Annoying things Boards Posters Do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

hightower1 wrote: »
    When an opinion is aired on a particular subject and of course there is always someone who is an absolute "expert" in the matter...

E.G - Thread ref something completely obscure, lets say elephant rhinoplasty. Eventually someone arrives on claiming "Actually I used to be a professional elephant plastic sugreon" ..... OF COURSE you were :rolleyes:

You don't need to be a specialist, not when you can say "I got it from a reliable source".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

ejmaztec wrote: »
    :(

ICWUDT. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You don't need to be a specialist, not when you can say "I got it from a reliable source".

Including but not limited to The Daily Mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

hightower1 wrote: »
    When an opinion is aired on a particular subject and of course there is always someone who is an absolute "expert" in the matter...

E.G - Thread ref something completely obscure, lets say elephant rhinoplasty. Eventually someone arrives on claiming "Actually I used to be a professional elephant plastic sugreon" ..... OF COURSE you were :rolleyes:

If you scan through a wikipedia article on something you pretty much are an expert though in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    Me too actually.:D

Edit: Just seen the white part. :o

The trap closes! :D

Oh Jesus I wonder who it is!? Everyone is gonna be paranoid now. :pac:

Ah no there's people who grind off each other but sure that's just natural.

Vive la defférence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

OP, it's spelt signatures

Yours,
    Yeppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

phasers wrote: »
    people posting something really bitchy and putting :) at the end as if that makes it ok.

Also when people post tons of pics of themselves in kyn. We get it,you're vain and crave approval. Enough is enough :)
    Good point. I think you add a lot to the forum. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

-Put signitures at the end of their posts, as if we don't know who they are already. E.g; Regards, MO.

-Correct the spelling and grammer of other posters.

-Reply sarcastically to threads soley to get "thanks" from other users, this is very big in After Hours, and will happen on this thread probably.
    TheZohan wrote: »
    Not quote articles.

People having a bee in their bonnet about the OP giving their opinion before others give their opinion?

People posting stupid sh1t in Bargain Alerts like "Tesco: 3 bottles of Coke for €3"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

People having a bee in their bonnet about the OP giving their opinion before others give their opinion?

I'm guessing you haven't read the rules of AH then.
    People posting stupid sh1t in Bargain Alerts like "Tesco: 3 bottles of Coke for €3"

Isn't that the point of BA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I'm guessing you haven't read the rules of AH then.

Isn't that the point of BA?

Oh it's in the rules? Like a lot of boards rules then, it's stupid and not needed!

I love BA but it gets clusterfooked by people posting about stupid grocery deals, back in the day it was full of good stuff, now it's mostly bullsh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

The Hit and Run merchants. They post up an unreasonable response to one of your posts and disappear forever without giving you the opportunity of debating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

many a thread has been ruined by people trying to salvage all the thanks they can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

oldyouth wrote: »
    The Hit and Run merchants. They post up an unreasonable response to one of your posts and disappear forever without giving you the opportunity of debating it.

That is complete nonsense.:mad:

many a thread has been ruined by people trying to salvage all the thanks they can get.

Kinda like this one.

But then again I predicted that in the OP, good craic all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

oldyouth wrote: »

I have a habit of doing that :o

It kind of annoys me when people say "I'll get my coat".

"Atari jaguar" wrecks my head because I have no idea what it means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

-Use this emoticon :rolleyes:

Use the word emoticon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I have a habit of doing that :o
    I know you do :mad:

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Awwww, I love that one! How come you hate him?
    I think he's the cutest smiley around and I'd probably date him if I could... :rolleyes: :pac:

so Friday nights good for me.

Dear diary

JACK POT

gigidy gigidy, gigidy goo

Use the word emoticon.

Yeah, that actually used to annoy me too, not sure how I started using it.

I also used to hate Jam and now I love it so these things happen I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

People quoting long articles then adding just one line of their own. A good guideline is: only quote the bit to which you are replying ... and actually reply to it (i.e. stay on topic).

Also: the word "ye" in titles. Not everyone in Ireland talks like they just climbed out of a peat bog. Nothing wrong with that if you did, but you don't need to put it in writing. :p

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Of and have are not the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

People who say, 'you can't judge the situation because you're not a solicitor/doctor/prison officer.

Just watch me judge - I reserve the right to make ill considered, misinformed and inflamitory comments about subjects I know little about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

4 for €4 in Galway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Stealing my ideas for threads, or posting replies that state exactly what I was going to post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

Using your signature to make yourself look smart. Nothing says pain in the hole genius like 5 lines of philosophy ''as Gaeilge'' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

People making ridiculous,sweeping, usually racist or sexist statements, and then refusing to budge in any way from their position despite being proven conclusively wrong, or worse, never replying if you call them on it. It's usually immigrants and single mothers who do this to keep themselves entertained while not working.
    Whinging about trivial matters like it's the end of the world, and whinging about people who have more thanks.

"OH."

The advantages of 40 posts per page being lost due to a succession of long posts and short interruptions leading to me having automatically logged out by the time I finish the page.

Memes, but they're hardly exclusive to boards in fairness.

But overall though boardsies are a great bunch of lads. /shower of bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

bnt wrote: »
    People quoting long articles then adding just one line of their own. A good guideline is: only quote the bit to which you are replying ... and actually reply to it (i.e. stay on topic).

Also: the word "ye" in titles. Not everyone in Ireland talks like they just climbed out of a peat bog. Nothing wrong with that if you did, but you don't need to put it in writing. :p

Yeh ye do:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

Put them in here....

-Put signitures at the end of their posts, as if we don't know who they are already. E.g; Regards, MO.

-Reply sarcastically to threads soley to get "thanks" from other users, this is very big in After Hours, and will happen on this thread probably.

-Use this emoticon :rolleyes:

There are spelling mistakes in your post :rolleyes:

Regards,
    A0

A0 wrote: »
    There are spelling mistakes in your post :rolleyes:

Regards,
    A0

Yes I put a few in it alright, you've only spotted two though?

D'you want another go at it? G'wan...I won't tell anyone I gave you two chances;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

Yes I put a few in it alright, you've only spotted two though?

D'you want another go at it? G'wan...I won't tell anyone I gave you two chances;)

Put them in here....

-Use this emoticon

Thanks for giving me the permission :rolleyes:. It's "... already, e.g., regards" and "solely".

Kind regards,
    A0