Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

es-cee wrote: »
    i wish you all a happy and prosperous new year, this place has been a big influence on my life
    over the last nearly 3 years, some good, some bad, but we're all adults and can take a bitta
    stick from time to time.
    anyway, i hope every member on this site has a great new year whatever
    ya's decide to make of it. thanks for allowing me to be part of this community for so long, and
    lets hope next year brings even more of the oldskool generation to this site, with even more tunes and stories to share.

anyway, thats all peeps, all the best for the new year to you and your families,

es ;)
    Back at you Sean! have a good one! and to all the oldskool crew here!
    Have not been around much these days, up to me eyes in it.

Athbhliain faoi Mhaise Duit

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Happy new year oldskoolers, I hope 2012 is full of new old music :pac: - I've not really been looking here much of late as my head has been focusing on 2011 music only really with the year drawing to a close, one of my anorak-y things to do is spend a lot of time sifting through music from the year! Anyway, good to see lots of music flowing, threats of fights etc - all healthy & normal stuff here on boards... just wondering if the fight went ahead and what was the outcome? :pac:

Anyway, if I was somewhat younger and less considerate of my health I'd likely to have been out tonight getting fcked up and listening to the likes of this - for some reason it's one I'd love to hear out on NYE... ah the good old days :(

Slam - Intensities in Ten Cities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Mister Dread

So its nearly 2012. Does Old Skool jump up a year then? Surely 2002 is now included?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

So its nearly 2012. Does Old Skool jump up a year then? Surely 2002 is now included?

i am in no way trying to start any agro with you mate, but in my honest opinion
    oldskool is any genre from the early 80's up untill 1995. i wasn't there myself
    being that i'm 29 years of age, but real oldskool has a raw kind of sound to it
    that music from 2002 just hasn't got.
    anyway mate, i wish you a very happy new year, and hope 2012 is great for
    you and all.

es ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Mister Dread

es-cee wrote: »
    i am in no way trying to start any agro with you mate, but in my honest opinion
    oldskool is any genre from the early 80's up untill 1995. i wasn't there myself
    being that i'm 29 years of age, but real oldskool has a raw kind of sound to it
    that music from 2002 just hasn't got.
    anyway mate, i wish you a very happy new year, and hope 2012 is great for
    you and all.

es ;)

I disagree and I hope you find yourself terminally ill in 2012.

Old Skool is now from 1996-2002.

thanks mate, you really are an inspiration to all!

1996 is the bench mark (apparently) for "oldskool".
    wonder does the roid freak even know this tune
    when he's comin up like a train to absolute ****??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

dread,, ull have a poxy new year ahead, with an attitude like yours,who would have a good year ahead.

Banned.

Everyone else, please just ignore in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Back from London and even after a long sleep im still feeling a bit spaced:o

Raindance as ever was absolutely amazing, the Hammersmith Apollo is amazing for a Rave and it was pretty full, everyone well up for it, the music was as ever top notch, atmosphere amazing, i took just 1 yoke some blue thing and it blew the bleedin socks off me im seriously not able for it anymore and i done 2 dabs of MDMA and that was me i didn't even last until 6am i was fuc*ed.

I'm gonna upload videos in the coming days, massive respect to Raindance and everyone involved, im only sorry nothing in Ireland is a fraction as amazing as Raindance, you folks are seriously missing out.

#into recovery/detox mode now#

:o:D

Just seen this on FB ill upload mine soon, what a night :)

Best NYE rave in years, here are some of my videos you can see the atmosphere for yourself :)

check http://www.youtube.com/user/jonny68

for the rest cant be arsed posting them all :D

Oh yeah the production was absolutely immense serious amount of work put into it and the dancers were :eek: stunning, the breakdancers too were amazing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

jonnny68 wrote: »

check http://www.youtube.com/user/jonny68

for the rest cant be arsed posting them all :D

Don't get that real oldskool feeling to these videos jonny.Feels very commercial

aceberg wrote: »
    Don't get that real oldskool feeling to these videos jonny.Feels very commercial

Commercial :D don't be fooled mate just because some of the vids i took are well known tunage doesn't mean the whole thing is commercial, lots and lots of underground Hardcore and Acid House was rinsed out alongside Jungle and some Techno.

