Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Overheal wrote: »
    Yeah no sh!t, he took your money and left the country with it.

Really, it was specifically that poster's money? Have the Gardaí been informed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Millicent wrote: »
    Really, it was specifically that poster's money? Have the Gardaí been informed?
    Getting really pedantic aren't we? He took tax dollars and gave the state or the taxpayer back nothing in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Hate being on the dole.Hopefully be able to get some sort of a job out of the course i'm doing and get off the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Getting really pedantic aren't we? He took tax dollars and gave the state or the taxpayer back nothing in return.

I thought we were just engaging in mutual hyperbole for the craic there. He took PRSI Euros (just to be really pedantic), managed to impressively save enough to emigrate when there are 450,000 vying for jobs, and now is no longer a strain on public resources. What exactly is your argument here? That he should have stayed on the dole because he wasn't entitled to use his ingenuity, available resources and ambition to emigrate and find a career for himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

his life's not over, he may be able to comeback and secure employment here with his new found experience. And in between that time he will have cost the taxpayer nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭bebostunnah

I dont know why dole scroungers arent made to farm WoW gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Saving 20 a week for two years would give you over 2,000. Enough for cheap ticket to Oz plus 1k starting off money. Very doable savings wise.

I've never been on the dole but don't begrudge those that are. Sure there are some wasters out there but you have that in every walk of life.

Of course the dole shouldn't be too high but it shouldn't have people just scraping by either.

If someone decides to spend every penny of their dole in marks and Spencers buying gourmet food that's their own business. If they decide to cut back, save what they can and sacrifice a bit to save and emigrate that's their business.

I say fair play to the person that did that, must have been tough scraping the money together over the two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Yeah no sh!t, he took your money and left the country with it.
    The air freshner market collapsed on his departure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

fat__tony wrote: »
    Its twats like those you have described which make me very glad not to be living in the country anymore.

People like that show the country up for the dump that it is.
    Says the guy still posting on a largely Irish internet forum.

Just can't cut yourself off totally??

I've been back living the dole lifestyle now for the last fortnight.. Working 5 or 6 hours a week and living of some savings instead. I'm happy I'm only doing it for another week maybe cause I'm getting a bit lethargic. Still make it out of the house and do shlt but I bought a hammock for my bedroom and get stuck in it every morning for hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Being on welfare would have a bad effect on anyone.
    For my experiences I found that people on welfare can be in one or in a combination of these situations:

a) lack skills and qualifications for the skills required jobs available in Ireland now
    b) lack self confidence
    c) have undiagnosed mental health/addiction/alcohol problems
    d) Are in a trap they don't know how to get out of or don't have the knowledge, resources and support available to them that they can acess, that can be necessary to enable them to towards education, training and employment
    e) on welfare because it is the only way to survive based on their circumstances
    f) Are temporarily on welfare while trying and planning to take the next step in their life employment or emigration
    g) Are at risk of suffering depression and developing a mental illness
    h) Can be afriad to get out of their comfort zone of the security of welfare because it takes a lot of emotionally and psycholgically to try to get a job and they fear they will be knock down even further when rejected so many times.

I think you can simply categorise people on he dole into the following 2 groups:
    1. Those who want to work, but can't get a job due to the recession.
    2. Those who do not want to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Me from Nigeria, Free Money, House and Car. Love this Country, Love the Irish.

That's not fair comment.
    I wouldn't exclude the rest of West Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Millicent wrote: »
    I thought we were just engaging in mutual hyperbole for the craic there. He took PRSI Euros (just to be really pedantic), managed to impressively save enough to emigrate when there are 450,000 vying for jobs, and now is no longer a strain on public resources. What exactly is your argument here? That he should have stayed on the dole because he wasn't entitled to use his ingenuity, available resources and ambition to emigrate and find a career for himself?
    more that I reckoned the point was for dolees to return to employment to keep the tax machine greased up - but I get your point.

I think you can simply categorise people on he dole into the following 2 groups:
    1. Those who want to work, but can't get a job due to the recession.
    2. Those who do not want to work.

You forgot no3. People who don't want to work but have the recession as an excuse now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

bryaner wrote: »
    Pure sh!t, no money, selling anything thats not nailed down to get some pressies for the lads for Christmas, old clothes and no new ones on the horizon, mortgage arrears (awaits no one forced you to get a mortgage brigade) canceled sky, went off the smokes (good thing I know).

Afraid to answer the door, feeling of self loathing, not opening envelopes any more etc etc..

Sound tough. Chin up and hopefully 2012 will be better for you.

Recent graduate, same story no jobs went on the dole for about 6 months saved and came to Korea and worked.. Going home early Feb though and probably back on it and even worse back to the parents at 30 years of age. Ireland is a pretty grim place at the moment.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

You forgot no3. People who don't want to work but have the recession as an excuse now.

also no.4 those who find now they are on the dole that its not worth it working, especially for minimum wage, cos 'they're better off on the dole'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

also no.4 those who find now they are on the dole that its not worth it working, especially for minimum wage, cos 'they're better off on the dole'

How would I be better off on the dole than on minimum wage? €93.60 dole minimum wage €300, even if I was on the top rate of €188.00 I'd still be €112.00 better off..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

I think all people, regardless of circumstance, who are on the dole are scrounging scumbags who should be taken out in front of their loved ones, raped and then shot in the face.

Mod:
    Idiot troll banned.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

How would I be better off on the dole than on minimum wage? €93.60 dole minimum wage €300, even if I was on the top rate of €188.00 I'd still be €112.00 better off..

travel expenses/ work clothes etc etc, then benefits

Work clothes? I think you'll find that most on minimum wage have them supplied i.e a uniform of some description, travel expenses none as I'd cycle anywhere within a 30 kilometer radius, and benefits I get none..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I think all people, regardless of circumstance, who are on the dole are scrounging scumbags who should be taken out in front of their loved ones, raped and then shot in the face.

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

One word for the poster 4 posts up ^^^^^^^^^^

....POXBOTTLE! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Ah it can be boring, Normally do a bit of taxi work at the weekend to keep myself from getting cabin fever, so that helps.:cool:
    Heath wise, libido is down , but i can get 4 viagra on my medical card every month so thats a plus. (keeps the OH happy;)
    Then the childrens allowance, that is gonna come in handy this month as have a **** load of parties to attend. Aghhhh Xmas time is lunacy i tell ya !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

some people on this really need to be knocked off their perch..

Work clothes? I think you'll find that most on minimum wage have them supplied i.e a uniform of some description, travel expenses none as I'd cycle anywhere within a 30 kilometer radius, and benefits I get none..

are you on the dole?

Yes

ronan45 wrote: »
    Ah it can be boring, Normally do a bit of taxi work at the weekend to keep myself from getting cabin fever, so that helps.:cool:
    Heath wise, libido is down , but i can get 4 viagra on my medical card every month so thats a plus. (keeps the OH happy;)
    Then the childrens allowance, that is gonna come in handy this month as have a **** load of parties to attend. Aghhhh Xmas time is lunacy i tell ya !

Sorry for your penile erectile troubles..

are you on the dole?

Sorry I was referring to benefits as in medical card rent allowance etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭padraig91

i think every year someone is on the dole it should get cut a bit its completely retarded that will get the scumbags who go on it as soon as they finish school to try find a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Jeremy?