Worst day ever experiences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

My worse day ever was when I got a call to tell me both my parents had been killed in a car accident. That was 6 years ago. Nothing comes close. Believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭neiphin

44leto wrote: »
    You were in a minor car incident, you weren't hurt and you hurt nobody else and you incurred 2 grand in damage.

You were darn lucky. You seem to be a young man and I can tell you with absolute confidence, you will experience much much worse. Its called life.
    he dosent say anywhere that he caused 2k in damage
    car hardly worth that after it was driven out of garage forecourt day 1

good question from someone there, why did you call the feds ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

I had to laugh at a Dubliners interview on TV.. They were talking about Luke Kellys legendary drinking.. Well one night he was involved in a car crash - he put his car through a ditch and ended up in hospital.

The investigate Guard asked him "Now Mr Kelly, was there drink involved?".

To which Luke replies "Of course there was, do you think I'm a fucking stunt man?".

just to keep the record straight it was Ronnie Drew not Luke Kelly

both were classic thanks for the fond memories lads

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Dubchild

I saw that the other night, it was Ronnie Drew who said it alright, gas man. Great show with good ol gaybo byrne interviewing them as it's the Dubliners 50th anniversary of playing great music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭Keith186

mattjack wrote: »
    In d'Army a few years ago an FCA MP lost his balance and fell over while walking towards me carrying a Gustav SMG .I had a sh'ite hemorrhage .

I'd say this guy did too! Don't know how he kept calm after that!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/hP_PfhpIlrE&quot; frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

EDIT: I can't edit in the youtube thingy :( help! hP_PfhpIlrE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

My worse day ever was when I got a call to tell me both my parents had been killed in a car accident. That was 6 years ago. Nothing comes close. Believe me.

Jesus Christ. That's beyond awful.

I've said it before, but phone calls in the middle of the night are always harbingers of 'Worst Day Ever'. Only had the one, but that's more than enough (and nothing compared to your experience).

Jesus Christ. That's beyond awful.

I've said it before, but phone calls in the middle of the night are always harbingers of 'Worst Day Ever'. Only had the one, but that's more than enough (and nothing compared to your experience).

Thank you.
    The worst thing about it was that the drunk driver that killed my parents walked away from the accident with minor cuts and bruises. I actually thought the call was some sort of sick joke to begin with, I could not believe what I was hearing could be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭xxlauraxxox

oh im so sorry to hear that is sad im very lucky to be alive after been hit by a drunk driver 2years ago i have subsided serious injuries crushed discs in my back etc but i always see it as thank god i walked from it RIP to your mom and dad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

I crashed a light aircraft and gave myself a compression fracture of my T5 disc, in 2000. Closest I ever came to death. Shook like a wet dog once I got out of the wreck.
    Had two minor car crashs since and they were easier, mentally, to deal with.

regards
    Stovepipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

In 1997 my fathers health started to go downhill. He was in and out of hospital for a the next couple of years. Then around Christmas 1999 he got sick again and there was no sign of him recovering. On New Years Eve 1999 my mother called the doctor. The doctor informed my family that my father wasn't going to last much longer. So that night I could hear loud drunk people outside my house celebrating the new year and all the while I knew my father was dying.

He died on the fourth of January. Getting the news he was going to die was worse than him dying though. When his heart finally gave out that was just a formality really as he hadn't been conscious for a few days beforehand.

So yeah, New Years Eve 1999.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Watching a person I slightly knew but was comfortable in their familiarity every Sunday die in a bus crash. The physical bumps and bruising were only sore for a week but the mental bumps and bruising took FAR longer to heal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I had to laugh at a Dubliners interview on TV.. They were talking about Luke Kellys legendary drinking.. Well one night he was involved in a car crash - he put his car through a ditch and ended up in hospital.

The investigate Guard asked him "Now Mr Kelly, was there drink involved?".

To which Luke replies "Of course there was, do you think I'm a fucking stunt man?".

Legendary drinking?