Raindance remain the kings of Rave scene IMO:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

any1 no the name of that 1st track from house pressure 10,,, the vocals i do you,,you do me ?? lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

any1 no the name of that 1st track from house pressure 10,,, the vocals i do you,,you do me ?? lol

http://www.discogs.com/Rollo-Goes-Mystic-Love-Love-Love-Here-I-Come-Remixes/release/505768

b side mix.

Thaught we had the tracklist for house pressure 10 done no?

i thought so myself,,few on the old thread,,,are you sure its the b side man i cant find a link on utube/net anywer??

yeah its deffo the "Pretty Mix", i remember cause i spent ages trying to find the right mix of it myself.

i'll get a tracky sorted for the mix so

This is what i have.I think 1 r 2 of the other's have been id'd since i just have'nt updated my tracklist.

Pressure - House Pressure 10

Side A:

1.Rollo Goes Mystic - Love,LoveLove (Here I Come) (Pretty Mix)
    2.Donna Summer - I Feel Love (Rollo & Sister Bliss Monster Mix)
    3.Faithless - Salva Mea (Sister Bliss Mix)
    4.Grace - I Want To Live (Rollo & Sister Bliss Big Vocal Mix)
    5.Mothers Pride - Floribunda
    6.First Life - The Feeling The Day After
    7.Mark Morrison - Let's Get Down (Matt Darey House Mix)
    8.Blair - Have Fun, Go Mad! (Pumped Up House Mix)

Side B:

1.Justin Garret - There Must Be Music
    2.Flipped Out - Love Bomb
    3.Jimmy Sommerville - By Your Side (Shinning Mix)
    4.Felix - Don't You Want Me (Candy Girls Remix)
    5.Shimmon & Wolfson - Stack The Galli (Tony De Vit Mix)
    6.Rockford Files - The Bone
    7.D.O.P - Manifest Your Love
    8.Wild Colours - Dreams (Tin Tin Out Instrumental)

Just added 2b ther great track.

This is what i have.I think 1 r 2 of the other's have been id'd since i just have'nt updated my tracklist.

Pressure - House Pressure 10

Side A:

1.Rollo Goes Mystic - Love,LoveLove (Here I Come) (Pretty Mix)
    2.Donna Summer - I Feel Love (Rollo & Sister Bliss Monster Mix)
    3.Faithless - Salva Mea (Sister Bliss Mix)
    4.Grace - I Want To Live (Rollo & Sister Bliss Big Vocal Mix)
    5.Mothers Pride - Floribunda
    6.First Life - The Feeling The Day After
    7.???
    8???

Side B:

1.Justin Garret - There Must Be Music
    2.Flipped Out - Love Bomb
    3.Jimmy Sommerville - By Your Side (Shinning Mix)
    4.Felix - Don't You Want Me (Candy Girls Remix)
    5.Shimmon & Wolfson - Stack The Galli (Tony De Vit Mix)
    6.Rockford Files - The Bone
    7.D.O.P - Manifest Your Love
    8.Wild Colours - Dreams (Tin Tin Out Instrumental)

Just added 2b ther great track.

Yeah thats its ace. the last 2 on side A are

&

so thats another complete then. :)

Yeah "Love Bomb" is a cracker alright can't beat it.

heres a cracker that was on hp5.

that mix isnt on youtube, but you can download a 128 here http://www.mrtzcmp3.net/Rollo_Goes_Mystic_Love__Love__Love___Here_I_Come__Pretty_Mix__1s.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

:D at 1:2(3)4 ..... "Death of the Podgy dancer" lol

stupid thing wont let me download it keeps comin up as popup advertisement lol

Same here :mad: all it leads to is this http://www.binverse.com/

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Same here :mad: all it leads to is this http://www.binverse.com/

only thing you could do is rip the audio from the page using orbit+ or similar software mite do the trick;)

HERE IT IS SOUNDS GOOD FOR A 128KPS LOL :D

http://www43.zippyshare.com/v/28517749/file.html

ANY1 HAVE A 320KPS RIP CANT EVEN FIND A DECENT RIP ON THE NET FOR LOVE NOR MONEY :mad: ,,,

D.M.B. - If We Lose Our Lovin (Razors Edge V Disco Volante Dub)

tdv123 wrote: »
    Yeah thats its ace. the last 2 on side A are

&

so thats another complete then. :)

Yeah "Love Bomb" is a cracker alright can't beat it.

