football back a few years, but Kenny Dalglish has set fashion back a few years too.

Rafa and Hodgson would of shown some decorum and tact.

What Kenny did was in very poor taste. Absolutely classless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

United didn't have to act in a dignified manner at all?? They were the "victims" in this so unless Fergie came out crying and screaming at Suarez they were never going to look bad. So less of this, "we're better than ye" crack!

Liverpool were the only one with a situation to deal with, and in fairness they did so poorly!

True, but we didn't jump behind Evra, publicly at least. There is no one better than anyone here. For ages people said wait till the report, now its there, and there's more excuses behind it. He clearly made a racist remark.

And I also hope Terry gets the same, if not worse punishment as Suarez, and surely stripped of the captaincy at least when it comes to the national side.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

10 times worse as in French does not actually mean 10 times worse.

Chong wrote: »
    Is this for real?

yes it is real. I am against any form of racism unlike some on here.

I find a person saying he made comments way worse as acceptable is absolutely disgraceful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Not so long ago Rafa was the biggest buffoon in the EPL according to rival fans, it's amazing how history is sometimes rewritten to suit an argument.

Then Kenny wore that t-shirt.

Fooking hell, Glen Johnson wore it. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Skimmed through the 100 odd pages and it seems like one side of the argument and no actual proof - maybe that will come in the next 100 pages.....hopefully.

This is what I meant in the other thread when I said that Suarez talked himself into a guilty verdict. There's no compelling evidence against him but the problem is that Suarez's accounts of what happened illicited too many inconsistencies.
    There is no compelling evidence against him? Well apart from his own admission

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Oh gtfo, you're only here stirring ****, everyone knows what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

yes it is real. I am against any form of racism unlike some on here.

I find a person saying he made comments way worse as acceptable is absolutely disgraceful

Did you even read KAGs post ? :o

Probably one of the better ones made on this thread.