That ''homeless'' guy in town [yes, it's Dublin]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

number10a wrote: »
    Us "boggers" refer to our own city as a town too, but we happen to realise that this is boards.ie, not boards.dub

Next time you want to call it "town", head for the Dublin City forum.

Now get down off your high horse, oh-so-sophisticated city dweller, and learn that there is in fact a whole world outside the M50. Not just inhabited by boggers either.

Ah but you see Dubs think they are the only people in the World that uses the term "town". They so clever they are and so worldly-wise.

Listen there are scam beggars like the Roma beggars etc. but there are also genuine homeless beggars who need loose change to survive. People shouldn't be so quick to paint them all with the one brush, you never know it could be you on the streets someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭backinexile

I can't believe he asks for the receipt, that is brilliant.

He is an Evil Genius.

Bet he makes more money (and tax free) than the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Warper wrote: »
    Listen there are scam beggars like the Roma beggars etc. but there are also genuine homeless beggars who need loose change to survive.

Shot in the dark, but i'm not sure you really needed to point any of this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

compscii wrote: »
    Something that really pisses me off lately is that foreign guy you see in town begging, shivering without any shoes.

You're naturally upset about the state that this poor human being is in, the poverty gap that exists in the world today, and the fact that there is an injustice in that....that's what you mean, right?
    Countless times ive seen him, the first time i threw him some money and seen people handing him loads.

To add to his misery you actually threw a few coins at him which might have caused him physical injury, feeling some sense of obligation, and then have the audacity to complain when other people gave him more. I'm surprised you didn't ask him for change. What other people do with their money is their own problem, not your's thankfully. My heart bleeds.
    I even saw someone give him a pair of runners.

If he's barefoot then a pair of runners will do a lot better than some cash, because the runners are practical and he obviously needs them, whereas I'm sure you'd just complain he'll spend the cash on drink and heroin.
    And everyday he's doin the same routine act of shaking in his bare feet. If theres one guy that deserves a punch in the neck its him!

Oh yeah, completely, here's a man (2 days away from Christmas) who has no warm fire, no bed at night, no family, little money, no shoes, torn clothing, smells and has to indigently beg on the streets....and you want to punch him in the face?

In 1985 the Irish gave more money then any other nation to Live Aid. In 1987 they had the highest unemployment in Western Europe. And once we have a little taste of money we really feel bitter when the coffer starts drying up, eh?

Sir, you are a disgrace, and if there are still people like you in my country then I'm glad I left.

You make me sick. I hope someone punches you tomorrow for doing what you can to feed and cloth yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭harrythehat

I always give people sleeping rough money, if they are out in the cold at night at this time of year I don't even care if it's a scam - if that's the only way they have of making money they can have my e1.50.... I have a direct debit to Oxfam every month too, as a proper contribution to charity.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Shot in the dark, but i'm not sure you really needed to point any of this out.

Shot in the dark but it seems you havn't read the thread properly

I can't believe he asks for the receipt, that is brilliant.

He is an Evil Genius.

Bet he makes more money (and tax free) than the rest of us.

Why dont you do it then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

What circumstances normally lead to people not being able to receive social welfare?

I even saw someone give him a pair of runners.
    I saw him on Grafton St one day, about 2 weeks ago when it was FREEZING!! I went to Pennys and bought him a pair of runners and brought them back to him.

Next day i see him on the same street with no shoes on. it's because of people like him I will not be giving anyone any change ever again!

Oh yeah, completely, here's a man (2 days away from Christmas) who has no warm fire, no bed at night, no family, little money, no shoes,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭backinexile

Why dont you do it then?

Too cold, brrrrr

Shot in the dark but it seems you havn't read the thread properly

I have but that's not the point. the point I was making was, anyone with half a brain already knows that a lot of the people who are begging are in fact homeless and needy.

You didn't need to point it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

tuxy wrote: »
    What circumstances normally lead to people not being able to receive social welfare?

not having an address

no doubt the roma's are claiming welfare also on top of their organised begging.
    i've done work with one of the dublin homeless charities and heard several stories of genuine irish homeless people being attacked by roma's who wanted their begging spot.

sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

OK, we've established that he didn't have shoes before but then he was bought a pair of runners. So provided they were in his size he can wear these.

And yes, I'll even accept that maybe he goes shoeless for effect sake, but come on - a bit of compassion - nobody on those streets would beg and shake and look as terrible as that poor man unless they really needed the money. And some people just don't have any alternative but to beg.

bamboozle wrote: »
    not having an address

no doubt the roma's are claiming welfare also on top of their organised begging.
    i've done work with one of the dublin homeless charities and heard several stories of genuine irish homeless people being attacked by roma's who wanted their begging spot.

sad.

I've witnessed this at the St.Stephen's Green Luas stop.

There's no need to ask "which town?" - of course it's Dublin, where else would the homeless scumbags be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

People shouldn't be so quick to paint them all with the one brush

Perhaps we should paint them with more than one brush and maybe use some special insulating paint to keep the heat in. At least that way they could keep warm while scamming people.

OK, we've established that he didn't have shoes before but then he was bought a pair of runners. So provided they were in his size he can wear these.

