Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madden NFL 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Was a good game Prince scoreline totally flatters me i only pulled away in the last few minutes. Was quite worried after you came back with that late touch down that things may sway your way but i think the TO's killed it for you.

On a unrelated note running the ball in Madden is WAY to easy i had a guy rated 59 or something tonight go for 200 yards and 4 tds against a pretty damn good front four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Stev_o wrote: »
    Was a good game Prince scoreline totally flatters me i only pulled away in the last few minutes. Was quite worried after you came back with that late touch down that things may sway your way but i think the TO's killed it for you.

On a unrelated note running the ball in Madden is WAY to easy i had a guy rated 59 or something tonight go for 200 yards and 4 tds against a pretty damn good front four.

Thanks for the game, was tight going into the third but you capitalised on some very bad decisions.

Your crazy rushing yards may have been helped by my rush defence, it's shocking tbh. I can't run for love nor money, it doesn't help that I only have Brown and Johnson, but do I think speed is a much more decisive factor than it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Thought it was about time I wrote something .

Divisional Leaders:

NFC East: Eagles 8-4 (2 wins back are the Giants)
    NFC North: Packers 11-1 (3 wins back are the Bears)
    NFC South: Bucs 9-2 (3 wins back are the Falcons)
    NFC West: Cardinals 7-4 (8-4 if they win) (drawing/1 win back are the Cardinals)

Wild Cards

Bears 8-4
    Lions 8-4

In the Hunt

Giants 6-6
    49ers 7-5
    Falcons 6-6

Pretty open with 4 games to go.

Especially in the East with both teams playing the undefeated jets and the CPU teams Cowboys, Redskins and Dolphins.

In the West Cardinals play the 49ers next week which is likely be the deciding game if the Cardinals win. While the 49ers if they win will rely on the Cardinals tough game against the Bengals to help them clinch the Divisional Leader spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

Pmmd niballer just to remind him to get his game played before tomorrow night. I think for the xmas period we should give people from Thursday until Monday after new years. Then just get back to the one week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

Raoul wrote: »
    Pmmd niballer just to remind him to get his game played before tomorrow night. I think for the xmas period we should give people from Thursday until Monday after new years. Then just get back to the one week.

agree. Don't want people worrying about squeezing a Madden game in to what is for may an incredibly busy couple of weeks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Looks like all the human games have been played.. Advance the league!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 niballer

my game played against superman aka the cpu aka mindreader!!!

seemed to know my every move hence the hammering i received!!!

niballer wrote: »
    my game played against superman aka the cpu aka mindreader!!!

seemed to know my every move hence the hammering i received!!!

I seen that. I wasn't going to say anything. :P

At least next season you will be after having a draft and the team will be more "your team".

I seen that. I wasn't going to say anything. :P

At least next season you will be after having a draft and the team will be more "your team".

not that much more though. I think I only got 2 (maybe 3) players capable of starting in the draft last time.

No, the draft is never great actually. But still the odd time you can get a really good player.

Hopefully there will be a few trades next season. Cos I missed the draft, I have a really old team. So I can't imagine my team being as good next season.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

No, the draft is never great actually. But still the odd time you can get a really good player.

Hopefully there will be a few trades next season. Cos I missed the draft, I have a really old team. So I can't imagine my team being as good next season.

In a similar boat, a couple of my key offense players may well retire and i'm already stuggling.

If I can add a couple off decent WRs i should be ok, I'm trading Orton for Locker so thats going to be a step up... and hopefully if someone takes over the Pats they'll be interested in a trade for Dallas Clark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭davetherave

That's something that had me wondering, how does the draft work? Since there is no scouting (I hope...unless I've missed something major >< ) do we just see all of the rookies stats?
    Or do we just get Potential or Overall rating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Berty44

That's something that had me wondering, how does the draft work? Since there is no scouting (I hope...unless I've missed something major >< ) do we just see all of the rookies stats?
    Or do we just get Potential or Overall rating?
    Look at my post above..its #1322

Berty44 wrote: »
    Look at my post above..its #1322

Berty, are a list of players just created on the xbox live and filters through to the LM site where we can look at them. Then we do the draft on xbl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,887 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

has the week advanced?

Week hasn't been advanced yet. We will just have to wait until Santry gets a chance to do it.

Would be good if you could do it on the online console or allow more than one person to advance the game week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Berty44

Berty, are a list of players just created on the xbox live and filters through to the LM site where we can look at them. Then we do the draft on xbl?
    Exactly !

The names of the players are random but if you search google you should be able to find the draft classes. Not giving away any state secrets here but its nice to level the playing field :pac:. No real advantage to actually seeing the classes although as I reckon you would want to be doing 3 or 4 seasons to get advantage of A's as opposed to C's etc.

