Katie Taylor. Do you think you could beat her in a fight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

My son, who is no slouch, sparred with her. He said its like trying to hit lightening. I've a huge amount of respect for any young fella who has the guts and maturity to step into a ring with a woman he knows will likely beat him in front of his mates. She is an incredible example to our community - as is her brother ( he is a physicist I believe) and her Father ( for the amount of work he puts into the club). I've heard both Mick Dowling and McGuigan say leaving aside her sex, she is a world class boxer and that most male boxers would be outclassed by her. She is so down to earth. My son saw her win in the point late on a Saturday night and then met her doing the shopping in tesco's before 10 the next morning! Hope she has many more years of winning ahead of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Strength wise there's probably not a lot between me and Katie but with her boxing smarts I'm sure she'd have me spread-eagled on the canvas in under 5 seconds. So yes Katie Taylor would beat my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Cardio is big part of this too. Most guy think they could fight all day but the truth is most cant shadow box, or do bag work for 30 seconds hard. Adrenaline management and breath control are very important too. 30 seconds will seem like a life time if you are leathering it. I've left my lunch outside the gym on more than one occasion after a 3 minute session :) Gassing out is about the most horrible physical feeling I've ever felt!

DeV.
    ps: I was only protecting myself from the "internet hardman" accusation Maki. I actually hate the idea of violence but if its going to happen, I'm going to make sure I'm ok as best I can. Actually, we've at CCXI as you recall and yer a big fecker for sure :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Would she beat Sonny Bill Williams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Would she beat Sonny Bill Williams?

Easily- he's not great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

DeVore wrote: »
    Cardio is big part of this too. Most guy think they could fight all day but the truth is most cant shadow box, or do bag work for 30 seconds hard. Adrenaline management and breath control are very important too. 30 seconds will seem like a life time if you are leathering it. I've left my lunch outside the gym on more than one occasion after a 3 minute session :)Gassing out is about the most horrible physical feeling I've ever felt!

DeV.
    ps: I was only protecting myself from the "internet hardman" accusation Maki. I actually hate the idea of violence but if its going to happen, I'm going to make sure I'm ok as best I can. Actually, we've at CCXI as you recall and yer a big fecker for sure :p

Worse feeling in the world, stupidly I competed out of condition and its truely horrible.

Your getting battered, your coaches and friends are screaming at you and your mind & body are just gone into survival mode - sorta like getting back into the gym after the Christmas break :(

Oh I hate violence too, I've often posted about it here. Once recently when an AH Mod was in the bar where I worked too - a young lad was beat up rather badly outside at the Ballyier bus stop simply for being gay - I abhor violence and I know I should be used to it but I'm honestly gutted when I see violence brought to the innocent like this.

Oh I remember meeting you of course, that was a great night.. Indeed all the Cage Contender events are special (guys if you like MMA check out the Cage Contender events and get your bums on seats.

Back to K.T. - fantastic athlete and by all accounts a lovely girl, its not nice seeing some of the disrespectful comments made about her here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

In an amatuer boxing match, under rules, not a fúcking chance. I boxed for a long time and I'm still pretty fit and fast, with a huge reach and weight advantage, but I doubt I'd land a clean shot in 3 rounds while she'd pick me off at will. We mostly don't realise in this country just how good she is. In comparative terms, she's Tiger Woods, Brian 'Driscoll or Messi. Possibly our greatest performer ever, technical, focussed, fast, durable and no sign of losing the run of herself or getting overconfident. 11 Euro titles and 3 World's. Incredible boxer. When you know what you're watching, her quality is dizzying.

I love football, but in a choice between seeing her make history and going to Poland, I've decided on London.

Totally...I saw her training in the ring with her dad during a clip on a sports awards show just before Christmas - lightning fast hands, unbelievable really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Yes. One punch to the face and that would be it. Could beat her easily.

are you going to surprise her because in a real fight boxers are trained to protect their face

bet a few on here would get in the ring with gina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

I'm 6'1" about 18 stone (not muscle ;) )
    In a boxing match, I have no doubt she would lay me to waste. In a no holds barred street fight, I'd be forced to hold her down on the ground giving her the odd dig. This would be the only way I'd win.
    On saying that, I'd be crying while doing any of it, because she is most definitely someone kids of all ages and sexes should be looking up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Does anyone else find her ridiulously attractive?

She's a very pretty girl, but far too toned for my tastes. She's going down madonna territory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Liamario wrote: »
    She's a very pretty girl, but far too toned for my tastes. She's going down madonna territory.

I could not disagree more with the second part of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

She's a boxer, that muscle is fairly important to her :p

To the guys saying they'd beat her in a street fight because they could get on top of her, How exactly do you think you'd get her down?? :confused: Shes fast as lightening, she'd prob just step over you as you made a lunge for her and fell over :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In a boxing match, I have no doubt she would lay me to waste. In a no holds barred street fight, I'd be forced to hold her down on the ground giving her the odd dig. This would be the only way I'd win.
    On saying that, I'd be crying while doing any of it, because she is most definitely someone kids of all ages and sexes should be looking up to.