Please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I can't start to imagine how horrific that was for you, hope your doing ok at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Some pretty bad days being described here - worse than I have had anyway. I can't help feeling something awful is round the corner for me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

44leto wrote: »
    You were in a minor car incident, you weren't hurt and you hurt nobody else and you incurred 2 grand in damage.

You were darn lucky. You seem to be a young man and I can tell you with absolute confidence, you will experience much much worse. Its called life.

This.

He should man the **** up and grow a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

what I don't understand is....no one else was involved in the crash, why did you ring the guards ? :confused: Ofc they didn't bother taking your name etc since there was no issue unless you were in the way of traffic or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Opening threads like these is risky....

You open it for a look expecting a good story or two, maybe a good joke, and then you come across the actual worse whatever stories.

Feels bad man....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

The doctors telling us that it wasn't tonsillitis, my boyfriend’s 9 year old daughter had leukaemia. That was horrific, she was there though so we had to hold it together, until I excused myself and collapsed into a puddle of tears outside Our Lady's. So yeah well done OP on starting this wonderful thread of horrific memories.

She's in remission now :)

I can't start to imagine how horrific that was for you, hope your doing ok at the moment.

Thank you.
    One never really gets over it to be honest with you. I had 3 years of bereavement counselling which helped me. My grief cost me a 7 year relationship I had with my ex-girlfriend though. Its only in the last 3 years that I have been able to move on with my life and feel back to normal. Shortly after my parents were killed, I graduated with a Masters degree. It sounds strange now, but it was one of the hardest days to have no family, as they would have been so proud of me. People kept asking why my parents hadn't turned up to see me graduate? It was hard to keep telling people what had happened over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Thank you.
    One never really gets over it to be honest with you. I had 3 years of bereavement counselling which helped me. My grief cost me a 7 year relationship I had with my ex-girlfriend though. Its only in the last 3 years that I have been able to move on with my life and feel back to normal. Shortly after my parents were killed, I graduated with a Masters degree. It sounds strange now, but it was one of the hardest days to have no family, as they would have been so proud of me. People kept asking why my parents hadn't turned up to see me graduate? It was hard to keep telling people what had happened over and over again.

Sweet Jesus, that is HARSH :(
    *BIG HUG*, I hope you find a wonderful supermodel nympho girlfriend, if you haven't already.

curlzy wrote: »
    Sweet Jesus, that is HARSH :(
    *BIG HUG*, I hope you find a wonderful supermodel nympho girlfriend, if you haven't already.

Thank you.
    To be honest with you, I am single. Its only in the last 3 years I have felt ready to have a relationship again. I have been out on some dates, but nothing serious though. I find it hard when people ask about my parents. It might sound strange but you get fed up of people feeling sorry for you, and asking are you OK? I always thought my parents would be around to see me get married and have kids, but it hasn't worked out that way. I am an only child so I don't have any family now. Its at times like Christmas you miss having family. You just cope the best you can, and hope someone special will come along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

you can still drive your car with the airbags removed... just make sure you wear the seatbelt

my old citroen AX (RIP) has its airbag (yeah it only had a driver airbag lol) removed after it discharge when some group of lads decided to flip the car on it side for a laugh. once i and some of my friends flipped that car back on its wheels i removed the airbag from the steering wheel and drove it home. aside from some damaged paintwork the car ran fine for another year.... then its clutch blew and i just went out and bought my current car.

there is a guide on how to remove a discharged airbag from your clio http://www.cliosport.net/forum/showthread.php?251587-Steering-wheel-removal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

neiphin wrote: »
    but the car will still work and drive,
    why didnt op drive car home him/her self
    iam sure the car still has seat belts ?

AFAIK, is it not legal do drive a defective vechicle on public roads ie no air bags ?
    and god forbid if you had an accident in a car with no air bags

AFAIK, is it not legal do drive a defective vechicle on public roads ie no air bags ?
    and god forbid if you had an accident in a car with no air bags

You are mistaken.
    You can legally drive a vehicle with no air bags.
    For example, if you are driving with your child in a child seat; you can switch the air bags off so they don't activate.
    If you wanted to, you could remove the air bags from your car and use it without.
    Seatbelts must be fitted, air bags are optional.