Everything you need to know about the rookies you will be able to see on the LM site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Hi lads,

huge apologies I forgot to pass on as commish to Raoul before going off to Manchester. Home now so league will be advanced in the hour.

League has been advanced. Niballer I'm about all day tomorrow if you can play?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Shane, when will you be able to rejoin the league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Specsy you about this afternoon by any chance? I wont be around until the 28th otherwise.

Did we confirm whether this game week will be longer due to the holidays or not?

hi santry will get onto xbox shortly and have a look for you i will be on and off all day too add me on xbox will find you easier....

niballer wrote: »
    hi santry will get onto xbox shortly and have a look for you i will be on and off all day too add me on xbox will find you easier....

I can hop on about half 3 mate if you can play then? Just have to pop out for a while. Thanks.

ok see u 330

Micmclo, I'm around this evening and between 12 and 4 tomorrow. Otherwise we can arrange for our game after the 27th.

McgG do a fellow afc south man a favour in that game!!

McG wrote: »
    Micmclo, I'm around this evening and between 12 and 4 tomorrow. Otherwise we can arrange for our game after the 27th.

Maybe send him a message on XBL as he recently closed his account on here.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Or post a message on Myleaguemanger

McgG do a fellow afc south man a favour in that game!!

need to do myself a favour too, really hoping to get that #2 seed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭davetherave

Jaysus......I don't think I've had a more exciting/nail biting game in a very long time.
    Browns 35 - 27 Steelers (CPU)

Steelers got the ball first and scored a TD their first possession. Garrard to Driver for 38 yards, kick by Kaeding is good.
    On to the field comes Cam Newton, pride of {Cam Newtons College Team}. Incomplete pass; sacked for -10 yards, had to throw it away on 3rd down, then punt it away.
    Steelers get 3 on there next possession but looks like it will be a long day for the Browns D.
    Newton sacked for 10 yards again, -1 yard rush by Jahvid Best, incomplete pass and a punt.
    End of 1st Quarter, 10-0 PIT

Pittsburgh punts away on next possession.

Two incompletions rattle Newton, before Alge Crumpler who is in for the injured Shockey breaks open down the middle for 34 yards and a 1st down Browns!
    Then newton got hit for -8 sack, and a hand full of incompletions before Cleveland punter Chris Kluwe pins the Black and Gold on their 4 yard line.

Pittsburgh run the ball, +2, -4, +1 and then punt it away with Antonio Brown setting them up with great position on the opposition 38. Then cam newton throws an interception.....
    Then a whole load of incomplete passes on both sides before a moment of beauty on 3rd and 10 on their own 20 yard line. C.Newton pass to B. Lloyd for a 80 yard TD.

Pumpfake completely outsmarts CB Foxworth with a pumpfake giving Lloyd a teensy bit of separation. Catches it at the 35 but two steelers defenders are hot on his tail. Can he outrun them...****, no he can't.....cue some erratic snaking left and right before they both miss diving tackles and he gets it in for 6. Feely xp is good.

Half Time 10-7 PIT
    Highlights of the 3rd quarter.
    Newton getting sacked.
    Benson running riot breaking tackles left right and centre, getting a TD.
    Newton getting sacked
    Newton to D.Jones for 50 yards.
    Best running it in for 6.
    Garrard getting sacked.

End of 3rd Quarter. 17-14 PIT

Start of 4th.
    Marcus Trufant with the pick returns it for 33 yards.
    Best runs it in for 6. Feely is good. (21-17 CLE)
    Benson breaks it open on the first play of the drive for 76 yards and six points on the board. Kaeding is good. (24-21 PIT)
    Browns go 3 and out and punt it away with 4.42 left in the game down
    Pittsburgh gets a FG. (27-21 PIT)
    Browns are panicking now and have to kick it away after three incomplete passes.
    Pittsburgh fumbles the ball on their next possession, Browns recover and get a touchdown out of the turnover. (28-27 CLE)

Pittsburgh gets good field position out of the kick return and are driving solidly down the field when the browns secondary does what they do best and pick the ball.

Less than 90 seconds left, I'm thinking I'll just do an inside handoff to run the clock out. Nice and safe. Jahvid Best gets the handoff, cuts inside and suddenly finds himself in the secondary, breaks a tackle and is free up the sideline.

As I'm diving over the goalline I'm thinking to myself Oh God, why didn't I just run the clock down....They still have 42 seconds to get a TD and 2XP. :o
    Up steps the cleveland secondary who get a pick and the game ends.

Browns go 5-8, the playoff dream is still a flicker at the end of a tunnel....for now.
    All I need is the Ravens, Texans and Titans to lose all their games, and for me to win all mine and I'll get the #6 seed :)