Ah yes Mark Morrison - Let's Get Down (Matt Darey House Mix) u told me that b4.The other i never heard b4 nice 1.

tdv123 wrote: »
    heres a cracker that was on hp5.

Yeah got that 1 another good 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭SIBERIA

Why the fook did the close they asylum thread D:

..Anyway can anyone ID this track would be much appreciated
    trackid.mp3

SIBERIA wrote: »
    Why the fook did the close they asylum thread D:

..Anyway can anyone ID this track would be much appreciated
    trackid.mp3

Quality track

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭SIBERIA

nice one for that man, can we meet up? i want to ride ye :pac::D:cool:

id hospitalize ye if ya said that to me,,

:D:D:D you fillin in for dread mac???

ha no not at all,some1 says that to ya tho, ud feel like killin them

Yeah but you've never met Siberia, lovely looking bird she is.

that would be an ecumenical matter ha

i dont think so tho,unless she likes street fighter,herm/shim has avatar of vega if i had all the money i wacked into this machine id be very rich,,

:DHahaha ffs , ah Mac deadly vid, I used to love the original (hated the fookin blisters though :()

But my BIG money drainer bitd was this baby in the old Peirrot Club (think its Zanzibar now) ...

was a deadly spot for mitching lol and Saturday mornings/afternoons.

....it's mad when ya think about the links now, used to go to town years ago breakdancing :o ....got to know a few of the breakers n skateboarders around the Central bank (before the cages went up) then used to hang out in the Peirrot club with a few of them,got to know lads there that we'd meet up with in Apple Annies,then it was hanging round town Abbey Mall listening to the lads testing thier new records,got into the music buzz,time rolling on,then it was meeting up with peeps in La Mirage (we all know what became of that place :D reason we're here today).... before a year or so's hiatus of local pub n night club with sporadic trips to town for meet ups in the Olympic (shup Es lol) and G1 ....... before revisiting the above mentioned La Mirage in its new guise ....and the rest as they say is history!

p.s. alot more skin n fat left of them bones but cant be arsed waffling on at this hour....work in a few hours.

btw Hope yis all had a belter xmas n new years, here's to a great 2012 for all.

p.p.s. ......anyone know how the Altern8 gig went in the TP? :p

mortal kombat was another fav of mine bitd, along with the street fighter games, talk about wasted money :D

just in case anyone wants to check it out (even tho its not oldskool :D) i'll post it up, pretty decent selection of fresh house tunage, that i have on here atm, and really enjoying the selection i must add.

http://soundcloud.com/keno-flanagan/keno-and-silver-podcast-jan

just listening to this set again, absolutely brilliant.

mixing is tight as fook, and the tune selection is killer!!!

top set, well worth checkin out ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

EarlERizer wrote: »
    :DHahaha ffs , ah Mac deadly vid, I used to love the original (hated the fookin blisters though :()

But my BIG money drainer bitd was this baby in the old Peirrot Club (think its Zanzibar now) ...

was a deadly spot for mitching lol and Saturday mornings/afternoons.

....it's mad when ya think about the links now, used to go to town years ago breakdancing :o ....got to know a few of the breakers n skateboarders around the Central bank (before the cages went up) then used to hang out in the Peirrot club with a few of them,got to know lads there that we'd meet up with in Apple Annies,then it was hanging round town Abbey Mall listening to the lads testing thier new records,got into the music buzz,time rolling on,then it was meeting up with peeps in La Mirage (we all know what became of that place :D reason we're here today).... before a year or so's hiatus of local pub n night club with sporadic trips to town for meet ups in the Olympic (shup Es lol) and G1 ....... before revisiting the above mentioned La Mirage in its new guise ....and the rest as they say is history!

p.s. alot more skin n fat left of them bones but cant be arsed waffling on at this hour....work in a few hours.

btw Hope yis all had a belter xmas n new years, here's to a great 2012 for all.

p.p.s. ......anyone know how the Altern8 gig went in the TP? :p

Ha ha great story, I'm sure I freqented that Peirrot spot during my mis spent youth:D Break dancing was fairly big round my way in the hay day. Estates from around came down to Kilnamanagh to 'battle' it out in the school grounds, needless to say the home team always won:D whilst listening th these..

R-14661-1201447154.jpeg
    R-14661-1201447179.jpeg