And yes, I'll even accept that maybe he goes shoeless for effect sake, but come on - a bit of compassion - nobody on those streets would beg and shake and look as terrible as that poor man unless they really needed the money. And some people just don't have any alternative but to beg.

while I understand what you're saying, I have to say that I disagree with you.

I have to believe that at least ONE person would do this. There are a lot of people who will hapily inflict pain on themselves and/or be uncomfortable for the sake of money. I'd have thought the likes of Dirty Sanchez etc wouldn't do what THEY do for money but there you go.

I'm not saying this guy isn't genuinely homeless, but what I DO know is that he will happily sit there in the freezing cold with no shoes on when he owns perfectly good shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

There's no need to ask "which town?" - of course it's Dublin, where else would the homeless scumbags be?

We have them in Cork too though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

As crappy as our social welfare system is, it and charities like the Vinnies mean that no one in Ireland needs to beg.:cool:

However, there are some who exploit the good nature and stupidity of others and make a living - in some cases a good one - from projecting an image of suffering and deprivation and cashing in.:rolleyes:

I NEVER give to beggars, except in India and there only in the special places that are allocated for them to sit near Hindu temples. I assume that they are "means-tested" in some way by the temple authorities and not just chancers.:)

Otherwise, the way to help the needy is through charities (that are transparent about their income and expenditure) and by giving a helping hand to individuals that one knows are genuinely in need. And by accepting higher rates of tax if it is clear that these will genuinely reduce social deprivation.

People should remember that if no one gave anything to beggars, there wouldn't be a single one of them on our streets in a week's time. Those who throw them even the smallest coin for whatever reason are actually doing the same thing as leaving out food around the house to encourage rats. And thus they are lowering the quality of life of everyone else in the country.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

So do you have to be a scumbag to be homeless,?.. Let's hope the bank's don't come knocking on your door.

IN MY TOWN!!! MY TOWN!!

-Only Waterford people will get that unfortunately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 compscii

I would never label a homeless person as a scam artist unless I knew for a fact that they were scamming the public into giving money (which this guy has proven). If you check my original post I never tarred the whole dublin homeless population, only this particular guy. If you want to give him money go ahead but just remember while giving him that money he is essentially giving you the two fingers in return, he'll be there day in day out acting away to more and more people, he is the disgrace that needs to be removed from our country, not me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

You're naturally upset about the state that this poor human being is in, the poverty gap that exists in the world today, and the fact that there is an injustice in that....that's what you mean, right?

If he's barefoot then a pair of runners will do a lot better than some cash, because the runners are practical and he obviously needs them, whereas I'm sure you'd just complain he'll spend the cash on drink and heroin.

Oh yeah, completely, here's a man (2 days away from Christmas) who has no warm fire, no bed at night, no family, little money, no shoes, torn clothing, smells and has to indigently beg on the streets....and you want to punch him in the face?

Sir, you are a disgrace, and if there are still people like you in my country then I'm glad I left.

You make me sick. I hope someone punches you tomorrow for doing what you can to feed and cloth yourself.

It's all very well to get righteous, but you do realise that this fella is not begging because he's desperate, he's doing it because it's his life-style choice.

In doing so he destroys public trust and good-will for people who may genuinely have struck rock bottom and found themselves begging out of desperation.

But once you get to feel righteous it's all okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Apologies, I should have pointed out to all you boggers that we Dubs refer to Dublin city as town. Hope that avoids any further sarcastic comments :)

No, dubbers call dublin the town, cus like, it's the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Oh dear god.
    THIS is the Roma Gypsy king who built himself a comfortable pad back home after fleecing kindhearted Irish pedestrians in a begging scam.

Barron Rostas netted thousands of euro a week forcing women and children to beg on to the streets of Irish cities and towns.

Gardai launched a probe into the Begging Barron after discovering he wired €40,000 home to Romania, the Sunday World can reveal.

And this is the relatively luxurious pad that begging cash built for him in his native town. Brazen Barron showed it off to local journalists to boast of how well he has done abroad.

Today a Sunday World investigation can reveal that 40-year-old Rostas was the face of a high-profile sit-in by gypsies on the M50 roundabout some years ago.

Then he pleaded that he was one of a group of marginalised and penniless Romas in need of refuge.

But in the last few years he has conned gullible Irish shoppers and workers out of a small fortune while also claiming thousands in welfare benefits.

Source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭Nailz

I believe you're missing the point here mate; I know of the particular bloke he's talking about, more so from a friend I go to college with, but this guy gets shoes — loads of them — but he doesn't wear them when he's out begging all because it's part of his gimmick, it's what makes him money. He is an ingenuous little gob****e, it's people like that who make Dublin hated, among other things.

Usually those people are where they are for a reason (genuine or not) and I have no sympathy for them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

So what if the guy doesn't wear shoes as a begging gimmick?

You have agency in this regard, as with any other beggar: just walk on and don't give anything.

If other people want to give money, let them.

No problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 AlanC275

I saw that **** last year! Of coarse its organised i would'nt give them roman gypsies a cent ***** should be given a choice shot or cent back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

And some do it to pry money from gullibles such as yourself.