She'd probably bench press you off her :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How would you get her there in the first place? A few flakes of a wavin pipe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

cassi wrote: »
    To the guys saying they'd beat her in a street fight because they could get on top of her, How exactly do you think you'd get her down?? :confused: Shes fast as lightening, she'd prob just step over you as you made a lunge for her and fell over :D

you'd probably get knocked out before you'd get close enough to take her down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

Having given the question posed in the thread title careful thought, I reckon the only way for me to win would be if someone put a stone of floury spuds in the middle of the ring and I'd bate all comers to finish them. Even the world's ultimate muck savages, The Bull Hayes and The Tullow Tank would struggle against me. Yo! Fat guys rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

DeVore wrote: »
    She trains an art form, a skill. Its a game of speed and accuracy and power. In a street fight things are different. It gets ugly fast and the Sport of Kings is little use there really, the stronger heavier and bigger guy is likely to win unless the smaller person has some training.

Most guys fighting on the street have no idea what they're doing, they throw slaps and arm punches and while you'd feel them they'd do very little damage. You see it in the gym, nearly all lads who come in throw punches very poorly, can't judge distance correctly, leave themselves wide open and are usually off balance. Ye see big lads coming in, plenty of muscle and they still don't get the power in the shots
    How often do you see a fight on the street where one lad lands cleanly and the other guy drops, these fights drag on because neither of them are doing a whole lot of damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

nobody should fight in the kitchen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

In an amatuer boxing match, under rules, not a fúcking chance. I boxed for a long time and I'm still pretty fit and fast, with a huge reach and weight advantage, but I doubt I'd land a clean shot in 3 rounds while she'd pick me off at will. We mostly don't realise in this country just how good she is. In comparative terms, she's Tiger Woods, Brian 'Driscoll or Messi. Possibly our greatest performer ever, technical, focussed, fast, durable and no sign of losing the run of herself or getting overconfident. 11 Euro titles and 3 World's. Incredible boxer. When you know what you're watching, her quality is dizzying.

I love football, but in a choice between seeing her make history and going to Poland, I've decided on London.

Some of us do realise how good she is. Which of course makes the relative lack of recognition she gets all the more annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

nobody should fight in the kitchen

Weakest attempt by you yet. All those turkey sandwiches must be making you sleepy and tired.

She's a boxer guys, not a wrestler. And no doubt she is strong, she can't do much bobbing and weaving flat on her back. I'd have to wrestle her down while taking a few blows on the way. I'm overweight, not morbidly obese. Think more Dara O Briain and less giant haystacks.
    She won't do much damage tied up.

She'd probably bench press you off her :)
    Wouldn't surprise me to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Weakest attempt by you yet. All those turkey sandwiches must be making you sleepy and tired.

sorry , just like katie it had a weak punchline.....

cassi wrote: »
    She's a boxer, that muscle is fairly important to her :p

Come on now Cassi, you're watching too many movies. I'm under no illusion that she is fast, but she's not The Flash. She'll get grabbed and lifted up and taken to the ground. I'll take a few blows on the way, but as i've said; she's a boxer not an mma fighter.
    If she was an mma fighter, she'd tare me apart though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I probably couldn't beat any pikeys in a fight.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

I'm 98kgs, in decent shape, have done a reasonable amount of boxing, and wouldn't have a hope. I doubt I'd land a shot, and I've no doubt she'd land many. Even if I brought it to the ground, I'd say she has greater tenacity, conditioning and ferocity, and would fairly easily see me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Been a boxer back in the days and there was this little gipsy girl training in the same club.
    She was young, short haired with small tits. I was 62kgs, lighting fast and strong, regularly sparred with guys over 100kgs+ and they were in trouble most of the time against me.

However I would never ever tried to box against the girl. She would have slaughtered all of us in 2rounds no bother....

Katie Taylor? Pro boxer bird? Nope, I could not beat her in a million years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

Come on now Cassi, you're watching too many movies. I'm under no illusion that she is fast, but she's not The Flash. She'll get grabbed and lifted up and taken to the ground. I'll take a few blows on the way, but as i've said; she's a boxer not an mma fighter.
    If she was an mma fighter, she'd tare me apart though :(

How exactly would you grab her?? I still wager the average person wouldn't get near her!! Not only is she fast on her feet, she dodges and weaves at crazy speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭amacca

katie taylor would beat the livin sh1te outta me....

that is if we had to play by the rules

if she wasn't aware she was fighting me and I was to say sneak up behind her with a brick and clock her over the head with it then I would give myself at least a 50/50 chance